Rent Stormrise for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Stormrise

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
3.3

937 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Really?

posted by Revdogma (MEDINA, OH) Mar 28, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

87 out of 90 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

Let me just start by saying i actually had high hopes for this game. With that out of the way let's begin.

The games graphics are pretty nice and detailed for your average RTS. Sound design isn't lacking either. The story is even enough to keep your attention. However, the controls of this game are strictly designed for the masochistic.

As you try to look around the map your brain starts to hurt! Not only do you get lost and discombobulated, but such mundane tasks such as moving your men from one point to another become epic struggles with your favorite 360 controller.

If that weren't enough to ruin the game for you the tutorials are a trial by fire set up. If trying to learn new things and struggling with the controls weren't enough you are also being constantly bombarded by enemy faction troops.

Finally if you are still reading this review, the game is buggy, real buggy. In the first mission alone i was watching severe pathing issues occur regularly with my units, as well as units straight out refusal to follow commands. The "innovative" point of view command system is nothing more then a straight rip off of Tom Clancy's End War, and don't even try to use the overview map.

I give this game the rating of "Better as a coaster".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wow it's bad, really bad

posted by DrKnow (PEMBROKE PINES, FL) Oct 1, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had this game in my Xbox for less than 1 hour before I packed it back up for shipment back.

Here's why...

#1 - The really bad POV controls. The tutorial (if you can call it that) only gives you the most basic controls. Nothing else. I was left to figure out how to join units, pull units, watch units.
#2 - I hated the interface, confusing mimi map, no real feedback on the troops, real bad unit selection with that "Whip view thing"
#3 - The units were impossible to control. If you need to send troops more than a few inches on the screen, moving troops across the field is near impossible in POV.
#4 - Instruction on new 'features' come up during missions, you have no time to absorb, let alone learn to use it, before you are wiped out.

The graphics and audio were fine, cut scenes were pretty good, but after a frustrating hour, the game is going right back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

How did this get past beta testing?

posted by Exidus (CHESTERTOWN, MD) Mar 30, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

38 out of 42 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

After seeing many videos, and TV segments, this game seemed to have potential. Then it's released, and that changes to a complete failure.

Graphics - While not the best I've seen, most things seems to be a washed out grey/blue tone, and ground units can't be distinguished at a distance, or sometimes even close in. Areas are the same old same old, from other post apocalyptic genera.

Sound - Average

In game Movies - Pretty good, as cut scenes go.

Options - Complete lack of options. Clicking start jumped me right into the SP Campaign, with no difficulty slider, option to choose anything at all, other than the brightness of the screen.

Game play - Fails horribly. Units are very hard to control, and cover seems to be non-existent. I placed 3 units of ground troops in shoulder high cover, another 2 units in 50/50 cover in a crossfire, all backed up by 2 assault cannon hero units. These were all shooting at troops crossing a completely open bridge, zero cover. Enemy troops wiped me out after only a wave of 2/3 ground troops. Enemy troops are extremely hard to kill, while the players drop like flies, even if the enemy just looks at them.

Maneuvering units was a chore in and of itself, having to snap back to move each unit one by one, and just to make it worse, sometimes you couldn't even see the destination point. I could place a unit atop a rooftop, troops below could shoot my units, but I couldn't shoot back..

Either way, this game is trash. Do not buy, or even rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Broken beyond repair....

posted by Shadowhog (Leslie, AR) Apr 18, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had been looking forward to this game for awhile, depsite all the bad reviews, but the truth is, its broken beyond playability. I couldn't organize my troops or formulate even the simplest of attack strategies. The camera controls made playing the game a confusing chore, and the storyline was bland, and frankly bordered on copywright infringement.

If you have'nt played this yet, save yourself the trouble and avoid the worst RTS experience you'll ever have on the console.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Do not waste your time

posted by Razrdedg (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Sep 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was an epic failure on nearly every front. Yes the cutscene graphics were great. But, as another poster said the quality in-game tried too hard. It came across as washed out. They seemed to strive to put a ton of detail in each of their maps but the drab coloring made it seem as if some kid had come in to color the map.

The controls were a complete nightmare. Characters were hard to follow. Movements were a mess and dont get me started on missing a character. One of the main things they tell you is not put yourself alone. But, before you barely had a chance to do anything but begin to position your troops you found yourself alone. With noway besides sheer luck to differentiate yourself from the haze of other characters your commander would find himself alone and having to fight off minions on his own. Whilst you frantically search for the deeper meaning behind "There is no spoon" and bend the Matrix to find where the heck your guy is.

The tutorials were so slow you could barely contain yourself from hurling your beloved controller at your precious wide screen LCD. Sound, was good but not spectacular. Game play as you can read above was beyond trivial. Controls ludicrous. Visuals perfect and craptastic.

All in all I barely wasted my time on this diatribe. Someone fire the makers of this because they ruined a potentially awesome game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Stormrise

posted by MetricFall (SNOHOMISH, WA) Jul 22, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was an overall good game, the story took a while to get through so there's plenty of game play time in it however one major flaw with this game would be the whip select it really made selecting units difficult.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not as bad as most poeple say

posted by gliscameri (MESA, AZ) Jan 28, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I actually thought the game was really fun. The control to warp from one unit to another was a little tricky, but you can get the hang of it.

The game is not like most RTS where you have an overhead map. You only have a view from your units, and you can jump views to different units, which is much easier when the unit is in your field of view.

You capture control points that work as turrets, credit generators and places to drop units. I liked this idea a lot. You have to push into a map and gain these points to survive. These never run out of resources though, which is the #1 problem in the game... stalemate.

If it wasn't for the population maximum this game would have been much better, but far too often you are stuck at a population max that just isn't enough units, and you can't spend money as fast as it comes in. I quit the game because it was just an endless back and forth battle trying to take over an enemy command point. The turrets are entirely too strong.

The map is useless and a having some means of filtering what units you want to get a POV from would be awesome.

The game is pretty fun for a day or so, but it gets really monotonous. Great idea and worth a play, but I quit after a few missions. AI is below average. I hope they make a second one and listen to the players. The idea of the controls and handling in the game are awesome, but the delivery lacked key components.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Combat saga with good graphics, but tough to play

posted by parakeet (PORT RICHEY, FL) Nov 30, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game starts off with a lot on its side. It takes place in a futuristic combat setting. I have to say that the graphics are beautiful. They did a good job with the artwork and the fluid look of things.

However, the one major step in which they erred was the workability of the main character. Good luck getting the attack suit to move in the correct way with respect to your attackers. It's hard to walk and run, and the camera moves for reasons unknown to anyone. There were many times when I lost a fight because I couldn't get the viewfinder to look at where the enemies were standing.

This game is not the first one to have these problems. Still, I can't recommend this title as more than a rental. It made me really miss "Slave Zero."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dull and Uninspired

posted by Lexian (Memphis, TN) Jul 17, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Do not rent this game. The storyline is only slightly more complex than that of Mario Bros. Given what the XBox 360 is capable of, the Stormrise game designers seem to have slapped together a simplistic, uninspired "strategy" game consisting of poor graphics, limited interaction with surroundings, dull enemies, and weapons that might have come from that oh-so ancient game, Contra. I understand that game production is a business and that businesses want to create products that are inexpensive to produce but sell well, but come on. The seams are showing on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stormrise

posted by highspeed (BRIDGEPORT, AL) Jul 15, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this had the potential to be a great game but the control schemes are horrible. If they could fix them to make it easy to change unit positions and a better view point this would be a good game. However with current controls and views this game is not worth playing and i would not recommend this game to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stormrise

posted by halomaniac (RICHMOND, VA) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was one of the worst games I have played. It took about 10 minutes to move my army. You can't select your entire army so the game is really annoying the only good part is the story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

its ok

posted by zombie406 (COMMERCE CITY, CO) Jun 13, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is ok. Its not what i thought it would be like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Controls SUCK so bad nothing else matters...

posted by MrMocoCoco (ELYRIA, OH) Jun 1, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The graphics are fine and the idea was ok... I was hoping for an update to Mech Warrior... but nothing else matters if the game is not playable! If anybody rates this thing above a 3 they have to be getting paid!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Stay Away

posted by TheExiled (SAN JOSE, CA) Apr 2, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

18 out of 21 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Stormrise is one of those games that makes you wonder, "What were they thinking?" This real-time strategy game is, from top to bottom, misconceived, frustrating, frequently broken, and rarely fun. Developer Creative Assembly has built an entire product around a fundamentally flawed control scheme and neglected almost every important facet of the RTS genre. Embarrassingly busted pathfinding, infuriating interface problems, abysmal mission design, substandard visuals--these unpleasant elements and many others make the whole thing an unseemly mess. It's the bizarre irony of Stormrise that it's an RTS game built from the ground up for modern consoles yet it's far inferior to those ported from the PC.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

not a good game

posted by BIGPUNGED9 (BRONX, NY) Apr 28, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

it have a nice story but the control kills it and kinda hard.dont rent this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wow.

posted by buster7896 (OWINGS, MD) Mar 28, 2009

Member since May 2008

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Let me just start out with, I wish I could rate this game a zero.

I love RTS games, and have always loved them, but this one is absolutely horrible, I was expecting it to be great so I just went out and bought it. I got home, turned it on, played the tutorial, and thought, this game SUCKS, The graphics are OK but gameplay is absolutely HORRIBLE, it seems like you're troops die so easily all the time. I played the first mission, and the last part of it was almost impossible, but when I finally beat it I saved it, then took a break of playing it,when I got back on, I had to start all over again. This game just flat out SUCKS. I can not believe I spent sixty dollars on this piece of..... well you get it.

This game is NOT even worth a rent, trust me, do NOT waste you're time or money. I am so mad I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Had potential

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) May 14, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

RTS games are usually either terrible or theyre awesome. This game is kind of both though. It is somewhat one of the only RTS games like this. You are this guy that goes into a robot like thing and you move it from place to place. But you dont actually control it to kill people, so its kind of like Halo Wars. But you cant kill everybody by yourself. You can switch from people to people and control them aswell. However the controls dont work perfect sometimes and can let you down if you have to do things really fast. Unfortunately the graphics are pretty lousy aswell. It looks like they just put some mud on the ground and that was about it. In the campaign, sometimes it is pretty hard to find out what to do. Every once and a while i just sat around for a half an hour looking for what to do. One upside is that the multiplayer is pretty good though. But sometimes its hard to find people online. So overall this game is decent, but not really the breath taking game you want. Try it out if you have no other games to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game ever

posted by Greper (HUNTINGTON, WV) Apr 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I thought this game looked cool at first but when i got i was so BAD that i sent it back that day. Don't get it!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

THIS IS ACTUALLY A GOOD GAME!!

posted by gamerdude8 (WEEKI WACHEE, FL) Jul 4, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

dont listen to people who say this game is too hard or boring.the people that say this game is hard are either really dumb or they dont know how to play a video game.this game is complicated i admit it but, you just need to know how to use your resources right. i got this game two days ago and im hooked. this game is actually really good. the main problem with the game is the controls. they are complicated.really complicated and hard to use. thats why people dont like the game but, all you have to do is get the controls down. at first i thought the game was really hard but, gradually as i played it, it got easier. and it was alot of fun. plus people that say that they dont like rts games i would recomend not to play this.this game is for gamers that like rts games. all you have to do is put a little work into the game and its actually fun.the story line is great!!and the gameplay is even better, if you take the time to learn the game. i did and im already half way through the game.

i would give this game an 8 out of a 1 - 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bad RTS

posted by pararigger (SAN GABRIEL, CA) Apr 3, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Don't bother it is a POS! Play Halo Wars you will have a great time playing a really good RTS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

GIVE THIS GAME A CHANCE

posted by tmach84 (DENTON, TX) Apr 20, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

From what I can tell, all the people reviewing this game either had no concept of how to play or gave up all hope when it was a little to hard. Do us all a favor and go play prince of persia. Once you get the basics of Stormrise down (view points, grouping, indirect orders) it is actually pretty fun. I found myself spending 10+ hours on the campaign before I knew it. Hope someone else enjoys this game as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game sucks!

posted by GRpdx666 (PORTLAND, OR) Sep 4, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I knew it as soon as i saw SEGA in the credits !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

controls sucked

posted by ddogbnu (DE LEON SPRINGS, FL) May 19, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

headline explains it all made me sick to stomach

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW, What were they thinking?

posted by SlipKnot34 (LANCASTER, TX) Jul 7, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was really bad! The controls are what really destroyed it for me. I am going to have to say pass this one up. I am a big fan of Creative Assembly with the Total War series but this was real bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Save the time and don't play this game.

posted by soccerjeff (MERCER, PA) Jun 28, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

While the new concept of the "whip" was good, it was produced horribly. One, I don't know how this is an RTS game when you aren't even surveying the battlefield like ALL RTS games are (Age of Empires, Rise of Nations, Command and Conquer, etc.). Two, the whip system is horrible. You can't select all units and you have to individually select each unit and tell them where to go, so by the time you select the last unit, your first unit is dead. Third, the camera angle is just awful and very frustrating. And finally 4th, the game is just bad. Please, save yourself the time and don't rent or for heavens' sake buy the game. I tried it thinking, "well it can't be that bad?". But it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse