Rent Stormrise for PS3
view large frontback

Stormrise

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
2.9

587 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
1

Horrible

another good idea gone bad

posted by william007 (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Apr 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

this is a great concept with horrible application. movements are slow, view angles are awkward and difficult to use story mode explains thing half way while skirmishes seem never ending. Moving units takes a great deal of time with the 3d terrain because if a unit can't see the spot they have to move to a vantage point from which they can all the while you have other units awaiting orders as you waste time trying to get one group of three to a spot. because the units move at such different speeds it's easy to have one unit get to a spot first only to be ambused as the rest get there too late. The game looks good and the music isn't bad when it's on but the game play just makes this game one that you force yourself to keep playing hoping it gets better for me it doesn't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

BAD!

posted by Krevant (SPRINGFIELD, NJ) Apr 3, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

Ok i watched videos and read a lot of things about Stormrise and it seemed very promising. I was wrong, this game is terrible. I played the story and its very good but the game play sucked. You can only pick one unit at a time and at times you could not see anything due to the bad camera angles. You can only see what your team can see, so you cant get any birds eye overhead view. This is not what a strategy game should be like. They had a good idea going but they failed with the Whip Select System. If you thinking about getting it because it looks fun and unique......don't.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Just not fun

posted by DarkBishop (STERLING, VA) Mar 28, 2009

Member since Nov 2004

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Although this game is very creative in the way it's played, I found it lacking the one thing games should be, fun. It doesn't matter if the graphics are next gen or even if it has a great story, all games should be fun or at the very least a challenge. This game was neither. I did give it a shot and played for a couple hours but found I didn't like it very much. That's just my opinion.

All in all, this game was just not fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great strategy but rushed

posted by frijolin (CORONADO, CA) Mar 29, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

This game is a good reminder of what strategy games can be. New and innovative unit selection is easy but somewhat innefficient at times since it only selects one unit at a time. Apart from some small glitches and problems with selecting units i believe this game is fun, has a great stroy, completely new and innovative angles to see the action from, and a great spread of characters to choose from, and not to boast the game even more but its made by strategy experts creative asembly, who made games such as shogun: total war. Not perfect but a start of a great franchise in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Stormrise, A Rough Diamond now getting its cut.

posted by Koneko (HUNTINGTON, WV) Apr 20, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is utterly Amazing. Granted it did have a bad start, possibly was rushed to be released by the guys who sign the paychecks, but the developers of Stormrise [CA: Creative Assembly] are Very hands-on with the fans, something that you cannot say about most. They have already patched it with a LOT of fixes and polish, and another patch should soon be released with even more.

Whip Select is not nearly as troublesome as a lot make it out to be, in fact it can be more effecient and quicker than the standard mouse movement in other RTS Games.

Single player couldve used a lil more polish with the voice acting and scripts, but eh no biggy, its all in how the game plays right? And play well it does. Despite a few hiccups theres really nothing game breaking. The biggest trouble is getting over its initial learning curve, this RTS is -far- different from other RTS games with how every unit handles and acts. They are alive people, treat them as such and listen to what they say. Take cover whenever possible, move slowly but steadily. Keys to winning are keeping your enemy in a Crossfire, while keeping yourself out of it.

I eagerly await the future of this game, as with every patch the game improves by tenfold. Pity reviewers rarely look back on how games evolve. :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

1 of the top 2 worst games ever

posted by GAYMER (INDIO, CA) Apr 9, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

the worst game ive ever played the controls are confusing, the story is point less, and the way you control the units are stupid its like a 3rd person shooter with stradegy game controls. so if your planing on geting this game then you're probably going to call suicide hotline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very smart

posted by NxG8killa (NEWARK, NJ) Jun 20, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

The game is very good a different angle of strategy gaming no base was ok the map size were smart making them big like real war. The only thing that sucked was the unit abilities like how you put up the shields and they just put them down when they get in a fight other then that also game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amzing game

posted by whatsup22222222 (KALKASKA, MI) Mar 20, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

best game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It could be great

posted by rakasaan187 (EAST MOLINE, IL) Aug 23, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I agree with most of you. It has the makings of a great game. If they fix the game play issue. If had read the reviews first, I wouldn't have gave it a chance. Even though it wasn't that great. I would like to see the next version of the game. With the game play and commands fix of course. Over all it's promising.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Keep RTS games on PCs

posted by _Aaron_ (ROCKFORD, IL) Jun 16, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This review is short and sweet based on fun. I like to take a game a give it trial run. Naught to three hours of game play. After the tutorials, I was 18 minutes in, was it fun? Oh no! The controls are the fun breaker. A RTS is supposed to have spot on controls but here it is just finicky. Developers on RTS games, keep your games on PCs

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

No the best but different

posted by MrGelowe (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Apr 24, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

This has been my 1st RTS that I have ever played on a game console and although I am not seriously impresses by the game but it different from most games on the market. This genre is not very strong on consoles and it is understandable. But there interesting elements in this game and if you looking for something different, try this game out.

You will not go OMG this is the greatest game of all time you will definitely be interested in and how it functions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Different

posted by Legionire (MARYSVILLE, OH) Jun 8, 2011

Member since May 2011

I started playing the game and the controls were interesting. But once I starting getting into the second mission I believe the game became a little to complicated, for me at least. I think that the creators of the game have a nice concept here but i think it needs a little more work. That is why i gave this game a 2 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Awww...disapoint....

posted by thisgameis (FORT WORTH, TX) Jun 6, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

When I first bought Stormrise I wanted to get into the dynamic squad control gameplay. The tutorial was decivingly easy. The second level, where you had to cross a bridge with limited resources and troops, was pretty darn hard,for ME atleast. So I gave up on that, and played custom. Which was also decivingly good. I won the first match with the Enforcers, and wanted to play again with neautral teams giong at it. For one,as far as I know there is no way you can change what your faction is. How I chose ENforcers (or the computer chose for me) was beyond me. Also, all the teams I wanted as neutral were all on one team against me. I tried again and again....until I lost interest in the game entirely. Maybe someone would like it. I sure dont,so I give Stormrise a 3 out of 10. It could have been SO much more too!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

1 word

posted by madman5677 (MONDOVI, WI) Nov 7, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

BAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DONT PLAY THIS GAME

posted by steelers86 (NORWALK, CT) Apr 6, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I GOT TO TELL YOU THIS GAME STINKS AFTER THE FIRST COUPLE OF MINUTES I JUST GOT DISGUSTED ABOUT THE WHOLE GAME AND PLEASE DONT PLAY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

...honestly

posted by Justin333 (DALLAS, TX) Dec 13, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

I couldnt even get past the opening I thought it sucked so bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

pooop with lame on the side.did i say it was lame.

posted by madeline (SUTTON, WV) Sep 21, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

what idiot created the controls for this game?i consider myself hard on game quality but these graphics need hands on control,not flippin about trying to find A.I.solders. pooooop.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

kieavehlks review

posted by kieavehlk (HOPEDALE, OH) Aug 23, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

stormrise was a decent game at most. i liked the a.i. that the player goes up against simply because it counter acts whatever unit you deploy, so it is a challenge. but a disapointment witht the a.i. was that they send wave after wave of enemies to the same spot. thats not really a challenge when you can simply flank and win the game just like that. the storyline was not so great (partially because i didnt pay attention). another up was that its an original game, an rts set in a post-apocalyptic world. after everything, im sorry to say but, skip it. stormrise wasn't everything i hoped for. it got the hype but could not live up to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Could have been great

posted by forwax2u (CAPE CANAVERAL, FL) Jun 29, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

this game had a lot of potential but a few simple problems and bugs completely destroyed the experience. most of the time, you cant even see where your units are because they are blocked by a building. selecting units is fairly easy but your view is always at ground level which means doom for an rts title. i give it 3 :-( :-( :-( sad faces out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth playing

posted by biggrila (FRANKLIN, TN) May 30, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

Do not waste your time. Very boring game to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Confusing But Somewhat Fun

posted by hazefan08 (SLIDELL, LA) May 27, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2008

This is my first negative review on anything. Yeah, it's pretty bad. The graphics are adequate, the controls are a little confusing, storyline was umcomprehendable for me, and finally the most important thing I worry about how much fun. I was having in the beginning, but when I got to level two, the enemies swarmed around me constantly nonstop; it was just too difficult. Check out some of my other reviews on Fallout 3, Killzone2, and Rockband2. And if you want to try it out, try it out and dont let my review or anybody else's review stop you from getting it, but if you believe in opinions of others, don't get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Please! what is this?

posted by rico08 (PLEASANT HILL, IA) May 1, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

The story for this game is a great story, perhaps one of the best, the concept also a great one but that's as far as it goes. This game is horrible. I tried to be open to the game, no go...bad, bad, bad. It was either play this game or clean the carpets in my house....I cleaned the carpets. That's all the time I care to waste on this game. Thanks.
DJ SoundSet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Big waste of time

posted by PS3freak42 (MELBOURNE, FL) Apr 13, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

After ten minutes of playing this game I had enough. It is by far the worst stradagey game ever made.....dont waste your time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game EVER!!!!

posted by Q765493 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

The game play is terrible, the voice overs are even worse, and the weird snake-like hand things that you have to fight are pointless and stupid. This game is a complete waste of time. Do yourself a favor and burn this game as soon as you receive it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »