Rent Street Fighter IV for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Street Fighter IV

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.3

11437 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Addition to the Street Fighter Family

posted by will63081 (BALTIMORE, MD) Feb 28, 2009

Member since Sep 2004

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Ok, now normally I leave the reviewing up to others but after reading the reviews for this game I felt I had to throw in my two cents. First this game is excellent whether you are a fighting game fan or not. For those of you that don't like fighting games or were expecting something other then Street Fighter I say judge the game on how well it executes its purpose not on the fact that you don't like the genre or that you are really bad at fighting games(Why would you even request a game that your bad at?). Anyway to start the controls are tight and the moves are pulled off flawlessly. If you are a fan of the arcade version you might want to to purchase the arcade stick for nostalgic reasons and to ease the execute of some of the more complicated combos. The new art direction is great and sometimes you forget that you are still in a two dimensional environment. Online play moves at great speeds maybe even a little better then Dead or Alive (which I use as the standard for fighting games online) and players jump in and out of arcade matches with ease. Its like when you were at the arcade (for those of us old enough to remember) and playing when someone walks up drops their quarter and challenges you. I must warn you though if you are trying to get through arcade mode you should turn this option off because the challenges keep on coming. Overall I could not give this game a perfect because the AI in arcade mode is not perfect. It tends to go from moderate to what just happened in a flash (just like DOA) and their are limited customization options which seem to be the standard now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This Game is EPIC!

posted by Piersd (FISHKILL, NY) Feb 18, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

79 out of 113 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

To be honest this is my first review so im just put it in a pros/cons so you guys can see everything clearly.

PROS:

- 2D playing field with 3D visuals

This adds another layer to make it different from the other Street Fighter games

- New Characters

the new characters such as El Fuerte and Crimson Viper meld perfectly into the Street Fighter world

- New Game Mechanics

The new mechanics such as the Focus attacks and the Revenge guage make this game one that will require alot of time to master but easy enough to pick up immediately

- Trial Mode

This should be in every single fighting game out there. This is a mode where you are shown how to perform every single move on the character. Definitely would do this before you attempt online

- Arcade Game Stick

This is probably the best thing out there to play Street Fighter with. Mad Catz is selling Arcade Game Sticks for the truly nerdy of us all. If you verse someone on multiplayer with this you have a 90% of getting owned. I suggest getting the $150 one and not the $80.

CONS:

- Crashes

During the story mode I crashed three times in total. Not sure what caused it but it did interrupt my flow.

- Frame Rate Dropping

If your fighting and use a special sometimes the first 3-5 seconds after the special the frame rate drops incredibly low

- Cut scenes

Tacked on, 'Nuff said

Random Info:

-I would definitely buy this game as this is going to be one of the classics.

-I would rate this a 9.5

-I played on the 360

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A delicious return

posted by Tekyuinaja (PHOENIX, AZ) Feb 21, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

20 out of 38 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

It's simply stunning how a ten year gap can sometimes make all the difference. Apparently the same amount of time (and then some) wasn't enough to save Too Human, but it ripened up Street Fighter to the point that it exudes quality.
As far as problems, there are some Ultra and Super Combos which are stupidly difficult to master. The lion's share are no problem, but Guile's in particular is... well... ridiculous. And useless. The visuals don't dispense enough of that inky, waterpaint look of the promo trailers and the characters appear to opt for a lumpy cartoony 3D look. It's not bad, but it's strange and admittedly somewhat disappointing after the promos and the actual opening of the game. The final boss is as cheap as free chowder, not impossible, but overpowered enough to be annoying when he wants to be.
From there, the game is aces all around. Fantastic use of online match-ups, innovative arcade feature (which recreates the sequence of events where some jerk drops his quarters in while you're finishing off the final boss and "a new challenger appears"), anime openers and endings, great dub actors (but awful lip sync...), great additional challenges, unlockable characters (YAY CAMMY!!!) and a partridge in a pear tree. Since the MKvsDC game, I was a bit worried for the fight genre, but this brings fighters back in a BIG way and deserves your attention.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not 4 Newcomers

posted by SatouM (RICHMOND HILL, GA) Jun 30, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

10 out of 19 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

I'll skip to the point: Do NOT, I repeat, do NOT waste your time renting or buying this game if you have no experience with a Street Fighter game. The controls are frustrating, and there's absolutely no way to beat the final boss on even EASIEST mode unless you use a cheap character (Blanka, M. Bison, etc.) If you try to learn the controls, you'll end up with your face up against the screen, trying to read the small text. Even if you can read it, it will take you quite a while to figure out what the symbols mean. Instead of the noob-friendly arrows and buttons, you have curiosities such as a red circle with a Z symbol in it, and a fist. If you're a big-time Street Fighter fan and you are precise with moving the joystick in a perfect quarter-circle or some kind of Z movement, then you'd enjoy this game. If you can't do that kind of thing, and you're not used to fighting games, I don't even recommend renting this game.

I wasted four days waiting for this game to come, only to be severely disappointed. I've dealt with a frustrating final boss on easiest mode, I've been infuriated by the unreadable instructions, and I've kept doing the same cheap moves with Blanka, M. Bison, and C. Viper eight thousand seven hundred and twenty six times, just to beat Seth.

Pros: Lots of characters, and if you're waiting for a show to come on or something, this is a perfect way to waste time. Those used to the Street Fighter series will probably enjoy it, until they fight Seth, that is.

Cons: As far as I know, the only way to beat Seth is by doing certain moves with certain characters. I've only found three characters that can beat Seth. There are probably other moves you can use, but you probably won't figure out how to use them. I ended up having to use a guide to see how to activate certain moves.

Overall: This game has very impressive graphics, but even the beautiful visuals won't make you forget about the frustrating controls.

This game is good for: Pro gamers.

My Score:2/5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Break your controller frustrating.

posted by Squinky (FLAGSTAFF, AZ) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

18 out of 35 gamers (51%) found this review helpful

If you are awesome at Street Fighter games, then this will not apply to you at all, but the only experience I have in the franchise is with other Capcom fighting games. I don't consider myself bad at any fighting game, but Street Fighter 4 made me change my mind. I had absolutely no problem with the game until I reached the boss (or what I thought was the boss, I still don't know, or care). Extremely overpowered, and get this... I was playing the game on easy mode. EASY!!! And he still gave me a whooping every time I tried to beat him as Bison. There is no learning curve when you get to him, you either kill him without letting him even attack you, or you get your rear handed to you on a flaming pile of excrement. I was upset with the game, so much I almost broke my controller. That's why this is definitely a renter. Probably real fun multiplayer, but from what I played on-line, these people know how to play, and obviously I don't. I recommend if you want to rent this, and you haven't played previous Street Fighter games until your thumbs blistered, then this is not the game for you. Otherwise I'm sure hardcore Street Fighter fans would consider this an excellent addition to the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Simply too hard for new players

posted by Wendelbom (LEXINGTON, VA) Jun 21, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

20 out of 39 gamers (51%) found this review helpful

I'm not personally a fan of never succeeding. The games improved graphics are great, while they retain the old look of the first games, but that's where the fun ends for me.

The first few hours were great, but at some point it becomes painful to attempt the combinations over and over again. Succeding on a normal lvl is near impossible - it takes many, many hours of senseless banging on the keys to get somewhere.

I won't recommend the game if you are not a very serious fan of Street Fighter. New commers should steer clear of this game, and spend their game-days on something more entertaining. Painfully, I will have to send the game back, having wasted 8 days of mail-time on nothing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fun until Seth.......

posted by Darydrus (NEW BRAUNFELS, TX) Jun 16, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

For a HD game it doesn't really look all that good, there aren't many moves for each character and people constantly quit if you are winning online. Personally i tire of the endless Ryu, Ken, and Akuma matches too. Basically it's street fighter with a new look, some new characters, and really, really bad cutscenes that make almost no sense. the worst thing about the game is Seth, you will know him when you get to him and wow, he is practically invincible. Try beating him with C.Viper, i dare you! On medium he is overpowered.

All in all this game is a mediocre good time until Seth, then the fun is thrown straight out the window.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ouch!

posted by Clipped (ONTARIO, CA) Mar 26, 2009

Member since Dec 2005

15 out of 30 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I hate to admit it but I'm very disappointed in it. And I'm a HUGE Street Fighter fan too so this isn't coming from a Mortal Kombat fan trying to lower the star rating (like you can tell when reading some of the other reviews). For those of you reading this wanting to find out if you should rent it or not: RENT IT (regardless if it's good or bad - because it's a SF game and you should rent it for that reason alone), but here is what you're in for; it has the same MAJOR problem as Street Fighter 3; it was great until you get to the Final Boss - in this case 'Seth' - then it becomes ridiculously hard and a little dumb (because just like in SF3 the first round is pretty easy but then he turns into a SUPER BOSS in round two and it just gets stupid - frustratingly stupid where Seth can do ANYTHING he wants whether you're blocking or not). Everything else is pretty great though, to the point where I wish I could give it a higher score, but the Boss (Seth) is so lame that it brings the whole game down from Great to just Fair. I wish Capcom would go back to making a Street Fighter where the Boss is just a regular fighter (like Bison) with no tricks or SUPER agilities, powers, etc. All-in-all I give this game a 5.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

U Suck Seth

posted by belzy88 (LONG BEACH, CA) Jun 13, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is a lot of fun if ur playin against anyone that isnt the computer.
The graphics are pretty sweet with no real story to speak of, at least not one that seems to get anywhere, just kinda movin along like a turtle.
The new fighters seem to be pretty solid with only a little cheapness from abel with his invincible rolls to unblockable attack but thats easily avoided. The revenge gauge can be built up too quickly from blocking attacks though besides that its a solid addition.
The extra modes are basic except for the mode that shows u every move and combo for each person and i think that should be put in all fighting games.
ok, so its really not bad playin against the computer until u get to the boss of the arcade mode, seth. he is just far too cheap and it makes playin the arcade mode no fun at all. I m a big street fighter fan and everything else about this game is great.
If it wasn t for seth i would say this is one of the coolest fighting games i ve played in a while, seth just sucks way too much and it makes me barely able to play any of the other modes in case he shows up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Annoying the Max...Do not waste your time.

posted by Samson1985 (FOREST, VA) Jun 11, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

14 out of 30 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

So Street Fighter IV is basically every other street fighter, expect for the small problem of them made it terrible. The combo and move system do not have "intermediate" moves. Its basically easy then hard, no in between. There are server balancing issues, where basically one character is definitely someone you will want to pick to beat up on people ie the cheap character. Also the "revenge" system they added into the game is just stupid. Its difficult to activate and can just be more of a inconvenience than anything. I don't recommend even wasting your time renting this game, unless you are just really into fighting games. If Fighters are your #1 genre, then by all means this is probably for you, but if you are just looking for something that is fun to play and fairly easy to get into, this isn't it. I consider myself to be a pretty avid gamer, and was A+ rank in Dead or Alive 4, so I don't consider myself to be poor at fighting games. This game was just overwhelming frustrating. If nothing else, just get Street Fight II from the arcade, its basically the same game, just its actually fun. If you are actually considering buying the game, setting your money on fire would be a much better investment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Back, with a whole new flair!

posted by MisterMida (DALLAS, TX) Feb 18, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

13 out of 28 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

This is the one time since I've been a gamefly member that I couldnt wait for a game to get to me in the mail, so I just went ahead and bought it yesterday morning.

To give you an idea of how addictive this game is, I started playing it around 8am yesterday morning, and had ALL the characters unlocked around noon! But everything about this game, is right on point. The graphics, especially on HDTVs, are beautiful. The gameplay, is your original 6 button arcade style. And then, the online feature...THIS is what makes this game sssoooo addictive. Once you get online, it just gives you all kinda nostalgia of back in the day when you were at the arcade playing SF2 for hours at a time. Which is exactly what I did once I got online with this game. It also has a feature that shows and lets you practice the moves with all your characters, which is good to make use of before getting online.

As far as cons...really there are none. Maybe that you dont have access to every character from the jump. Because I could have went without beating the game with so many different people to get them. The main reason I got this for, was the online play. All in all, this game has to get a 10. This one is a gem!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Boring

posted by jermreed (GEORGETOWN, KY) Jun 27, 2009

Member since May 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Dude this game is boring! I remembered street fighter being fun but this one is just the same thing over and over again. But at least is looks good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Lame

posted by Jedimac (ELGIN, IL) Apr 21, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Kinda lame, unless you play nothing but fighting games, theres no way you will be able to knock out any special attacks. I have no idea even how to because the move guide is so small, i cant read any of what it says. Looks neat and cool, but overall a pretty boring repetitive snorefest with sum cool characters. Thumbs down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

When AI cheats...

posted by jonny11890 (PONTE VEDRA BEACH, FL) Dec 1, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is, quite frankly one of the worst AI I have ever encountered. I have never had an AI cheat before, but these guys use the same move over and over and make it very hard to land a hit. Overall, as a game it has a very good presentation and soundtrack. The characters look a little strange when compared to their 2D counterparts, but that is to be expected. This game is pretty decent if all you do is multi player, but the computer opponents are ridiculous even on the easiest difficulty setting. Overall not my favorite fighter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Street Fighter

posted by Gonz517 (PORTLAND, OR) Aug 12, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game looks great but the controls were to difficult to get a hold of. I get why people like it but it just was not a game for me. It is fun only if you LOVE the original Street Fighter games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Street Fighter 4

posted by PSquared (DULUTH, GA) Jul 30, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'll keep this concise -- I hated this game. The controls were difficult and extremely touchy, and the intolerable wait between fights was irritating to the nth degree. Maybe if one had played earlier versions of this game, the controls wouldn't have been so incredibly difficult, but I couldn't stand them, and could never get any of the special moves to work reliably. And thanks a bunch GameFly, for not providing the complete instructions. That helped a bunch!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not for me...

posted by Jimm9349 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Jul 28, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Someone might like this game, I didn't ....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

...Why didn't I see this coming?

posted by DisEngAgeD (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 26, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Before I get to the game itself, I would like to list the Street Fighter games made, all made by Capcom by the way, to explain the title. So if you don't care about the list and just want to see what I think, go to the bottom.

1.Street Fighter
2.Street Fighter II
3.Street Fighter II: Champion Edition
4.Super Street Fighter II
5.Super Street Fighter II Turbo (With an HD Remix follow-up)
6.Street Fighter Alpha 1, 2, 3, and Anthology
7.Street Fighter Zero
8.Street Fighter 2010
9.Street Fighter Ex, ExPlus, Ex2, Ex2Plus, and Ex3'''
10.Street Fighter III: The New Generation
11.Street Fighter III: 2nd Impact: Giant Attack
12.Street Fighter III: 3rd Strike: Fight For The Future
13.Street Fighter IV
14.And of course, it is confirmed that another one is on the way.

There are 21 (Excluding the one yet-to-be) in this list.

'''This series had been going on as the same time as the Street Fighter III series (They won't let me put an asterisk on here).

So now, on to the actual review, the game is actually the same as all other Street Fighter games. Same controls, same people (With one new Boss character and Two new hidden character), but different fighting abilities. There is Ultra Combo are just Special, Cinematic attacks, while Focus Attacks (Used by pressing the Medium Punch and Kick buttons simultaneously. The longer held the stronger the attack) are just... well... focused attacks. Not much has been improved, except for the graphics. When games are good just for graphics, they are good for nothing. I'm not going to go "boohoo, I can't believe I rented this game and don't like it over one thing (which is they are all repetitive and like playing the same game)", I'm going to simply say that there is a good chance all street fighter games will be the same, maybe with each one comes better graphics, and that I'm giving this a 1 because it's like playing an HD version of Pong (Excluding the fun gameplay part) and not much thought has gone into this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

ewwwww

posted by yhaoooooo (FRANKFORT, KY) Jul 1, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

seth made this game all ewwww and the grpahics suck

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Seth the uber cheese

posted by railiron (COOKEVILLE, TN) Jun 29, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed this game til I got to Seth. Seth is basically every cheesy fighter you've ever faced at the arcade. His teleporting is annoying and extremely hard to defend against and of course he always uses Zangief's Spinning Piledriver which as most folks know takes near half health every time.
The Graphics were mediocre at best, which I could have over looked if it wasn't for the cheese fighters. One other thing, anyone know what was with Chun-Li's legs? They were bigger than E Honda's and Rufus, lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST FIGHTING GAME EVER!!

posted by MadMax057 (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jun 25, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have played most fighting games out there.
SF1, SF2, all the MK games all Tekken games accept 6
Ki1, ki2, the sole caliber games even Rival schools and more.
That sad this has to be the worst bar none. In terms of CHEAP
Ticker BS moves, especially once you are fighting SETH the final boss.
IF ON THE OTHER HAND, YOU WANT TO BUY A NEW TV AFTER YOU THROW YOUR CONTROLER THROUGH IT. THIS IS THE GAME FOR YOU.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Street Fighter 4 a bust

posted by BigBlueHou (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 27, 2009

Member since May 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

For the long wait since the last SF, this one was very disappointing. Graphics are good but they lost something on the gameplay, making it somewhat choppy like Mortal Kombat. Also this game is so hard even on the easiest setting. That just doesn't make it fun to play. Sent this game back the day after I got it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game in a nutshell

posted by Seanybaby2 (MAITLAND, FL) May 26, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Absolute garbage. This game was created for the next gen console XBOX 360. Not for the Nintendo. I don't care if their trying to stick to the basic 2D platform fighting style or not. They could have itleast added some additional concepts into the game to compete with current generation gaming. I felt like I was on that arcade machine you played at the game station down the street as a toddler. If you really like the old street fighter concept. You may like this game. But if your looking for anything new and original dare I say next gen material fighting game. Then stray as far away from this game as you can. Rent UFC 09 or itleast soul caliber 4

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

possibly the worst game...possible

posted by Cameron360 (LAKE JACKSON, TX) May 11, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Idk what else to say. I attempted to play the game, and....i just don't know. The gameplay was bad, the controls was even worse & graphics were too cheesy/animated for me to care. I honestly think this is one of the few worst games on the 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

THIS GAME SUCKS!!!!!

posted by 82cypress (EL MONTE, CA) May 10, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

REALLY, YOU WILL BE UTTERLY DISAPOINTED IN THIS GAME, THE CHARACTER STORIES LOOK AS IF THEY WERE MADE BY DISNEY AND THE GAMEPLAY WAS SLOW, WHAT A SAD STORY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse