Rent Star Wars The Clone Wars: Republic Heroes for Wii
view large frontback

Star Wars The Clone Wars: Republic Heroes

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.0

345 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
3

Bad

This game leads you around with a leash

posted by hdgarcia (MARLBOROUGH, MA) Dec 17, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I couldn't make it past the practice run in this game. It felt like the game controls took control. When using the force, you aim in one direction, but the force shoots out in a direction you didn't aim. There are parts of the game where you need to walk across narrow path ways, you just need to move in the general direction and the controls lock you onto the path then you just need to generally walk in the direction you need to go, no skill involved. Same with jumping, jump in the general direction of that 2' X 2' pedestal you need to land on and it will lock you on. Not at all like a Mario Galaxy, where the platforming is challenging. I decided to send this one back, not sure my 6 year old would even find this one challenging.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

star wars game reviews

posted by gamekid12 (WAYNESBORO, VA) Mar 13, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is pretty good. but it is also easy. i beat the game in 3 days. it is best being a clone trooper. i give this game a 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Enjoyable

posted by attilio (East Elmhurst, NY) Oct 9, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I've played this game about an hour and I enjoyed it. The graphics are nice but could be better. The gameplay is fun once you get used to the controls. It took me some time to realize when I'm using the force on an object I need to constantly tap Z instead of holding it.

In some missions you play as the Jedi in others as the clone soliders and both are fun. As a Jedi you swing the remote back and forth to attack (sorry no fancy Wii motion plus battles). As a clone soldier you aim at the screen with your remote and shoot your enemies.

If anyone has played TMNT I can tell you that the style of that game is very similar to this one. It is definitely a fun game but I suggest renting before buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The Force is definitely not with this game.

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Oct 29, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Star Wars: The Clone Wars: Republic Heroes is a stand alone story in the Star Wars: Clone Wars series on the Cartoon Network (could’ve guessed that, could you?)
I could get into that stand alone script, but it’s too long, complicated and (for me) not very interesting. It’s the Jedi and the clones taking on the droid army in one massive battle after another.
Fighting with the JedI is nothing more than run up to the enemy, mash the B button and repeat until you get to the end of the level.
Fighting with the Clones is much more fun. There’s some great run and gun action on display here, and this is the high point of the game.
But any chance this game has of being good are ruined by the jumping mechanism for the Jedi. The idea is you point the thumbstick in the direction where you want to jump and the game should automatically get you onto the ledge or really tiny floating platform in that direction (when I say very small, I mean only one person at a time on these floating platforms.)
But what the game gave me was much worse; sometimes the Jedi would jump in the opposite direction and many, many times the Jedi would miss the jump entirely and fall to his/her death.
Adding to the aggravation is the sloppily implemented option to control droids; jump twice onto the droid and stick the light saber in it to take control of it. Sounds like fun until I tried it. Jumping on the droid was okay, but when I tried to take control of it, the game would have me destroy that droid far too many times. I want to use it not destroy it!
Oh yeah, I almost forgot one last thing: the stationery camera. Why do they do this? It makes jumps harder in some areas, and in several levels, it cuts off the proper route to the next part of the level.
Star Wars: The Clone Wars: Republic Heroes is only for the die hard fans of the Cartoon Network show, and even they might hate the camera and jumping mechanisms. SKIP IT,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Okay game but horrible graphics!!

posted by smitty1971 (LOUISVILLE, OH) Oct 10, 2009

Member since Jun 2005

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

It's a fun game especially if you watch the series. You can play as jedi's and clones both, each with different moves, etc.

But......... I don't even think the graphics are on par with a Super Nintendo !!! wow are they bad. Makes controlling the characters extremely tough... especially jumping !

This is a rental at best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Failed to meet my already low expectations!

posted by Rook1074 (INMAN, SC) Jan 10, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Terrible fixed camera perspective making even the simple stuff difficult. Awful control scheme! I saw that this game was rated poorly but gave it a shot anyway. Not everyone is crazy about the clone wars animated series. Those who Rated this game before me were way too generouse! Complete waste of time. Just another game thrown together to capitolize on a franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by jeffeema (ALISO VIEJO, CA) Aug 5, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Graphics and everything else are SUPER good!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

1

posted by GAMELOVER12 (EMERYVILLE, CA) Mar 9, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

sucks as s

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Star Wars Republic Heroes

posted by 2011gamer (ROCK SPRING, GA) Aug 28, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I woudn't say this game is bad but it isn't good either. And here is why that is... It is extreamly hard to control and it can get frustrating at times. In short it is really really hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

star wars

posted by fyrwyf (HUTTO, TX) Jul 12, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

good game but short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Game

posted by gameviewer (WINTER GARDEN, FL) Aug 21, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

I loved the game it was fun. The only problem is the camera is weird. The charactors ar small because the camera is so far back. You have to defeat the same guy about four times but i didn't mind.
It switches from being diferent jedis to different clones so you never play the same charactor.
You can by different heads for the chractors but thy are big. You can make the robots dance after you buy the dance modes. You jump on them and hit C if you on the wii numchuck. I wold recomend it but you better have good eyesite and batteries.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I didn't believe the reviews, but...

posted by bluringoct (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jun 25, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

This was the worst star wars game ever. It's hard to control, and just not fun at all. What happened to games like Knights of the Old Republic or Jedi Academy? I guess I have to wait until the Force Unleashed 2 comes out this fall. Even my six year old son, a huge Star Wars fan, said "I can see why it got such bad reviews... Waste of a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »