Rent Star Wars: The Force Unleashed for Wii
view large frontback

Star Wars: The Force Unleashed

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.3

4287 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game play

posted by howeler (MILPITAS, CA) Apr 20, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was an awesome game for the Star Wars fan!!! I loved it… I probably played it for 48 hours… I loved the fact that you could replay the game as say C3PO or Luke or Vader…. The list goes on… oh and my favorite Mira Jade! I love that character so much my daughters middle name is Jade… Anyhow… Game play was great! Play this game if you are a Star Wars fan! And I play it on a Wii!!! I have tried to paly it on a PS and it just did not have the same feel… You really feel like you are waving the light saber around and using the force!!! But alas that game played trough… and for me as with many “story line” games I came to the end… and tried to play again… but it was no longer interesting… so back it went… Not a keeper for me… So final review… Two thumbs up for rent!!! Don’t miss it… Split thumbs on buy… I didn’t but some day I might want to play through it again when I forgot the story line…

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Play It, Or I'll Electrocute/Choke You.

posted by lemonball (CHARLESTON, SC) Mar 18, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Force is strong with this one. Mastering the Force and playing the bad guy/antihero has never been this much fun. Watching Starkiller (your character's codename) go from a violent young man to the start of the Rebel Alliance is amazing, and really helps the game. It also has plenty of replay value for getting Holocron art and lightsaber crystals and hilts. I only wish you could return to previous levels instead of having to repeat the entire game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesomeness

posted by gameviewer (WINTER GARDEN, FL) Apr 19, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It is as close as you will get to being a real jedi.
good graphics and sound affects some are gross if I might add.
Defently a rentel and if you buy it will be good to pass time quickly.
One time I played a whole day and I thought it was like an hour.
Over all AWESOME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GOOD GAME

posted by whoppin (DELTA JUNCTION, AK) Nov 26, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

At first i did not want to play this game cause you where killing wookies and of course i ma a senstive person where i like to be the good guy. But i have played it at my friends house and i got over it all. I only played 15 minutes into the game but i am giving it another try and i know this game is gonna be awesome!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good rent, low replay value

posted by Boomer00 (AURORA, CO) Apr 4, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The plot for this game was very well done. They did a good job of incorporating the game into the existing Star Wars lore. They also did a fantastic job with the Wii motion controls. It is definitely one of the more responsive games that make full use of the Wii remotes.

Unfortunately the graphics are a bit sub-par even for the Wii. As another reviewer stated, the opening cinematic showed the star destroyers as gray triangles with a few blocks on them. While I wasn't expecting PS3/X-Box 360 quality, even the Legos games had better graphics than this one did. The camera control was horrid, there were many times where the camera would get a head of me and I couldn't see where I was going or what was attacking me and it would take a bit for me to get it flipped around. Personally it would have been better if they added an over the shoulder view, but that's just me.

Overall it is a good rent, but a bit disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Times

posted by actorman (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 9, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overall, the game is a good time. There are a couple of glitches, such as lack of sound and yes there are some environment issues...but what Star Wars games doesn't have that.

Force Controls are pretty easy to handle, but take a little getting used to. Your light saber is something entirely different as there really is no control. You can swing wildly and take some people out, but don't count on it for any major battles. Throwing your light saber is a nice feature and works well for taking down airborne enemies, but once it is out of your hands, be prepared to lose a lot of life bars to blaster shots. I basically only use it for blocking and rely on the force and movable objects to take down enemies.

So again, overall its a fun game just dont look grasp your attention for more than a few hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wicked Good Game

posted by SatanStar (Crested Butte, CO) Mar 7, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wonderfully intriguing storyline and fantastic use of wii controller capabilities!!! Super fun and catchy only complains are the length (kinda short considering how much fun i was having) and the ending (which I guess needed to be like that to fit in with the star wars movies, none the less, upsetting!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Good Idea, Followed with Poor Delivery

posted by Chewy1 (SOUTH LYON, MI) Mar 7, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The lack of any polish whatsoever is so prevalent in this game, that there is no doubt that this software was rushed out the door. However, I tend to keep graphics out of the equation as that is not what makes a good game good. What suffers the most in this effort is the controls. The camera is sporadic and more often than not points the opposite direction you wish it too, and the action cut-scenes tend not to work.

After playing the Xbox 360 version of this game, it is safe to say that the Xbox version was created with more love and care, and is by far the Wii version's superior. If have a choice, go for a different platform. If you don't, this version will do just fine with what it did right.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Force

posted by rwestney (PERKINSVILLE, VT) Mar 5, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was very excited when I received this game in the mail, as a Star Wars fan, anything where I could become a character in the story was very exciting to me.
The game was a lot of fun to play, and with the interactive protion of it, you really worked up a sweat using the Force and Lightsaber controls.

The hardest part of the game was getting past the Jedis, it seemed like whenever you were about to beat him, he would re-charge, and you would have to start all over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Time

posted by Raynemaker (CEDAR POINT, NC) Mar 3, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was a pretty good game. To short for my tastes. I would have been really PO'ED had i spent $50 on it. I beat it in just over 11 hrs. Would i recommend it? Yes. Do yourself a favor and get it from Gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun on the Wii-gratifying after a bad day at work

posted by veelaunch (GLENDALE, UT) Feb 22, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the game that star wars fans have been waiting for. It is a blast to do a force push with the nun chuck, to zap with lightning, to choke or to swing the remote as a light saber. I can't imagine that these controls would have been nearly as fun on another system. It was also fun to use the force so recklessly. I played this game after a bad day at work and it was just what the doctor ordered to throw a few storm troopers out the window. It was an excellent rent. It took about 10 hours to go through the game and the story was captivating. We enjoyed a few hours in the two player dual mode. I didn't rate it a 10 because of the graphics which could have been better. Great Game, Great Rent, but I won't buy it because I've experienced everything the game has to offer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun too short

posted by WiKK3D6iX (WESTMINSTER, CO) Feb 13, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think the title explains it all. Very fun, especially on the Wii. The graphics work well on the system, although there were some latency issues and texture problems, but they were limited. the controls with the remote and nunchuk are simple yet effective. The story is unique the franchise, but limited. It seems as though you play through years of story in about 3 hours is disheartening. I wish the story would have been expanded on a little more. Over this is one of the top picks for the Wii, and can be appreciated by Star Wars fans alike.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nice game play too bad about the plot!

posted by Blackthorn (WASHINGTON, DC) Feb 11, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game play is really nice and the control of the character and his powers is really well done. It's great being able to swing the light saber and to be able to use the force powers.

What this game really lacks is choices in the plot. There's only one plot line and go from one kill maze to the next one. It's boring and repetitive even though the bosses make it challenging. Once you figure out each bosses weakness and strength it's not that hard. I wish you were given more choices and were able to go to different places not just one at a time. And it sucks that you just go through the game killing almost everything in sight instead of being able to talk to people and figuring out things yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

very difficult game

posted by DonMan (WASHINGTON, IL) Feb 10, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed the realism of the game play with the lightsaber, however this is a very difficult game to play, the bosses are very tough to beat. I guess if you are a teenage who games allllllll the time you might enjoy it more.haha. Over all a good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Game is best for wii platform

posted by Mocker (KINGWOOD, TX) Feb 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game really shows how wii can be fun. Using the nunchuck as force controls and wii as light saber is great. Best thing to is this game is best for the wii out of any other platform. Pretty good storyline and decently long and it has a semi rpg element to it which is kinda fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

For a Wii game very impressed with game play...

posted by wildtaz999 (MANCHESTER, NH) Jan 29, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have to say that for the platform this was a big delight.. very addiciting couldn't put it down.. 2 player duel mode is fun too.. one of the best Star Wars games released to date..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Star Wars Force Unleashed Review

posted by Brandon314 (SPRINGFIELD, OH) Jan 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

One of the best games that I have ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Star Wars: The Force Unleashed

posted by DavidAL (ENTERPRISE, AL) Jan 22, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this game. The use of the wii remote with the game integrates smoothly into the game. It took about 5 days to play through it a few hours a night so it was a little too short. I liked the force abloom you got as you moved through the storyline. I have a 5 year old son that played it with me and by the middle of the game he could handle some of the boss fights but not the end game boss fights. Overall a fun game and it didn't get tedious. I would recommend it to anothers for a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Star Wars gives you the force

posted by Atsuko89 (YORKTOWN, VA) Jan 19, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game would be great for star wars fans, using wii controls; players can use the force with there own hands. (that is if they do not mind the occasional hand cramps) Controls are ok for the wii, graphics are not so good(but then again this is no xbox 360), and gameplay is decent. Overall, this game is decent to pick up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Short, but very fun while it lasts.

posted by Iamnobody (AMHERST, MA) Jan 17, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The first thing to know about this game is that it is by no means long. I managed to clear the game in a little less than 8 hours, but it packed a surprising amount into that period.

The story of Force Unleashed fits in much better than I expected with III/IV. I won't go into detail about it, but I will say it's probably the best I've seen in a game so short. The voice overs for the game are also very good, though they do tend to be a bit quiet compared to the rest of the game.

As for the actually gameplay, it's simple, but unexpectedly entertaining. Somehow flinging Stormtroopers into one another never got old, and the lightning related powers seemed to only become more fun to use as the game went on. Still, some of the powers are a little too similar to one another. There are far too many attacks to repel your enemies, and most of them will only be used once or twice.

The controls also fared better than I expected. The only issue I had with them was that the nunchuck reception during certain parts of lightsaber duels is unreliable. It doesn't break the game by any means, but it is frustrating. Staying on the topic of fight controls, the combos to end a battle can also be inconvenient. They aren't difficult to pull off, but they pop up without warning and can cause you to mess up without even knowing you were about to start one.

Despite all that, Force Unleashed still manages to be a very entertaining game. I'm not sure that it's length justifies buying it, but it is worth a rental by all means.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

How can my 8 yr old daughter beat me 10 in a row!?

posted by pbradford (COUDERSPORT, PA) Jan 13, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I like the game, however the controls are a bit wonky. The controls are like Wii Sports boxing in that the person who spastically jerks the WiiMote + Nun chuck like a crazed maniac pushing buttons at random normally wins.

Literally, out of the box, my 8 year old DD wiped me out like 10 times in a row until she decided to give me a chance.

I played the 2 levels of the normal mode. It was fun. I wish I'd taken more time to play it through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Star Wars saga extention.

posted by reviewer99 (PENSACOLA, FL) Jan 9, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has good game play. It also has very good story line as well. The ending is a bit to be desired at times because it really doesn't end with an opening into the movies, so it fits chronologically. But, overall it is a great game and a worthwhile buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

why can't you be good?

posted by bobman (FALLS CHURCH, VA) Jan 4, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i liked this game but you get bored eventually and you can't be good let me put out scales to one to ten

gameplay 8/10
storyline 10/10
graphics 7/10
overall 8 and a half/ 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Use of Wii controllers

posted by Akeelwill (MONTGOMERY VILLAGE, MD) Jan 2, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great because it uses almost every button on the wii to max out the effects of the wii controls. Beyond that it is visually one of the best games i have played on the wii, and was challenging enough but not sooo challenging that i got frustrated easily. The few flaws were in the story line, you could not go to any board of your choosing you had to follow exactly where they sent you, and on some boards it wasnt free roam, areas were blocked etc. The duel mode is very fun the only issue with that is that if one player has beat the game and is now dueling with friends they dont know any of the combos to do force powers etc, but once their skill level catches up then it is enjoyable

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game knows the power of the darkside

posted by MichaelW (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Dec 31, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a game that continues to get better with every mission. The game starts a little slow as you learn the controls, and learn how to use finishing moves, the beginning will go faster if you pay careful attention to the controls the game is asking you to use.

The game is an 8 most of the way through, until the story line begins to take shape. Any fans of KOTOR will enjoy this game for the story line, as this game is classic Lucas magic.

The game is very well balanced with great game play, easy controls, but a difficult AI.

If you want to know the Starwars storyline between the third and fourth movies, the story line will keep you hooked, and the fun interactive controls will keep you on your toes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse