Rent Star Wars The Clone Wars: Republic Heroes for PS3
view large frontback

Star Wars The Clone Wars: Republic Heroes

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.9

1135 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could have been a decent game but NOOOOO!!!!

posted by Zombielust (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 14, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I get this game from the mail and pretty curious as to why it was getting bad reviews, I like Star Wars and the games and Figures I collect. So I put the game in PS3 and when I see the visuals I was disappointed imeeeediately. It didn't look good as I thought it should, it looked like it was made for the PS2.

I start playing it and it's OK so far until you get asked to jump the droids and jump on the bikes and such. I must have died fifty times before I landed correctly on the Staps. Sometimes you don't know where to go next and you eventually die trying to until you figure it out.

So with this I stop playing, sealed it up and mailed it back. Lucasarts what are you guys doing? Do you need a game tester? I would love to do that for you, that way you guys would stop producing lame games and giving Star Wars Video games a bad rap.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

So much potential...

posted by banky74 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Oct 15, 2009

Member since May 2009

18 out of 20 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I cannot for the life of me understand why Lucas Arts would let such a valuable and profitable IP be sullied by such a poor game.

First off, the graphics look last gen. This game literally looks like a ps2 or x-box or Gamecube game. Disappointing, but not the end of the world if the game play is solid.

The gameplay has so much potential. There are several moments of genuine fun but the whole game is so incredibly raw and frustrating that the negatives quickly outnumber the positives. Death by jumping into a chasm happens constantly. Not because the jumping sections are tricky, but because you rarely know how your character is going to react to your requests.

There's a genuinely good game hidden in there but it's buried under poor visuals and extremely sloppy controls. The Clone Wars series is a goldmine for Lucas Arts. That's why it's unfathomable to me that they'd allow this game to be released in its current state.

Shame on you, Lucas Arts for letting your fans down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Every Bit as Bad as Advertised.

posted by aceman43 (LEWISTOWN, PA) Apr 20, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'll be the first to admit, I'm a shameless Star Wars fanboy. And this game was so awful, my love for the Force couldn't pull this one from the Dark Side.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The Search for a true....

posted by MrSverdHed (LOWELL, MA) Nov 14, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Piece of miserable gaming has come to an end! I thought wow, ok based on an Animated Series, let's ignore the bad reviews and try it... Ummm, was in my machine 5 minutes and that includes 3 minutes to load!

Bad controls, bad graphics, just bad everything. Although I could not rate the story of the game as I played for two minutes before deciding that this was not worth my time. You're better off throwing your game system out of a window... That would be more fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Star wars the clone wars: Republic Heroes

posted by BigKahuna6 (JOPLIN, MO) Jul 21, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

DON'T waste your time or money renting this video game unless you are in a nostalgic mood. This game truely goes back in time and should be left there! That's all...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Lego Star Wars without the legos

posted by koolcat (ORLANDO, FL) Dec 2, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My son is lukewarm on Star Wars having been addicted to it in the past, but has moved on to other interests, but I figured we would enjoy playing co-op on this one as we had a blast with other games like Lego Star Wars. However, if you take Lego Star Wars and take out the legos, that's about what you get. The fun of smashing and collecting is gone and you are left with a button masher, platforming game. The platforming tended to be more frustrating as you had to align yourself just right on some jumps and hope for the best.

In the game you switch off between Troopers and Jedi as you take on different missions. We actually liked playing as the Clone Troopers more than the Jedi. They had more weapons to play with and the shooting was just more fun.

If you have a child into Star Wars the Clone Wars, they might enjoy this game more, but we found it mediocre and not worth a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't bother with this game,.

posted by MattOhio (PAINESVILLE, OH) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got this game strictly for my 9 year old twin boys who are huge star wars fans. They were soo excited to get this game, then they proceeded to beat this whole game in less than 2 hours on the hardest mode possible.

Totally Lame, My son's were back to playing something else by the end of the day.

I tried to play it and found it really bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It's still star wars

posted by ElroyJones (LAFAYETTE, IN) Dec 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

I'll start by saying that all in all it's still a fun game. For fans of any Star Wars game this will be very enjoyable. It has a co-op feature which hasn't always been available in too many past Star wars titles. Many playable characters to unlock with Jedi and clone missions. Down side is the controlls aren't very acurate. You'll find youself die more by missing a jump than enemy fire. Plus your teammate (If you are playing solo) doesn't always seem to no whats going on, esspecially in boss battles. Overall a short game you can find that it's very possible to finish the game in a matter of hours. I would suggest that you rent it first. If you like it then buy it used.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The Force is weak with this one

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Oct 6, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

14 out of 19 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

"Star Wars The Clone Wars: Republic Heroes" should have been fun. It sets up from the end of the first season of the series, which is reasonably entertaining. On the plus side, the voice acting is decent and the story not too bad. Cutscene graphics are not bad, but could have been better, but the actual gameplay graphics are from the earlier PS2 era, rather than the next gen system. The camera is fixed and often too zoomed out, making the platforming inconsistent and unreliable. Combat is also inconsistent, and targeting doesn't always work well. The result is replaying sections over, though thankfully respawn points are never far apart. The missions are generally of short duration, and aren't very varied. There are a couple of nifty moves you can pull off with a simple touch of the controls, but Yoda constantly pops up to tell you how to do things, which gets highly annoying after 5 minutes. This is definitely aimed at the younger crowd, but even the young 'uns will most likely get bored or frustrated with this game. The force is weak with this one, Padawan. Rent only, if you must.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not Worst Ever, But Far From Good.

posted by cem3340 (FOUNTAIN VALLEY, CA) Oct 7, 2009

Member since Mar 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game's fixed camera, spotty movement and combat controls, and repetitive (VERY repetitive) gameplay are the greatest and most obvious problems with the game.

Cut scenes, voice work, and production is decent, but nothing you haven't seen or played 5 years ago.

Only young people new to gaming, or BIG Star Wars: Clone Wars fans need play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Star Wars Game So Far!

posted by starbat626 (VENICE, CA) Oct 11, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

These here are so very wrong about this newest Star Wars game. All the Star Wars games before this were total bombs. Lousy in every way. Like unleashed. This one finally has a story and is really very fun. Sure it isn't Infamous and doesn't have the mind blowing graphics, but it is in animation, I feel that many of you are not giving the game a chance at all. It's fun, entertaining and well done. A very good game to get better at the Force with movements and such. I can't imagine all this hatred for this title!

I'm very disappointed by these terrible responses! Children would love this game, it's surely a pg game and parents would not have to worry about buying this one for the tots and themselves. I'd love to see another of these along these very lines. Star Wars must have a story and can't have Darth Vader in a Fighter up against Godzilla! Star Wars is a very serious property and here finally Lucas has something that can be built upon in the video game sector.

Please do rent this game and push this rating up! I'm really upset about a 5.6 rating here! 5.6 for anything about Star Wars is not acceptable! Especially for this really very good game.

Even though I'm giving it a 10 to put up that rating... I consider it to be a firm 7.5.

Thank You.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

An absolute bomb!

posted by factor8 (PARKER, CO) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Holey "stool sample" this game is a disaster from every angle!

Pros: The voice acting is about the only decent thing going fir it.

Cons: The camera angles are horrible, the targeting is non existent, and the controls are really odd to say the least.

Oh well... perhaps they'll get right next time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

awful game

posted by firefot (WINDER, GA) Oct 20, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

if i was any more bored i would have been asleep
kept for 1 day sent back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I love Star Wars, but this is a bust.

posted by MikeMote (PALOS VERDES ESTATES, CA) Aug 18, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

My title says it all. I'm a big Star Wars fan and I got Gamefly partially so I could try out a lot of the Star Wars games out there. I put this one on my queue despite the poor reviews because I like the show.

The negative reviews on this are spot on. The game is what it is. A cartoon show turned video game, which leads to poor graphic quality (besides some of the cut scenes). The loading screens are obnoxiously long and when you actually get to the game-play, you'll question why it took so long. My biggest knock on this game is that it is very one-track. To get past certain points in the game, you must accomplish something but there is only one way to do it. But many times, your control over your character is so poor that you have a very difficult time accomplishing the objective. If anyone struggled on the first mini-spider droid boss in the first level, you understand what I mean. Many times, you can't do what you want to do with the controls. And then sometimes, when you know what you have to do, you can't do it because the controls are unintuitive. In addition, this game is very repetitive and the mini-game challenges perpetuate this repetitiveness.

I think there was great potential for this game, but they rushed to get it out there and created something very mediocre. This is probably the only BAD game I've played from LucasArts. I'm hoping they redeem themselves with Unleashed II!

Bottom-line: Trust your fellow gamers and take a pass on this one. If you're under the age of 15 and you LOVE the Clone Wars cartoon series, then you MIGHT consider renting this game. Otherwise, save yourself the few days of shipping back and forth and pick up a different title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

total destruction of a game

posted by malinko (RINGGOLD, VA) Aug 4, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

how and why did they make this game?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Star Wars The Clone Wars: Republic Hero's

posted by jbement (PINE BUSH, NY) Jul 2, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First I will start off by saying that I love Star Wars everything about it except this game. This is the worse Star Wars game I have ever played. The camera is horrible! Distance is impossible to judge so you spend most of the time missing your jumps (very frustrating). Another thing is you fall off of things for no reason. The fighting is pretty good but you get easily confused on who you are, so you end up fighting a corner or a wall for a while. Also there are alot of glitches due to the camera. When you die some times you are placed off screen with objects in your way and can't get back to what the camera is displaying. You end up having to exit the game and try again hoping it doesn't glitch again. I will say the game is fun if you get past the obvious problems. I will end by saying this I never write reviews but this game was so bad that I wanted to warn people about it. I feel the people who made it should recall it and give the money back for people who purchased it. Shame on George Lucas for alowing it. Oh and I did finaly beat it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

its ok

posted by ninjagod88 (CYPRESS, CA) Apr 2, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i did not like it oh well i say get it and see if you like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

The Force Is Sucky With This One

posted by officeninj (GAINESVILLE, FL) Feb 27, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I couldn't bring myself to play this horrible game for more than a half hour. Terrible camera, confusing controls, a nonexistent plot, and annoying voiceovers make for a game straight out of LucasArts' toilet bowl. Unless you're an extreme diehard Star Wars fan who has to play every game ever made by LucasArts, do not waste your time even renting this godawful wretch of a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

fatguy

posted by fatguy (GALENA, MO) Feb 20, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game was not as good as i thout it would be. the grafs an a lot more stuff needs to be better cass this game was bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

worst star wars game ever?

posted by patdylan69 (FIELDS LANDING, CA) Nov 4, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me preface this by saying I like star wars. This game was one of the worst things I have ever played, it is not worth the time to even write a review but I must to warn people this game is horrible. The graphics look like a cross between psone and ps2 the characters are lame. There are essentially no real combinations to preform it's just one strike button and a force push, but it doesn't matter because the characters are too small to see. In all honesty the game was so lame I could barely finish the demo or the 1st level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

should be beter

posted by jam1990 (SANFORD, NC) Oct 20, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

do not buy this game just rent it . it needs more levals and chatores

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

WOW!!!!

posted by Jsanmartin (LA HABRA, CA) Oct 6, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I expected this game to be alot, wow was i wrong! This was a whole step back from all of the star wars games. It was very disappointing and very boring! This was the worst Star wars Game EVER!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Cheap game. Poor graphics. Boring.

posted by tropix17 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Oct 7, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Not even worth $20

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Lacking the force is!

posted by starrfyre (DELMAR, NY) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

So I thought that the game maybe worth playing even though I did not really get into Star Wars: The Force Unleashed; but, unfortunately the same problems arose with this game as it did with the afore mentioned. The lack of panoramic view and control functions make this game ALMOST unplayable!

With that said, let me go over the good:

great graphics for a game based on the animated movie/series
solid storyline
variety in play of characters a plus
always great when you can upgrade abilities!

I gave this game a 6 (though technically a 6.5) for the good it has in it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

really?!

posted by sheisster1 (DICKINSON, TX) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

So many titles out on this console continually raise the bar. After playing this I imagine the developers stuck somewhere in 1995, clapping each other on the back saying "yeah man Republic Heroes is totally RAD". Simply put, the sound is the ONLY bright point in the game...I guess even on it's darkest days, a LucasArts game still sounds pretty. but other than that, ugh...I RARELY stuff a game back in its envelope before its' time; but this one stunk up my living room SO much, I was forced to remove it in the interests of my sanity and geekological well-being. I'd rather play a 2D platform ps1 game than this slagheap of bantha poo-doo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse