Rent Stoked for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Stoked

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.8

1222 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

STOKED

posted by JAROYLA (BOULDER, CO) Jul 6, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

21 out of 22 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

I read most of the reviews on this game and was skeptical to rent it- After deciding to I am glad that I did. If you can't make it through the simple tutorial at the beginning then you don't deserve to free ride the 5 real mountains it offers. I think most of the bad reviews for this game were probably written by young kids who found it too difficult. STOKED is more of a snowboarding game for grown-ups. If you liked skate you will most likely enjoy Stoked. The graphics are the best of any console snowboarding game and the controls are simple and intuitive. The freedom to shred any part of the mountain is awesome! You also can really build up a lot of speed and it feels like it!!! Unlike Shaun White's where no matter how "fast" your going you always feel like your going the same speed. I really CANNOT believe how many bad reviews this game got on Gamefly... I am pretty sure I'm just gonna buy it from them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Stoked or Smoked?

posted by StratRat (GRANBURY, TX) May 23, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

18 out of 20 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

First off, I'd like to say that I gave this game a LOT of time. I like to judge each game on it's own merits without comparing it to similar games. I will try to be as objective as I can

I will also admit that I am a 53 year old casual gamer and probably do not possess the skills or reflex time as many other gamers.

Stoked tries very hard to be a snowboard simulator. It is NOT an arcade snowboard game like Amped 3 or Shawn White

It appears to be designed for snowboarders

Here's the good
- True open-world snowboarding with no invisible walls
- Beautiful graphics
- Realistic Physics
- Appears to be bug-free
- A real challenge for the avid gamer
- runs are much more organic - do not feel contrived
- The $45 price tag of this game is refreshing compared to the standard $60 retail price.

Now for what bugs me
- A lot of snowboarding jargon without explanation of what it means
- steep learning curve
- you CANNOT play this game without the manual (I kept having to do internet searches trying to determine what the moves were)
- Punishingly unforgiving controls
- Beginner moves demand extremely awkward control switches of the analog switches - you need to use the right thumbstick to initiate the ollie jump then immediately reposition it to the proper grab position

I have been playing this game for probably 14 hours or so. I find that I will be attempting the same trick about 50 times before mastering it. This is NOT an exaggeration.

The tricks demand precise compliance and even the tricks on the first mountain are punishingly difficult combinations demanding extremely awkward control manipulation. I will do what I know to to be the correct move but...

- I did a 720 frontside instead of a 540 frontside
- I did a switch backside, not a regular backside
- I didn't position the right analog stick precisely enough to for the game to tell whether I was doing a tuckknee stalefish or a regular stalefish.

I am out of space so I will end the review

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Lets hit the slopes!!!

posted by Tumba1 (SUNRISE, FL) Mar 5, 2009

Member since Jun 2004

25 out of 37 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

Rent game: YES!
Purchase game: no

Short review: The game is fun, looks good, but may get old quickly for some.

Long Review:

Considering there is no benchmark (yet) for snowboarding games on Xbox 360 (amped 3 and shawn white fall short in my opinion) Stoked gets the genre a bit closer to benchmark status but doesn't quite hit the "gotta have it" button.

As an x-pro-snoboarder (now living in Florida no joke) I love to play snowboard games however I always feel like they could have done more and Stoked provides more than it's predecessors however it still falls a bit short. I feel the Tony Hawk skateboard series did a good job delivering the feel of skateboarding mixed with a good story. Stoked falls a bit short in that manor.

The game is fun to jump in and play with friends and it looks great, but may get old fast for some gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than Shauns

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Mar 16, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

When Shaun Whites Snow Boarding came out many people jumped at the idea of having a Snow Boarding game. But now theres some competition. And this Snow Boarding game is really good. It has amazing graphics. The online play is amazing and really adds a lot to the game. But one thing i really hated about this game is its all try, lose, repeat gameplay for the campaign. Very annoying and very time consuming if you dont know what to do. Also when you screw up the person that talks to you really makes you sound dumb, which in the beginning its kind of funny, but then it gets very annoying. Also when they show you what trick you have to pull off the camera angles are just terrible and make the campaign really difficult. So overall the game is really good, its just the campaign that can get frustrating sometimes. And to mention, this game is also very cheap for what you get. Try it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by SBF456 (DOVER, MA) Jun 8, 2009

Member since May 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First of all, to anyone who hated the tutorial, I didn't have much trouble with it and beat it easily and I don't consider myself that great. Also I liked the controls better than alot of other snowboarding games. If you have ever played Skate and liked the controls, you would know what I mean. Basically, everything people thought was annoying, didn't seem that challenging. The dynamic weather system makes the game especially realistic. I would definately recommend this game to anyone looking for a game as close to the real thing as possible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Im STOKED for this game

posted by SOLIDSTIX (MARTINEZ, CA) Mar 29, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Rent: Absolutely
Buy: Yes

Wow, this game is so great
its probably 1000 times better than shaun white snowboarding for a bunch of reasons:
1. Graphics are great
2. Backcountry is raw
3. Sponsors are dope
4. you don't have to collect tokens or whatever like you do in shaun white.
5. mountains are huge
6.Controls are a billion times better

There are a few flaws though
some of them are:
1. Not a huge selection of gear
2. Not a lot of mountains

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

is that snow or thick mud ?

posted by jademonki (ANCHORAGE, AK) Apr 28, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

wow I didn't like this game. I'm a big fan of snowboarding games, ssx, amped, arcade or sim.

this one had such dull, slow controls and even when pointed straight down hill there was not much speed.

I snowboard in real life and there's always that moment where your going to fast to be in control. I felt like this game was moving in slow motion at best and never worried about going to fast... in fact it was painfully slow.

I gave up after about an hour.

ideas for stoked 2... ; make the snowboard slide on the snow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Go Shred Elsewhere

posted by AJGameFly (BELLINGHAM, WA) Apr 24, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Let me preface my review by saying this: You will get extremely frustrated playing this game.

Now, imagine a game like Skate. It's not easy by any means, but they tried to make the controls possible for the player if you gave it some time. In Stoked, you find yourself getting caught up in a flurry of right stick oriented tricks, and almost an entire absence of using the buttons at all. Some say they like this approach more, but for me, I prefer holding down a trigger or the A-button to pump for a jump, then use the sticks in combination with button presses to pull of various tricks.

As one of the other reviewers already stated, the game is very unforgiving. You could pull off a 1080, when trying to do a Frontside 360, and it wouldn't give it to you. You literally have to get EXACTLY what the trick says. This can be especially frustrating when you are trying to be competitive with an especially difficult computer.

Lastly, the learning curve for this game is quite steep. You get extremely basic instructions on how to do just enough to get you by. The rest is in mini-text files in an options menu. Overall, I was just very unimpressed by this game. Being an Amped fan, this game was no where near as good in my honest opinion. Yes, I know that Amped 3 has flaws, and that it too can be frustrating, but at least the story progresses. This game is bland, un-engaging, and truly a forgettable title. Save your time and energy and just rent Amped. (If you hate Amped, you won't find much salvation with Shaun White).

All in all, the snowboarding genre needs a new fresh beginning. It's a dying breed, and hopefully in the years to come, we will see a fresh new face.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

NOT GOOD

posted by wizardx (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Mar 29, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Stoked is a okay game, but with the lack of game play, you might as well stick with skate. Also, one of the tutorials i found to be hard. another thing is that you had to hold the trick for about 3 secs, before it can get points, so with the small amount of air, you have enough time for about half a trick. all around Suckish game. DO NOT RENT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What a disappointment

posted by AJW7757 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Mar 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I was hoping this was the answer to replacing my love for the SSX franchise. WRONG!

The controls are just horrible. The developers could only code for the toggles. They should have used SSX3 as their guide to assignment.

Character control was just as bad. Stiff and jerky, no flow.

Just a mountain, no parks. Lame.

Graphics were no better than xbox or PS2.

I managed to finish the training. I couldn't take it anymore.

May have been my frustration of not caring, but I never did figure out how to increase my speed. The character seemed so slow and sloppy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stoked

posted by SuperDank (DENVER, CO) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I had heard many good things about this game, such as the realistic wheather system. It turns out that this game really sucks. There were better snowboarding games on the N64. If your looking for a good snowboarding game, rent Sean White's Snowboarding.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Avoid this game like the Swine Virus

posted by Ibis5000 (ODESSA, FL) May 1, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This game is total garbage. It is so frustrating you won't even make it past the tutorial or have any desire to do so. The cut scenes have a guy in a chopper who talks in a thick foreign accent over a helicopter radio. I have no idea what he was saying because I could not understand him. The tutorial only shows footage of a guy completing a trick. It offers no advice or help on how to complete it and IT CAN NOT BE SKIPPED. In other words if you can not pull off a trick exactly right you can not move on. This game is not worth your time or frustration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Well The Environment is Nice

posted by seertekoms (ELLICOTT CITY, MD) Mar 10, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

So played this for a day. It sucks. The environments are nicely done, detail and views are just great, the weather system is cool too. Everything else is horrid. I would absolutly not recommend this to anyone. If you snowboard and someone gives you this game to play promptly throw it in the trash. Nothing even close to taken down the mountain. I was so annoyed by the player character getting stuck, never moving the way I want him to, the sorry jumping. Who ways there hands high in the air when jumping... the player character acts like he was in special ed his whole life. The controls are sketchy at best. Maybe my sticks from abuse of use but Skate2 registers perfectly. Even navigating form place to place is a hassle. Load times are not to bad but whatever it still sucks. They should have put more time in to the gameplay than just the mopuntain. I hoped it would remind me of shredding a mountain but no. By the way I heard they designed this like the Skate games. Skate2 is so much better. If you have a choice get Skate2 or anythig other than this game, you'll be happier you didn't rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not the greatest

posted by sscott721 (SAINT CLOUD, FL) Apr 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Graphics are beautiful, but gameplay is repetitive and gets boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Poor

posted by jakewill05 (WALLACE, ID) Mar 10, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

Game is too picky. It says to do a FS 540. It doesn't even count a Switch FS 540. Too Picky. Definatly not a smokers game. Amped is way better. Better than Shawn White, but worse than Amped for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game.......after a while

posted by Royisking (GRESHAM, OR) Apr 13, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The beginning of the game is pretty boring, simply because it has a learning curve. The customization is fairly primitive and lacking, but after about 3 hours, the game opens up and with contests and sponsor vids, etc.

The play is very satisfying once it opens up.....after my initial disappointment wore off and I ended up buying the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible

posted by imclose2 (MOUNT CARMEL, TN) Mar 31, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

worst snowboarding game ever made!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

worst snow boarding game ever?

posted by Plattinum1 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Mar 11, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The controls on this game are very pathetic. Graphics are not to great. I would guess if you like skate you may like this game controls are similar but in my opinion if you want a good snowboarding game go for AMPED 3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

POS

posted by theron1979 (SANDSTONE, WV) Mar 12, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This is a bad rip off of the Skate series. Sure it takes place on snow instead of asphalt, but little else differs. The trick challenges are boring and tedious. there really was little to keep me interested in the game. I played it for about 3 hours then sent it back to gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Stoked

posted by Surfdog (MELBOURNE, FL) Mar 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

i would rename this game "completely unstoked"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

STOKED

posted by Shaun11 (GARFIELD, NJ) Mar 25, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

THE WORST SNOWBOARDING GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!! u cannot control the boarder,,,, n it is really i dnt reccomend

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dont rent

posted by BigKrazy54 (CHAPEL HILL, NC) May 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Ive played Amped 3, Shaun White, and Stoked.... Stoked is my least favorite by far. The fact that you can't even start off snowboarding is ridiculous. You have to go through 18 trials before you can even snowboard for fun.

The controls are wacky and could take you a week just to get used to. The graphics are alright but if I had to pick between the 3 games, Amped 3 would easily take 1st with Shaun White close behind.

One thing I did think Stoked did well on was the changing weather conditions with snow falls picking up and snow not falling at all. Having said that, unless you have some time to kill and some controllers to throw, I wouldnt recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game for people who miss the real thing

posted by Habarakoo (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Apr 16, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game has the best graphics of any snowboard game ive played so far. There is no unnecessary story line or dialogue like in the Shawn white game. The boarder falls fairly realistically and it is challenging to perform complex tricks. It really causes you to plan out what you want to pull off before you launch off a jump. The game offers a lot of customization and plenty of mountain to ride with weather that actually affects where you can go. The challenges are fun and make you learn new tricks. Some parts of the game are very hard but you can get better with practice. The game is not for someone who ust wants a "I just want to go down a hill and do cool looking stuff and never fall" kind of snowboard game. If you want one like that get the shawn white game. This game is for people who enjoy a realistic snowboarding game with no boundaries.
Everything about this game is pretty good. The only con i can really think about is that there is no split screen riding. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Give It A Shot!!! 2 Thumbs Up!!

posted by hubcap187 (Mammoth Lakes, CA) Apr 15, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

to everyone bagging on the game you have to give the game some hours before you really like it.

when i bought this game the first time playing got bored, poor outwear and board selection. but then i started playing it more and more got the tricks and controls down and opened up the photo shoot challenges. then i got sponosered and opened events and such. now i have sick board and outerwear selection.

the game is worth to rent if you are sceptic, i think its a really fun game not an everyday game once you beat it. but i fun bad weather day game when you can't get on the mountain.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is Designed for Snowboarders

posted by DOSMedia (Bend, OR) Apr 13, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I feel like the first two Amped's were designed for snowboarders, but Amped 3 was designed to sell copies outside of snowboarders (which is why i think it was absolutely awful). Hopefully this game will change how snowboarding games are made. Its awesome. The whole environment is sick too. I really like how the weather and snow conditions are constantly changing.
Also the way your style, landing, and grab effects your score is awesome too, because thats really what does matter in snowboarding.
Sure its not completely realistic, but its getting pretty close.
If you know very little or none about snowboarding, I could see how this game would be boring and confusing. For the rest of us its really good.

I hope they can improve it and add more onto it in the future. It can only get better and this game is already sick enough.

Maybe rent it first to see if you like it, but its only 30 dollars on EB Games right now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse