Rent Star Wars The Clone Wars: Republic Heroes for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Star Wars The Clone Wars: Republic Heroes

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, PS2, Wii, PSP Games, DS
GF Rating
5.0

2001 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Worth a rent if you're a Star Wars nut

posted by Delirium (SOUTH MILWAUKEE, WI) Oct 10, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

30 out of 31 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

The game is fairly simplistic although it's plagued by bad camera angles, repetitive platform jumping, and a small amount of variation between combat, challenges, and platform jumping.

The formula is used a lot throughout this game and I imagine it'll be worthwhile if you're looking for a game to play with your kid cousin or child. You won't find much challenge here but you will find a somewhat lengthy game with some fun to offer.

Pros:
+ Lightsaber. Who doesn't like wielding one?
+ You run into many characters of the Star Wars saga
+ Lengthy levels
+ Shop to spend points
+ Variation between characters
+ Co-op is enjoyable with kin

Cons:
- Terrible camera angles. You'll find yourself jumping into pits a lot because you can't always tell where you're jumping to
- Game mechanics could use work. I'm already tired of my character failing to grab a ledge or land properly on a platform
- Variation, while there, can be repetitive still

Overall, it's not a bad game and I think the negative reviews are much too harsh and fail to offer any real criticism but I say if you're a Star Wars nut or you're looking for a game to play with the family, this isn't a bad choice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I love Star War but this......

posted by Kanetsv (YUBA CITY, CA) Jan 30, 2010

Member since Sep 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Control: Need a lot of help from jumping, to perception when you jump, sometimes when you jump on a ledge or if you climb up on something your character will get stuck.
Graphics: Was not to bad especially if you like the cartoon it seems like you are in one movie or episode. However with this graphics it was hard to get my depth perception down and that kind of cartooning graphics is not enjoyable to me.
Story: Was the only thing good about the whole game with the fact that you can play Jedi and the Clone troopers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

as these side-scrolling/arcady type games go...not

posted by adryne (ABILENE, TX) Oct 14, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

yah, these other reviews are definitely TOO harsh, and this IS NOT a legos game, tru its similar, but much more to it and more fun. dont expect a great star wars game , but do be prepared for repitition and jumping off ledges from bad angles tho.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Bad controls doom this game

posted by Galaxie (CHEYENNE, WY) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

After dozens of repeated failed jump early on in the game it is enough to make you pull your hair out. The graphics didn't bother me and the cut scenes are very reminiscent of the cartoon, as is the voice acting, all seemed to be the same as the cartoon series. If you could move the camera it would help greatly but when it is positioned at an awkward angle it makes jumps near impossible to make without plenty of attempts. I like the cartoon series but really hated this game mainly because of the horrible controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What you expected

posted by King4day (CHARLOTTE, NC) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

It's like a big boys version of Lego Starwars (but without the legos).
It's fun, but more aimed at kids.
I think the poor reviews are from people expecting an epic star wars game. You'll know when one of those comes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not really that bad a game

posted by dgnx4lif (LAKE WORTH, FL) Jan 30, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

so when this game got shipped i was like darn, seriously this games gonna blows, g4 gave this like a 1 rating, ok im giving it a 7. why ? cause its not as bad as they want you to believe. it's got that prince of persia feel with the jumping and swinging you got to do. some parts do get you ready to chuck the controller across the room. but the 1st time you make the droids dance you will laugh. i did its raither funny. as you slice them into peices as there dancing around. plus you get to play as everybody from mace to plo koon. when you play as rex the clone trooper its aiming goes a lil DO-DO. but seriously its not that bad a game. plus you can die a million times and never start the board over . it just takes away from your points total. great game for kids and star wars fans... story could have been better but they cant all be great. THE JOE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ok

posted by iceman1016 (LAKEWOOD, CO) Jan 30, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Will this game is fun but more for a kid if you have a kid i would get this game for them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

This is a game for 4-10 year olds

posted by GeneraLore (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Oct 7, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

You know I am a huge StarWars Fan and love the idea of this title however making a game where the only difficult part is making your charachter do what the mission is telling you to[Run up the droids leg and slash the laser cannon]sounds easy right. well instead of him slashing the cannon Anakin decides to aim for the non essential mid section 25 times in a row. Star wars has made games since like the SNES days right, so by now one would conclude that they would have a pretty good idea of what works for them right, Wrong.
I hope someone out there that has some sort of pull on the starwars gaming department reads this and takes it to heart. Lets reminisce on some GOOD starwars titles shall we, Hmm.. Well Battle Front xbox was a fun title, not all aspects of the game worked but it was fun.
Clone Wars was an excellent title, The Force Unleashed[Short but fun, I wish they had put duel and staff saber in this title], and My personel favorite SW Jedi Academy[this game had it all, and could have done little to make this title better] I know if they released a game like Jedi Academy mixed with Force Unleashed and a bit of battlefront that would be the ultimate SW title. Seems to me they wanted a quick buck, I am glad I have Game Fly!
I would reccommend LegoSWII over this game any day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too similar to the Legos games

posted by TheColonel (BLOOMFIELD, IN) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Basically, this game is just like the Lego games; which I am completely sick of. The game isn't bad, it's just not what I expected, not what I wanted. If you like the Star Wars Lego games, this is worth a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Its okay...

posted by gdfuzz (DELRAN, NJ) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The only real reason this is keeping my interest is bacause its Star Wars. Its a okay game that worth at least a play through if your a fan. It has its flaws, but you get to play as a good amount of Jedi/Clones. Just think as it as almost a updated version of Jedi Power Battles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Probably fine for children

posted by edwinsux (WASHINGTON, DC) Nov 10, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I should have known that this game would have been geared to children by the fact that it was based on the cartoon series. The game play is bad and the characters (particularly Anakin's padawan) are annoying. I rarely return games the same day I get them, but there was no doubt with this one. Even an 8-year-old would be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Excellent

posted by HEYxNUKE (WEST PLAINS, MO) Oct 18, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Do not understand why so many have said this game is last-gen graphics? Styled after the tv show. My entire family enjoyed playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

republic zeros

posted by rockgod (ORANGE, TX) Oct 7, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

ok first off let me say this game was one of the worst i've ever played the camera angles are so bad half of the time you miss your jumps the graphics are sub par at best and the story is so short i beat it in one night it is a platformer game that should have come out on super nintendo i don't know what the people at lucasarts was smoking when they made this game but they need to lay the pipe down

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Worse Game of The Year!

posted by YourKaos (GRANTS PASS, OR) Nov 19, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

First off I had the game at the bottom of my GameQ, but since it was the first game available it was sent out. As it was coming I downloaded the demo on my xbox 360 and I played it for thirty minutes. When I played it I thought to myself how did the great Lucas Arts come from the wonderful Force Unleashed to this sad excuse of a game. As soon as I got the game from GameFly I sent it immediately back. Let's break the points I'm trying to make...

Gameplay: 3/10

Graphics: 8/10

Story: 3/10

Camera: 3/10

Voice Acting: 5/10

So here it is by what I can tell this game is just a terrible tragedy, but from my experience most video games that are based off of movies end horrible. If you are looking for a good game this may not be the game you are looking for. Lucas Arts have destroyed this game from what I can tell. Perhaps if you like Star Wars games then you may want to download the demo or rent this, but I would strongly advise against it. So do what you will.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad game

posted by agonzalez4 (MISSION, TX) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

i did not like this game, the way u control the charters is bad when u tried to shoot you can not aim.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Didn't even get to play it

posted by Lodurnaut (BRONX, NY) Jul 6, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Game froze mid way through the 2nd missions and kept doing it over and over again. Looked like it would be a good game, turned out to be a headache.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

star war the clone wars republic hero

posted by gameflygamer36 (CLEAR LAKE, IA) Aug 28, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

this is nothing like u said it was it was it sticks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

W.T.F !

posted by Frozen319 (CABALLO, NM) Apr 9, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I have come to the conclusion that star wars flat out FAILS at making games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Clumsy mess!

posted by neadysamurai (PERRYOPOLIS, PA) Feb 26, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I love star wars and give ever game a chance but that being said this game is a mess! Controls do not always work the way they are intended too and the light saber just doesn't feel fluid like other star wars games. The double jump is horrible! When trying to jump from platform to platform you miss most of the time or fall off the edge and on occasion you catch yourself on the side with your light saber but rarely! I think its time for an hd remake of battlefront and the original ep from ps2! Really wanted more out of this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What happened to star wars?

posted by miamiheatman (VERO BEACH, FL) Feb 13, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I dont know what lucas is thinking but this is the worst star wars game ever made stupid story line, gameplay, camera angle everything I would have given it a 0 but i dont think you can, scratch that a -10 but thats just me if you like the cartoon series then your 5 years old and this is the perfect game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

epic game

posted by italianboy096 (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) Dec 28, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

this was a great game, i would go crazy if they make another game to go along with this one, that would be EPIC!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not that Good

posted by rocko12 (KINGWOOD, TX) Nov 4, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

First off I do have to say I have never had to pull a game out of my system because I could not stand it. Second of all I never would have thought that it would have been a Star Wars game. From the beginning of the game I was frustrated from all the needless jumping to my death from the bad camera angle to the glitches that ensued. I did not enjoy this as much as the previews made me think I would.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Get ready to jump to your death!

posted by Absinthe36 (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Aug 18, 2011

Member since Feb 2009

Terrible, terrible platformer...both boring and yet while its an easy game you will die over and over to the awful jump physics the game employs. Really you should avoid this at all costs, even if you are a super Star Wars fan there are better games to spend time playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lego Star Wars Without The Legos

posted by Veganforpeace (CINCINNATI, OH) Jun 2, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Republic Heroes is basically Lego Star Wars without the Legos. I beat the game on Master difficulty in about 8 hours and had much fun the whole time. While the difficulty is not hard or frustrating, it is challenging enough to keep one interested. It has a lot of replay value, especially with regard to the collectibles and the challenges within each level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

cole sudduth

posted by colebu2000 (CARTER LAKE, IA) Feb 7, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

this game had suck get this game of the enternet and this is not worth buying for and this game had tooking me to beat 4 hours and this game is the worst game i have ever played not worth buying for this game sucks;;;;;;;;;;

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse