Rent Street Fighter X Tekken for PS3
view large frontback

Street Fighter X Tekken

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS Vita, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.5

1590 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by bigd7997 (DURHAM, NC) Aug 25, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

if u r a fan of the street fighter and tekken series u will love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

just amazing

posted by kingawsome321 (MAPLE GROVE, MN) Aug 13, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

man, when i got this game. I couldn't stop playing. super fun. i'd recommened playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

STREET FIGHTER CROSS TEKKEN

posted by halloween84 (SMITHFIELD, PA) Apr 28, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

i just want to start off by saying i wasnt intrested in either of these fighting titles ive played them in the past but never bought none just never thought they were worth my hard earned money then i rented this game and i was shocked i just loved it im not the critic type gamer im just the kind that loves to play games not talk about them especially the kind that plays through a game just to pick all the negative out of it not me but after i took it back i went to gamestop and grabbed the last copy im only saying its amazing and worth 60$

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This IS a good game!!!

posted by Jrw1202 (KALAMAZOO, MI) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I do not know where all the complaining is based from, and what history most of these reviewers have in the fighting game community but.... Lately before ANY capcom fighting game is released it is heavily tested in the tournament community, and capcom has had a history of dealing with the issues on a timely basis. This game is a lot of fun, the only downside is going online or playing against people that have had more time to learn the details than you. One of my friends have a rule about capcom games: "If they do not pick up the game on the first day, they will not go online because of all the people that have a huge time advantage."

This game was made for the fighting game community!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by Phantazma1988 (CORAOPOLIS, PA) Mar 17, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

I really love this game, it reminds me of Marvel vs. Capcom or Tekken Tag Tournament. The Gem abilities are hard to get use to but, I recommend this game to any fighting game fanatic : ) !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Streetfight x taken is good

posted by LightAngelxX (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Aug 21, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I like Street fighter x taken is a good fighter it is good for those fighter who like Street fighter and taken hope you like this it is a very fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game!

posted by jasonpm (LILBURN, GA) Aug 18, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This game is fun both online and offline the graphics are pretty the gameplay is great i loved ever minute of it. If u like a good arcade fight RENT this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

THNX

posted by TGunzz87 (HUNTINGTON STATION, NY) Mar 9, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1st game i get nd i love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Capcom Vet

posted by 6789ad2811 (WEST SPRINGFIELD, MA) Mar 30, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Being a Capcom/Street Fighter fan it was a real adrenaline rush waiting for this game to fill my mailbox. All the charecters you expect to see from both worlds are there. Brining them both together is something that I always imagined what would it be like.
A new gem system has been added to this production of Capcom. Speed, strenght, defense and many others you might find a necessary or just great to use. Either way it is one thing that will keep you playing for awhile. Thier is just one catch. Some of the more valuable(your chose either way) gems you have to buy to own. If you do not check to store you could be mistaken and keep on playing thinking viewing them as a reward.
Getting the chance to beat up on the vets from both games in a single match is awsome. Some teams you could never imagine unless you played them are possible. Thier singnature moves just scream thier names out. (not literaly) For example any Capcom fan knows who executes you with a raging demon and who packs a punch with a demon god fist. They are all there along with great and humorus movements from other characters you might recongize in the back round of every stage.
Challenges are a extra plus that will keep you entertained for a long time. The fast paced action that is common among the earlier renditions of Street Fighter games is no longer there. Button mashing is nolonger effective. If fighting is all you like thier is a good chance you might like it.
I have been playing one of Capcoms longest and probley most famous fighting games since it came out in the early eighties. To get a charecter is nolonger a test of skill but of how deep you pocket is. It is like bying a grade on a math test. Though It sounds great it is not earned. It almost feels though the gamer is not the main issue anymore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Beat em up!

posted by chiaroscurosity (MONTROSE, CA) Feb 14, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

Being a classic Street Fighter fan, I had to get used to the 3D aspect of the characters and the gameplay in this new iteration. It is still fun and the character adaptation from the 2D side scroll to 3D side scroll is good. Worth a rental for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good...but with a few comments

posted by ilawson94 (EAST BETHANY, NY) Nov 13, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

Overall this game is very good and an entertaining way to kill off some time when boredom sets in. In order to enjoy this game fully though, you will pretty much need to suspend any and all common logic that would normally exist as this game follows none of it, which results in some good and bad things.

Pros:

There is a lot to like in this game, from the large playable character roster (somewhere around 40 I think), to the ability to use two of them at once, to the exhilarating combat and scenery, this game shines. The manic styles of the characters, fight zones, and combat techniques all make no sense and yet seem to fit rather well together. They also make most of the powerful combos easy to pull off (once you figure out what the symbols mean). The tutorial and missions help you to freshen up your skills and provide unique challenges when straight up brawls get too easy or tedious. Pandora ability looks awesome and adds a do or die angle to the fights.

Cons:

With the total suspension of logic involved in this game, there comes a few issues as well as benefits. While the game does fix the issue of some fighters being able to just spam attacks like projectiles to win, some characters can still rapidly produce attacks again and again that you yourself cannot do nearly as quick (one of my fights with M. Bison resulted in him almost exclusively blitzing back and forth with his Psycho Crusher move). The Power-Up Gems concept, while having occasional use, does not feel panned out enough and is very annoying more often than not. My only other complaint is the complete and total lack of explanation as to how the two franchises come to meet. Others at least try to piece a reason together but this one makes zero attempt at it.

Granted most of my complaints come from me being a bit of a content snob as a gamer so overall these are relatively minimal issues in the grand scheme of things. All said this is a great game to kill time for and I still highly recommen

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good

posted by smatrai (LEVITTOWN, NY) Jun 27, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game off of redbox by the way I a m a huge fighting game fan.I like Tekken,Soul Calibur,Street Fighter etc. This game was good it seemed like a cross between Marvel vs Capcom and Street Fighter with a little Tekken in there.I did see with the juggling properties that they did however incorporate Tekken in ther fans so don't cry.For the averege gamer this probably is not the game you want to buy because like other fighting games it often takes a strenous amount of time to master the combos and master all of the moves and strategies of all of the characters.The Graphics are really good though it looks like they designed all of the characters and stages much like in the latest Street Fighter additions.Here is the all round deal with fighting games.

1.Time and effort

2.Patience

3.Losing in online play a lot is normal at first.

4.You may need the strategy guide.

5.If you are a COD player this is a huge transformation for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

street fighter x tekken

posted by 6scotty (SAINT CLAIR, MO) May 7, 2012

Member since May 2011

there was things i liked and didnt like about this game i loved the gameplay and graphics those were awesomes and the team stuff was really cool. what i thought was dumb the story line and the endings and the random throw in people you can play as. it was a fun game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GREAT GAME

posted by mrjones1982 (WEST HARTFORD, CT) May 4, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

GREAT GAME BUT PLAYS TO MUCH LIKE SUPER STREET FIGHTER ARCADE EDITION BUT WITH TEKKEN CHARACTERS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good

posted by CocoFlow69 (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 10, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Its fun but i hope they include more characters for the tekken side

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cole and Megaman - And Surprisingly A Lot More

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) Mar 8, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I rented this game to play as Cole and Megaman, being a big fan of the Infamous and Megaman series. I've played Street Fighter before and thought it was decent but nothing I'd ever put $60 on. This game introduced me to Tekken and I think I may like the characters from that series better than SF - who always came off as stereotypes and clichés to me. Marvel vs Capcom 3 introduced me to a bunch of cool Marvel characters that I never knew anything about and this game did the same for Tekken. I may have to play the Tekken series now.

The gameplay is very close to Street Fighter 4, but it seems more accessible. Combos don't seem as difficult. Characters don't feel stiff when you've just started the game and haven't learned any of the more advanced combos. You'll probably still get destroyed in the multiplayer by people who have spent weeks worth of hours playing this game, but at least it feels like everyone stands some chance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by ReviewerZ (LIVINGSTON, NJ) Mar 7, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I grew up with Tekken, but I wasn't a big street fighter fan. However, this didn't stop me from playing Street Fighter IV when it came out. Street Fighter X Tekken is a game that combines two of the best fighting games in the world into one package. This game may be a little difficult for people have or haven't played either of the two series, but once you known the controls, it's a piece of cake. Good game, but practice a lot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

StreetfighterXtekken

posted by Captain_Crunch1 (QUINCY, MA) Jun 4, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Plays Out Like Super streetfighter New Edition... The Fighting Is A Bit Slow,The Moves Make Me Sleepy.. Not That Interesting... the characters Lack A Bit,nothing like The Other Capcom Installments... some rare characters on here But graphically they look Great... but they play like a snore fest... great game visually but not a hardcore fighting game... theres unlockables,alot some are quite easy to get,just by playing through,some arent.. in all its an ok game.... to just unlock stuff,acquire trophies... also has online fighting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent

posted by rlhowardaudio (GAINESVILLE, GA) May 31, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

Nothing unlockable but it is a solid game. Not worth buying at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A decent title but online is faulty

posted by ShaneN7 (DACULA, GA) Apr 9, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

The overall game plays like a typical street fighter even with the addition of the Tekken characters. The new type of game play reminds me of Tekken Tag. The only major problem that I had with the game was with the online multiplayer. The online has a sound lag issue as well as with the lobbies being laggy. Ive asked around with the people Ive played against they've confirmed the same issues.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Could have done more

posted by Dashinthis83 (DAVISBORO, GA) Apr 9, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I would have gave this game a higher rating except for lack of special and super moves. Its a very good game but is really held back in my opinion by those two functions. With the lack of special and super moves you have to relay mostly on crossover combos. Just like SF3 and 4 you are limited to what you can or can not do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Street Fighter X Tekken

posted by alazandria (MEDICAL LAKE, WA) Dec 11, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

Nice Cross Gen game with stylish graphics. Characters have swap costumes that are available for purchase with different mixtures to have the look of another character. The fighting is fun as there are cross, partner, and "pandora" attacks. During pandora mode, your character is invincible for a short period of time at the expense of both characters. When the timer runs out, you will lose unless you have already finished off your opponents. However, there are storylines depending on each character/team you choose. Some of the dialogue is funny. Special characters include favorites such as Pac-Man and Megaman

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent game; better with multiple people

posted by htmn2054 (RED HILL, PA) Nov 27, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

My experience has been that fighting games such as this are better when you have people to play against online or in person. Unless you really make an effort to learn all the button combos by memory and study the way cards/special abilities should be used, this game is not quite as fun for the casual gamer.

The game was pretty good and I enjoyed the action, it just got boring fast with no missions or storyline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I Suck at fighting games......

posted by ddeziel (HOWELL, MI) Aug 10, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

With that being said Im giving a review on everything about the game that doesnt include me playing it. Yes I still rent and play fighting games even though I am absolutely awful at them, and no I dont know why. It doesnt take a Pavlov to figure out this game is a mash up of two fighting series characters. Its Street Fighter and Tekken (wish somebody would tell me what the the X is about). The game is gorgeous, it looks great, and the art style is about as good as you are going to get. The game runs smooth and had little to no video lag. Its a fighting game so the controls are what they are, for me they are difficult and annoying. To others they'll probably be perfect. Theres a huge choice of characters, Pac Man is apparently an unlock able character but since I suck I didn't know how to unlock him but that would of have been great to do so. Im starting to run out of characters here so short story is the game looks great, plays great and would be pretty awesome for anybody who is good at fighting games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great idea bad execution

posted by defjamliljon84 (PASADENA, MD) Jul 18, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Before I begin with is review let me say I am huge Street Fighter and Tekken fan to the point that I have played mostly all of them (including SF Ex series & Tekken PSP). Now the review...... Where to begin.

Soundtrack (5/10): The in-game music is terrible! Reminds of Marvel vs Capcom 3 mixed with SF4 both of style separately are fine but together horrible luckily like SF4 you can play your own music. The character voices are the same mostly but for some reason Jin, Heihachi, and Kazuya sound different in Japanese vs how they sound in Tekken 6.

Graphics (5/10): I am going to split this in half because this mostly for the Tekken characters since the SF side looks exactly the same from SF4 which is good. However the Tekken characters look okay for the most part. The backgrounds are okay looking with some cameos in the background.

Gameplay: (2/10) This game plays like terribly. The SF characters play very similar to SF4 but not nearly as responsive with even the most basic moves/specials don't execute or get cancelled by a launcher. The Tekken characters did not fair any better which is strange considering that most of the moves in Tekken are 2D based! How did Capcom manage to make the game play so unresponsive and dull. The super moves for most of the Tekken characters are not very good or effective for that matter. Considering how it takes to fill the super meter the matches are over before being able to use the Cross-Assaults (which are useless). The gems and pandora are a joke as most fighting fans and EVO knows this to be true.

In conclusion this game is weak plain and simple..... Hopefully Namco's version will better, Tekken X Street Fighter 2013.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse