Rent Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic for Xbox
view large frontback

Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.9

4312 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epic as the franchise it is based upon

posted by Kimoon (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Jan 2003

36 out of 37 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

My Status: Beaten once at ~40 hours
Difficulty: Medium

Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic (KOTOR) is an excellent RPG with great visual and sounds. Even though the story takes place 1000s of years before any of the movies any fans of the franchise will instantly recognize the worlds, surroundings, people and items in KOTOR.

The game is very much a standard RPG affair. The fighting is actually turn based even though by looking it at you will never be able to tell. This makes the presentation of the fight scene awesome. The sound of blasters and light sabers really does add to presentation of the fight. A lot of the fights you can just enjoy just sitting back and watching your characters run havoc on the enemy. This doesn’t mean the game’s fighting is without challenge. Many times you will have to take an active role by pausing and giving commands to your characters.

The game also features a very interesting light and dark side system, where almost every mission can be solved through different path. The game took about 40 hours to beat the first time through but begs to be played a second time as people react differently depending if you are on the light path or the dark path.

Of course none of this would matter if the game didn’t have an interesting story. The game luckily has an awesome story. Not only is it filled plot twist on a personal level but the story is grand in scale. You get to hear the stories of every member in your party with all there baggage but at the same time you are trying to rescue the entire Galaxy.

KOTOR is an awesome game that is just a big of an Epic as the franchise it is based upon. Any fans of Star Wars will love this game but there is a lot of just good role-playing and story telling for everyone to enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I'd enter 11 if possible

posted by harrison2 (LAMAR, AR) Oct 26, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

24 out of 25 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

Graphics: 9
Gameplay: 10
Sound: 9

If i entered my top 10 original Xbox games, this would be in the top 3. If you are a fan of the movies, you will be blown away by this games intensity. This game pushed the Xbox to it's limits. This is an RPG, but, it is not complicated. It is vey simple to be in that category infact. You will also have a mass number of character creations. Face choosing is few, but your clothing, armor, and wepons are amazing. If you want a fun, entertaining, life-choosing game that you have over 35 hours of storyline, this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

KOTOR Easily The Best StarWars Franchise Ever

posted by crazyjohn4 (MADISON, WI) Apr 14, 2006

Member since May 2004

21 out of 22 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

This game is a 10. I played through it the first time (for 60 hours) and, when I got to the end, I just wanted to play it again. As far as a comparison is concerned, however, KOTOR 2 is a more fun game to play. You have more powers more quickly and the combat seems faster in the sequel. KOTOR takes a little more strategy, as my character is not nearly as powerful at the end of KOTOR as he was in KOTOR 2 (my character wasn't even powerful enough to take down Malak without hints). Having said that, the STORY of KOTOR is far superior to the storyline in KOTOR 2. I actually said "Wow" at around the midpoint of KOTOR because the story was that good that it drew me in. A very well written storyline from BioWare.
The graphics and sounds are still great, even three years later... and I can't wait for BioWare to give us a KOTOR game for the 360.
The KOTOR Franchise gets at 10 overall. If you haven't played either game and are a fan or RPGs or the Star Wars universe, start with this one. I wasn't even a fan of RPGs (had only played them a couple of times) until this game, but it's easy to control and fun enough to bring in the casual RPG player.
This game is a MUST PLAY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome game!!!!

posted by superpoof (BEALETON, VA) Oct 5, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game may be hard but it packs a punch for it`s era of gaming.Star Wars Knights of the old Republic may be one of the best games I have ever played and/or going to play ever!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Needs a remake

posted by honeyslaye (LAKELAND, TN) Apr 12, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is old and one of my favorite games of all time. It was the best then and isn't played much because it's old and the graphics arnt so good by todays standard. If bioware were to pull this relic out of it's closet and remake it, keep the story line but better graphics it would go to the top.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Star Wars Mastepiece

posted by GMarek99 (FORT LAUDERDALE, FL) Sep 12, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Never have I played anything like Star Wars: Knights Of The Old Republic. It's so incredible you might play it over and over again. It sets in 4,000 years before The Phantom Menace. You basically start off like Jedi Academy but better creating your character adjusting your skills, giving you the option to choose your words that directs you to either light or dark side. You can customize your lightsaber and gain points to strengthen your character's skill. There's also side missions for you to get involve with, the story is very long but very entertaining so you won't be bored at all. When your progress, you become very powerful, but you also will have carefully choose your words as it will affect you more than your allies. Star Wars KOTOR is an excellent masterpiece worth playing for years to come!

A Full score 10 out of 10!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I LOVE THIS GAME!!!!

posted by ACHRON (SPOKANE, WA) Jun 27, 2008

Member since May 2005

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

You start off on ship sleeping. As the game progresses a bit you meet Carth a solider of the republic, he tells you of Bastilla.She's Jedi with special force power that helped bring down a sith lord. Then you crash on the planet beneath witch is overrun with sith.and that just the first half hour.

Personally I've bought and sold the numerous times thinking I was done with it. Its just absolute gold. The storyline is one of the best parts, its like an interactive movie. Te only downfall is the combat system its more original RPG. Other then that its great recomend toall Star Wars fans.

Evil, Good or Neutral its your so make it!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BEST

posted by watthe (BROOKLYN, NY) Aug 10, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the best star wars game you will ever play. You get to experience the life of a true jedi. If your a star wars fan get this you will die of having so much fun. I like all the weapons you get and the story. You can choose to be bad or good. GET THIS GAME OMG!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

KOTOR is easily AWESOME....

posted by BIOWARE (MESA, AZ) Jul 15, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

KOTOR is one of BIOWARE's best games...The in game depth you can get youself into is just amazing, i played it like 20 times all the way through and im still not dont with it...(As in im not bored with it yet..) 10 ALL THE WAY!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

6 out of 5 stars

posted by PaleHorse (MOBILE, AL) Apr 19, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In the world of turn based RPG's this game is the total package. It has a great story, great game play, and it is conceptually excellent. Anyone who is a fan of both RPG's and Star Wars will like this game. It does start off a little slowly, but it more than makes up for it. You can truly immerse yourself in this game. You will wish that you had Jedi powers as you go about your normal life while playing this game. The whole concept of exploring the Old Republic, and expanding the Star Wars mythology is great. There is so much potential there and they did a good job of tapping into it. You are able to control your destiny: good or evil. Play it twice so you can be both.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best star wars game ever!!

posted by patman256 (HILTON HEAD ISLAND, SC) Apr 11, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This star wars game was great!! Its really worth it to buy because it can take a while to beat. I've beaten it 3 times now and it never gets boring. Because you can choose to go to the light side (good) or the dark side(evil) along with using different light sabers, (red, yellow, green, blue, and even orange). You can even choose to be a boy or girl and literally do anything you want also recommend the second one and hopefully the third if they make it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I was really impressed!

posted by Lorelei (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Oct 24, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved this game, it was original and fresh. The storyline had many twists and turns to keep you captivated. The game play was simple yet satisfying. And the characters were complex and believable. This was an enjoyable game and I would highly recommend it.

Thank you,
Lorelei =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A miracle.

posted by slaughter (LEE, MA) Oct 22, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

What can I say that thousands before me haven't said about this miracle of a game, not so surprisingly ripped from one of the most captivating and long-lasting franchises in both the history of gaming and films.

The characters are distinct and interesting, the story open and undefined, just how I like it and the gameplay is complex and fun to learn.

Basically, this game is amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Havent been this blown away since zelda:Oot

posted by mordris (California, MO) Oct 4, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game,is like everything that has been wanted by rpg fans,perfect combat,awesome graphics,awesome plotine,perfect voice acting,puzzles,everything about it aced it.

simple put,play this game and youll become a star wars fan before you know it,even if your not find of star wars,as i formally was

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

An RPG and/or Star Wars' fan wet dream

posted by DarkScion1 (MANORVILLE, NY) Sep 8, 2006

Member since May 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Not only is KOTOR a good Star Wars game, it is definitely in my opinion one of the best RPGs to come out in a very long time.

For me, most RPGs start to drag in the story, get too repetitive in the combat, and I eventual put them down never to pick them up again. KOTOR remains interesting throughout the entire game, dividing the gameplay up with mini games and other scenarios to complete.

The combat system in KOTOR is still technically turn based, like Final Fantasy. What's different is, the game plays it out almost in real time, to keep the cinematic feel of the game flowing. It's difficult to fully explain how it works, but the combat system is easy to use, and you would have to play it for yourself.

All the characters in your party feel useful. Each character has depth and has a reason for being present in the game, and it really feels like they come from the Star Wars universe.

KOTOR also allows you to join the Light Side or Dark Side of the force, based on actions you do in the game. This is one of the few RPGs where your actions do effect the progress and ending of the game.

If the game has any faults, its a few bugs and glitches here and there.

Play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

KOTOR IS AWESOME

posted by SGerrard04 (EAST PETERSBURG, PA) Jul 25, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i like how the lowest written review is a 4.
Shows that people who know video games love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

its true :D

posted by Taco1662 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Jun 18, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

sooo i just felt like saying..that you guys should put this game up for rent again cuss i want to play it.even if that game is old but its still really good :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Where is the 15 rating!?, 10 doesn't do it justice

posted by kotor51 (MAYER, AZ) Aug 22, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The year is 2010 and im still playing this year 2001 game to this day. i have never in my life been some entrenched in a story like this one. i have never read a book with a better cast of characters, my personal favorite is HK-74 lol. i bought this when i was an unsuspecting 13 year old. turned out it will still be my favorite game ever played. i try to get buddy's to play it but some could care less because of the rank on call of duty. BioWare is top notch, i have played all of there games but there is something special bout the starwars universe to me. I even broke out that brick of black plastic to play it again the other day. still took my 7 hours to get my butt off taris lol. I wish more people would really become self aware of the adventure they are missing or have missed incidentally in this game due to its incredible voice acting and plot twists. I take my hat off to those BioWare writers and i hope they keep it coming. oh! if you have the time BioWare's newest kotor is coming out soon, go and have a look at it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Home run

posted by mrsmiggles (MCALLEN, TX) Jul 21, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This the the best XBox game I've ever played. I'd never finished an RPG before this game and was hooked almost from the beginning. It's super immersive and the story drew me in. Plenty of twists and turns in the story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Star Wars games have a tendency...

posted by Thechubby1 (SNOW CAMP, NC) Jul 6, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

...to be quite average. This time the series leaps into a whole new genre, RPG. In this game you start out on the Endar Spire. Your ship becomes under attack by the Sith. From there on you go through different worlds fighting baddies and and killing Sith. On the second planet, Dantooine, you get to train with the Jedi and build your own lightsaber. Later, on Korriban, you can become a Sith. You go to I think 6 planets. The graphics are nothing short of magnificent. The combat is in real time but you don't control the combat except which attacks to use. The level up interfaces are simple and their are a ton of feats to play around with. You can choose to become a Sith or a Jedi, and throughout the game, how you interact with people decides your fate. The story is beautiful. This game is as good as the original trilogy. I never liked RPG's but this game showed me how ignorant I was. Overall this game has slick graphics, great control, and one of the best original storyline i've ever played in a videogame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Level Up You Must!

posted by DylanJ (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) May 30, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Set 4,000 years before the events of Episode IV: A New Hope, Bioware was able to craft a story to their liking without treading on the shoes of Lucas himself. This is a good thing, considering the game (in typical Bioware fashion) allows the player to actually affect the outcome of the storyline. The game urges you to make moral decisions--will you follow the merciful and compassionate path of the Light, or the vengeful, angry road of the Dark Side?

Unlike the Japanese RPG, KOTOR allows the player to fully customize all the PCs' (of which there are nine not including the main character) stats and abilities, though a handy auto-level up feature is available to those who prefer to avoid the number crunching and just want to get into the game.

The game utilizes a psuedo turnbased combat system in which the player automatically engages an enemy with a standard attack, and then adjusts her strategy by queing up special moves in the form of upgradable feats and (for Jedi) Force powers. At default the game pauses the action at the end of every turn to allow time to strategize, and when first beginning this is probably the best way to go until you get used to the system. At any time the player can open up the options screen and decide exactly when or if the game pauses the action, allowing the player to adopt a more real-time feel to the fighting.

While the combat is strategic and satisfying, the real meat of the game lies in the sweeping storyline, full of mind-blowing twists and deep character development, expertly delivered by top-notch voice acting. Every line of dialogue in the game is fully voiced, and though many of the NPC character voices inevitably share the same voices (and unfortunately even the same faces), you'll never encounter the bad acting found in lesser RPGs. Holding this game back from the perfect 10 are the crude and repetitive animations that even for its day weren't up to par, and the rare frustrating bug.

Bottomline: It's a must-buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

KOTOR

posted by AfterShock (PASO ROBLES, CA) Aug 12, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

21 out of 24 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic is one of those rare games that must be played twice... this is due mainly because of how the story archs depending on whether you're good or evil. You can choose to join the sith, or stay honorable towards the jedi... it's like having two games. Two games that take well over 30 hours to complete!

You begin the game as a very skilled (scoundral, soldier... etc, whatever you choose) that was hand picked by the republic to protect an important jedi named Bastilla. She's important because she can, in a sense, control armies with the force. And that power can turn the tide of the war. I'm not going to give anymore of the story away because this games greatness lies in that. The combat system is fun... but it isn't very interactive. You lock onto an enemy, and then you press a button for them to attack. It's kind of difficlt to explain... it isn't like the combat system in games like Fable, for instance... more like Final Fantasy.

I reccomend this game because it's just good, and the story is different every play through... it's definatly worth a buy... (that means you HAVE to rent this game... why? because I said so!! :)...)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Life-Changing

posted by MeytalGuitarist (FALL RIVER, MA) Nov 15, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Kotor was the first game to truly suck me entirely into the storyline. Not to mention the first to playthrough several times. First playthrough took me 23hrs. If you've never played this its an absolute must. Better on PC...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Xbox is Back!!

posted by kronicuser (SAINT PETERS, MO) Dec 13, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic is by far one of the best xbox games out there, and yes luckily it can be played on 360. In my honest opinion it's my number 1 game pick for the old xbox games even beating some 360 games. Story is incredible!!! Now they just need to make a new one :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game owns!!!

posted by brianrules (FRESNO, CA) Nov 23, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i have played this game 3 times through and i still dont get bored
all i have to say is get this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse