Rent Star Wars Rogue Squadron II: Rogue Leader for GC
view large frontback

Star Wars Rogue Squadron II: Rogue Leader

Not Rentable
GF Rating
7.1

479 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Don't let the difficulty turn you away...

posted by Trilam (PANAMA CITY, FL) Nov 28, 2011

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got this game and my Gamecube at launch, and I remember this being one of the most fun and challenging games I'd ever played. You will get shot down, and you will get frustrated, especially on the beach level (forgot the planet name) and during the Battle of Endor (one of the HARDEST levels ever designed...bringing down those Star Destroyers was one of the most difficult tasks a game has ever asked me to accomplish). However, I was able to beat this game numerous times with no infinite lives cheats or any of that other nonsense. This isn't an impossible feat, just a difficult one. Challenge like this is something that current-gen games just don't give us much of now-a-days, and I welcome a good butt kicking from a game, as long as the challenge comes from the design and not from the game being so broken that you can't play it. The former is true of Rogue Leader.

On top of it all, this game is gorgeous, even by today's standards. There will be moments in this game that look as good as the movies.

Developer Factor 5 made a fantastic space shooter on this little disc. Yes, there are a few camera issues and a couple of objectives that seemed a little harder to pull off than they should have been (I'm looking at you, Battle of Endor), but don't let that stop you from experiencing a great game like this one, especially if you weren't alive or too young when this game was released. Give it a shot, but prepare yourself for one helluva challenge, and a good time to boot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome and HARD

posted by Capdain (SAN JOSE, CA) Apr 12, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

When I usually start up a game and it asks me what Difficulty to do, I always say hard and have some fun and some good challenges. This one got me right from the start, and on top of that the features of watching footage from the movies is a bonus. A plus!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Just Terrible

posted by mommacat22 (TIJERAS, NM) Nov 4, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

This game is so so so......hard! Heck it took me a day or 2 just to finish the first level. the game is just awful! i never want to play this game ever in my life again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

messed up

posted by zack21 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jan 15, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 14 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

this game was WAY messed up. especially in the last level. even if you are completely away from a pole or anything else you die anyway. i was really dissapointed in this game. i dont think it deserves a 7.8 rating. :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

You call this a simulation?

posted by xytan4 (BRISTOL, VA) Jan 19, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

It's no X-wing Alliance, that's for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

STAR WAR ROGUE LEADER 2

posted by chaz_34 (TANGIER, VA) Nov 30, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

Had to send this game back due to scratches that other people do to them while using them,they are being very ruff with the games on gamecube. This is been about the six or seventh time i had to send a gamecube back to you all because it was unplayable. But if you ever could just send one more game cube to me. Would be legend of zelda wind waker or walker,i forget what it is called but just send that one for gamecube. Or any one of harry potter that i have checked on my gamecube. I would certainly appreaciate it. And i have received red dead redemption yesterday.Thanx for the fast delivery.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Star Wars Rogue Squadron 2 Rogue Leader

posted by 2011gamer (ROCK SPRING, GA) Aug 13, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This game was so-so. It could've been better. It is really hard and there was nothing that awesome about it. That's all that I can say.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

One of the lower star wars games

posted by NemesisKU (SUAMICO, WI) Jul 2, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

Were to begin on this BAD game. The only good thing is that it is star wars, thats it! The camera changes by it's self when a tie goes on ur tail, which is nice so u can see it. But this has killed me many times because it would happen without warning and i would crash into things. Most ships have a hard time shooting down the fighters because of bad placed guns on the ship. But what really ticked me off the most is the LAST level on the game, the Death Star 2, you and lando try to fly into the core to destroy the Death Star. Flying there is a pain. Ur job is the protect lando for a bit. Sounds eay right, well it ain't. Because lando is so fast, u need to keep ur X-Wing in the speed positon, which means u can't shoot. So when a tie comes in, u need to enter attack mode to kill it. When u enter attack mode, lando flys away and gets killed. Did this about 20 times, only 3 times did i enter the core, and i never won the level, even with the infinite lives cheat, this game is HARD. If u wanna play this game, (which i say, DON"t) don't expect to beat this game even WITH cheats. But a few ups is the star wars part, and the awesome cheats there are. The ships u get from the cheats are cool, but not good. The slave 1 is fast, but the bad gun spots and the GIANT back is very bad. And the naboo star fighter is quick, but the bad guns can't kill a tie. The buick is cool, but everything about its fighting is bad. I am a mega fan of star wars, i love ev everything star wars, but this game is something different. All and all, it gets a 4. HAPPY PLAYING!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »