Rent Steel Battalion: Heavy Armor for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Steel Battalion: Heavy Armor

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $14.99

GF Rating
3.5

230 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Did this get QA'ed?

posted by orionreplay (CHESAPEAKE, VA) Sep 5, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I thought all the bad reviews I had seen were, well, just being negative to be negative. I had played the demo and didn't believe the Kinect controls were too bad.

Then the steep learning curve of the actual game levels set in. You go from the demo level as your first taste of operating a mech with Kinect, straight into a war zone. You will die. Many times. Again. And again.

As I sit just trying to pull down my periscope, I'm opening and closing the vent, looking out the viewfinder, closing the viewfinder, looking right and looking left. I just wanted to shoot something, but I got so tired of seeing my phantom hand floating on the screen doing just about everything else other than what I wanted.

Add that Kinect difficulty with the sheer difficulty of the levels and you will quit in frustration.

I'm not kidding.

You will. (Hence the glory that is Gamefly.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Heavy Something...

posted by Tragician (COTTAGE GROVE, MN) Aug 4, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Clunky Kinect controls make the game more or less unplayable. Unless you have ideal Kinect conditions it is unlikely you will be able to get through the tutorial.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Clunky but fun

posted by LordNoNog (THE DALLES, OR) Jun 22, 2012

Member since Oct 2006

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Many people complain about the clunky controls to this game and perhaps rightfully so. However I was able to see past it and enjoy it. The graphics could stand to be a lot better but for what it is, a first person tank command game, I had a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

The Kinect features suck on this game

posted by saber75 (NAMPA, ID) Aug 23, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The graphics are nice, but that is about the only thing about the game that was decent. There are no difficulty selections (rookie, normal, etc...), and the game has too many functions that use the Kinect feature. It was very frustrating having to stop playing the game because I needed to do something through the Kinect. This is one game that never should have used the Kinect function. I can't even begin to describe how frustrating it was trying to play this game. Didn't even get halfway through before I sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Slight adjustment period

posted by mpjackel (WHEATON, IL) Jun 25, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I had a slight adjustment period for this, and every once in a while the kinect just gets a mind of it's own and the realism is lost. When it works, it works, and it is phenominal. In a generation that just no longer has mech games, steel battalion finally fills that gap. Be patient, it takes some work to get used to it and set it up properly, but once you get the feel for when to be seated and how to move, the game is awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad For Kinect

posted by RadMom (CHANNELVIEW, TX) Aug 3, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It has a good story line but the way its set up to play with kinect is very complicated. It was hard just trying to grab and push buttons required to maneuver through the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Hard to get use to but possible

posted by Malkera (NORTH WEBSTER, IN) Sep 2, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It takes some getting used to but im proud to say after the first ten failures at learning the controls it the tutorial and the first mission failure i could move fluidly through the cab.
Only advice i have is find a place to hide map out what you need to do and hope it goes as planed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GREAT STORY SWEET GRAPHICS!! CAM KILLS IT....

posted by Knightsbane (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Aug 2, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

THE GAME IS AWESOME, the story is wild right out of your worst fears but never knew it. emp blam the world has changed. 70 years go by we are using old tech the micro chip is no more. again the old timy tubes in the outdated TV on the porch are now the top tech.. you will kill and killed again trying to drive this tank the controls inside are so close you will be reaching for AP rounds only to have HT rounds button hit every time you try or the game wont change views now matter how you try, the problem is everything needs to be selectable but the hand is free floating and will go to the light switch or self-destruct button instead of the pull chain to vent smoke, you will die trying to pull the chain because the box its mounted to has to be pulled out then the chain pulled down. simple right.?! you'd think so but the floating hand will put the box back or switch headlights on.same when you reach to start the tank the floating hand will pull vent box out instead. i was trying to put the tank in high gear only to have the floating have grab the map box another pull out bot before you can use it just like vent box but on the left-hand side instead of right these right up by your head. the gear switch is by your left knee the starter switch by your right knee yet you will pull out the boxes by your head because everything is so close in the cab. then the people that ride with you will talk whistle and whine then during your missions you got to baby them or while shooting baddies the radio guy pulled me out of sniping view to show me the map and got us killed. the battle still goes on while all this stuff is happening inside the cab of this VT, then they offer goodies for your tank but its so far and few it doesn't matter. i unlocked mortars on the back on my tank that i couldn't fire off...WHO EVER TESTED THIS BEFORE RELEASE SHOULD BE FIRED!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just awefull!

posted by neadysamurai (PERRYOPOLIS, PA) Jul 12, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Doesn't even deserve a 1! Should of listened to blair on x play when he gave one of the funniest reviews of how bad this game is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

just a gimic

posted by bladezz13 (REDONDO BEACH, CA) Jul 1, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

couldent beat the 1st level because the controls are so BAAAAAAAAAAAD!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Horrible!

posted by Kurrad (AUSTIN, TX) Mar 20, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

The controls don't work! This game is over complicated even with out that issue...way to take a potential GOTY concept, and blow it to pieces, then vaporize those pieces, and narrate it with good voice acting and SFX. Those and the graphics kept this out of the bottom 3 points.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

most complaicated game ever made

posted by Malice322 (SUGAR LAND, TX) Feb 24, 2013

Member since Jan 2012

omg this game has so many manual controls like a flight simulator. way too much stuff to do to play first mission after you get the controls taught to you you storm a beach head.... never finished the first mission can see anything out of the portal available and the scope you have to reach for to use. dont even bother renting this game unless you like flight simulators.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Extreme Patience.....

posted by Lucca_Altomare (RALEIGH, NC) Feb 12, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

This game requires about 3 things from the player.
1] Good Posture [or else you will fight the Kinect Sensor 24/7].
2] REALLY GOOD PATIENCE!!! If you lose your patience quick and start to panic, or rage, you will die quickly.
3] Good appreciation. [ I've lost and died a million times in this game, but just the fact that I'm driving a walking tank already drives me to be better at this game to truly enjoy it.]
You will die playing this game, you will get mad, but it all depends how you react to that. The Sensor can be pathetic sometimes, but other times it can be spot on [ Sometimes!!] Some levels are annoying, some are fun, some are a living you-know-what. Personally I've had fun playing it, [ still am, with occasional rage quits ] I would recommend RENTING. where I made the mistake of buying. Rent BEFORE you buy trust me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Steel Battalion

posted by sixthomed (MENIFEE, CA) Dec 10, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

The controls are to clunky to play the game smoothly.
Also the Kinect is not up to par in order to make the game controls feel natural

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

hated it

posted by chuck6977 (GLENNIE, MI) Dec 3, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

can't play it. the first mission, on the easiest level you get hit so much and have to keep making hand gestures to move so you can see you're dead and the game starts over. this game would be great if it wasn't on the kinect. i bought the sensor just for this game and i regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE CONTROLS!!

posted by Deepness (HENRICO, VA) Oct 26, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

I was really looking forward to playing this game. The demo showed a lot of potential for great graphics and gameplay. The Kinect integration in the demo was a little clunky, but passable.

The full game though?

TERRIBLE! The controls are MADDENING! They're so ridiculous, you'll wind up screaming at your TV and ultimately giving up in sheer frustration. Performing any given motion, the EXACT same way, yields different, completely unintended results most of the time. Your ghost hands will develop minds of their own and grope aimlessly all around the cabin (opening, closing, and clicking everything in sight), and all over your crew (evoking some amusing reactions). At one point, I stopped doing anything (sat completely motionless) and just watched my ghost hands go to town. It was ridiculous!

And all that was when the Kinect was working at all. My Kinect is correctly placed and has worked flawlessly on other, 100% Kinect, games, but every couple of minutes while playing Steel Battalion, the Kinect would completely lose sight of me and I'd have to re-calibrate. So frustrating.

The scenario of the game is fine, pretty cool in fact. The horrendously implemented controls that put WAY too much emphasis on Kinect gestures TOTALLY RUINS the game. It might be worth something if they rework the controls by either greatly scaling back or eliminating the Kinect integration. But as is? This game is a frustrating, rage-inducing, utterly disappointing waste of time.

AVOID!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Semi-realistic

posted by xbuster15 (FREDERICKTOWN, PA) Oct 22, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

If war is heell, this game is darn close. I like how a loader is needed each for both main gun and machine gun. Fun for a bit, until you get irritated by motion control mistakes.

I know i misspelled heell, i did it on purpose because the correct selling is prohibited.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Steel Battalion, tekki-no-bakadesune

posted by ishightower (LAS VEGAS, NV) Oct 21, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

I had such high hopes for this game. I purchased the first two Tekki games with the giant controller. Bloody loved it. The game had amazing control. The heavy armor edition, however, does not. The kinect interface is horrid. Dear Capcom find a way to make the old stuff work again, this game was sent out incomplete. Cheers
The chatter in the cockpit is unnecessary, those of us in the military hate when mil chatter is misused. Good graphics, great idea, bad interface.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dead out of the gates

posted by DJKaboom (COLUMBUS, OH) Oct 14, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

I bought a Kinect shortly after it was made available, and am fully aware of its limitations. Early adoption equals pain, all that. But it did work fairly well overall, and I've tested numerous Kinect-only and Kinect-supported games with mixed results. From Sofware just couldn't get Steel Battalion to marry well with the Kinect, starting from the beginning calibration. It took me at least 20 attempts for it to accept a calibration, and after that the mechanics were clunky and unresponsive. Rise of Nightmares sprung to mind. To make sure this wasn't just a hardware issue on my end, I tried it on two other systems and had the same results. The sad part is that SB looks like it has potential as an FPS, but the truth is that no game developers should be producing games that are Kinect only at this point. In the future, as motion control gets better, but not yet. I would have loved to see this title as Kinect supported title for things like voice commands, etc, but they went all in on this and lost.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

i felt alone :(

posted by FALLOUTNEWVEGAS (WHITELAND, IN) Oct 10, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

the game was really good besides the fact that i couldent play multiplayer with anyone it made me feel like i was the only one who liked the game. :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Wish I still had the controler from the original

posted by WolvenGarde (SNOHOMISH, WA) Sep 21, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

I found the Kinect control scheme a good idea, but poorly executed. It was really twitchy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Couldn't get out of tutorial either

posted by bboy360 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Sep 20, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

Very frustrating Kinect controls. This shouldn't be a Kinect game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful controls

posted by Redliner (AUSTIN, TX) Sep 3, 2012

Member since Jan 2006

I wanted this game to be good so bad I ignored the 4.0 rating. The controls are impossibly clunky and non-responsive. Not worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

So much potential all wasted....

posted by Sirmalek (READING, PA) Aug 22, 2012

Member since May 2012

The game looks pretty good, the storyline is not bad, the game itself held so much potential as the only thing I found wrong was the kinect controls. Now this isnt to say the kinect itself is bad but rather the sensitivity of the controls in game where terrible.

I tried to adjust the sensitivity several times but no matter what I did I was plagued from the start of the game with poor detection. Many times when I pulled the panel out to open the vents or when trying to move back and forth to adjust speed and etc... I would have the game either not recognize the movement I was doing or I would have it repeat the movement several times over. Ultimately this would lead to failed actions such as pulling the small panel the right out just to turn on the lights. Or even pushing myself away from the veiwer to hit high speed gear or change ammo. Everything was such a severe chore it all but destroyed my enjoyment of the game with just these simple yet repeatably used actions that where needed to properly function in battle.

I believe this would have be an excellent game had it skipped those minor actions and avoided running into complications with potentially poor kinect detection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »