Rent Star Wars The Clone Wars: Lightsaber Duels for Wii
view large frontback

Star Wars The Clone Wars: Lightsaber Duels

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.1

2090 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ok - But NOT!!!

posted by JDigitty (BLYTHE, CA) Apr 18, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is not that good. It's too redundant and the gameplay lags. The only thing that saves this game are the graphics.

I kept waiting for the moment when I got to go "buck-wild" on some Siths, but this never happened :P

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stinks

posted by gibberww (Greeley, CO) Jan 19, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Playing this game is ridiculous trying to incorporate the special moves is almost impossible. I would just like to start plying not spend time training or doing tutorials.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Controls are Terrible, Arcade-Style

posted by 5UM1R3 (BETHALTO, IL) Dec 10, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It may be a misconception on my part, but I had believed that the benefit of the wii controller was that it allowed your actions to translate directly into movement on the screen. Explain to me, then, why I am waving it "up, down, up, down" to perform a combo in a lightsaber fighter designed specifically for the wii. This wasn't cross platform, so there was no reason for it to include the mechanics for traditional controls - the developers just weren't up for actually designing a game where the player gets to wield a lightsaber.

So, if you hadn't guessed, I'm not a fan of the control scheme. In fact, I would say that it was utterly unintuitive and directly in conflict with the technology at use. For that alone, I would have rated the game poorly. Unfortunately, it doesn't really do much in the way of graphics or sound - and the voice acting is terrible. I hadn't realized that Obi Won Kenobi was related to Elizabeth Taylor. I don't mind, I just don't remember him saying "daahling" quite so much as he does in the game.

Level design is bad, with clutter around that breaks if it's hit but has no other real purpose that I was able to determine. Every fight seems to have three settings with very bad linkage (a cut scene so bad I felt embarrassed for the animators). Block is accomplished using a button - on the wii remote! All of the actions have to be initiated with a flick to be fast enough to keep up with the computer; any attempt to get crazy with your wii remote results in broken combo chains because it wants you to act like you're playing an arcade game, not being a jedi. Motion recognition is still pretty bad, and the combos are a bit ridiculous to accomplish as they require all movements to be from the center of the screen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

My 6 year old loves it

posted by cncmoore (WEST DES MOINES, IA) Nov 15, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Adult Star Wars geeks will be less than impressed. This game is the Wii equivalent to a button masher on other consoles. This game was/is perfect for my 6 year old son however. He is a Clone Wars the cartoon fan and took great satisfaction in playing his favorite characters. He also seemed to greatly enjoy the ease and successes granted in the game from wildly swinging the controller while he jumps up and down. Very good exercise for him (he beat the campaign in about 90 minutes, fwiw).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

My 8 year old turned this game off

posted by Wsando (HANOVER PARK, IL) Nov 21, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

I got this one for my son and I to play together, both of us being Star Wars fans. After 2 rounds of fighting he said this was the most boring Star Wars game and asked to play SingStar.

fights are very repetitive, and like other fighting games is very easy for one player to get into a position where you cannot get up or away from an attack, makes playing less enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't let me down

posted by Abended (WEBSTER, NY) Jan 27, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I was saddened that this game did not have the free range of motion that I expected. I was thinking it would mimic my movement. Instead you make slashing movements that fire animations. Similair to wii sports boxing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Use the force, to let me down.

posted by brindlec (FINDLAY, OH) Jan 18, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I was let down by this game since I got it expecting quite a bit. First off the game is very short, win a handful of battles and it is over; the controls don't work well so you spend all your time swinging wildly just to keep your opponent off balance. The environments aren't very interactive, bad controls, short game; overall play it, get bored, and move on to the next thing in your Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Great for young children, but that's it...

posted by pokegod (ONTARIO, CA) Jun 16, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Star Wars: Lightsaber Duels has Horrible graphics, horrible dialogue (did I spell that right?), and cheap playability. While I must admit that the storyline is kind of impressive, that's the only pro toward the game. The Dialogue is very repetitive, you get the same quote every other 5 battles. The Graphics suck. And the playability is very uninspiring. ESPECIALLY when the cover says, "Wield your Wii-mote like a lightsaber"... my butt. The Motion Recognition is all screwed up, you only get what you want every 5 times. I swung up AND down and ended up with a stab. You could basically have a siezure and win the game. Sometimes the game recognized motionlessness as an attack. I was VERY (let's just say) disappointed at everyone having anything to do with the game. This game had so much potential once it was announced, but fell miserably short. All the young kids (I'm talking 5 year olds) had so much fun with the game though. I was so surprised to see that irony. I really would've liked to see more quality, or even evidence that they worked on the game for more than a week. This game is TERRIBLY SHORT. You can get through younglin and padawan in an hour. This could have been worked on for at least 6 months of concept planning. The game, like I have said before, could've had a whole plethora, a cornucopia, if you will, of potential. Especially because of two very important things (for the game itself).
1) It's a STAR WARS game, people are going to expect a lot from it, due to it's popularity.
2) It's coming from LucasArts. George Lucas is still alive, he should at least give them guidelines and set the bar a heck of a lot higher.
Another thing is that in this day, age, and (mostly the) economy, people are going to want what they paid for. You're throwing $40.99 away for a game that falls very short of the consumer's expectations. That can greatly affect LucasArts' profits and sales, especially from firs time buyers from the company. I would highly recommend NOT buying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Should be for 5 year olds only.

posted by oathar (COLUMBIA, SC) Nov 26, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I just randomly jerked the wand left and right really fast and beat every level on medium. I did not really care to beat it on hard. The commercial is misleading, that you and your friend will have epic fights that your try to dodge and parry. Your a stick figure with a glowing stick in your hand.

Pros: ????

Cons: Most of the game. Characters in the game are from the cartoon and not enough epic legendary characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

May The Force Be With You

posted by SuperZeke (WASHINGTON, DC) Aug 9, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

anakin ahsoka kenobi mace and more light saber clashes forces fall this is the ultimate game ya better rent/buy this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Gets old fast

posted by cag006 (GREENWOOD, IN) Aug 25, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I rented this, played it for 30 minutes then was done. The training levels are more fun than the game levels. To be fair I only played the first 3 game levels. You fight the same character 3 times in a row and nothing is really different. I wish I was doing the fighting in the background. Maybe theres more but I just skipped the rest and moved on to the next game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

My lightsaber's bigger than your lightsaber

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Apr 23, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Star Wars The Clone Wars: Lightsaber Duels is a long, but self-explanatory title for this game. It's essentially a fighting title... with lightsabers.
Since it's all about fighting, let's talk controls. Swinging your Wiimote swings your lightsaber, while the buttons and motion-sensors on the nunchuk control force powers. Usually, the system for force powers and lightsaber attacks function adequately. However, there are times when you're trying to block or swing where nothing happens at all. And with lightsabers, standing around is a bad thing. The sketchy sensor recognition is most prevalent in force duels, where you have to make a series of gestures and the Wiimote has serious trouble keeping up.
The computer AI puts up a good fight, but it throws in some cheap tricks. It feels like rubber band AI, where the computer gets far more aggressive and tactical if you're winning.
Start off with the campaign, which is just a series of duels that loosely follow the clone war saga. This mode takes about an hour to finish. And if you're looking for a story, the narrative is basically subtext to explain why your characters are fighting. It's actually pretty useless, because I already understand that the Jedi and Sith have a bad history. Why your enemies have to be defeated several times in the campaign is not explained, but I have a feeling it has to do with a lack of characters.
Which brings us to challenge mode, where each character has specific missions which are basically more duels with conditions thrown in. Unfortunately, with four missions each and only 10 characters, even this is pretty short, if you even care about playing through more duels.
Multi-player is available and this is the reason most people would want the game. But every fighting game has multi-player.
The presentation is nice, but it's lacking gameplay. Force Unleashed had better lightsaber controls and threw in a whole adventure at the same time. Therefore, Lightsaber Duels is basically unnecessary.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lightsaber Druels

posted by smolsom (MONTICELLO, IL) Jan 19, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I will try make this review quick and without a lot of content to keep it in the spirit of this game. That's because there's not much to say about this game.

Honestly, when it comes to game play there is nothing to this game. It is the Wii equivalent to a button masher. You can easily make your way through this game without any type of real strategy or skill by wildly swinging your Wii remote and mashing a couple of buttons. Other aspects of this game are also lacking.

The story is mediocre at best. There's nothing really compelling or interesting to it. With long cut scenes in between each duel that you can't skip through it's easy to start losing interest as they add little to story. The rare occasions where your characters talk they say cheesy one liners.

The graphics are unimpressive as well. There will never be a moment in this game where you say "wow, that looks cool". Granted it's animation is based on the Clone Wars series, It still felt like a better job could have been done. As I said they were unimpressive.

In closing, the only that could make this game worth playing is if you played against one of your friends. But that can get old quick, as your arms are sure to tire. So unless you have no game skill, are 7 years old, or have the desire to be completely unchallenged by a game with lackluster elements, do not rent or buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Poor compared to Force Unleashed

posted by bigdadiben (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Compared to the Force Unleashed this game sux. Your force powers are very limited in Clone Wars: lightsaber duels. You only get a force push and can lob a few objects at an opponent. Some of the Sith have force lightning. As far as controlling the light saber there are a few available combos but if you are trying to implement them you will get your butt kicked by an opponent who is simply waving the Wii-mote like a wild man. The graphics are ok, similar to the movie. The highlight of the game is the smack talking the characters say to each other during and after the duel. But, once you've heard them, the playability drops off from there. Unless you enjoy shaking your Wii-mote mindlessly, save your money and rent the Force Unleashed!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game and its a Great Workout!

posted by kidsreview (AMARILLO, TX) Nov 21, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

A 6 yr old says.......
It is awesome! One of the best games I have ever played! Takes alot of energy to play! You can get tired if you play too much!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Lightsaber duels solid but disappointing

posted by CowboyWolf (NORWOOD, MA) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First let me say the controls are crisp and responsive and that moment of "i swung down!!!!" Or "I thrusted!!!" rarely if ever occurs.
The game perfectly captures the star wars feel and excelled with the clone wars animated feel (clearly). Though I must say the lack of Force Powers, or really and special moves beyond boosted attacks and a single 'super-damage' combo, is disappointing to say the least.
Tac on that there are only 10 characters and 5 of them are a bit of a pain to unlock and its tough to balance out the good and the bad.
As a whole like I said the game is solid and controls, combos, and overall gameplay are intuitive and extremely fun. On the other hand the game lacks depth to say the least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not the best Star Wars Game

posted by Strife (HUMBLE, TX) Nov 13, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was definitely a rent and return game... First of all, it really wasn't any fun. Playing through the campaign, I find my self wanting to beat fights just so I didn't have to do them again. The dialog is VERY repetitive. The story is alright, going through the Clone Wars movie and more, but as a video game... I got bored with it after 30 minutes or so.

The battles against enemies came down more to luck than skill and you can pretty much beat battles just as easily by frantically shaking the wii-mote as you can by trying to execute moves.

Not my type of game... got it and returned it on the same day after a few hours of play.

If this game would have been developed with the new motion sensing add on for the wii-mote and had a more responsive, sword fighting style to it and maybe even a 1st person mode... it would have been a better game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Star War Clone Wars Lightsaber Battle

posted by nintendo7 (SIDNEY, NY) Aug 26, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

My 11 year old son just loves the wii and today he got the Star Wars Clone Wars Lightsaber battle and he loves it for the most part. The one bad thing about it was I was expecting a much quieter game! When he started the battle whenever he swung the wii remote or made any movement with the remote it made this loud obnouxuas noise so I tried to have him turn it down and there was no control or option to turn the noise off!! So if you get the game you might want to be in the other room or have a pair of earplugs!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

very good game

posted by bellic55 (HOWELL, MI) Dec 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i loved the game i do admit there needed more characters and more missions but it was a good game for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Tihs gmae ins't vrey good

posted by lowtech (COVINGTON, KY) May 12, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

All and all, tihs gmae is waek. You can win by jsut wnivag yuor amrs anuord rlmodnay. You jsut hvae to wvae and sniwg and fiall. Trehe dnseo't saem to be any lnik beewten snigniwg the cellortnor and snirocg. Blacisay it's waek.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Can't play if it Crashes

posted by OpusDmajor (SANTA ROSA, CA) Mar 18, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is probably fun to play and I've read it to be exciting.
How can you play it if the game is crashing the Wii every minute?
I would just get into the game and begin playing when CRASH.
Not just a little hang up, but a full Black screen crash.
I would have to eject the DVD, shut the
Wii off and start all over again. No Fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Give it a try!!!

posted by Highlifeis (HILLIARD, OH) Feb 12, 2009

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

after reading reviews by others, i discredited this game, but because my girlfriend wanted to play it, we rented it. It can be beaten by a 5yr old, but what games cant be? it has a solid attack system with character=specific wii movements. which is another great thing about this game, the wii mote actions are the best for a fighting game yet, if you actually take the time to go through the tutorial to learn to be precise

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not very good

posted by hippie1234 (ELKINS, WV) Jan 7, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I first put this thing in I thought it was going to be another great Star Wars game. I was wrong. When I finally got to the main screen I tried for like 20 minutes just to do the free play, which for some unknown reason I was not allowed to do. Guess the force wasn't with me on that one.

Training was kinda cool tho, albeit boring. You have one task for each scene and it gets a little hundrum.

I played campaign mode for all of 30 minutes, and when beating every enemy in just a few swipes of my light saber I became bored. I expected more.

The interface was decent for the Wii, but it's hard for old school button-mashers like me to get used to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bring it on! Let see your lightsaber skills

posted by BIGRON213 (COMPTON, CA) Dec 4, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is very good. My daughters and I loved it. We bought the lightsaber dual pack at gamestop and it was very cool playing the game with a glowing lightsaber. Becarefull because you need enough space around you playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Star Wars Clone Wars Light Saber duels

posted by joshuaz8 (TAMPA, FL) Nov 29, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The only thing that I found bad about this game was that you could only be ten characters. Every thing else was cool. I liked that once you are in challenge mode, there are new levels that you could unlock and new outfits for the people.

I didn't think it was worth buying, but definitely worth checking out. I would keep it if it was given to me as a gift, but I wouldn't spend my money on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse