Rent Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II for Wii
view large frontback

Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, DS, PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.2

1450 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Shockingly solid; a great companion to the HD one

posted by Vsonic (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Oct 29, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

TFU2 is a pretty effective Wii action game. Its very well polished, uses the Wii remote in great ways (FAR better than the last TFU Wii game), and is faithful to the story and gameplay of TFU2 on PS3. It may not be very smart, or require much skill, but its just as fun as any other version of the Force Unleashed II.

The basic gameplay initially seems cut down. The tutorial only covers a fraction of the abilities Starkiller can pull off, and the combat comes off as mundane. But the game keeps throwing new abilities, and enemies, into the design and mixes things up all the way until the end.

The level designs lack pizazz as well, although they're actually better than those in the HD versions. They're still pretty bland, but at least they mix it up more than just repeating the same bridges and rooms ad nauseum. Overall, its less monotonous than the HD game, but only barely. And it "makes up" for that small victory by lacking any wow moments, unlike the HD version. The core game here is strong and polished, but it never aspires to do anything memorable.

The force powers are very smartly implemented in this one. Combat has been moved to the A button, and as you fight, your combo meter will charge up. Waggling the remote with some juice in that thing will pull off power moves, so the flow of the basic combat is almost like a messy No More Heroes. Tap the A button and waggle to put a punctuation mark on a fight.

The force lightning is on nunchuk waggle when you hold Z, and just plain waggling it will force push people - which is very responsive and tactile. Holding C and pointing at the screen will let you force grab objects, and since its on the pointer, it's easier - and faster - to float things around than in the HD game. Unfortunately, the camera kinda sucks, and is only rotatable via the '-' and '+' buttons. But this isn't the kind of combat that requires the finesse to constantly see your opponent.

Overall, its really fun, and very solid. Not amazing tho.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Follow Up

posted by GameFlyUser1 (ARABI, LA) Feb 21, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Dispite what some people may say, besides a little slack on graphics and a change up on the controls, this is a great game. Picking up right where you left off in the previous game you begin your journey. This time there are every more force skills such as force sight...The lightsaber combos are longer, better and deffinitly cooler. There's lots of combination attacks that allow you to defeat more than one enemy at once. This game is a must play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Doesn't Hold Up to the Original

posted by lemonball (CHARLESTON, SC) Dec 12, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I was a big fan of the original Force Unleashed, so I had high expectations for this game. It turns out that although the game is not bad, it certainly could have been better.

Pros
-Good combat system
-Decent graphics
-Good boss battles
-Pretty good AI

Cons
-Easy, short
-Great characters like Juno and PROXY aren't up in the front anymore, disappointingly
-Story wasn't the best and was difficult to follow at a few points

It's good, but as the title of this review states, it doesn't hold up to the original's greatness.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The Force is sort of with this game

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Oct 28, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I wonder - how do you put a leash on the Force?
Anyways, Star Wars: the Force Unleashed II is a much simpler version of the original; it’s easier to find the controls for the special Force powers (push, lightning, hold, and so on)
The story mode picks up not too long after the last one ended. Starkiller’s clone is activated so Lord Vader can use him as the apprentice.
However, Starkiller breaks free from the dark lord and goes off on a journey of self discovery - and blasting vast platoons of Stormtroopers and other Empire troops.
Along the way, you’ll have to solve puzzles using Force Sight (to move switches from one side to the other), open doors, move platforms, blast open walls and floors
But mostly you’ll be slicing up those Empire troops, which don’t consist of many different types of soldiers: you have the Stormtrooper, a guy with a lance, an invisible guy, midget fighters, a large two legged machine, and a large humanoid robot with a shield and a flaming gun.
I would’ve liked to see more variety in the enemies; I was turned off when the end of some sections consisted of nothing more than me beating back wave after wave of these few enemy types.
And the fighting consists mostly of mashing that A button; there’s little reason to utilize the other moves the game can give you - or why you should level up in those moves with points you get beating up the Empire army.
Another problem I had with this game is the camera that kept moving to exactly the spot I didn’t want it to go to - a huge problem when fighting one or more of those big enemies.
All in all, the story mode will last about four and a half hours (some of you can do it in less time). It’s a good length, but not enough for that $50 price tag.
Also included in this package is a multi player game where up to four players can fight each other with characters from the game. It’s okay.
Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II gives great fun, but it’s too short and repetitive for $50. RENT IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not as good as the 1st one.

posted by Germany88 (VENTURA, CA) Nov 12, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Arent follow up games suppose to be better then the one b4 it? This one sure as heck isnt!!!
The thing that the bothered me the most is the boss fights. The 1st ones were fun and complex, in part 2 its a couple easy shakes of the controller and you win.
Secondly no improvement in graphics IMO they are even worse.
The thirdly other then one extra saber they didnt really add any new force tricks except mind trick and force rage.
Fourth some of the jump moves from area to area are near imposable and the fights are way too easy.
Last but not least the cheats are impossible to obtain. If I ran into a part I got stuck on I can boost up my saber and then turn it off after.
Ok do rent but Id never buy it.

PS I dont want to ruin it but the ending is lame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

the first is better

posted by DreamJedi1 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Nov 14, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i love the fact that this starkiller is funny that he talks while your playing but the game controls are complicated and the first is way better plus this one doesnt make sense in the end of the first one either starkiller is killed by the emperor or is turned into the sith stalker,and at the end of the second one starkillers clone dies from the original starkiller but how does that make any sense?????? and the orig starkiller just blows off juno he loves her !!!!!!!!! and it doesnt mach with the orig story

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

THE FORCE IS WEAK WITH THIS GAME

posted by juuhndk (SICKLERVILLE, NJ) Oct 29, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I am a huge starwars fan. When the force unleashed came out i was really excited. The first game was a total blowot and i loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So when the second one came out i was really exited. At first i was shaky with the controls but then they were fun. During the game you use some of the old powers like lightning, force push, force grab and saber through. Then there is new powers like force sight witch allows you to see enemy weak points and lets you open locked doors.

Pros: new powers, new enemys and lots of power chrystals

Cons: only 7 or 8 total enemys, 10 color chrystals, button mashing controls, 9 multiplayer charactors, platform style multiplayer and only 4 different levels

Finnaly the end totally stinks. the good starkiller/ galin mark is killed by another bad clone who serves vader and then kills juno, proxy and kota

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awsome!!!!!

posted by Silverman9 (TEMPLE, TX) Oct 26, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the best games i've had. Though I have only had it for one day, It is an inprovement. Play it!!!!!!!!!!!!! Please. I know you'll love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

So awesome

posted by Starwarsfan58 (COLUMBUS, GA) May 24, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I hope it draws you in like it did me, although it does get repetitive. Overall its a ten.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Game Review

posted by Homer9909 (WALLINGFORD, CT) Jan 26, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

It is a good game, but as I was playing I soon lost interest and decided to send the game back. It may just be me, but I don't think this is an Ideal game for people who love action, adventure, and a little violence.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

SWFU II

posted by lunkerjones (SCOTTSBORO, AL) Sep 13, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

Pros:
Motion during fights
Story line
Cons:
Took only a couple of hours to beat
All fights seem to be the same all the time no change of pace
Almost everthing is an epic fail in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not as good as the first

posted by dogwhisperer (CONNERSVILLE, IN) Jul 25, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

this game was simply not as good as the original, you did not get as many cool powers, the controls change I thought was dumb because the first had grate responsive controls. The story of the first one I thought was brilliant on this one it just seamed tacky at best. I did think adding the Jedi mind trick was a nice touch. this game simply was not as god as the original.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Horrible Controls

posted by nr_clark (MARLTON, NJ) Oct 4, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

As much as I enjoy the occasional lightsaber game, this is just plain bad as far as controls are concerned. They don't register when you do them, so after several times you die trying, you finally get the device or whatever to move the way you want? It completely ruins the pace of the game. I had to turn the game off because it was so bad...something I never do! Coming from someone who has not played the first of these two games, I would guess they improved on the controls, but not by much AT ALL.

The icing on the cake is that the graphics aren't even that great (yes, even by Wii's standards). LucasArts is used to releasing very polished games--so this is an unfortunate surprise. If you're looking for a great star wars themed game, I recommend going for the lego branch of games. They are better in all areas, especially the controls, and will make you laugh on top of everything!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just right.

posted by Zerodin (MOUNTAIN VIEW, MO) Jun 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2006

They fixed the few gripes I had with the prequel, improving upon all aspects of gameplay. And because there is no PS2/PSP version, Red Fly didn't just take that version and tack Wii controls onto it. This was a dedicated effort and it shows! Having played and beaten the HD version too, I can say that I prefer the Wii version hands down! The level designs are WAY better, and the QTEs are executed more fluidly. Its a rare thing when the Wii version of a game trumps it's HD brother, but that is exactly what happened here!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Much improved!

posted by BugJuiceDad (MOLINE, IL) May 1, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

From graphics, to interface with new abilities, to story line, this game tops its prequel by far. I was much more entertained by this game and kept it a lot longer. If you didn't like Force Unleashed, give this one a try anyway. I was pleasantly suprised.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lucasarts must have run out of money for employees

posted by mackdaddyyoshi (PORTSMOUTH, NH) Mar 14, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

Pathetic excuse for a sequel. Original Force Unleashed out-performs the sequel in every single aspect.

New powers aren't very great, except Mind Trick. Controls on Wii were decent, the action cutscenes are pretty cool, but...

Everyone who played the original is going to HATE how bad the sequel is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not the best game

posted by GAmer203FlAb (Tualatin, OR) Feb 17, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

it's ok overall but it has a short campaign.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

dissapointing

posted by kingkool (LARCHMONT, NY) Jan 15, 2012

Member since May 2008

Force Unleashed one was awesome. Besides battlefront it was the best starwars game i've ever played. It wasn't too hard, but it posed a fun and rewarding challenge. This one had way worse graphics, and was a lot shorter. Not to say it wasn't still good, but it should have been way better, and is not a worthy sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game

posted by shanebug1970 (SIMI VALLEY, CA) Dec 2, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Great game play, poor plot. All in all decent game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Starforce II

posted by DrThor (TAMPA, FL) Nov 6, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

Would have been an excellent game if it weren't so easy. Good to rent, beat and return.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the ending was a disappointment

posted by owns6196 (PORTLAND, OR) Sep 24, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

the game play is great but the end when the clone starkiller is about to drop the hammer on Vader he gets run through by evil clone starkiller and that alone ruined the entire game for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

why I like it!

posted by vincentlieu (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jul 15, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I like this game becuse I cood do lost of cool stuff like saveing the gallsee!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome!!!

posted by Morzan524 (CARLSBAD, NM) Jul 13, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I love the graphics. I also like the fact that it actually chops your enemies up unstead of them falling over dead! It was exactly what I was looking for. Loved the alternate ending too. I went back to do the secong option just to see what would happen. If you are reading this, and you want to be a true (alive as well) Jedi, then pick General Koda.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

There are a few tweaks....

posted by aerosky (OWASSO, OK) Jul 8, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This game is good but certanily isn't at it's fullest. Mostly because of the lack of enemy types. The game mostly involves slashing up those stormtroopers and mashing that A button, but it is a acceptable way to spend a few days, even if you don't beat it (I haven't). The character customization was better and the story was very interesting and exciting. I disagree with the other reviews saying it was too short. Here are three words that have to say about this game:

1. Improvable

2. Interesting

3. Fun

If you decide to rent this game then be precautioned, there WILL be downsides.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Best Version of The Force Unleashed 2

posted by vdrguy (ACTON, CA) Jul 7, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

You may have read bad reviews about this game but i'm here to tell you that they don't refer to the wii version.

This game is made by a different developer that the HD version and it is very different gameplay-wise

This game is also much better than the first Force Unleashed on the wii. The graphics in this game is leaps and bounds better than the first especially in the faces. In the first game the system limited each character to only one expression but in this game it's slightly cartoonish art style shines. This is some of the best graphics on the wii especially in the faces and the range of expressions the characters can achieve (On par with goldeneye).

The gameplay is also much better. Al the lightsaber attacks are controlled with the a button and plays like a hack and slash game (The combat reminded me of Kingdom Hearts).

The game does get tough when they bring in stronger enemies but hacking down stormtroopers in the beginning is very satisfying. the motion controll is brought to a minimum. Only special attacks use motion and it is simplified to swinging the wii remote down to preform super attacks. The pointer is used for your force powers giving Starkiller the ability to walk while he force lifts something but it is very difficult to aim and you may find yourself relying more and more on simple lightsaber combat.

This version doesn't have any cool freefall moments like the HD version but does feature a cool Dagobah level and a simple multiplayer mode. It would have been nice if more work went into multiplayer (More characters and levels, option to play it with one player and AI) but it is a wii exclusive and reminds me of the Original Smash Bros in N64.

The best version of the force unleashed 2 is on the wii and if you were holding out on the game because of bad reviews don't worry this game is great.

PS. the story is a little short with repetitive enemy types and only about 5levels, but it is still a hoot to play. the evil ending makes no sence.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse