Rent Starhawk for PS3
view large frontback

Starhawk

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.4

895 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great 3rd person shooter!!!

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jul 8, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overview
================
The key to this game is liking strategy and vehicular combat. This is not COD (which I like, so I'm not bashing it). You can't play this as an infantry game (extremely boring because the maps are large and all you'll do is run around getting killed).

The build & battle system is awesome once you get the hang of it. The real key is working together because it is a team based strategy game. Once again playing it like a FPS infantry soldier will not be fun. It isn't that the game isn't good....you just aren't playing it right.

One of the really awesome things is you can also play a support role. You can build up vehicles and protection around your base while others go shoot it out (for those that aren't quick with the trigger).

Pros
==============
1) awesome real time strategy (build & battle)
2) team based game
3) very intuitive controls

Cons
==============
1) graphics could have been a little better (being picky)
2) campaign is just decent (although good tutorial)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great All-Around Game

posted by Eboorohn (GLEN CARBON, IL) Jul 8, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Starhawk combines a third-person shooter with a real-time strategy game and adds on some tower defense and flying. All the elements flow together wonderfully. The scenery is gorgeous, the sound is fantastic, and the added combination of defense while attacking is great.

For those of you who are upset because the rental comes without an online pass, quit your whining; at least it's not an XBox game where you have to pay for Live AND the online pass.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

amazingly fun

posted by samuraijack000 (EVERETT, MA) May 22, 2012

Member since May 2012

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game is everything I hoped for. If you are looking for a third person shooter version of star-craft2 with instant, explosive, strategic online game play then buy this game. If you are expecting a pre-set easy game then this is not for you. this game requires teamwork, and a strategy in all capture the flag, TD, and Zone game modes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Hopefully better online.

posted by jrandmh27 (STATESBORO, GA) Aug 24, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Starhawk is an innovative 3rd person shooter with an added dimension of combat with the ability to change the dynamic of the battlefield by dropping various structures (such as walls and turrets as well as jeeps and hawks) onto the map- all of which are pretty large in size.

The game-play is pretty good. The shooting mechanics are rather tight, and the frame-rate stays pretty smooth, even with a alot going happening on the screen. Building structures in real time while in brutal firefights is fun (with the ability to kill groups of enemies by dropping the structure on top of them). The vehicles all control exceptionally as well, whether power-sliding in the jeeps or kicking on the booster and pulling off jet-fighter moves in the hawks, Starhawk is a game that makes every vehicle very functional and necessary.

With that said, the campaign was very flat. I understand that this game was engineered to be a standout multiplayer game, but the single-player side of things could have been a lot better. Every mission was almost identicaly the same. Honestly, the whole campaign seemed like nothing more than a stretched out tutorial. Though it is true that a good game will teach you how to play it, imagine if your dad never let go when he was teaching you to ride without training wheels. That's how I felt about the story. Now, keep in mind I did not play this game on-line due to renting it from GF, and the on-line pass has to be purchased separately. Be that as it may, I felt the ally A.I. was less then smart to say the least, and almost made me want to stop playing within the first couple of missions. Problems such as them shooting you, not getting out of the way of placing structures (and dying when your building lands on them) to not using vehicles when placed in front of them, it is obvious that this game is meant for on-line play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Most Replayable Game, out there.

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) May 8, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

18 out of 33 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Starhawk is a fast-paced, Sci-fi, free-roam, third-person shooter, with a very unique element in game that implements a strategic course of gameplay... You can build your base while fighting against enemy(In game) . This title is truly like no other... As a "Spiritual Successor" of Warhawk, Starhawk... Gives a great Science fiction story with gameplay that makes multiplayer shine like no other game out there.

This is the story of Emmit Graves .
The frontier is in outer space and a new fortune is to be found... A form of everlasting power was found, called Rift Energy. Used as a Currency -- Rift energy is harvested and sold by any person willing to endeavor into these waste lands and strike it rich on this source of power. The only problem is that Rift energy, when a simple person is exposed to it, it can change a human into a fiend of the rift energy... These abominations are called as the Outcasts and Emmit does not mind eradicating them from property owned by frontiersman.
Emmit Graves is a Rift salvager, that will do any job, along with Cutter and their Dropship -- They are hired to help secure property of claims, for frontiersmen. Nothing ever stood in their way.

Great game. Lightbox has done a marvelous job on this game. A very cohesive storyline and a fast-paced multiplayer experience, that can not be matched.
You will want to buy this game, just seeing how the single player runs so seamlessly with the build and battle gameplay.

The game place a very replayable element. Having that one ability to build the layout in the course of battle, in real-time(Instantly) during multiplayer... Gives you the ability to need a different strategy each time; A different enemy base EVERY game.
You have a variety of vehicles; NOTHING flys as agile as a Starhawk; The Sidewinder, a jet bike; a jeep; and a huge tank . With all that and the building ability. This game will be played for a very long time.

There is nothing wrong with this title in anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great Concept

posted by Marvalus1 (ADA, MI) Jul 17, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I may have been able to give a higher rating if I could have tried the multiplayer. That's really why I rented, but, without an access code, you can't try out the online play. Bummer...the single-player mode is ok, but there are so many other better games similar to this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Online Pass!

posted by spdyrel (WOODLAND HILLS, CA) May 8, 2012

Member since May 2006

6 out of 15 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The game's singleplayer is pretty much an online tutorial. Online pass means no multiplayer whats-so-ever so only rent with the intent to buy. Multiplayer is great fun plus future map packs are planned to be FREE! BIG improvements from Warhawk (fans will definitely be pleased). So my end verdict, about a 4 as a rental (single-player only) and 8 for the full game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not as good as I'd hoped.

posted by flac97 (SHEPHERD, MT) May 14, 2012

Member since Mar 2010

9 out of 24 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Overall the game was moderately fun. The campaign was pretty entertaining, storywise that is, but it never really gives you the chance to explore the defensive powers of dropping your bases. It seems like the entire thing is just the leadup to multiplayer, and if you rent it, you have to pay $10 to play online, ps3 or no. My advice, rent it for a rainy day with nothing to play, because thats as long as it will last you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

UGH

posted by IbexThrone (HOUSTON, TX) Oct 5, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Totally forgettable sadly, because I had much higher hopes for this title. The trend continues with unaccessable multiplayer content ynless you break out the 9.99 on PSN for the online pass. What I personally find is worse is that 33% of the trophies are directly tied to that online pass or original SKU. The game itself has great potential, the build and play aspect to FPS combat was entertaining but a novelty effort at best. Worth a rent if you want a fresh FPS with Starcraft like base building.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Another disappointment...

posted by SharkdrivR (CENTER POINT, AL) May 16, 2012

Member since Feb 2007

9 out of 25 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

Being a PS3 exclusive, I was hoping this game would give me a reason to use it for something other than MLBtv. Unfortunately this game does not deliver like I hoped. I didn't really care about playing the campaign. I was looking forward to the multi-player action. What I've played so far has been disappointing. For instance, in a game of Zones, it feels like the maps are too big or there is not enough players in the game or both. Anyone remember MAG. That's how I wish this game played! That would make this game so much better. This game has the potential but it was executed poorly imo. The Dogfight maps provide more action but gets stale quick. I agree with flac97. Maybe rent this for a rainy day when you have nothing else to play. I totally disagree with Ekuriox. A 10/10 and you're a top 10 reviewer? How much credibility can you have if you're giving THIS game a perfect score. Starhawk is unfortunately far from perfect. Save your money & your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

automatic 1 for online pass

posted by nerdkilla (SAN JOSE, CA) May 13, 2012

Member since Aug 2005

7 out of 22 gamers (32%) found this review helpful

The title says it all. If the campaign is just a tutorial on how to play online, then as a Gamefly patron, there is no point in playing the game at all. Too bad. I would have liked to properly try this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What is wrong with game developers?

posted by Tirade (GLENDALE, CA) Jul 14, 2012

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Played this for a few hours, then shipped it back. I am not an online player so I only rate games on their single player experience.

It seems like a solidly made shooter with some nice action - but YAAAAWWNN. I'm a thickly-muscled mercenary bad-a s s with a gruff voice on an alien planet defending some blue glowy stuff from some bad guys. Um, guys that's not a story, that is just a setting.

I am not given any reason to care - neither me nor my character has any emotional connection to this conflict. Let the bad guys have the blue "rift energy" for all I care. I'm going home. (BTW, didn't Inversion and Crysis also have everyone fighting over blue "Rift Energy?" Originality guys?)

What is wrong with these game developers? It is REALLY not complicated to make the player CARE. Here's five ridiculously simple plots off the top of my head. 1) I am humanities last hope. 2) I must save the princess. 3) I must infiltrate and sabotage the enemy planet. 4) I am searching for the ultimate treasure. 5) I am trying to solve the mystery of my father's murder. Etc... Etc...

Why do game companies struggle with story so badly when it's so simple? Establish a basic story premise and an emotional connection to the action and then just let me play!! Don't interrupt with overwritten cut scenes every two minutes. I would have probably played this game to the end if they have given me a reason to care.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Game, But!

posted by CustomSyst (UPPER CHICHESTER, PA) May 19, 2012

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game servers are down more than Carter got liver pills. Because of this I gave the game a rating of 6.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Decent game but

posted by lotw01 (PALMDALE, CA) Sep 6, 2012

Member since Nov 2003

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is a decent 3rd person shooter. Good shooting mechanics and story is ok. The problem I have with this game has a short single player compain, about 6hrs, and no replay value. Couldn't tell you about online, as this is one of the games at requires an online pass. A way for publishers to screw with consumers. All games that require online pass and are mainly an online only game as this one is, should be less then $15 used.

It is a fun rental, but not worth a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Online Pass=No Rental

posted by Fyren (WEST SPRINGFIELD, MA) May 7, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

9 out of 32 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

This franchise revolves around the multiplayer component. Don't short change yourself by wasting a Q slot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best shooter of all time

posted by megaaustin (COSTA MESA, CA) Jun 10, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Good
. Amazing new build and battle system
. 32 players can play online
. Huge Maps
. every match is diffrent
. Great viechuls ( specialy the star hawk)
. I heard there are going to be free dlc in the future
. Lots of maps
. Creaty maps

Bad
. diffictie to find a way to play with someone with dlc map that you got when you pre order
. diffictie to find a way to play co op matches
. no easy way to exit a group
. only 4 multyplayer modes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Avoid This Game

posted by caperton3030 (DEATSVILLE, AL) Nov 21, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This is just a run of the mill shooter with a few new kinks involved, a dumb storyline, short campaign, and dated gameplay....my vote---PASS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

forget the online pass.....

posted by SteelCity (SAXONBURG, PA) May 10, 2012

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

The MP is weak anyhow. I played the beta and saw great potential with this game. Unfortunately my vision was much better then the developers.

Campaign mode is a joke. I dont care much about graphics so long as the game is fun. This is not. Has the feel of one of those free games psplus puts out every month. You just go through the motions. Its neither fun or challenging. Its a shame to because theres such promise there.

MP mode is boring also. It may be because Ive gotten used to the non stop action in COD but the MP was just slow and boring. Loved the idea that you could build defenses as I would prefer a shooter with some strategy involved but It is pointless in most modes.

Not even good for a rental as you need an online pass and the campaign is a bust.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ONLINE PASS CURSE

posted by VINCE47 (Terrell, TX) May 9, 2012

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 14 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

I PLAYED BETA AS A PLUS MEMBER AND IT WAS ALRIGHT,, BUT ONLINE PASS MEANS,,WHY WASTE MY TIME AND Q SLOT.. SO WHOS LOSING HERE ?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Online Pass = I'll Pass

posted by GoodAdvise (WHEAT RIDGE, CO) May 7, 2012

Member since Jun 2007

6 out of 30 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I played the Starhawk Beta and it wasn't all that. It was just ok. Nothing special there. Maybe the campain will be cool,but there's not much to the multiplayer. Fun for a day,that's about it. If i wanna play a shooter game,i prefer it to be a FPS. Not a 3rd person shooter. 3rd person shooters don't really do it for me anymore. Plus the Online Pass,, I think i'll pass on this game..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Avoid this PS3 laughable excuse for an exclusive!!

posted by Brnhornet (ROSEVILLE, CA) Jul 6, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This type of gameplay is what I expect from an Ipad game not a PS3 hyped exclusive...Multiplayer must be purchased and I aint dropping a single dollar for it on this game and the single player is wack...played first 4 levels and I am putting it back in the mail....Next game please is all you'll be saying if you rent this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

StarHawk

posted by Trioshot (SACRAMENTO, CA) May 9, 2012

Member since May 2012

3 out of 16 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

Ordering this game from Gamefly was terrible cause they don't give me a online pass so there goes 80% of the game thanks for a waste of my PS3 memory space and a waste of 10 minutes to download it this was beyond bad and i don't recommend this game to anybody on this site...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

wasnt fun

posted by durango95 (DECATUR, AL) Oct 1, 2014

Member since Aug 2012

just like tittle says wasn't fun to play ..thought it would be more like border lands.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Starhawk is a decent shooter

posted by Astronskas (AUBURNDALE, FL) May 17, 2014

Member since Sep 2008

I enjoyed this game as it combined the typical shooter with a transition to flying shooter. The game is short though so I recommend renting it instead of buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of The BEST

posted by SneakyAsian (YUMA, AZ) Apr 3, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Starhawk is one of the best multiplayer experiences in all of PS3 gaming. I am hooked :P.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse