Rent Stuntman: Ignition for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Stuntman: Ignition

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, PS3
GF Rating
6.2

3608 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad the first twenty tries.

posted by JoshSims (OWENSBORO, KY) Sep 6, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Alright, first things first. The idea is awesome! Playing a stuntman, super awesome stunts, fire, 'splosions, cars! Graphics are pretty impressive, sound effects are pretty cool... the game uses your headset to communicate with you if you have it plugged in. Interesting feature.

However, this game absolutely insists that you try each map over and over until you get it just right. Sure, that three star rating will let you get by, but the game goes out of its way to make that feel insufficient. And since all you do is the same maps over and over and over, it gets old pretty quickly.

Worth a rental, but not a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Stuntman: Ignition

posted by LummyFoSho (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Nov 15, 2007

Member since May 2007

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This is the sequel to the original Stuntman that appeared on the PS2.

This game follows the usual formula of the first game. If you were a fan of the first game then you will feel right at home here as much hasn't changed.

The single player isn't very long and can normally be completed in one day. You will find it quite easy to zoom past the levels with a rating of 2 stars or more on most of the levels. There are a couple of levels that you will have to retry a couple of times if you are trying to get it just right.

The Xbox Live feature is nothing more then a novelty value. You will have fun for awhile crashing into your friends on Xbox Live but after the first few runs you will become tired of this game.

The graphics and sound are dead on in this version. A few extra points goes to this game due to that factor. You will find your self immersed in the scene and all the surroundings as you are wizzing through the courses.

All in all this is a good game if you are waiting for a more anticipated game such as Mass Effect. You will get a few hours of enjoyment out of this game and send it back faster then you put it on your Game Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Is this game suppose to be fun?

posted by P05TF03TU5 (NEWBURY PARK, CA) Sep 7, 2007

Member since Feb 2005

23 out of 32 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

As cool as the concept was for the first stuntman (PS2) the game play was so frustrating that there was no fun to be had. Stuntman Ignition is practically the same game except with somewhat better controls and graphics. There is no real freedom for the player in this game since all your actions are dictated by the director.

Pros:
Better controls for cars and trucks
Nice graphics
Somewhat cool scenarios mocking real hollywood films (Dante's Peak, James Bond, Dukes of Hazard, etc)
No pop-in, tearing, or frame rate problems (that I've noticed)
Multiple camera options for vehicles
Easy mode option
Short load times
Multiplayer incorporating stunt combos
Construct your own stunt arenas with unlockable items/parts and vehicles

Cons:
Rather short (finished in 5 hours)
Bikes are still wobbly
Commercials and "Never Kill Me Again" levels can be a absolute nightmare
You must be rank 40 to unlock last movie scenario "Night Avenger," which will be a absolute chore for most players.
Just downright frustrating (expect alot of retries)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Surprisingly good

posted by RDubya (LEAGUE CITY, TX) Nov 18, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I don't normally like driving games, but this one really surprised me. The objective-based driving seperates it from racing games which is important for me, since I usually never get into those kinds of games.

Definitely check this game out if you're looking for something relatively unique in the genre, or if you're a perfectionist.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

excellent game for those looking for a challenge

posted by Gizmosan (AUSTIN, TX) Sep 15, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

After reading all the reviews by other users, i had to submitt my review of the the game. It is pretty hard and you will be redoing every mission over because you may have missed a marker. This isn't an average game that lets the player make mistakes, its a game that all about hitting the icons at the correct point when the director says.

It does get a little tiresome redoing the few levels over and over again, but when you finally get the pattern down for the level and what tricks your supposed to pull off the replay is very rewarding. Stuntman Ignition has a few side missions called "Odd Jobs" which doesn't allow you to make any mistakes, they put you in a TV role doing a commercial.

I've been playing this for about a week and its awesome. Its definitely not for those players who give up easily and have no patience to do it again and again until they get it right.

The game has outstanding graphics and the sound is amazing in surround. Rent this game if you looking for something more challenging than the usual games you play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good but....

posted by 70challngr (AVON, OH) Sep 18, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Stutman ignition. I think this game was pretty good. although not as good as the original fun-wise, graphics-wise... well duh. the phisics engine wasn't as fun as the last game. remember the good ol' days when you could put cars, vans busses, standing cars and even towered cars in the stunt constructor?, yea, not anymore. that was VERY dissapointing for me. you can still have ramps and truck trailers and stuff, but, eh... ya know. well the career mode was pretty cool, but could be hard for younger players. I don't think it was quite long enough. the career mode "movies" were too unrealistic, although noobs like that kinda stuff

well overall
pros
-great graphics
-fun career mode
-creative constructor mode
cons
-lack of stuff stuntman fans will want to have.
-rather short career mode
-boring phisics engine

MY RATING= 7

i'd rent it, but wouldn't buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Its Stunted man!!!!

posted by Weeble (TACOMA, WA) Sep 2, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Once again we have a sequel that fails to learn from its past mistakes.
Visually, and creatively Stuntman delivers outstanding scenarios from avoiding a city being engulfed by lava to the average jump, and avoid formula game play.

Graphics are up there in the clouds looking real good, and theres little to disappoint. The sound is dominated mostly by instructions from your punk director, and the cut scenes from your performance can be quite cool.

But what we have is another painfully difficult game that can only be fun to the hardiest of gamers looking for severe challenge, and have non existent tempers.

If you frustrate easily, forget this game now. you may end up buying it by mistake because you threw the disc as hard as you could at your friends roommate wannabe actors skull shattering the disc, and his forehead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprised

posted by lotw01 (PALMDALE, CA) Aug 30, 2007

Member since Nov 2003

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I hated the 1st Stuntman game, one of thee worst games. But after playing this one I found that they totally redid it and made it more fun and less frustrating. This game is actually fun to play and I find myself trying to get a perfect 5 star rating. It took me about 6-7 tried to nail the 1st coarse with a perfect 5 star rating and I was shocked when it happened, cause I don't think I did all the directors stuff.

It is nice to see that the developers took what people said about the 1st one and revamped it to a more enjoyable game. Makes me look forward to the next one to see the improvements again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wow what a surprise

posted by Horcrux (LOS ANGELES, CA) Aug 30, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

First let me start by saying i hated the original Stuntman game. It was so unforgiving and frustrating. And after playing the demo i was not very excited for this one either. I was soooo wrong. this game is actually really fun! i even go back and replay levels trying to get a higher ranking. it doesn't seem tedious replaying them. so to wrap it up... this is a surprisingly fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

it's like tony hawk

posted by Monestri (SILVER SPRING, MD) Aug 28, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

but for cars, you rack up stun combos and redo the scene until you nail it. pretty fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

THIS GAME SUCKS

posted by kilro1234 (MONTCLAIR, CA) Sep 4, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

like most games this game sucks because the game is constantly telling what to do next never letting you do any thing else besides what they tell you to do or you dont pass which means you lose and as far as the online part it pretty much the same thing it SUCKS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

my 10 year old like

posted by albert555 (GLENWOOD, IL) Sep 2, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

my son love racing and stunt car game a I ask him do u like this game he say It's very good game. and he is 10 year old !!!! but I rent it for him . not me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ehh, pretty average

posted by kingdork (WILMINGTON, NC) Aug 31, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Nothing special about this game. Average graphics, average sounds, average game play.

This game just didn't keep my attention for more than an hour or two. Using the xbox360 wheel to drive the cars didn't work well.

Can't give this game more than a 5 and a 5 is generous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very Fun

posted by dsutt50416 (SPRING LAKE, NJ) Aug 31, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game is so awesome, especially how it just throws you right in the drivers seat without any pesky tutorials to start you off.
Graphics = 9/10 Pretty good stuff, not the best
Sound = 10/10 Every time you make a turn the sound takes over and you know whats coming around that corner

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I loved this game

posted by dbaker7452 (SARATOGA SPRINGS, NY) Aug 20, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Many of the reviews I have read so far say that this game is very challenging and that there is no fun to be had. I think because of how challenging it is makes it more fun. Of course you will need a lot of retries to get that perfect 5-star rating we all want. The first time I got this game it took me close to an hour just to get a 5-star rating on the first scenario. I loved being able to be a stuntman driving fast cars through weak walls, over ice (which I thought was the hardest part), etc. The movies that you play in are all based after films that most of us have seen. Batman, Dukes of Hazard, and James Bond are just some of the awesome movies you get to use you experties in. Unfortunetly, the game can't use the actual names of the movies so they use other names such as Night Avenger. If you are a perfectionist and you play this game, I can promise you that you will be retrying levels over and over and over and over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

CRAZY FUN!!!

posted by Bloodydog38512 (CHANDLER, AZ) Oct 24, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

This was the best raceing game i have ever played. The stunts are amazing. The first level already starts you off with burning lava, exploding cars and fire infested buildings. And CrazY stunts including jumping over a lake. Out running the cops. And surviving a collapsing bridge. You can also star in commercials and movies!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not worth it

posted by manofaction444 (CARMEL, IN) Jun 7, 2011

Member since May 2011

I made the nad choice of buying this game. Not only can you not stop at checkpoints you have to do everything exactly. And really the only way to do that is to put it on the easiest level with help. Its not worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not a good time

posted by forbin (ELKINS PARK, PA) Mar 17, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

I used to have this for the ps2 and I remember liking it. Times have changed. Maybe I was just more relaxed a couple years ago but this game is really really really annoying now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

its a bit underrated

posted by Schwab17 (CINCINNATI, OH) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

this game is fun i rented it from blockbuster before and never beat it but it one of those games that are a bit underrated. id say its more of a rent than buy it gets really frustrating at points but other than that it can be really enjoying. so u decide on how u like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Stunt Man: Ignition Review

posted by Karter (COEUR D ALENE, ID) Nov 11, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

If you haven't played any of the Stunt Man games before, it is definitely a fun game to play. You get to drive all sorts of different vehicles throughout the game.

There are a couple of complaints that I have about the game. Listening to the director is somewhat irrelevant. You get 5 strikes in the scene until you have to re-shoot it all over again. If you want achievements for 5 starring the movies, you have to keep a point streak going throughout the entire scene. The point streak goes the extra distance in the shot, which wouldn't happen in real life, because of safety reasons. If you miss a stunt, but keep the streak going, your 5 stars still stay.

I just think the games priorities aren't straight. It is definitely a fun game to rent and play through though. I played the first Stunt Man on PS2, and thought it was a bit better, because it didn't have the strict streak rule like they do now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

stuntman ignition

posted by me0015 (WINTER HAVEN, FL) Sep 8, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

Stuntman ignition is the worst game ever but it is cool how you can do stunts and stuff but it's that you can't drive around or do your own stunts and it's really hard to get a perfect score or even 4 stars
[rating on how you do] and it's just plane stupid to be in a studio filming it and not doing it on the streets where the real action is

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring and Hard

posted by BadatGames (NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA) Sep 2, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Stuntman Ignition has good graphics but is complicated, and boring. I think the only fun thing was the constructer, you get to do what ever you want. This game deserves a 4 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Close....

posted by Xplay3r (SEMINOLE, FL) Jun 30, 2009

Member since Aug 2004

The first Stuntman game is one of the best games I have ever played. It was simply fantastic. I still rate it high on my list to this day. Stuntman Ignition almost comes as close. It uses the same formula, tunes up the graphic's, and gives you more movie's to be in that are suspiciously simliar to real movies. However i feel that something was lost along the way. the realism of the first one seems to have disappeared a bit, also the difficulty seems to have gone down hill, the levels are a bit difficult but nothing like the first one. Yes you need good ratings to unlock more levels but that doesn't make it more difficult, it just makes you have to repeat levels ad-nauseam until you get an almost perfect score. The first game was hard, not in the "i'll never be able to beat it" hard, hard in the "man i really got to concentrate and use all my ability's but I know I can do it" hard.
Gone are the cutscenes where the stuntman talks about the stunts that are going to be preformed that made you feel like you were actually in the the imersion seems to have taken a bit of a dive somewhere and the game just doesn't feel as strong as the first did.
also gone is the kick butt song from the first one but i understand that.
Basicly, rent it, it's a good game, you'll have fun and you will enjoy it. Don't go in expecting the old game improved a bit, it's more like the old idea from someone else's take on it. It doesn't hold water against the first game but you'll enjoy it none the less.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

sucks

posted by zackatttac (PLEASANT VIEW, TN) Jun 9, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great party game

posted by gman56gman (HUMBLE, TX) Jun 6, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

i thought this game was tons of fun. we always have tons of people hangin at the casa, and this game is perfect for that, even non gamers, because its just a blast to watch others play! graphics are tight, i agree with everyone, gets old and repetetive, but thats the type of game it is. if your not in to trial and error, you will get mad pretty quick. but its a great game for a bunch of peeps, you canpass the controler till someone passes the mission, or gets a 5star, and so on. like i said great party game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse