Rent Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PS3, Wii

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.0

13571 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

The Good, the Bad, and the Ugly.

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Oct 28, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

76 out of 80 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

This sequel felt like an extension of the first, more than a new game in itself. You play as Starkiller's "clone" and are out for vengeance to take down Vader, with the help of the Rebellion and some Jedi. You are bound to find your love, Juno, and you are basically on a hunt to find her and take down Vader. If you liked the first game, basically you need to check this out.

THE GOOD
Melting through storm troopers at record rates is still a blast, and the ridiculous powers you have make it all the better. You can crush TIE fighters mid flight with death grip, and rip through enemy AT-MTs with some sweet combo cut scenes. The death choke and ability to play mind tricks adds some humor, making a helpless trooper either jump to his death or shoot his team mates. The symphony soundtrack is nothing short of the cornerstone of what a Star Wars movie sounds like. Epic scenery is also a trademark, and this game does not disappoint on the graphics department. Challenge modes provided some added difficulty and replay value. Easy to unlock achievements.

THE BAD
I found the campaign to be short once again, and was hoping for way more action with new force powers and sick dual saber combos..but was let down HARD. I could've thought of 1000 cooler ways to use dual sabers (which don't add anything to the gameplay FYI). Even though the force powers were the same, the upgrades just breathed horsepower.

THE UGLY
Surprisingly, the story is empty and forgettable; not something you normally get from LucasArts. You also spend 95% of the game on rainy, dark, and cloudy Kamino. This is the cloning planet we all know from the 2nd movie. In the 1st, we were taken to Kashyyk and like 4 other colorful and unique planets with their own different enemies and life forms. Kamino looks like the machine world from the Matrix. Redundant finishing moves and jumping/targeting enemies are still very awkward. Aside from that, it's still a must rent.

Milt Drucker- gamertag

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but not Great

posted by Gog535 (AKRON, OH) Nov 5, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was a pretty good game. The gameplay was the best part and they really upgraded the graphics from the first one too. The story and length of the game on the other hand or want brings this game down. It is pretty short and ( at least in my opion ) the story sucked. Also the final boss was a huge letdown. Fortunetly there is more to do after you beat the game. You can replay each level individually with all your current upgrades to search for collectibles or get achievements. There is a challenge mode with varying vhallenges and diffuculties. If you really like the game there is even dlc avaible for only 80 microsoftpoints. This dlc isn't some stupid little thing. It comes with three whole new levels and a different story. Really I only liked the gameplay and lightsaber customazation and everything was a a dissapointment. But the it was still fun to play through. Definitely not a buy but a good rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This is just lazy

posted by AndrewJ (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Oct 30, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

80 out of 90 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This game will be a lot of fun for you if you liked the first one. They made some moderate improvements but overall it's more of the same.

My real complaint is that the apparent lack of work that went into the development of this game. It is WAY TOO SHORT. When I was on the last level, I was thinking that it had an "end of the game" feel but I was in disbelief. I could not believe that the game could be this short. But it was. The story also had the potential to be good but was very one dimensional and predictable primarily because it had to be due to the length of the game. Finally, there were very few environments and one was even used twice. Each environment had several levels within it but I mean come on Lucasarts, this is just lazy. At the end I just felt cheated. I had hoped for more
which is the same thing that happened with the first one. I thought that I knew what to expect this time around. At least the first one had a decent story.

Overall I had fun playing it but it is a renter. Had I paid $60 for this game I might have thrown the controller. I give it a 7 if you are a Star Wars fan because it's still fun to play and it's Star Wars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A Sad Disappointment

posted by traitorvillian (WEST LAFAYETTE, IN) Jan 1, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved the first game even with it's faults while most gamers and critical reviewers weren't thrilled overall. I still own it. This sequel though is below the par set by The Force Unleashed 1.

The Good:
-The graphics look better
-Almost no screen tearing this time
-Much better game performance overall
-Classic Star Wars Music
-Epic Cutscenes
-Voice acting is pretty good

The Bad
-Short story mode
-Story isn't satisfying and doesn't achieve anything
-Saber combo input isn't as forgiving as last game
-Saber combat in general isn't worth the effort to master now
-Having two sabers is pointless
-Whats the point of the challenge rooms when the game takes 6 hours to beat on hard?

The Ugly
-Yoda level should have just been a longer cutscene
-Any of the questions you had from the previous game aren't answered nor does this game answer it's own questions
-Starkiller's force usage is laughably crazy now
-Most enemies have force immunities which doesn't even make sense
-Most power upgrades are ho hum, force rage is broken
-Darth Vader LORD OF THE SITH, is a pushover

I would give the The Force Unleashed 1 a 7/10, this game I have to give it a 4/10. It just doesn't add to the franchise and isn't fun most of the time. If it was DLC for the first game it would have fared better. Selling this game for 60 dollars was criminal. Just glad I only rented it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game: Too Short

posted by CalDaBeast (AUGUSTA, GA) Oct 23, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great game, but suffers from its length the same as the original Force Unleashed did.

Pros:
-Stunning graphics, MUCH better than the original
-Enthralling storyline that leaves you on edge in some parts
-Fun game-play, you won't want to put down the controller
-Sequel Potential: They left an OBVIOUS continuation for TFU3

Cons:
-The game is way to short. The final boss battle with Vader should have been the half-way point in the game.
-Sometimes the game is extremely difficult, even on the lower difficulties.

Overall a great game. Definitely worth buying!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by gameviewer (WINTER GARDEN, FL) Oct 19, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a great game and I can't wait for the third one.
This continues the story from the first game. You have more abilities and enemies. You also fight Darth Vader.
SPOILER ALERT IF YOU DON"T WANT ME TO RUIN THE GAME DON'T READ THE REST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
At the end of the game you have two options kill Darth Vader or let him live. I did both kill him and you find out the cloning worked let him live and you don't find out. I wonder if that with carry into the next game if they make one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Eh, mediocre...

posted by mBoat13 (EASTON, PA) Oct 13, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First play through is nice, level up the skills you want to see first, you wont get them all maxed by the end of the campaign. Between the campaign, challenges, and downloadable content, it only lasts for like 10 hours before you are done with it. Combat system is decent, the action and interactive cut scenes are entertaining. Kind of a bad-(A word) hack and slash play style. All in all I'd say it's worth a play through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Where's the rest of it?

posted by kalados (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

The game starts off pretty cool, but the extremely limited environments, repetitive bosses, a plot that would only entertain dogs ( and even only until they get bored..which is quickly), and incredibly short duration ranks it a 2. The KotoR games totally destroys this other than the graphics in TFU2 which are truly amazing. I just wished the devs would have done something differently for the plot. I am a fan of the star wars saga, however I'm not a blind idiot who likes it just because it is star wars. Giving this horrible product a 10 is just fanboydom. I'm not going to even reccommend it as a renter just because it's simply not worth playing. RPGs should have at least 20ish hours of gameplay ( this one barely has 20 if you do each difficulty, and that's just painful). It seems clear that every game that LucasArts cannot develop a ham sandwich. If you look at all the star wars genre games out there, the best ones were developed by companies other than LucasArts ( KotoR bioware, KotoR 2 Obsidian, SWToR bioware). I'll be sure to steer clear of anything developed by LucasArts. If they publish a game, I'll look to see who developed it, sorry to say.

Rating 2, I would have given it a negative rating if possible if it wasn't for the really nice physics and graphical engine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Star Wars the money spent

posted by Volkshof (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Nov 8, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

32 out of 40 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

First off let me start by stating I loved the story line and graphics. The game play is much improved from the first installment. The bad thing is on the hardest setting available at the first play through of the game I finished the game in less than 4 hours. It wasn't that it was too easy, just extremely short. For sure a rental, don't waste your money and buy it unless you have to have it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Makes Being a Jedi Feel Like a 9-to-5 Job.

posted by RandomGuy (IRVINE, CA) Mar 7, 2011

Member since Mar 2005

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

If George Lucas is trying to do everything in his power to make the iconic characters from the first trilogy seem like a bunch of sissies so that people appreciate the characters from the first trilogy more, then he probably considers this his masterstroke...unfortunately for Lucas, this game is so boring that I doubt most people will even get to the end.

Force Unleashed 2 is what happens when you let Lucas force a "love conquers all" storyline into a Star Wars game where the designers only cared about getting cool looking Force powers into the game. The game isn't challenging in any way, but it's complemented by the fact that you have to every single thing over and over again.

Here's a sample mission. You run through, mow down a bunch of stormtroopers. Then you get to the next area, where you fight slightly more stormtroopers. Then the next area has a mini-boss, and then the area after that has 2 of the same miniboss. Then you either get a cutscene, or an area where you have to flee from something, and then the level progression repeats.

If you're looking for a game that is as easy to beat as watching a DVD, as emo as Twilight, and has Force powers, this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just kinda sad

posted by Luvbster (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 1, 2010

Member since Jun 2007

14 out of 18 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I didn't think the first game was great, but it was fun, and the special effects were cool. This time around the fun dried up after the first level.

The bottom line is that the game is incredibly boring. If you've played God of War, Devil may Cry, or just about any other decent button-masher, you wont find anything other than eye-candy here.

To be fair, the game does look amazing. The effects are great, edges look smooth, and the physics engine does some impressive-looking things, but that's about all the good things I can say about it.

You have all these awesome powers that are fun to mess around with, but once you use one ten times there's nothing else to do. You never find yourself in a situation requiring you to think of new ways to engage opponents. Whenever a new situation or enemy type appears, the game simply explains what to do.

The enemies themselves are just sad. Stormtroopers, the series staple, are just cannon fodder to amuse you. There are about five other enemy types, all of whom have very specific weaknesses that require you to fight them in the same way. Every time a big droid with a shield came out I would just groan.

There isn't anything particularly wrong with the level design, it just isn't very interesting. The platforming however, is awful. It feels clunky and awkward, and the last level is mostly that.

Then we have the bosses. These are the worst part. Every boss is invincible except for one weakness, which they must display for you. It tuns the fights into battles of attrition, requiring more patience than skill.

The final confrontation with Vader was the absolute low point for me. It's set up to be very dramatic, but it does that thing where you hit him a few times and then he arbitrarily becomes invincible so he can go to the next scripted event. It is EXCRUCIATING. He keeps escaping, jumping to the next platform, and hurling the same attacks as last time.

In the end I wanted him dead just because I hated the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

SHORT WARS!!1

posted by wally79 (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 1, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

19 out of 25 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

When i played the demo It had a great feel to it and i thought that they had finally perfected a star wars game. Boy was i wrong. The game was too short for a 60 dollar game. The makers of the video game even had the audacity to use a stage twice!!!! grrrrrrrrrrr The Last level boss had to be the biggest joke, Darth vader how far you have fallen!!!!! The story was weak and the enemies were very repetitive. Definitely a rental at best!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disappointed

posted by vortex3811 (MESA, AZ) Apr 20, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Although pretty this game lacked in playability. 5 hours of game play and limited playability is not selling points for me. If you really need to know what happens to star killer and juno then go ahead and rent it. If you don't and are hoping to play a game as good as Star Wars:TFU then look somewhere else!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Half a game

posted by theGMP (HONOLULU, HI) Oct 28, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

13 out of 18 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

The first Force Unleashed was really fun. Sure, it had it's problems (like the slowest loading pause menu of all time), but overall it was great. For the sequel, it feels like they had an interesting idea, and instead of fleshing out a story for it, they just decided to make really long levels in a few different locales. Seriously. As one point I thought, "Wow, after playing all this time I thought it would've ended after that fight." And then I find out that I had actually played through "3" levels. When the game's credits started rolling, I was really confused because up to that point I felt like I was only halfway done.

Sequels are notoriously known for being dumbed down and containing no real substance when compared to the predecessor, and TFU2 fits this bill to a T. It's prettier and smoother, but there's no substance. None of the passion that went into the first game to make a great overall experience even showed up in this game. Definitely only worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Shame on you LucasArts!!!

posted by Wyotexan (CHEYENNE, WY) Nov 16, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I was very disappointed in this game. I didn't find anything entertaining about it at all. I beat the game on the hardest setting in five hours! Way too short and way to easy. Was disappointed in the story and gameplay as well. It played just like the first, but was still just boring. I wouldn't recommend purchasing this to anyone. Shame on you LucasArts!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Star Wars II - The longest demo!

posted by Karloz (MIAMI, FL) Nov 11, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I played the demo for this game and I was so impressed with the graphics and overall gameplay I went out and bought it that same day.
2 Days later I had finished it. The first game had all these different world and a wide variety of characters and enemies. This game felt like it only had 3 levels.
1. Escape facility
2. Rescue blind dude
3. Return to facility and face Vader.
THE END!

Shortest game ever. A complete dissapointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This game... not so great

posted by Bukman716 (HAMBURG, NY) Oct 6, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Overall this game is pretty bad. Its very glitchy, wierd camera angles and so on. not to mention the main storyline is only about 4 hours long.

There were actually parts where i had to reset in xbox because a door that was supposed to open didnt, or an elevator that was supposed to move didnt.

This game is pretty bad in general for all players, pro and casual

As an achievement hunter, which im sure most of gamefly members are, the challenge section requiress you to engange in the most difficult hair pulling challenges i have seen in a long time. the rest of the storymode achievements are tedious and mind numbing as well.

To the casual gamers as well, dont bother, the game is over before you know it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mediocre at Best

posted by your360reviews (GREENWOOD, IN) Sep 27, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II could be, well, mediocre at best. Here's why:

PROS: Great combat, amazing graphics especially in the final boss battle. Great voiceovers.

Now that's honestly it for pros.

CONS: Length. I finished this game in four hours. That's unacceptable for a game in this day's age. Alongside that, the story wasn't very well written, not to mention meaningless. It wasn't Star Wars at all, more like a romantic action movie with light sabers and angry men. That's not what I personally wanted when I rented this title. Alongside that, the game is 150% linear. It's so linear that you will get whipped and imprisoned if you even think about backtracking to see the havoc you wrecked. That goes for force powers, too. The only customization in the game that matters are the lightsaber color/attributes and ranking your force powers up. There's costumes as well, but who cares - they're all the same to me. You can't even pick a style of fighting - it's dual lightsabers no matter what.

I enjoyed the four hours I got out of it, but that's not worth waiting the 2-3 shipping days there and back. 5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ridiculous

posted by MrGrreatness (SPRING HILL, FL) Feb 11, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If I paid $60 for this, I would have burned my xbox in a furnace. This game is perhaps, 3? Maybe 4 hours long max? I expected much more Lucas Arts, your last game was much longer and more enjoyable, stop being lazy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

where is the rest of the game

posted by Left4Dead (INGLESIDE, TX) Feb 6, 2011

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Is this a game or a demo, the lamest thing ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

are you kidding me?

posted by BiggRigg (CAMBY, IN) Nov 13, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was a joke. First of all it is ridiculously short. Second of all the story line is pointless. Even if you played the first game, this makes virtually no sense. If you didn't play the first game, you will be lost. There is no sense of pace in this game either. Sit thru a couple cut scenes that mean nothing then fight fight fight thru waves of enemies who you don't care about and all the sudden, the game is just over. I gave this game a 3. If I had paid 60 bucks for this I would be furious. I was looking forward to this game alot and am very let down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Oh My God What Was That

posted by Booskabear (HYATTSVILLE, MD) Oct 31, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This is by far the most disappointing star wars game ever. Can you really call this a sequel? I bought the game thinking awesome new star wars game. I'm finally going to have something challenging to play. SIX HOURS!!!! Thats how long it takes to beat the game. The Combos suck, the powers suck, the overall story sucks. It makes no sense at all. The was the biggest waste of $63. I probably would have done better buy that new naruto game. And thats really sad. SERIOUSLY DISAPPOINTED STAR WARS FAN. this game is made for children. not for us actual fans. As much hype as this game got im seriously surprised it even got through testing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Starwars Force Unleasded 2

posted by magnus1332 (CALHOUN, GA) Nov 18, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

As Great as the first game was, I was expecting the second one to blow me away. When I got the game I was thrilled to find that there were more to this game than just the name sake. They had re done the force powers to include a new power called jedi mind trick, as well as revamping the upgrade system.
This is about as exciting as it gets I had thought, but was to my dissapointment i was Stunned at how SHORT (8 hrs of gameplay and beat the game on the hardest level) and dull the game actually was. Compared to the first game where you got to explore worlds and fight jedi knights, this game was a HUGE let down. Not only do you NOT get to explore worlds you only fight one "Force Powered" foe in the whole game. Vader!
this game was a let down because all you do is fight droids, bots and a variety of storm troopers which progressivly get a little more "harder" to kill.
boaring...
The lenght of the game also was a MAJOR let down. I mean come on you got to be kidding me. The finished product was not much longer than a demo of other great games out there.
so in short i give this game a 5 out of 10
get with the program lucas arts put something out there we can sink our teeth into and loose ourselves in a galaxy far far away.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I can feel the sucky dwelling within you

posted by EmoChips (COLLEGE STATION, TX) Oct 28, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

13 out of 21 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Let me start off by saying that I was one of the guys that overlooked any fault the Force Unleashed 1 had since I loved the epicness of the story so much. Now let's get down to it. This game feels like an expansion. It doesn't feel like a second part. They did a HORRIBLE job with everything.

What they changed from the first that made me dislike it:

1. The gameplay- the gameplay of the first one had some epic combos you could unlock as you moved on throughout the story. In FU2 we have a dumbed down leveling up system consisting of getting force points then spending it on either a couple of different force powers, or the lightsaber. And now you can't choose which combos to buy, all you get is 3 upgrades to each, and the combos are weak. The only nice thing is how the lightning turns purple when you max it out.

So to summarize they dumbed it down to the point where it feels like a cheap hack n slash.

2. The length- So I haven't beaten the game just yet, but for some reason I felt like checking how long the game was online. I thought I was somewhere in 60% of game completion. But I'm apparently in the last level. I'm playing the game on hard, and it will take, like it took many others, 4 hours to beat the game. ON HARD. I realize the first wasn't long either, but at least you didn't feel the shortness with so many levels. There must literally be 4 different settings for levels.

3. The story- I won't spoil anything, but let's just say that after the ending of the first you would expect a decent explanation. All you get is vader going "oh btw lolz here is what happened to you in a 5 second summary. let's move on"

the story of the game itself is bad as well. It would be considered a side plot in any other game.

4. Dagobah- wasn't in the first, but have to say this. WHY? WHAT WAS THE POINT? You'll know what I'm talking about.

Final score- 5/10
justification- the above. The game deserves a RENT. A 5 is average flat. And this is what the game is. I am sad as heck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disapointment

posted by Shadow_Fearion (GRAHAM, WA) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Very poor sequel.
Not much has changed from the original game besides lightsaber crystals which now have special effects like life leech and you can change colors for both hands.
Difficulty is blurred, about the same through all difficulties which is simple except a few parts can get tough, more annoying than anything.
As far as control and moves, not much new here although he has two sabers, which can also be annoying cause your saber throw throws both of them which leaves you defenceless. The game also seems to want you to block more than fight, makes it a little bland.
Best part of the game is the story line as a Star Wars fan I suggest reading the book.

Altogether I'm disappointed which is saying alot considering I got into star wars thanks to the games. Yay! Jedi Knight: Dark forces

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse