Rent Star Wars: The Force Unleashed for PSP Games
view large frontback

Star Wars: The Force Unleashed

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PS3, Xbox 360, Wii, PS2
GF Rating
7.8

946 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love it!

posted by NeuroKid (NEW YORK, NY) Oct 5, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

14 out of 17 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I played the PS3 version of this game and enjoyed every minute of it. I had heard that the PS2/PSP versions were completely different, so I decided to give it a try on my PSP. And...I liked it so much that I bought it!!

The game has its glitches. There are pauses here and there, and the camera sometimes just doesn't play along. Load times can be long, as usual for PSP. And also like many PSP titles, it's just too dark overall. Unless you're playing in the dark (or very dim light), it can be hard to see some of the levels. But the amazing gameplay that you'll find on the next-gen consoles is intact, and the game is a blast to play.

Best of all, the extra content is worth every penny. Historical missions, force duels, online multiplayer...all the extra stuff that you wish the PS3/360 versions came with is there.

A great offering for the PSP!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly Good

posted by zessej36 (DENVER, CO) Jan 17, 2009

Member since Mar 2003

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

After playing through the story mode of the Xbox 360 version (and enjoying it immensely, though I agree it was short, and where is multiplayer?), I wasn't expecting much from the PSP version.

I've been pleasantly surprised from the six or so hours I've spent playing it so far. The graphics look nice, though as others have noted, they likely could have been sharpened a bit and can be a bit dark, but that is just the PSP in general. The sound is great, and there is quite a bit of voice work for such small game.

My favorite part by far has been the Historic Missions. Playing through parts of a movie scene with one Jedi or another was a blast, and the voice overs were right out of the movie.

For replay value, there are a ton of unlockables including characters, game modes, artwork and more. I wasn't able to test the multiplayer aspect.

The one technical problem I had is that in one particular game mode, the game would have a message saying:

Error accessing file. X Retry

Once I retry, it gets stuck in a loop and I've got to restart the PSP. Disappointing, but I think I'll try another copy to see if it is the UMD.

I recommend this game to just about anyone who is curious. A solid game with features that somehow were left out of the next-gen console versions.
I've actually been looking forward to the bus rides lately.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

God of war this is not

posted by Carbine (COLTON, CA) Sep 16, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

If you are looking for a great star wars experience as a whole you have come to the right place. Good graphics, an epic storyline, fun game play and wookie choking are all present and accounted for, but while TFU is pretty amazing as a whole for the first few levels, the game play begins to decline later game being engulfed by the story.
Graphically the game is pretty amazing for a handheld but there are definitely times you will notice certain areas weren't given the same loven others were. I feel as a whole the psp could have been pushed a little farther, for example god of war and final fantasy. Also the use of cinematic cut scenes would have benefited the game tremendously. As a whole tho the game looks great for the psp and there are realy times where you will go wow and want to show somebody the awesome thing you just saw.
The game play is great at first and tons of fun (absolutely love the first level) but as the game progresses it becomes slightly annoying as you will die to enemies that can and will juggle your entire life bar without remorse, enemies you cannot use your amazingly cool force powers on, and bosses that require "sniper" techniques to beat. Once you happen upon these later levels that retake you back through the first couple planets you will notice a very repetitive feel to the game play as often it comes down to one or two possible ways to take on an enemy without losing half a life bar. The game is also pretty short coming in at 5-7 hours but with two endings, loads of unlockables, and cheats. The psp has more cheats for cloths and gear then any other system. I mean who wouldn't wanna play as mara jade, darth maul, or asajj ventress?
All in all though This is one of the better games on the psp and I'm definitely keeping it in my library. Historic missions are fast and fun, multiplayer is decent, and sometimes you just wanna kick a jawa in the face.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not as good as could be

posted by Navarre (WEST SPRINGFIELD, MA) Sep 26, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Unless you’re a Star Wars fan this game is fairly disappointing. Even for a Star Wars fan I felt a little robbed. The story line had potential but the limiting game play and repetitive maps made it unexceptional. Typical short sighted game programming. I guess they can’t all be GTA in imagination. If you are a big SW fan by all means give it a go, but do not expect much. I beat it in one sitting, approximately 6 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good

posted by nayr500 (CARSON, CA) Sep 15, 2008

Member since May 2008

5 out of 29 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

cool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

star wars tfu

posted by cool11 (WICHITA, KS) Oct 2, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

short game. beated the game in three days. should make a second one. not good story. overall:7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

my opinion.....

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Aug 15, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

When I first played this game for the psp, I was actually excited. I have been wanting to experience this star wars game when it first came out because I am a star wars fan. Then I heard the ratings for it were not very good and the controls are very complex and they were right. I would give this game an "ok" rating because:

1. They is alot of constant repeative button pressing and combos with the buttons that my fingers would not stop hurting.
2. Main protagenist is a bad guy at first. (turns good in the end not trying to be a spoiler)
3. You are killing people (but that is star wars for ya)
4. There were alot of glitches.
5. Controls were very difficult.
6. Basicly in the story u pretty much wipe out jedi and be Dark Vader's slave aka aprrentice.
7. My fingers hurt alot while i was playing.

That is pretty much it for my opinion. Other then that i still found this game to be an alrite game. I hope the second is better then this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

star wars

posted by gecko (BEAVERTON, OR) Sep 2, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

It was a great game because it was the mini version of the force unleashed. It's cool because you can do the historic missions for example revenge of the sith duel on mustafar. you can force duels. you can also do order 66. I think it's very fun and I think that theirs a lot of blasting.

Enjoy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Star Wars The Force Unleashed

posted by OttoMatik (IRVINE, CA) Aug 25, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

This game was one of the best and funnest games i've ever played. The graphics were good (Except for the characters), the sound was decent, the story was good and interesting, the gameplay was easy and SO MUCH FUN... i loved this game because it's a game that's not too easy or too hard (Except for the Order 66, it was too hard for me), and i only got frustrated and threw it, like 2 or 3 times... maybe that was because it was so short (But it's not the shortest game i've ever played)...

Overall this game deserves an 8.5...

Graphics- 7.5
Gameplay- 8.5
Story- 8
Design- 8
Presentation- 8.5

...And i recommend it to anyone who likes Star Wars and having a fun time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

too easy

posted by bigdave4 (HARWICH, MA) Aug 9, 2010

Member since May 2010

beat it on the first day. almost as easy as the one for xbox.
hopefully the new one will be more of a challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun, but hard to play

posted by cerealkell (EMPORIUM, PA) Dec 20, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

This game on the console and especially on the PC is so much fun. The graphics are phenomenal. But for the PSP the graphics lick. You can't control the camera which is a major setback and it takes forever for your character to block with his light sabre. You've got to hold in a button until he desides its been long enough and then he blocks. So you'll die a lot becuase of those two things. Something you don't have to deal with in the console version. It's very hard to see. I guess that goes without saying. It doens't really hurt you too much until you get to the boss fights. Then you need to be able to see or you'll get smoked. This game could have been great, it just needed a little TLC. Which, of course, most games never get. Especially when on the PSP. Take a look at Dirt 2. Only the worst game ever on the PSP, great on the consoles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great but Short.

posted by BadatGames (NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA) Jul 12, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Star Wars the Force Unleashed is a great game but short.I finished this game in a couple of hours. I thought the PSP version was going to be as long as the XBOX360 version.You play as darth vader's apprentice. You can customize your character. You can change the color of his lightsaber and his clothes. The boss battles are a little hard but when you beat them you feel sucess. This game is a must have. P.S. I wouldn't buy it I would rent it first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

waaaaaaay easy

posted by calebv (FOLSOM, CA) Jul 6, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I am 10 years old, and I beat this game in 3 days... glad I rented it, my mom would have killed my if she bought it and I beat it that fast...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Greatest Star-Wars Game Yet.

posted by bigzig06 (HOUSTON, TX) Apr 16, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

The Star-Wars The Force Unleashed game was very... no scratch that extremely enjoyable. The game was the most interactive game out of all the other Star-Wars games in history so far. The game had all the features of the movie and more. The moves were great: The lightning, force push, force lift, saber moves, and extras were great. The combos were all very effective. The extra game modes were great as well: Force Duel, Order 66, and Historic Missions. They were all great. and how you were able to use the historic jedi and sith and even some new ones from the game story mode. And one more thing, the ability to change the saber handle and crystal were also a great touch.

Yours Truely
BigZig06

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Super Fanatastic

posted by RoBiNRuLeS (THOUSAND OAKS, CA) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This was a pretty intense game and totally awesome with some super fantastic other stuff and i think it was super fantastic on all proportions except for the graphics and/or storyline which was kinda not so superfantastic but other than that amazing and super fantastic.
And yes, i am serious :P

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Star Wars Force Unleashed

posted by rydude123 (PALATINE, IL) Mar 8, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Force Unleashed was a thrilling adventure that brought me to many different places across the galaxy. The end was somewhat sad but i don't want to spoil it for any of you. There were many strong points that made this game a 10. The costumes are interesting and the force powers are sweet. You can have different colored light sabers too! I give this a giant 10. I hope you find this game as fun as I did and enjoy your playing. Have fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game!

posted by soccerman3 (MILTON, VT) Feb 21, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

This is so addictive that my parents had to yell at me to put the game down and eat. Yeah its that awesome. You will never want to put down this game with all of its unlockables and amazing graphics this game is a must buy/rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Star Wars: The Force Unleashed

posted by 36indio912 (DENVER, CO) Feb 15, 2009

Member since May 2008

This game is really awesome because you do so many things with the force and you are UNSTOPPABLE. If you have this game don't get rid of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Starwars: The Force Unleashed

posted by elmeromero (Kailua Kona, HI) Jan 15, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

This game is great fun. I love being able to play some of the great villains like Darth Vader and Emperor Palpatine. Playing the story mode as well as the situation specific Force Unleashed portion was awesome. Being able to be Luke in the Sea of Sand just like in the films was one of the coolest parts of the game. I did have a recurring problem however. Every time I tried to access the Order 66 game mode the game would freeze up. Maybe it was the disk I had, but maybe it was in the programming. I hope to continue to see great titles like this for the PSP in the future.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The force on unleashed indeed

posted by NoMoreHero (STANLEY, NY) Dec 14, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I rented the force unleashed because i heard a mixture of "its a good game and really cool to" too, "It sucks, don't bother." so i wanted to decide for myself, and i have to say i'm impressed. the game looks great for starters, the controls were rock solid, but i did have a couple of issues with the camera when i got in to tight spots. The story is interesting and if your a star wars geek, like me, you'll feel right at home. The only major problem i had with the game is it take FOREVER to LOAD. It takes like 5 minutes for the menus to load, costumes, levels, cinematic you name it there's a load screen for it. Another thing id like to address is that people reviewing this game said (for the psp any way) that the game froze alot, but though the entire time i played it it only froze once. over all this is a pritty solid buy/rent and i had alot of fun with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fairly good

posted by DyingSound (LAKEWOOD, OH) Dec 8, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

this game has some problems, it was a little glitchy and the controls are a little laggy. but i enjoyed the game, and i got use to the problems. the storyline was good and i would suggest that people try the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

too easy

posted by werterson (APO, AE) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

star wars the force unleashed is dumb. the game is fun untill you beat it. i beat in 4 hours. i would rent the game and not buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

may the force get up and go

posted by ribcage (EDISON, NJ) Nov 14, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

I have played on three systems this game. When played on PS2 something missing there is. You just know that the power of the next gen systems make for a bigger more visual game. PS2's graphics are so bad that I can't see the game alot of the time. Why can't game makers get out of the PS2 what God of war gets. Anyway disapointed I was. Not so on the PSP. I expect so so graphics and limited playabilty on a portable and that's what you get on the PSP when you compare it to PS2. Compared to other PSP games this is one of the best in graphics and depth. Yes it's a button masher and trying to master all of these force abilties is tough. Camera angles failed they have. There are just typical camera angle problems you get with most games. See yourself you can not from time to time. See what's coming your way you can not. This happens in all games. The simplicty of this game is good for PSP players, it is the excact same game on PS2 from what I can tell so far so go with the PSP version simply because the gameing is better suited for the portable. Small screen psp has making the charecters less pixaletd. Brass tax PSP version is good PS2 version lacks too much and again with the next gen version looming in your mind it is hard to get into the less beautful PS2 version.
Over this review is!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

If you have a Wii... get that version instead

posted by IndyCzion (HINSDALE, IL) Nov 12, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

Star Wars: The Force Unleashed for PSP received a "meh" review. It's a game, it's midly entertaining, but it's nothing to write home about ... or run out and spend $50 on. The PSP version is missing some of the "cooler" features that the Wii takes advantage of (like using the controller as a light sabre). But it is fun for those who love the storyline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Simply Amazing

posted by Zakblue (FOLSOM, CA) Oct 9, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

Another must have in anyones PSP collection, especially if anyone liked God of War. This games graphics are great for the PSP, the gameplay is intense and exhilerating, and the overall Star Wars factor is astonishing. This game delivered what it was supposed to.

The reason why the game recieved a 9 rating from myself was the camera is horrible in the game. There is no way to rotate it yourself, it does it on its in by the way the character is facing. It sometimes moves fast and sometimes extremely slow. There is only the 3rd person perspective so one cannot look around for the hidden items as easily as one should.

The force powers are powerful in this game; whereas in others like Jedi Academy they weren't as powerful. The lightsaber blocking and combat are simple and fast paced. Although there are basically only 2 types of combos (there should have been more,) they become repetative but still fun.

They recycled some levels but for the most part they are new places to play compared to older jedi games, some are shorter than others but still take time to complete. There are bonus levels/games in the PSP version which can be unlocked for multiplayer (ad-hoc mode only, meaning same room.) These bonus games though are really fun though and worth playing. There is a duel mode where one goes through battling different jedi for game extras, another mode where one plays historic fights ie Vader vs Luke in the carbonite chamber, and Order 66 mode where one needs to survive waves of clone troopers.

Overall great game to play, but when you start I suggest using a couple of cheats, which are the 1 million jedi points to increase the first force power levels and all the saber crystals (having all the colors is fun to switch up all the time during the level.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse