Rent Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II for PS3
view large frontback

Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, Xbox 360, DS
GF Rating
6.9

8255 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Better... and yet not

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Oct 28, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

28 out of 31 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

"The Force Unleashed II" improves over the original in several ways. The controls for combat are a bit tighter. The targeting, while still not perfect, is improved. Graphics, both in gameplay and cutscenes, are better rendered. Leveling up your force powers is easier, and one added power, the Jedi mind trick, is quite fun to use. Plus, you get TWO lightsabers instead of one, enabling you to mix and match weapons for added bonuses ( for example, you can have a blue blade to aid your Focus, giving you extra command over your Force powers, and a green one to aid in regenerating health, or a red one to incinerate your foes). The added weapons and powers make combat for the most part fun, though some may find it repetitive. What does get a little old are the finishing moves- you tend to see the same animations throughout the entire game. And yet with the improvements, I still rate the game the same as the first one. Why? Because for every step forward TFUII takes, it also takes one back. The story this time is not as involving (think of the drop between "Empire" and "Jedi"), but it still satisfies. The platforming towards the end becomes more of a chore than fun, and the final battle goes on way too long. There's also not as much variety in locations this time- there are only 5 stages compared to the original's 9, and the game can be completed in under 6 hours. This makes it a rental for most, though die hard Star Wars fans who need to have all things Star Wars may opt to buy. Still, if you enjoyed the first game, you'll want to play this one, and maybe wait until the inevitable price drop to purchase. The ending sets up TFUIII, so expect to see that if sales are good, as I expect they will be. Hopefully, the third time will be the charm, and we'll get the epic Star Wars adventure fans deserve.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Liked It....But Pretty Much Same As TFU 1

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 30, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

34 out of 43 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

Overview
==================
I liked the game....but it is very similar to TFU 1 and has many of the same problems. I think it is a good rent...but I woudn't buy it.

Pros
==================
1) Graphics are pretty good (expect that in 2010 on PS3 though...)
2) Controls are pretty easy to master
3) Story is not bad (probably not as good as TFU 1...but still enjoyable)

Cons
==================
1) the camera angles still get out of focus (not as bad as TFU 1 though)
2) the target system is improved...but still has work needed
3) fairly short (6-8 hour) campaign - not much reason to replay either

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game but WAY TO SHORT

posted by murf777 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

14 out of 19 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

This game was awesome and totally fun to play. The graphics and mechanics really cool. The only problem is that this game was way to short and in the trailer when he jumps towards that beast with his light sabers that part doesn't happin in the game, lame...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

still fun, but not that different

posted by jjohn2478 (CARLSBAD, CA) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

20 out of 30 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I loved the first Force Unleashed and aside from cutting through tons of enemies the main reason was the storyline. Typically the storyline doesn't mean much to me, but hunting down and killing off Jedi made that game as great as it was. I have only played through the first 3-4 levels of this game so far, but I'm not as interested in the story and the repetitiveness keeps this one from being as fun.

Pros:
Graphics- crisp, clear, and highly detailed (not sure where the blurriness comments come from)
Controls- power and fighting moves are still tight and fun

Cons:
Storyline- I'm not against a good love story, but don't want to play a character named Starkiller that is chasing a girl all over
Sound- typical sounds and voices are good, but groans and yells get repetitive and old quick
Lack of finishing moves- after the first few times, taking out bigger bosses without using the same finishing move is more fun than seeing the same finish over and over and over again

I'd agree with another reviewer that this is a definite rental and if you like it, beat it and return it. Do not buy unless you "have to" have anything Star Wars in your collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Down to Earth Review...

posted by Nexus85 (BRIDGEPORT, PA) Oct 28, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

-Disclaimer- I think it is important to list details about the person writing the review, details like gaming history, age, and preferences.
I have been playing video games since I was 5 (am 25), am not a star wars fanatic but I do acknowledge that it is a great story, and I tend to favor third person games over first person games, with that said...

Gameplay- If you have already played the demo on PSN or XBLA, you already know how incredibly powerful you are in the game. You start off with all your powers except for one ability you gain later on in the game. I had to set the game to hard because you are so powerful that there is no challenge on normal mode, this is a good or bad thing depending on what kind of gamer you are.

Graphics- This is hands down a beautiful game. I must say that I prefer gameplay over graphics (If the game isnt fun to play who cares what it looks like). Most games this generation look great, but this game sets itself apart in how good it looks.

Voice acting/Story- The voice acting is great. This is bittersweet because the story is both generic and even worse, poorly organized. I recommend you ignore the story and play the game, if you are playing this game for the story you will be disappointed.

Overall- The meat of this game is the gameplay and the graphics. This is a very short game and is a reminder of why I like gamefly. Rent this game. Its 6hrs long on normal and 8hrs long on hard. I doubt you will want to go back and play this game once you beat it. This game does a cruel thing to you...flows really well the first 3 hours of the game, and then after you think it will get better it just progressively gets worse.Starts off good but finishes bad. I recommend this game to someone who has played a lot of games and just needs something new to play (There are better games out there).

Not great, but not bad.
Rent it if you have a 2 game plan for gamefly.
I kind of hesitate to say rent this game if you have a 1 game plan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II

posted by Iszzyp (BLAIR, OK) Sep 12, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

You do more jumping and running on this game then anything else. To me this game sucks. Guess i'm to used to MMOs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

boring and tedious!

posted by bartoekevin (STOCKTON, CA) Sep 2, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I wanted so much more from this one. I was barely able to play it an hour or two before i sent it back. The original had me caring about the characters enough to finish the game, this one however not so much. dont bother even renting. So not worth the waste of a week to get it, not like it, send it back and wait for the next game on your Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The force unleashed 1.5?????

posted by WeTigers (CRESCENT CITY, CA) Nov 6, 2010

Member since May 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I will start off by talking about what is good in this game. The combat and force grip. Both have been improved from the first game. Now the bad. This game was very short (4 hours maybe 5). The story was terrible and thrown together. This game should have been a 20 dollar add on to the first game. Thanks George Lucas for the rip-off!!! Still see huge potential for a third game if they actually put a story together, and maybe give us more than 5 different enemies to fight thru the whole game. The last battle with Vader was boring and uninspired. As a huge Star Wars fan I was very very disappointed with this game. Was glad to see the credits roll.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesomness Unleashed!!!

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Oct 26, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

25 out of 44 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

So, after a long wait, its finally here. The sequel to the best, (yet flawed) Star Wars game of all time. And, its even better. The game kicks butt in so many ways. The combat is insanely cool and fun, (but some might call it repetitive, I find at AWESOME!!) the new targeting system works very well, mind trick is awesome as are all the other new powers; and, THERE'S DISMEMBERMENT!!! Nothing's as awesome like a flying head and arms coming from a burning corpse of an ever so unfortunate storm trooper. Star Wars fans owe it to themselves to experience the power of a true, all powerful Jedi. With plenty of cameos from the Star Wars Universe, this game is really magnificent. But still unfortunately flawed. The story is good, but not ground-breaking like the firsts, its almost a violently epic love story, with tons of violence. But it works, because you can feel the Starkiller's emotion and love towards Juno Eclipse, his love from the 1st game. There are still a few minor glitches and weird happenings like the 1st one, but they're not bad enough that it ruins the game. And I really missed the camera button where you could watch your enemies go flying once you hurled them somewhere. I missed that and was sad to see it gone.

Pros: Amazing graphics, some of the best this year. Fantastic voice-acting, sick gameplay, dismemberment is DA-BOMB! Great characters, crazy epic boss fights, insane powers and combos. A real Star War's nerd spasm waiting to happen. Great cameos and finishers.

Cons: The story doesn't do anything spectacular, minor glitches, and there's only 1 finishing move for each big enemy. The game is short and the finishing camera is missed.

Although the game is quite short, (You could easily beat it one two days if not one full day of playing) the pros outshine the cons for me. But I might be a bit biased because I'll buy almost anything with Star Wars on it. But its at least a rent for sure. And fans of Star Wars owe it to themselves to get this game some time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A slap in the face to star wars fans

posted by UkManiak (ROCHESTER, NY) Oct 28, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2010

14 out of 26 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

Ok, way too short- 6 hours on HARDEST difficulty setting. A very confusing story plot and Darth Vader was a cream puff. Im sorry, but if Lucas Arts are going waste their time on garbage like this and sell it for sixty dollars, just make another epic movie and ill spend nine dollars to go see that. This is a great game for Gamefly, horrible for any other reason.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

dont buy, worth renting

posted by jdmteg (CUYAHOGA FALLS, OH) Oct 29, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Super short
Clearly they ran into deadlines
Story sucks
Graphics are amazing
worth a rental

Don't expect this to be as good as part one overall. This would have been a good deal if it was a $20 add on to part 1.

I beat it both ways in a span of 36 hours playing speratically. I am disappointed. I would have rather waited another year and had the developer come up with some more levels... Or maybe complete the Dagobah mission? I mean really... What the pheck was that?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Force has been Unleashed!

posted by NARSH08GT (PEMBROKE PINES, FL) Oct 28, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

Played through the game and finished both endings on launch day. I couldn't stay off it! This game is a perfect 10 for Star Wars fans young and old, perfect blend of action, graphics, physics and music.
I will say, that it was a lot shorter than I expected but the story was JAW DROPPING!
Game Play:
Great additions to saber attacks, level ups, holocrons and control. The game has got room for improvement with force grip but it is still night and day from the first game. The button mashing challenges are much better now with the button selection on the outside of the screen and not the middle. You can get a nice view of the carnage you cause now without having to focus on what button to push next.
Enemies:
Much more diversity than the first game and the AI seemed a bit "smarter" than previously seen.

Character Development:
They've added so much depth to all the characters that I can honestly say they can stand alone as memorable figures in the Star Wars Mythos.

Storyline:
My only gripe is that it's too short. One more planet to visit or an extended training session on Dagobah would have been icing on the cake. (DLC anyone???) Still, the story line was excellent and continues to bridge the gap between Episode III and IV.

At the end of the day, this is probably going to be an 8-10 for most Star Wars fans and a 7-9 for non-fans. Great all around game, but you need to be a Star Wars fan to get the most out of it IMHO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Earns a smile and a cookie, but nothing more...

posted by Aragorn225 (FREDERICK, MD) Oct 26, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When the first Force Unleashed came out, i was so happy that people were starting to look at the more violent, dark and more interesting side of Star Wars. I was really getting tired of that stupid jedi storylines. When the first game ended, i knew it was unlikely that a sequel would come through, but nevertheless, it has!

FU2 brings back more of that deadly outlook on the Star Wars universe and tells the story of Starkiller's clone, which i have to say, i wasn't expecting! Here's my overall review:

Gameplay: Game mechanics remained the same, blasting your way through endless waves of Stormtroopers seems fun at first, but becomes increasingly boring throughout the game.

Sound/Graphics: Surprisingly not that good... I couldn't detect much of a change in the Sound, so i can't really say anything good about it. Graphics, on the other hand... were not only annoyingly blurry, but was nothing new. Know what i mean? Force Unleashed's graphics were nice and crisp for that time, but considering FU2 has the same graphical quality, i say it's time to move on...

Storyline: Like i said before, it's new and it pleased me enough. I think there was only one time where i thought the storyline was dumb, hmm... which planet was it? But it kept me on my toes through the game. Yay!

AI: When the first game was at large, i hoped for some allies. You know, maybe a fellow Starkiller-like character to come in everyonce and a while, but did that come? No! The AI for the Stormtrooper enemies remain dumber then dumb, and the "finish-off sequences" get boring very quickly, as you will take down an AT-ST the same way, EVERY TIME!

Conclusion: FU2 is worth a spot in your GameQ, but DEFINITELY not worth your cash. Please, try this game out, and if t actually suits you, maybe buy it, but if you feel the same way as me, DON'T CLICK BUY! Now, maybe they can make a FU3, that covers all my problems... :foodndrink:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Really, really, great, and...oh, the end?!

posted by FastEater (FOLSOM, CA) Nov 17, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

They really improved on the graphics from the first game. The game looks incredible, from Starkiller to the rain flowing down the sides of buildings. The use of mind trick was awesome too. I loved the game until I noticed there just wasn't any variety to it--same enemies, same locations. The voice acting and animation were ridiculous good, but there was really no use of story. It is definitely worth a rent. My advice is to play the dark side first and then hit the light side last. It made me feel better about the game. It was just too short though. The challenges were amusing, but I was horrible at them. I would be a little angry if I bought this thinking it was amazing, but for a rent you can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst star wars ever

posted by thedarthkiller2 (NORWICH, CT) Oct 15, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

worst star wars game ever so short its stupid there is only like 5 levels in the stinkin game it makes me sick it really changed my opinion on star wars forever that i have to think twice about it!!!!!! and vader makes me so mad i could jump in the game and choke him out!!!!!!! aside from what you have read i am a nice dude who is a gamer!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Star Wars Force Unleashed II

posted by Game9467 (SOUTHFIELD, MI) Nov 3, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Even though this game had a very short campaign and didn't have a lot of force powers, I liked it. It was easy to get force powers upgraded. The last level leaves you with an impossible choice. I won't tell what they are but you get a trophy for which ever one you choose. The worst thing is that the game is only about meeting Juno. She's only one girl. I think most people only care about how many levels there are, but they're so long it seems like there is a million

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

it was good and bad

posted by kingofclub (ORLANDO, FL) Oct 31, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

It was good in the since that the graphics were great i wish they had the graphics in the first game. now the story line was ok the first story was better. it was too short and only went to three places in the game. i really dont see how to push for a third game without really stretching it even more with this game. if you didnt game the first game you wont get the story of this game. I love the two light sabers the move were a little predictable but easy to do. the powers were good med easy to get really easy to use. all in all i think it was a little hype up to much but good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Force Unleashed Revised

posted by Diabl0s (SOMERVILLE, MA) Oct 29, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Ever seen a good old sci-fi flick that was recently remade into a cheap one time flick? Well fans of the first Force Unleashed can run around and panic as the sequel to a potential best seller comes of nothing but a cheap retread of the original. They definitely cut a lot of corners or just wanted to cash in on the glory of the first. Below are the list of problems or disappointments in the game:

Plot is totally useless: A pondering question that is never answered.

A significant lack of variety of enemies/levels compared to the first.

Very generic/boring level design.

RPG elements seem even more bare boned than the last

Improved targeting system still sucks

Online play might as well be non existent.

Incredibly short gameplay.

Clunky platforming system/combat system

Perhaps we as fans demanded too much out of Lucas Arts since this time they really just stapled contents together which should have been a DLC content. The graphics and animation are quite good but unfortunately due to most of the level being indoors of a ship of some sort all you will see is series of gray passageways. The AI pose way less threat than the previous iteration even when playing hard, unleash mode is a little challenging just because you get damaged more. Most boss fights are a tedious multilevel chore which never truly give you a wow sensation as Starkiller brutally does away with the robotic menace or monster.
The game starts out with some new ideas and options which quickly fade away as the game progresses. Power ups and upgrades are virtually useless along with the different saber stones you can equip for bonuses. It is only the final boss fight that elicits any primal enjoyment in a very long combat. While tedious, it does show the fun the game could have been if the story and length were fleshed out.
I guess this is not surprising as Lucas and Co. have been continually ruining the Star wars franchise since over a decade now with his reiterations of each.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not as good

posted by joeyriz (NORTH EAST, PA) Oct 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2004

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Finish the game last night. It simply is not as good as the original Force Unleashed. The levels are repetitive and action is not as fun as the original. The story also pales in comparison to the first one. Rent it if you choose but don't expect a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

TOO SHORT!!

posted by DARKL0RD (FOLSOM, CA) Oct 26, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

The game has good graphics and game play but severely lacks any real story line.
I am a serious Star Wars fan but I am super disappointed in this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

INCREDIBLY DISSAPOINTED

posted by RAMBOSOTE (TAMPA, FL) Nov 21, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

I love star wars saga i love the movies i saw the first star wars film when i was 5 of age and fell in love with lightsabers and jedi powers but one also one of those people that dont own memobilia or go to conventions cause i feel thats just too overboard i owned the action figures when i was a kid, im a grown man now and those are still for kids not for grown men.

Now i love the original unleashed star wars but no star wars game has ever replaced the original JEDI ACADEMY for the PC were you could play online and had a phenomenal single player story line were you were the last good jedi alive because the sith destroyed the jedi academy temple and it was your job to destroy the sith.

Now with that said this game LACKED EVERYTHING other than visuals and graphics, i mean you start off with all jedi powers you upgrade 3 times they even made the lightsaber crystals useless, the game offers almost NO challenge and boy was it too short for you to even bother playing a second time. I mean there was no reason to try and play as a jedi just get close to an enemy and grab use lightning to stun and grab rinse repeat, only tactics needed was agains big robot and even that was useless.

I cant say i hate anything star wars well except episode 1 jar jar blammer mouth jinx. But this game was lacking everything Specially story line when you think your halfway tru the game your actually at the end.

Sorry but this game barely deserves renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Holy suckage!

posted by Sunny357 (OSAGE CITY, KS) Mar 31, 2011

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game was just awful. Yes. They gave it better graphics. Yes. They gave you new moves. But none of that matters, when it took someone like me. (Someone who's generally not that "good" at video games.) Less than 3 hours to achieve the ending for "Dark Side".

All this hype, and the fact that it's a Star Wars title should leave these people 8in absolute shame! The story is so short, that even the very-short CGI scene-endings, make you REGRET having played the rest of this annoying game, with no interest in playing for the ending for the opposite side, because it has nothing of re-play value. Once you are "super strong" they'd rather have you bounce around platforms, repeatedly heading left in a circle that's moving up, very, very, very slowly. Just to deliver you to the boss battle. There's no hordes of excessive enemies, unless you playt he enemies in the "Gauntlet challenges" etc.

However, those challenges are even more pathetic. They make them incredibly difficult, while giving you the shortest time to achieve a goal, ever. It's not worth paying attention to.

So herre's how I rate this.

Graphics: 8/10 Great
Music: 8/10 Great
Gameplay: 10/10 It's easy, and the new moves are good.
Story: 1/10 Epic fail. None of the rest of it matters, if you don't have a good story, gaming companies should learn this lesson.
Overall: Anything less than 1 out of 10. A bad story deserves no greater reward.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Button Pushers delight!!

posted by SHAMAN (SOUTH MIAMI, FL) Dec 3, 2010

Member since Oct 2004

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is for sure made for the "Star Wars" enthusiast as if you are not, you will prob not finish this game. Its incredibly repetitive with a seemingly weak story line (I assume as I never got past about 1/3rd of the game). Its a button pusher with not much to offer.

If your not into Star Wars, then prob pass this up as not worth even the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Overall A Good Experience.

posted by Numanuma69 (WARSAW, IN) Nov 13, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

SWTFU2 kept my attention, overall i give the game a 9/10. It has 2 different story endings and the unleashed mode was a good challenge!
I would recommend this game to any star wars fan!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

same as the first, boring and annoying

posted by Matt777 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 28, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is 0 fun. Graphics and physics are great but thats it, developers seemed to put no effort into anything else. Wiffle ball bat..... I mean lightsaber fights are horrible, bosses are horrible. All around combat is pretty bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse