Rent Street Fighter IV for PS3
view large frontback

Street Fighter IV

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.2

6703 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

For the Street Fighter purists

posted by Underdog31 (SILVER CITY, NM) Mar 4, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

29 out of 44 gamers (66%) found this review helpful

Very difficult and frustrating at times. I would only recommend this game to SF purists, as anyone new to the series will more then likely find the learning curve to be a bit extreme.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

street fighter 4

posted by zerokool (HENRICO, VA) Apr 7, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

10 out of 15 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

As a lover of this series since it was called fighting street, I have come along way, and so has this title. SF 4 captures the old fighting styles and improves with guard breaks and new super/ultra combos. As like any Online Fighter game, you WILL run into cheats and lagers with magic switches all so they can cheat. If you have other friends with this title you can play online it will make the experience a heck of a lot better. Also, the learning curve on the challenges is a little tough and some combos are just impossible to pull off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

OMG!!!

posted by HardBoiled (TARZANA, CA) Feb 20, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

18 out of 30 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

It's been a long time coming, but SFIV is finally here. First of all, let me just say that this is by far THE greatest Street Fighter game to date. Great graphics, sounds, controls, and replay value. There are enough single player modes to keep you busy for a while and the multiplayer/online options are abundant enough to satisfy everyone. My only complaint is that I would have liked to see more characters, though 25 is enough. The gameplay combines a little of everything from the previous street fighter games. In addition to the special moves, each warrior has a focus attack which can be charged (they work like Alpha counters), a super combo, and an ultra combo. You can also use part of your super meter to perform an EX move which ups the strength of your special moves. The animations on the characters is very detailed and the effects from the moves themselves look very lifelike. A cool addition is the revenge meter, which lets you perform your Ultra combo as sort of a comeback move to help turn the tide of battle. Every character is perfectly balanced so no match up ever seems unfair. Skilled players will find a few new tricks to add to their repertoire and newcomers will find the game very accessible from the start. I always thought SF Alpha 3 was the greatest in the series, but am glad to see this one take the crown. Downloadable content has been announced and will hopefully live up to its promise. An A+ game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Back To Formula

posted by bluelou247 (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Jul 31, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This latest submission to the fighting genre of games from Capcom is dissappointing to say the very least. The game's insistance on the user mastering the ability to execute the 'Ultimate/Super' combo (as was evidenced by the game's A.I. using said move FOUR times on me during the course of one match) really takes away from overall enjoyment of the game. SF4 appears to care less about the user honing the ability to pull off coordinated, sequenced attacks ala Soul Calibur than it does whether or not this move can be done in battle. I played it three days then immediately sent it back so as not to allow my Soul Calibur skill atrophy.

Fighting games have evolved.
Street Fighter has not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Street Fighter memories, but added frustration

posted by mfphenom (RENO, NV) Jul 23, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game brings back the great childhood memories of slamming away at the arcade sticks pulling off crazy moves with funny sayings. The game is fun, and looks much better than past versions of course. The graphics are great. There is a lot of content to the game. The problem I have and that really kills the game for me is the difficulty level. I never read the manual as you do not get them with gamefly and I do not take the time to go online to read it. There are some revenge combos that I could never figure out. You can get the move list from ingame under the pause menu, but it does not tell you how to execute these. I think they take away from the game anyways as the computer uses them like crazy and they take away half or more of your health with no way to block them.

Back to the big complaint of difficulty. I have always been good at the Street Fighter franchise, not great, but always been able to hold my own. In this installment I started off on arcade mode on easy to get the feel back for the game. The game is very difficult even on easy. This fat guy in yellow took me about 20 times to beat or more, and just really ruined the game. Other fighters took a few times to beat. I got to guile and he was impossible to beat and that is when I sent the game back. It is no fun when on easy no matter what you do you hear sonic boom and you are on the ground. You start a combon on him and he hits you in the middle of it to break it up as no other fighter in the game did up until him. He was only the 5th or 6th match into the game, so I would hate to see the harder fights of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game, Few Problems

posted by FTomato (WAXAHACHIE, TX) Mar 8, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I'm gonna put this out there first thing, if your not a Street Fighter master then this game is hard. I got it about three weeks ago after I played at a local tournament. I fell in love with game right away. The awesome ink art style, tight control, and great soundtrack sucked me in right away. With a large selection of stages and costume colors it keeps things from getting boring. Now having said that, there isn't a large amount of characters to choose from, granted there are all the original Street Fighter 2 characters, but there's not any I know from the 3rd game.
There are many different modes in the game from arcade to challenge mode which is divided into time trial, survival, and a new trial mode were you learn and try to complete combos. As far as arcade mode comes it is generally fun especially since another person can join mid game and when your match is over you start from the same point in your previous fight. It does have online play and it is fun, especially since even on bad internet connections there's not a lot of lag.
This is fun to play alone, but it's a blast to play with friends since your so easily pulled into the fights.
Now on to the cons. As I said before this game is hard and this might keep some newcomers away. I myself am, but I enjoy challenging games and I find myself getting better all the time especially in the handy training mode where can set fight conditions and practice your moves. Sometimes I find the boss fight so challenging I do have to change the difficulty level so I don't put my controllers through my TV screen. The only other con is that it has some what long loading time between fights which can be shortened if you install it on your system. I have a PS3 and by installing it I lowered the load time by about 10 seconds.
Overall this is a good game and recommend it whether your a new comer to the series or a veteran since its just a blast to pick and play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Street Fighter 4

posted by HolySm0kes (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Feb 27, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I love the game. I think that this is an excellent evolution to the franchise. The only gripe that i have with it is that on the PS3 the load screen before the fight last about 30secs. That is forever and becomes extremely annoying. The fighting is all fast an furious then you have to wait for the next one, it becomes tedious.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It's Finally HERE!!!

posted by metalgun (BALTIMORE, MD) Feb 18, 2009

Member since Mar 2006

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

This installment of Street Fighter may very well go down as the greatest of all time (barring the Street Fighter 2 purist's opinion). Thanks to our friends at Capcom, this easily goes down as the best looking SF of all time (it uses the Cry engine). Whatever your opinion, this is a great game. As expected from previous titles, the controls are extremely tight and responsive. All the classic moves are there as well as a few new welcome editions and characters. Rufus may look like an overweight pushover but he is an ariel combo master and will beat the fur off you if you're not careful. He is joined by three other new characters, each with there own flavor of special moves and combos.

There are three notable new abilities anyone can use. First is the Focus Attack. This attack lets you charge energy in three stages, each more deadly then the last, then unleash it as a flurry of knee buckling, unblockable attacks. Second is the Hyper Armor. Activated during a Focus Attack, this ability lets you regenerate a portion of your health over time. The last is the Ultra Combo. There is another gauge separate from your EX gauge that fills up and when reaching at least 50%, you can unleash a devastating combo that can cripple anyone where they stand.

Every aspect of this game is extremely polished, the newest being the online component. I had bought this game for the PS3 and the Playstation Network handles onlines matches pretty well. As long as you get an opponent with low latency, there will be very little to no lag. Also the matches are fast paced with no time to think, only time to react.

From the jaw dropping graphics to the extremely tight controls, this game is worth getting for ANY Street Fighter fan (yes, even the purists will enjoy this) or fighting genre fan. I would like to thank Capcom for bringing to the public, a game of this caliber. Enjoy everyone!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ultra Combo Finish

posted by Trucidatio (METAIRIE, LA) Mar 24, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

9 out of 17 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

Street Fighter IV, it's just a 15 year old game, rehashed.

Blasphemy! While it's a cute attempt for reviews to try and be edgy, going against the grain. Calling this game known as SF4 a failure, rehashed, garbage, etc. I've come to wonder if perhaps these youngsters giving this game bad reviews had ever played real competitive gaming in the golden days of arcade rooms. Where SF2, MK1/2 and even Killer Instinct were top dog.

Fighting games, good ones, is essentially a lost art. Street Fighter IV is in no way a rehashed game. Don't let some of the reoccurring roster fool you. Fireball trapping in the corner isn't feasible this round, so take note.

We have a new parry style system, FADC which can be devastating when you combo with it. The feel of the game is very different. Move priority has changed, it's very different from SFII, how SFII is different to SFIII, thus SFIV is different from them all.

To call this fine game a rehash just shows a reviewers ignorance. This isn't a fanboi speaking per se. I don't see a problem not liking this game, but at least acknowledge the changes and give credit where credit is due.

A+++ would buy from again! kthxbai laaaa wwwwwww~~

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Street Fighter Redux!

posted by tsayani (RICHMOND, TX) Feb 23, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Lets just start by distinguishing fact from fiction. No arcade game feels the same on a gaming system period. Well that brings us to the greatest arcade game of all time Street Fighter II the arcade version is the greatest ever however the new one on PS 3 left me desiring for more. The game gets a 9 for graphics and design however the game play left a lot to be desired. The PS 3 controllers are not made for doing Tiger Upper Cuts or Yoga Fireballs that is the biggest problem. If you have a joystick you will love the game if not I gave it a 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

street fighter IV

posted by jadescorp (BOTHELL, WA) Apr 18, 2009

Member since May 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i was anticipating this game for a while. and for the most part, it was fun. new characters and new moves were cool. the 3 levels of easy was kind of ridiculous- i mean, i've been complaining for a long time that the 'easy' setting is never really easy. i firmly believe a true easy setting should allow a total newb to pick it up and win, just to see any ending. adding more levels of easy hasn't fixed the frustration. i got about 95% through the game, all except for a few endings and unlocking Seth finally. well, not one fight put forth a real challenge in 'easiest' mode, as expected. except ONE.....i fought a couple dozen times with El Fuerte against his rival Zangief. could not beat him any way, at all. not once. out of maybe 250 rounds that i had played thus far, this was unbeatable. now i'm no pro, but again, 'easiest'? i think not. that single incident saw me package the game to be sent back. i don't usually give up, but this was just dumb. rent it, play it, like it for what it is, but unless you're a SF PRO for real, don't buy it. mind you, this review was after having the game for a week and playing it almost entirely through. sad... nice graphics. coulda been more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Too Little.

posted by Niqolas (FERNLEY, NV) Feb 25, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Unfortunately this title for me seemed bland. They did not utilize the PS3 for all it's power. Essentially a Street Fighter 2 title. With polished graphics. Little else. Good try CAPCOM not good enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Least the redone theme song is nice...

posted by SPFenrir (SOMERSET, TX) Jul 15, 2009

Member since May 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I grew up with Street Fighter, but SF4 definitely falls flat. It would appear they spend the better of the 1 year working on this game on nothing but the graphics and trying to make them look like they are both 2D and 3D at the same time. The battle system seems like the coding was just copied and pasted onto the discs with added complexity to the combos. I find myself doing single hit attacks more than the combos since the combo commands seems to incorporate 5 types of stick movements and 3 buttons to be input in under 1 second and expect it to be input perfectly. One tiny slip of the stick and you just gave yourself an opening.

But at least the new theme song is nice. Not "Indestructible" the one they play after it in the intro. The classic Street Fighter song remixed. It's the only reason the Game Data file is still on my HDD. It plays the song...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DO NOT GET THIS GAME!

posted by mercyfulfa (OWATONNA, MN) Jun 20, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Just trust me, This game would make a great soda drink coaster and thats about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst street fighter ever. Sad to say...

posted by wcheung38 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) May 16, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Graphic may look really nice, overall it not that fun, get boring in 10 minute. I'm a street fighter fan but in my honest opinion i liked the SNES version better. SF4 fail to me because special take too long to do and of course there always a stratagy to pull it off, point is gameplay isn't as great as i thought it would be. Just my opinion from this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

EHHH

posted by STR8BIZNES (BROOKLYN, NY) Mar 25, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

LAME.... GIVE ME A CAPCOM VS MARVEL
IVE GOT IT FOR PS 2 AND IT TRUMPS THIS GAME HANDS DOWN

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Street Fighter 2 1/2

posted by i3endy (SAINT PAUL, MN) Mar 24, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Wow just wow. Exact same game as Street Fighter II from the early nineties. Almost no changes whatsoever to the fighting mechanics. Four boring/cheap new characters. I feel sorry for anyone who shelled out 60 for this glossed over remake.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

its just the original with better graphics

posted by frost139 (PHOENIX, AZ) Feb 27, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i was really excited to get the new streetfighter game in the mail after getting to the character screen i realized they have almost all of the same characters as the original game with a few poorly thought out additions. the controls are all the same as the original. its really not that great of a game. if i just wanted to replay the original i would have rented it it really seems like the game was just slapped together in a few days. good for a one night rental but i would not buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Street Fighter IV Perfect

posted by Entropy308 (HENDERSONVILLE, TN) Mar 16, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i grew up on SF and SF2 for the SNES. this version has the same feel of those but with better graphics (understating the obvious).

no turbo twitchy speed (except El Fuego), just perfect imo. the button config can be changed on the fly so anyone can pick up and play with you. now if only i can get in touch with my childhood buddy to see if he has it too...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not for the Newbies...

posted by ZeroShadow (FLINT, MI) Mar 2, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to like this game and after hearing about a "Training Mode" thought I would finally be able to enjoy a fighting game. I was so,so wrong.

First the "Training Mode" wasn't really a training mode. It just was an area that let you try out your moves on a dummy opponent. The true training mode is in the trials menu. While at first the trials were pretty easy (Kick opponent, etc, etc.) the more fancier advanced level moves were just too hard for a newbie fighter like me to pull off.

The game was beautiful and well made but when you are having a hard time beating anyone on easy you know its time to just quit and go back to your old bread and butter style of games. Sorry newbies may not apply.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Addicting

posted by EmperorKai (NORTH MIAMI BEACH, FL) Feb 26, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was never good at SF. Over the years I've lost interest in the series, I'm a Soul Calibur person. However, this SF seems to bring back what I loved about the old game and revamp it. It's new animation and graphics sets it apart from the realistic looking games out there. It's creative, adding a flavor that no other fighting game can match. Frame by frame the animations are crisp and move fluidly.

The game play is a bit difficult to get into even if you're an old fan, but practice makes perfect. The people I see giving this game an unfair 4 or 1 score clearly didn't give this game enough time to get good at it. Button mashing in fighting games seems a thing of the past, with new ways to counter and get around your opponent, there is definitely a large gap between those with no skill and those with skill. I've played all weekend and I've improved, dramatically. Give it a chance, if you don't like it from the get go, it's your opinion but give the game credit where it's due. The challenges are fun and go from easy to tough as nails. There's a lot to keep you into the game, including the aforementioned challenges, online play, trophies, icons/titles, and variety of characters.

The sound is vibrant and fun, I know the main song can be cheesy but it does hype me up now when I'm at work or school and I catch myself singing it I just want to go home and play.

My only complaints with the game are as follows: Too many Ryu/Ken-like characters, they may vary in moves but they're numerous; online play, everyone seems to pick Ken/Akuma/Sagat, nothing you can do to change that unless you go out of ranking and go to player matches and get with a person who likes to play with varied characters; training doesn't completely explain how to do some of the more advanced characteristics of the game.
My true rating for the game is an 8/10, I gave it a 10 to balance out the really low 1-4 ratings from the idiots without skill.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Too Difficult

posted by Davonnte (VICTORVILLE, CA) Jun 21, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

8 out of 18 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This game has awesome graphics and everything but the fighting system is extremely difficult to figure out. Even once you figure it out the combos are extremely difficult to execute.
Great rental, Bad buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

If you loved the old street fighter...

posted by Ryanidas (RIVERSIDE, CA) May 19, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Don't play this garbage. New physics engine, great, but the controls are shaky and sluggish. Combos and special moves are ridiculously hard to understand on the command list, harder still to execute.
I spent thirty minutes playing against the same character, and never once even got a hit in sideways. And that was on easy.
The stories are sub par, but Street Fighter never was about the stories anyway.
After this latest installment in the Street Fighter Saga, I find my fond memories of the game far better, and I'm left with a bitter taste in my mouth for how far Capcom has sunk...
I ought to make them buy me a new ps3 controller after the abuse mine went through as a result of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Underwhelming

posted by BigScrilla (DOWNERS GROVE, IL) Apr 27, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This is an easy review to write. If you played and loved Street Fighter when you were younger, you will get more of the same here. If you are looking for a new age fighter that makes use of the PS3, you may want to look elsewhere. It is a title that could have been made on the PS1 with a little worse graphics. As long as that is what you are looking for, this is a great title. Personally, I was hoping for a little more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Disappointing

posted by EddieG098 (ORLANDO, FL) Apr 19, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I've been playing this game for about a week. My biggest complaints are: too difficult and no real innovation. This game does NOT stand out as an exceptional fighting game.
Here is the breakdown:

Graphics: OK, nothing special. I did appreciate the cell-shading effect on the animation.

Online: I found the 'find-an-online-opponent' interface incomplete and annoying. Lots of "could not join" messages.

Sound: I found the sound effects, announcements, etc. to be very repetitive.

Difficulty level: Very hard. I was getting beat up by 20-hit combos in the "easiest" difficulty setting.

Story: Mostly non-existent.

Characters: I was happy to see all the characters I remember from way back when I used to play SF 2 in the arcade. In fact.. a lot of their special moves (and key combinations) have not changed (as far as I can remember).

In conclusion: I had high hopes for this game, but in the end, the game provided mostly frustration, rather than fun. My advice: don't bother, stick with just about any other fighting game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse