Rent Steel Diver for 3DS
view large frontback

Steel Diver

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.4

416 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Steel-Commander Mode most interesting

posted by justin167 (ELLIS, KS) Apr 9, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There are three game modes in Steel Diver: the mission mode, the periscope mini-game, and the turn based 1 to 2-player steel-commander. The mission mode has you controlling your sub across a level filled with obstacles and things like enemy torpedoes. I personally did not like this mode all that well (even though it is the main mode of the game). It was quite difficult to control because there were so many different things to manipulate simultaneously: the speed, depth, the pitch (angle), and torpedoes. I imagine if you play it enough (which admittedly, I didn't) you will eventually get the hang of it, however, I found the other modes much more enjoyable. The periscope mini-game, while short and somewhat repetitive is where you can have the most instantaneous fun. Moving your body around a full 360 degrees, you have to shoot torpedoes at either ships or other submarines, trying to destroy them all as fast as you can. This is the game to show other people in order to impress them the most. The final mode, the steel-commander mode, however, was my favorite of the modes. It reminded me a little of the old board-game Battleship; in it you face off against an opponent, either a CPU or another player (they don't even have to have the game, they can just use download play to send it to their 3DS). You have to destroy their cargo ships or their submarine before they destroy yours. Your submarine is the only ship that can go across enemy lines, and while there, if you land on a space occupied by one of their fleets, you will enter periscope mode and will have 30 seconds and 4 missiles to try to take them out. However, they get a chance to release a charge to damage your sub. They can tell it to explode at either 50, 100, or 150 ft and the sub also chooses it's depth, hoping that the charge will explode at one of the other depths (quite a nerve-wracking experience). Overall, this is the most fun mode due to the strategy and the combining of the periscope mode. Overall: 7/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly Good

posted by Shanemk (WASHINGTON, PA) Apr 5, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I was skeptical about Steel Diver, but it is a surprisingly good game. I will say that it is very challenging. This is basically a simple submarine simulator. I haven't beaten it yet, but it will give you the feeling of older games. It isn't necessarily long, but you'll probably sink quite a decent amount of time into it because of the challenge. And driving the submarine is pretty fun and has a sort of frantic feel to it as you have to keep all of your controls under control and watch the screen at the same time. I'd definitely recommend at least giving this game a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Repetitively Terrible

posted by Scootercoconut (AURORA, IL) Jun 14, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Steel Diver is Nintendo's attempt to stall us before the second half of the year when 3DS games worth playing come out. This attempt was a failure. I sent the game back less than 24 hours after I got it.
The main concept of Steel Diver is to control a submarine and accomplish an objective, usually surfacing at a certain point on the map. However, your submarine moves slower than an annoying 80 year old, even on full speed. You have to complete a level 3 times, using each submarine once. I was happy the person who played the game already did this, for I didn't want to replay levels to get more.
The controls are all touch screen, which I didn't like either. Also I you crash into something, you're ship will keep moving, but you can't control it until you fix the leak. This only made me crash again, and get yet another leak. There is very little content, and it gets old very fast. Periscope Strike isn't all it's cracked up to be. You can't actually see the world around you on the screen, which makes spinning around like an idiot that more annoying.
3D Graphics also stink. It gives depth, but a VERY small amount. Audio I had no trouble with.
Basically, Steel Diver isn't worth your time and money. Don't buy, don't rent, don't play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not as bad as everyone says

posted by jdz3 (FORT WAYNE, IN) Sep 11, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

Don't get me wrong, this isn't a major nintendo title, but it's actually unique for what it is. nintendo proved they can make different kind of games and still enjoy some success. the campaign mission modes offer a different gameplay then other games bringing back the infamous side scroll (in 3d!). periscope mode is my favorite. allowing you to spin around to find enemy ships and sink them and gives u the ability to dive underwater to avoid enemy torpedos. while it may not be a very high replay value once you beat everything, it does offer a breath of fresh air to the same-o nintendo handheld.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Steel Diver Good or Fail

posted by Exxo22 (PONCA CITY, OK) Aug 26, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

This is Steel Diver one of three Nintendo launch titles for the 3DS.Is Steel Diver woworth $40 dollars in short no,but is worth a rent or even $20.

3d effect:8
Music:6
Controls:7
Gameplay:7
Overall:7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun to play

posted by bobgamer1 (LAND O LAKES, FL) Aug 2, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Steel Diver is a fun game to play. It has three great games you can try that give very different gameplay. The underwater graphics are great and very soothing. If you want a cool underwater experience then this game is a must.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

boaring

posted by wiimainaic (SHELBY TOWNSHIP, MI) Jul 24, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

this game is boring don't get it . its not worth it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WORST GAME EVER!!!!!

posted by arceus301 (MOBILE, AL) Jun 23, 2011

Member since May 2011

JUST FROM THE FIRST FEW MINUTES OF PLAYING THIS GAME I HATED IT !!!!! THE CONTROLS WERE AWFUL AND ALL YOU ARE DOING IS DRIVING OF DUMB SUMBMARINE IN THE MIDDLE OF NO WHERE THIS MAY NOT BE THE WORST GAME EVER BUT ONE OF THEM

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

just waiting for the hit game to come out

posted by megamanretro (POPLAR GROVE, IL) May 3, 2011

Member since May 2011

this game is not as bad as people make it sound. it is short but if you try to complete everything in the game it does help it carry on a while longer. one disappointment in this game tho is that the 3d effect doesn't really do anything. it does at a bit of depth but for the extra focus it takes to tell i rather just turn it off. besides that this game is very good for what kind it is and is very different compared to others released.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Still down under

posted by Fearnot (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Apr 7, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Stilldiver is a good submarine game. I enjoyed the underwater experience. You get to choose from three subs all with different attributes. They very from high fire power to speed. The underwater environment in 3d is awesome. The missions start easy but can vary dependable on the sub your choose. You can get high score and let someone else try to beat your score. The score is how fast you finished the mission. It is worth a play, just to experience the underwater 3d environment. You will have a good time with the missions as well. The action is somewhat slow but it is a good change of speed. My verdict for Stilldiver is it is worth a play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

ehhhh...

posted by patriotwill (TUCSON, AZ) Apr 7, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Steel Diver was worth a rent but nothing more. The game play was fun but got old fast. The 3d scenery could have made it more enjoyable but even that was bland. And one of the coolest parts were the para-scope shooting at the end of each level. Why would they make that a 30 second thing, half of that time you spend fixing leaks and waiting for the torpedos to get to the enemy subs. This game is just lazy. For 40 bucks they better start doing better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »