Rent Summer Athletics: The Ultimate Challenge for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Summer Athletics: The Ultimate Challenge

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS2
GF Rating
3.8

383 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Summer Athletics: The Ultimate Challenge

posted by Mihall (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jun 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you enjoy watching and participating in track and field events, then this game is worth renting, but not owning. The game itself is fun, with plenty of events, some that are harder than others. There's not much depth to the game, nor its career mode. Creating a character is simple, yet limited. For your character to develop in skills, after each event, you are giving points for five different attributes. I gave it a four, because it is fun, but has no depth; so not worth owning, but a decent game to rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

THE LAME GAME

posted by skuuly72 (SAINT PAUL, MN) Dec 26, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Please do not purchase this Game, it stinks. the individual games are very basic ,and limited ,the controls are the worst ,the graphics bite. if your a die hard fan of this type of game "you might like it?" I recommend the seoul olympics 2008 game it rocks plus it has all the olympic games you could want including shooting, ping pong ,track & field, and that is not even the tip of the iceberg. SKULLYB72

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I Should have know better than to rent this game!

posted by RuningWolf (YUCAIPA, CA) Aug 11, 2008

Member since Apr 2003

15 out of 17 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

When will the creators of these sports games get the message that the control setup should be a one button setup, anything else is going to make the controls so messed up it's impossible to play!
This game is just plain unplayable period.
The controls are poorly thought out, the camera angles are fixed and you can't see what your doing and the graphics are from the 1980's.
Please save yourself the aggravation and don't rent this game.
It's so bad I just got this game less then two hours ago and already it's back in it's mailer sleeve to be put in the mail. This games only good for a coffee table coaster If that!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

i disagree with the review

posted by linnylakok (MENIFEE, CA) Jan 26, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I believe this game is fun. Although the rating is 3.8 don't read into this if you like sports you will like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Played it

posted by mastranios (PASADENA, TX) Aug 8, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 17 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

Played it at my friends house.. If I were to list everything that was wrong with this game, it would take me days,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible

posted by laurenpdot (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 13, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

terrible controls, terrible game play, just terrible

this game could be fun - the events are interesting, the competition attracts me, but the controls make it basically impossible. it reminds me of super old arcade games where you just rapidly move the joystick back and forth. you don't at all feel like you are in control of the athletes.

don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

summer athletics

posted by superrichT (RICHMOND, VA) Jun 26, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I like this game i will be re-renting this again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It was ok.

posted by Browns03 (MESQUITE, TX) Mar 22, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

I think the game would of been more fun if it wasn't so darn complicated. There were so many directions. All in all, it was neat to play in the different events. My favorite was the high diving event. My husband liked it, complicated or not. So, to each their own. Enjoy!

Browns03

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad bad bad

posted by plynumore2 (MORO, IL) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

the game as a whole was very bad graphics contrls everything

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game is not worth the rent!!

posted by Tregakiss (MARYSVILLE, OH) Aug 15, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

The game at best sucked. The controls are very lame and its just not fun at all. Gamefly needs to remove it from the title list!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Olympics Games are just bad

posted by pluckgrit (TUSCALOOSA, AL) Apr 21, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

This game was pretty bad. But I thought it was better than the official Olympics game, Beijing 2008. The controls were better than the official title. If you are looking for a great Olympics game, play Mario and Sonic at the Olympics on Wii. That game is addictive and very fun. The controls make since and are simplistic, which is what you need for these games to be fun. I am looking forward to the Winter Olympics version of M Vs. S.

As for this game I did return it the same night I received it. I had just rented Beijing 2008 a few ago, so I was already a bit tainted on Olympic Games for the 360. I forgot it was in my Q. When I got it I played it and found it to be better overall than the other game. The graphics are pretty bad. Better on B08. My advice stay away from both but if you must play one. Play this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

If You Can't Waggle, Don't Bother

posted by BruceF (BENTONVILLE, AR) Mar 16, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2007

I would have liked to finish this game, but I can't waggle the thumbstick fast enough to compete against the cpu controlled "athletes". Seems a bit daft to make a game so dependent on a physical activity, but that's just my opinion. It's a pretty easy 910.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't Waste Your Time

posted by AustinAir (AUSTIN, TX) Nov 10, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

Where to Start? First, the replay of this game is virtually zilch. You will become tired of the events before you're even half way done with them. If you are playing this game alone and not versus your buddies, it's even worse. If you do play it alone, then fortunately your friends won't be around cracking just how bad the game is.
I wonder if this game comes with a coupon so you can buy a new joystick too, because the constant thumbstick back and forth action will probably have it broken within a day or two.
My first GameFly rental, and I wasted it on this piece of carp. Totally disappointed. On to the next!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

My body hurts from playing this...

posted by okhorrific (CORTLANDT MANOR, NY) Nov 6, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

ok, unlike most people here, I gave this game a shot. I Actually scored 1000/1000 achievements on it. It would be halfway fun if the controls weren't totally asinine. I have never played a game that actually made me sore the next morning. My hand, my arm, and even my neck hurt. This game also puts a hefty beating on your controller. Worth a rent, but def. not worth buying.

PS. no online play or even leaderboard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Do Yourself a Favor, and DON'T RENT THIS GAME!!!!!

posted by sixersfan (NEW CUMBERLAND, PA) Nov 3, 2008

Member since Mar 2005

This game is, in a word, broken!!!! This could have possibly been a relatively fun game, if it weren't for the fact that the control scheme was horribly thought out. Rather than one simple control scheme that transfers through all of the events, a la Track and Field, there is a different control setup for every single event, and not one of the setups seems to make any sense at all, except for the one for the 100 meter dash. I can not recall having less fun playing a game in years. If this was the first video game that I had ever played, I probably wouldn't ever pick up another one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this dame blows

posted by cindaman (Walla Walla, WA) Oct 28, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

Boring,useless,stupid game

I put it in for less then 20 minutes and mailed back same day I got...

waste of a rental... game play is awful

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible

posted by twiztidjug (MC ROBERTS, KY) Oct 11, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

This game was the worst and most boring game ive ever played..Not to mention that the controlls hurt your hands and are very hard to understand

DO NOT RENT THIS GAME....Unless you have band-aids..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst Track and Field Ever

posted by UNGOOD (ARLINGTON, TX) Oct 3, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

This is one of the worse track and field games I have ever played. In fact it is the worst. I was disappointed in Beijing 2008 because it did not have 4x100 relay. This game did, so that was the sole reason for renting it.
The controls were insane. The cut scenes, and overall presentation was shockingly horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Summer Athletics

posted by BikeChef (SACRAMENTO, CA) Sep 5, 2008

Member since Apr 2005

All I have to say is that the controls are ridiculous!!! What were they thinking?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not terrible, just broken.

posted by Jixson (SAINT ALBANS, VT) Sep 3, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This game is not all that bad. Let me start by saying the good points, as there are not many. It looks pretty good, the character models are nicely rendered and you do get a feel for some of the events. That's it for good.

The alright part of the game is the selection of events. Some are great, and fun, and others I have still never heard of before this.

The bad. The controls, simple as that. I have cut open my middle, and index finger, as well as bruised both thumbs while playing this game. It is terrible when it comes to controls. The career mode also makes no sense. It tells you your current stat, as well as max trainable stat, so you would think if you were to put 100% of the training points you have into that skill it would max it at that point? Well, you would be dead wrong, if you were at a 55 and your max was 75 and you put 100 points into it, it may go up to 65, it may go to 57 it could be anywhere in the middle. Then you get the swimming which is pretty much unplayable, and the Pole Vault which is pretty much controller throwing time.

So, it is not the worst game ever made for sports, but it is nowhere near the best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

summer athletics

posted by percivul (VINTON, VA) Aug 31, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

game is ok. would be a lot of fun if some of the events (cycling, 1500m run) were nearly impossible to beat at the end of career mode. takes the fun out of it. playing a challenging game is one thing, this is rediculous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Give it a chance... It will grow on you

posted by avsfan (WESTMINSTER, CO) Aug 25, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

If you give this game a try and read the instructions on how to do each event, this is a fun game. It took a while on some of the events, like diving and cycling, but once we figured out how to do the events, it was fun to try and win GOLD.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

control issues

posted by DigitalDmn (SPRING, TX) Aug 20, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

FOR THIS CALIBER OF GAME WAY TO DIFFICULT CONTROL SETUP RETURNED AFTER 1 DAY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

you will need gloves

posted by coomes16 (OWENSBORO, KY) Aug 15, 2008

Member since May 2007

nintendo track and field gets a make-over for 2009. not bad game play and ok graphics. there are alot of events to play, but this is a controller abuser game. more than an hour of game play and you will see....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »