Rent State of Emergency 2 for PS2
view large frontback

State of Emergency 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.8

479 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun, but not big enough

posted by oldsappo (WASHINGTON, DC) Apr 27, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has a fair amount of variety which is a plus. You get to take charge of several different characters and use tanks and choppers. The levels are fun and there are plenty of bonuses. There are also nice functions where you can command other people -I used them as human shields. Feels nice to send inanimate characters to their certain doom.

It has a very cartoony arcade feel, and I think this is part of the things I didn't like about it: I like my killings to be more gory and detailed. But on the whole, this is a good game - I suggest renting it whilst you wait for something better to become available.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Better Than The Rockstar Original

posted by tbarney (BAY CITY, MI) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

If you played the original State of Emergency from Rockstar, than you know that the game was pretty much just mass chaos. Well, State of Emergency 2 is a little different in that the storyline is much deeper than the initial State of Emergency. The creators seemed to put forth more effort in telling a story through the violence rather than just having random violence for no reason, as was the case with the original.

I wouldn't recommend this game to any gamer who is looking for a "good" shooting sim. That is not what State of Emergency 2 is all about. This isn't SOCOM, and it isn't a Tom Clancy game. The game is just straight forward shooting bigger and bigger guns.

In all, I would recommend this game more than I would the original State of Emergency from Rockstar. While this game continues on with the same kind of storyline from the first game, the whole package is put together much more coherently than the first title was. An enjoyable game to beat within 3 hours!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

State of Inadequacy

posted by Atmosphere (HARTFORD, WI) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Ok lets start off by saying, that all you can do is shoot! Whats the deal, the first one had melee attacks, which added alot. The first part of the first mission was the best. That's IT! The game is terribly short and really its a waste of the short time that it is. The aiming is horrible, they try to incorporate stealth! But fail miserably, all in all its horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Yakushi999's Review

posted by yakushi999 (YUMA, AZ) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game isn't too much like the first game in the series. Whether that's good or not is up to you. The first game was much more like it was, well, a state of emergency, however this game is a little less like that. In this game not everything is a weapon, unlike the first in the series. If you like using cheat codes your out of luck because this game, as I write this, has only 1 cheat code. It does have a few things the first game didn't, like an aiming cursor, or vehicles. So in the end I give this game a 4.5 and in my opinion you might be better off playing the first, but that's only my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Is it Really Worth it!!

posted by vxReaperxv (PANORAMA CITY, CA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

State of Emergency 2 game isn't much like the one before it because it is much more story based but it does have the option to play arcade games just like the first State of Emergency. On the plus side this game does offer a new and pretty entertaining story which allows you to play as some of the characters from the first game. On the negative side this game can get quite annoying, failing a mission either brings you back right to the start and also can remove all the weapons you faught so hard to get. All and all its a game worth trying for the fans of State of Emergency, but if your not a full blown fan then you might want to try something else

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sate of Emergency 2

posted by Jmanbigd (MIDLOTHAIN, VA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is nowhere close to the original with bad controls and so so graphics i would not recommend this game but i would recommend the first State of Emergency and if u like this style of game you should probably pick up something like grand theft Auto

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

If you like lame Games

posted by ColdGamer (MOUNTAIN VIEW, CA) Apr 25, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful



If you like stupid games then play this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

state of emergency 2

posted by warland73 (WORLAND, WY) Jan 13, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

this was a great game i recommend it thank you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

W-T-F!!!

posted by xXxKoRnxXx (DANA POINT, CA) Mar 8, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

THIS ISNT EVEN MADE BY ROCKSTAR GAMES, NUFF SAID.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

OMG what is this

posted by KiddKaotix (BUFFALO, NY) Dec 18, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

Ok I'd rather play the older SOM the aiming system is BAD, the lack of "wacky fun factor" isnt as enjoyable as it's older title. The only thing worth anything on this game is the begining FMV.......dont waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

could have done a better job.

posted by CHUBBZ (FREMONT, CA) Aug 9, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

when the first state of emergency got released, in my opinion it wasnt that great. i just played played the 2nd one and i was amazed of what good improvements they ade to the game in graphic wise. i just think they can improve their game play in alot of ways. for example i wasnt satisfied with the check points, i just felt like they missions were too difficult and the checkpints were really far away from each other and it was really hard to get past the levels. but its still a good game, it just needs improvements to make it one of the best hits.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Total Production Time... 10 or so Minutes

posted by Luigiweegy (NORTH HAVEN, CT) Jul 5, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

The original State of Emergency was a fast-pace joy ride that blended gore with fire power. The sequel, however, is a failed attempt at turning a fun free shooter into a plot-concerned tactical 3rd person shooter. Corny plot lines and nonsensical situations make playing this game torture. On top of that, the movement is sluggish, and the controls sloppy. From beginning to end, State of Emergency 2 was a lack-luster snore. If you wish to play it, please pick up the original SOE and beat to a bloody pulp everyone you know who has wasted their money on this slop.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

State of emergency 2

posted by hjhjhj (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jun 26, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

The first game had a cool aspect to it, i mean who doesn't like punching guys heads off and using it has a weapon, or mow ing down hundreds of people with a mini gun, the first one was kinda bland, it is ageneric shooter same has the 2 one , but SOE 2 had good ideas, like controling veichils and mounted guns, and recriuting gang members to fight with you and interrigating people, but the best part of the game is shooting, it has some strtegic elements to it two, but the voice overs are pretty lame, and the graphics are mediocre, but for a low budget title it did pretty well, any person who likes shooters would probably like this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Awful is the best I can give it

posted by MrWorfNCal (RICHMOND, CA) Jun 22, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

If this game came out in 1989 then it would of been really cool. But because its 2006, this game is hovering close to garbage! First off, you are forced to use a backwards controller scheme (down=up) not good. And you can't change it!

If you want a stupid shooter with blood splatter, then this is the game for you. If you're looking for something more entertaining, look elsewhere because this definitely isn't it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Review of State Of Emergency 2 for Playstation 2

posted by Hillman (BUTTE, MT) May 30, 2006

Member since May 2006

The first one was a good game but this one is terrible. The graphics aren't that great and the controls are extremely clunky and hard to use. The game is very difficult due to the controls and you take damage too easily because your character can't move or shoot in the direction you want him to go.
I returned this game the day after I got it after only playing for about an hour because I wanted to throw my controller across the room. I would not recommend this game to anyone that likes an action/shooter game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Same o same o

posted by devinS (GRESHAM, OR) Apr 30, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2003

The same old stuff, SHOOT! I lost my attention span quickly.

Nowhere near as good as the first. The first one was very fun, and chaotic. And you could just mow everyone down, and there wasn't a storyline, but it was good anyways. I dont know what they tried to do with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

???????????????????what??- ??????????????????/?

posted by l1lfletch (ODENTON, MD) Apr 26, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

This game had me wondering what the people that made the first state of emergency were thinking. This game is boring and you do the same stuff over and over again at least in the first one you could do melee attacks and pick up boxes, bats, batons, etc and hit people with them now you can do is just shoot and shoot and shoot some more. The game is also close to impossible at some points like iterrogating with spanky. For the people that love shoot em up pointless games you spend alot of time in dumb airplanes and even dumber tanks so its not like you can enjoy the only remotely fun part of this game. if u have 50 dollars to waste you should burn it instead of buying this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst sequel EVER

posted by pooterbrwn (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Apr 25, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

Not only was this game a let down from the first one, one needs five controllers and fourteen hands to play it. The movement is terrible, the sound sucks, and I went bald playing it from ripping out my hair. The story draggs on and on, and even the multiplayer sucked. How do you mess that up??? I always finish a game, but this one felt like a book report.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

State Of Emergency 2: newer,not as good as the 1st

posted by sedition (DERRY, NH) Apr 20, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

This game isn't great but not bad either. This game was o.k. just o.k. The levels are mildly hard, but not enough to beat the cr-ap out of your controller in rage either. CoUGh COugH black cOuGH CoUgh ;) This is o.k. for someone looking to kill some time with a simple yet fun game. Otherwise the original is still better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »