Rent Stuntman: Ignition for PS3
view large frontback

Stuntman: Ignition

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS2
GF Rating
6.0

1757 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

gets old FAST

posted by ripleister (LEXINGTON, MA) Mar 15, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Though this game may seem a little bit fun at first, you do do some pretty awesome stunts, it gets old fast, REALLY REALLY fast. I got through one level before I got tired of the choreographed stunts and pass/fail nature of each stunt where if you didn't do exactly the right thing you failed. Not a bad idea but I just don't think it will work for a video game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FAST, SMOOTH, FUN!!!

posted by PS3neXtGen (BLOOMFIELD, NJ) Sep 24, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

This game is very well put together. I have never played this game before on any system, but have heard about it. I have to say the game is addicting.

The most unique and perhaps best aspect of the game is actually looking forward to replay scenes(levels) of the game.

Basically you have a half dozen movies to perform
stunts in. Each as unique as the other. But the fps and action is soo intense that the replay value is very very high. Plus once you become used to the controls you try to master each level.

I think this game is def worth a spot in your Q. Please do not mistake this as a racing, driving sim. This IS NOT one of those. It is a total spectacle of well sequenced and excellent timed mechanics that are moive-worthy.

Alot of time must have been put in to develop these elaborate action scenes as they are just as fun to watch your replay as actually drive the course.

Think of it as an extreme obstacle course but Next-Gen graphics, physics and gameplay.

Graphics 8.5\10 --- Comparable to Dirt's graphics

Sound 9.0\10 Crank this baby up on your Sound System its like watching an action movie!

Gameplay 8.5\10 --- Only downfall is you NEED to play a level more than 3-4 times to actually experience the true fun that the game delivers but no worries its great

Online: NR --- Havent Ventured into the MP aspect

Replay Value 8.0\10 Sure to leep you busy until Jericho and or KZ2

Learning Curve Approx. 20 min ---

Comparable to --- Full Auto 2 meets Steven Spielberg

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Let's play online

posted by Freeze17 (KUNA, ID) Sep 24, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2005

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Just purchased this game and it is a lot of fun. If you are thinking of playing this game expect to play levels over and over again. The controls are solid, graphics are good. The online play is a ton of fun. The only drawback is that there are not that many people playing online...you hear crickets. We need to remedy that...rent and play online people!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

stunts excellent!

posted by Oneyungbro (TUCSON, AZ) Dec 17, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

the game is pretty cool of the graphics and the stunts are pretty cool to the burning building and the directions... like scrape the semi, through the burning building, and over-take lanes of a driving car!!!!!!!!!!!!shoot I'll probly keep this awesome game!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Too frustrating for what it's worth!

posted by smplepinoi (SAN LEANDRO, CA) Dec 10, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you are a perfectionist or a gamer who likes to get 100% of the goal of the game/mission, DO NOT GET THIS GAME!
The producers or game designers of this game must have thought that making a game impossibly frustrating would make the game interesting/good. That is just stupid.
On the surface, the game's goal is to drive through a action movie set and perform specific stunts in specific areas. You will be scored out of "5 stars" how well you scored/strung them (kept stunts continuous). What it doesn't show is that in order to get the full 5 star credit, you can't simply do the stunts; you have to "string" them together. How do you do this you ask? You would think it would be some cool gameplay, but no, this is the stupid frustrating part. You have to either drive close to an object (but cannot hit it?!?!?) or drift (and mess up your time). So adding that should be frustrating enough. No, the creators go one extremely frustrating step more. You have to do them within 2 seconds of each other [which is never long enough] (I always said if it was just half a second more, the game would easily not be as frustrating as it is) or it resets your "string" and you CANNOT get the 5 star.
Like all reviewers say, be prepared to do a level MULTIPLE times before getting it down. And when you FINALLY get the 5 stars (if that's what you've been aiming for as I did), you don't even feel fulfilled. You feel a more like "finally, at last."
BUT I have to say that the concept, video quality, and especially audio quality are all superb on the PS3. At least in those areas the game is fun.
In the end, this game gets so frustrating that it isn't even fun. It ends up feeling like work than "playing" a video game. This game is more trouble/and work than its worth in fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Loads of fun!!!

posted by big661982 (SIDNEY, NY) Jan 2, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I played the original Stuntman game and I loved it. This game is just as much fun. I love the challenge, however, of trying to string the scenes, it adds an extra level of difficulty. When I first started playing I didn't care about the stringing, but now that I have been playing it, I focus on making sure to string the levels.

The only real downsides of this game are I can see the replay value not being there. That was my only problem with the original game, once you beat it, you beat it. Yeah the stunt creator is fun, but how many times can you do create different stunts? Also, it can be incredibly frustrating because not every scene is exactly the same as before. Sometimes the explosions and accidents cause cars to shift in your way that didn't happen before and it throws you off the next time through, causing you to want to re shoot to be perfect. This causes a lot of irritation with me because I a strive for perfection, one scene took me almost 3 hours to get perfect and string from the beginning to the end of a scene. Finally, I think some of the things you can get marked off on are very "ticky tacky", for instance if you are trying to gap two objects it sometimes says you hit part of the gap, when in replays it clearly shows you haven't hit anything

I do love the story lines and the diversity, I even like the fact that they put a sequel from the first game in here with A Whoopin' and Hollerin' II. Nice touch.

I cannot wait until I beat the game, I may hang onto this one for a while before I send it back. Definitely not a keeper, but something to hang on to for a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great game for a perfectionist player.

posted by Mikemare (CLYDE, NC) Nov 19, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great game if you like playing the same short levels over and over to get them perfect. However, if your like me and play to see new things, then this game may simply peave you off.

Graphics are decent, not nearly as good as the hype, and the explosions are last generation bad. Car physics seem off, as the cars slide strange, and never seem to take the same corners the same way.

If your looking for a racer, this is not it! If your looking for a perfectionist game, look no further.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

fun for 3 houres

posted by zisman (MELVILLE, NY) Oct 12, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

fun for 3 houres
thats it1!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Don't rinse & repeat. Combo!

posted by Gregarious (RICHMOND, VA) Sep 28, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Pros: The game looks pretty good, has a lot going on, is mildly addictive (until you smash your controller), and has plenty of action and levels.

Cons: Did I mention that you might smash your controller? You'll play each level until you get it right. While you might think that you are supposed to hit every stunt to succeed, "right" means "combos". The CVG site said it best, "It's entirely possible to miss four crucial stunts (miss five and you have to re-shoot the whole thing) and still get a perfect award, because Stuntman: Ignition's not about hitting each objective, it's about chaining them from start to finish."

Now that you know this, the game might be more fun. I still haven't sent mine back yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not that bad...

posted by hades360 (CHICAGO, IL) Feb 8, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Ive played this for the ps2 and this version is better in graphics. Im not gonna make this a long and boring review so yea, dont expect this to be a racing game cause its not! Its just a game where you play as different cars in movies and try to get a combo load of stunts to get a high score. Yup thats it...you could also play online but its not much fun and plus noone hardly goes on anyway. Its a fun sidegame when your bored just plain and simple.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Stuntman Ignition better then the first one???

posted by grod1988 (LAWRENCEBURG, TN) Oct 23, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

Well I beleive that it is better then the first.. Great gameplay....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Fun in theory, but not in practice

posted by jlevitsk (POMONA, NY) Aug 27, 2009

Member since Jan 2004

I thought this would be a lot of fun, but it was just repetitive and annoying to do all the little tricks to make it through each level. I thought there should be more to it. Not a lot of fun at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Stuntman Ignition

posted by zachxwhite (NORTH POLE, AK) Mar 15, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

This game is epically fun but it has no replay value whatsoever.

Pros:

The characters are funny
Stunts are epic
Gameplay is fun
Vehicles are totally BA

Cons:
It becomes increasingly difficult to unlock stuff(duh)
The missions become repetitive
The missions are pretty difficult demanding accuracy and patients

all in all it's a fun game but don't buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Construction area is the best...

posted by Tronzie (VALRICO, FL) Jan 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This is a good game. Has many options. However, not too realistic.

The best part is the construstion area freestyle, where you can build your own stunds, including ramps, loops, boxes to break. Just unlock you imagination.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Stunt-acular!!

posted by LooseMoose (LA VERNIA, TX) Dec 3, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

The game is good, something different when it comes to the racing genre. The graphics are good the controls are solid and the online is like many other reviewers said fun. That being said their is literally not a single person online, couldn't find a single one. Though you will have to want play a level over and over again to make it look cool. But, when you get a five star you feel like you really acomplished something.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Worth renting but can be MADDENING!

posted by Jaruski (PALM SPRINGS, CA) Sep 2, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

I've played this games in its previous iterations, but this was my first foray into "Stuntman" territory on a next-gen Machine (PS3).

Stoked: The premise! I like meeting the Director at the beginning of each film and the walk-throughs by the narrator as you go over each stunt for that particular scene. I found myself playing some scenes over and over again, even if I got a good score, because the surroundings were incredibly cool. I also liked the variety of vehicles from movie to movie and even from scene to scene. The motorcycles were the easily the best to play, because they offered much better control as you attempted the difficult maneuvers.

Choke: The yellow directional "road signs"! Unless you hit each instruction exactly perfect (and I mean exactly) and even sometimes when YOU DO, the game still says you screwed up and you're on red "X" patrol. I was so frustrated when I pulled off a perfect stunt just to have the game say "not quite" I almost went old-school and threw the controller across the room. Since they're blue-tooth nowadays (did I really just write "nowadays"? EW) I could do far more damage so I refrained. It's like the game testers took a nap during this portion or they forgot to turn off their cheat codes, because the game's default "jank mode" sucks. If each scene didn't offer rapid-restart, I would've sent this back to Gamefly the same day I got it.

Broke: The commercials were really hard, because you can't screw up, not even once without the director calling a re-shoot. You have to put it on "easy" to be able to screw up once, but as Janktacular as those loathsome yellow boxes are, you'll just barely be able to hold on to your sanity if you attempt to complete them all. Special mention: The Armor-All commercial was infuriating and fun. I also liked the idea of "quick fix" or whatever so you don't have to go into career mode to play, but without the directions from voice-over guy, they're not as fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

racing

posted by packman08 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Aug 16, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

game is not at all like it suggests. not easy to learn

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun, Addicting, and Repetitive...

posted by Drey2071 (BEATRICE, NE) Jul 26, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

Good controls, decent graphics, and highly addictive game play... This game made me so mad at times, but after beating the levels that made me so angry, I felt very accomplished. Definitely a game worth renting... I don't think I would buy it though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

No Subtitles, but fun enough

posted by Deafguy (MIAMI, FL) Jun 10, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

For a deaf gamer, subtitles are critically important in every game. This game provides for no such option, thus my 4 rating.

Other than that game seemed like it could be fun, if I had a clue what was going on in the game. only ran through the first stunt to see if I could get the hang of controls, but I have no idea if there's like radio communications or stuff - couldn't tell since there is no option for subtitles, so, in short, game sucked royally for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Just Buy it

posted by Weddle (CHANDLER, AZ) May 31, 2008

Member since May 2008

I bought this game two days ago at a store(CC) for only 10 bucks. So i would just tell people to but it instead of renting it because if i were you i would want the extra days (shipping and play time) for a game that is more expensive. this isn't a review on game quality its a review of money

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games ever.

posted by sammer (WASHINGTON, DC) May 23, 2008

Member since Aug 2005

Don't listen to any bad reviews that obsess over every little thing, this game is what many action fans have dreamed for. In this game you will crash into other cars make asome jumps, dodge other cars, blast through gaps, and anything else that will take people to the edge of their seats. And the Grafics and sound are nothing to shake a stick at. It can get a bit dificult, but in the fun way. It takes a wile to get used to it but when you do man is it good. So don't delay, get it today

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mildly entertaining, sold visuals, too repetitive

posted by bnash972 (EULESS, TX) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

First, let me say I've never been a fan of the Stuntman series. I think the game premise and story line of the entire series is too repetitive, and Ignition is no exception.

The game has some mild entertainment value, but I become very board very quickly. I'll play many games for 2 - 3 hours at time with no problem. I often have to force myself to put down the controller. With this game, I become very board in just 30 - 45 minutes of game play.

Not only is scene to scene play repetitive, but getting stuck on a difficult scene is mind numbing. The voice over is so repetitive, I have dreams of 3...2...1...over-take right, drift turn left in my sleep. You'll hear the same commands a MILLION times throughout the game.

The visuals are solid, the changing vehicles are nice. Small cars, cop cars, armored cars, motor cycles, dune buggies, semis, and more. All handle very uniquely and offer the only form of variety in the game.

I'd recommend this as a renter, but I would never buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Stuntman Ignition

posted by nascarfan1 (Knightdale, NC) Apr 19, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

i thought this game was pretty awsome. You get to act out movie trailers and stuff like that. the only down side is that it is really hard to get to the last level in the game. Other wise this game is really fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good idea but not so good of a game

posted by BLCKSH4RC (DICKINSON, ND) Mar 23, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Stuntman ignition is fun at frist because of the idea, you are a stunt driver who performes specail instrustions. But after a few levels it becomes boring. The game isnt deep at all it lacks in content and doesnt take long to beat. Decent graphics but thats the only decent thing about it. Worth renting if you like demoition driving but not worth buying for anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't Bother...

posted by ThtDrnkGuy (LAKE FOREST, CA) Feb 27, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

If you like tight, confined spaces and being told what to do every 5 seconds then this game is for you. The driving feels slow...like you can't gauge your speed. Not fun...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse