Rent Star Wars Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy for Xbox
view large frontback

Star Wars Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy

Not Rentable

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
7.6

1849 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

fun for any star wars fan

posted by falloutman (CARSON CITY, NV) Oct 14, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

any one to rate this game lower then a 5 is just plain stupid. it had a solid story with the ordeal with rosh was very unexcpected i knew he was gona turn but not how it eventualy turned out in the end very supriseing for me. gameplay side not many star wars games let you be a jedi and at the same time use a blaster in first person then switch to your light saber in a pinch. how ever there are times wen you can get in a fight with a dark jedi and kill him in litrily one hit or he can take the tinyist bit of damage and kill you just like that this isent a bad thing however it ceeps you on ur toes and catuious even when you think its gona be easy.another minor prblem was i wished i could use more force powers i mean core light side and dark side are fine but there wasent enough tricks and i felt even wen i had full everything that i was still a qaurter of what it should be. it is still a must get for any starwars fan it lets you see some of the stuff that you dont get in the movies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Jedi Academy: looking back

posted by WyldThAnG (NORTH HILLS, CA) Sep 4, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is the best Star Wars game I've ever played to date. This was the game to have many years ago and they need to make another one. The single player was ok with a solid story, but this game was made 4 online play and focused more on lightsaber combat. There were many combos to learn that no one told you about like the 3 hit combo 4 single sabers and the jackhammer 4 the other two. If you got good enough ppl would acctually get "bounty hunters" to go after you. I remember when ppl would get into a FFA and challenge each other to 1 on 1 duels and have 2 or more on at the same time and if you got bored a noob would join and everyone would gang up on him using him as a piniata with grip. Graphics 10/10 (back then they were top notch) gameplay10/10 Story 7/10 replay 10/10(multiplayer) singleplayer replay 5/10Lucasarts needs to make a brand new version 4 the 360 ASAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Stick with the Game

posted by millerm (LOLO, MT) Jul 19, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2005

31 out of 36 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This was a excellent game, great combat and solid story line. But there was a few large problems, the biggest of which was when i stopped playing the game for a day or two i completely lost interest. I had no desire to play the game even though i had had a great time playing it. The second of which is the inconsistencies of the dark jedi, either you could fight one dark jedi and beat him easily, or lose horribly. Also i was slightly annoyed that the races were gender exclusive, you could only be a female Twi'Lek, or a male Rodian and so on.

However this game had excellent controls and incredible game play, i have never played a game like it. This game is absolutely worth getting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Star Wars Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy

posted by LordDaemon (OWASSO, OK) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Nov 2003

25 out of 29 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Great game! I have been a SW fan since I was a kid in 77, and have always been enthralled with the SW Universe. Having already played and own KOTOR & KOTOR II, I started backtracking through the earlier Jedi games, just for the sake of the backstory. WHile the earlier games are not as well developed - graphically, interface-wise, or even story/time-line wise, as the KOTOR series, they are an excellent predecessor to the KOTOR line, and offer stimulating gameplay.
The controls are a bit cumbersome, especially if you are already fluent in the KOTOR interface, and the toggle between ranged and melee weapon views (ranged are 1st person, melee are 3rd), made for very frustrating combat at times, when you accidentally toggle between weapons in mid-combat, but all in all, an enjoyable play (much more fluid story and gameplay than say, Obi-Wan - in which the action has a tendency to "stall" in the gameplay department, requiring you to either give up, or consult a gameplay guide).

My only negative is the fact that I was unable to use the "Keep It" option from Gamefly to add this title to my personal collection - apparently, since it is an older game, Gamefly doesn't sell those titles, but rather keeps them in the rental pool - a shame, as I didn't want to send it back!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Saber fun

posted by GeneraLore (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Played the title like 6 years ago and it is still the best starwars game to date.
I rated an 8, if they remade this game for 360 with polished graphics and some new sabe moves i'd buy it again!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great!

posted by l33tgamah (HILLIARD, OH) Sep 11, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game was pretty dang good, i like chopping off limbs, and slow-mo camera when you kill a dark jedi, i had to say i mostly used legates, didn't really care for the guns... but you should rent this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Tight!

posted by bac1551 (TEMECULA, CA) May 6, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game was awesome! It's one of the best star wars games i've played! I love the way the lightsaber just tears everything up! But I didn't like the story very much, and the ending could've used some work. Also, I think it would've been better if they had more characteristics to choose from. But overall is was one of the funnest games i've played in a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

STAR WARS JEDI KNIGHT: JEDI ACADEMY

posted by GamerGOD (LAS VEGAS, NV) Sep 1, 2006

Member since May 2005

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

The reason I gave this game an eight is because some reasons I like it are flaws so it points them out, and I think it deserves an eight. Well i think that it is cool how u can make your own light saber, and the moves where pretty cool. I like how it felt like you where a real jedi in the sort of way that you have to learn things by and learning took a few missions. It wasn't real because of one nagging, reason and I understand why they did this, but the jedi training should take several years not 3-7 hours. I loved the multiplayer, mainly cause you can make clans with friends and you can act like it is real like have someone teach you to get better at the game. So its like you start off as padawan, get trained by a friend as your "master" and become a jedi knight, then train someone then have him beat someone to become a master................lol. The game was really fun because of the glitches. You could go in walls and hidden places in the map. Well i've babbled on long enough i don't want to sound like an old man. Lol bye =).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the game speaks for it self

posted by sroyii (PHILLIPS, ME) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

the game is an great game. I have play allot of game like this and this is the first I couldn't turn off till I beat it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun, but definitely a rental

posted by babydol (LARAMIE, WY) Mar 28, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I've noticed there haven't been any recent reviews of this game, so I figured I'd contribute.

First of all, keep in mind that THIS GAME IS OLD. But most Star Wars games are, so if that is what you're looking for, this game is pretty fun. I liked it better than Battlefront and Battlefront II, which are classics, so if you like Star Wars, you should definitely play through this game at least once. I almost wish the same developers could re-do it with today's technology (and maybe a richer storyline).

From the very beginning, though, it's quite engaging. You can choose your character's gender, species (human, zabrak, female twi'lik, male rodian), clothing, and light saber color, with the ability to upgrade to dual-weild or have a double-bladed saber later on.

You enter a Jedi academy ran by none other than Luke Skywalker (the time piriod of this takes place right after Return of the Jedi). Here you can choose from a list of missions in between main story quests. You have the ability to upgrade certain Light & Dark Side powers between each mission, and are praised for using the light side powers during post-mission debriefs (I'm not sure what happens if you stick only to dark side powers, as I tried to be a good girl).

There's only one true moment in the game that I can remember having to choose between the light side (saving a fellow student) or the dark side(attacking him), but this still wasn't really enough to make me want to play through the game a second time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING!! ONE OF THE GREATEST!!

posted by desean323 (REDFORD, MI) Jun 22, 2011

Member since May 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is one of the greatest Star Wars games ever. Hands down. Its just so greatly crafted and put together. Its one of the best RPGs ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Interesting

posted by Caitd7 (PROVIDENCE, RI) Aug 4, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Jedi academy has a very interesting plot to it. Special features like creating your own character and clothing makes the game a lot more fun to play. There were many parts to the game however, that were either boring or pointless. Other then those two negatives, the game was relatively easy and exciting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Star Wars Jedi Knight: Jedi Academy

posted by NewRevan (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Jun 23, 2006

Member since Aug 2004

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Ok not the best game I ever played, but very close. Graphics were wonderful and sound was fine. Even the story was wonderful, it even has an amazing replay value. However it suffered in one section, the controls. The meat of this game is the lightsaber. However there is no control over the Jedi's weapon. I found it hard to use and focus. Another problem was the use of the Force Powers. They had a wonderful amount of powers but when I needed to use a power I had to cycle through them to find the one I need. A good example of this would be when you are caught in a Force Choke. To break it you should use Force Push. But by the time you get to it you have lost over half of your health. However the amount of options in creating your charcter are massive. And no doubt it is cool to see the Star Wars world again. You meet Luke Skywalker, Chewie, Wedge, and series hero Kyle Katarrn. The game also digs into the history of the Sith. Overall this game is a must rent for non Star Wars fans. A must buy for major fans like me. I would give it an 8, but some might disagree with me. The only things to fix would be controls, and the movment of the mouths (youll see). Enjoy and may the Force be with you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game was awesome

posted by Coolicool (DISCOVERY BAY, CA) Jun 18, 2006

Member since May 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

For a long time i have played SW and read about it. this game is one of those that goes beyond the movies with a great storyline. But then again no game is perfect. If i could change one thing i would make it a little easier to learn every saber move that you can. Once i figured out that there was a sequel i imidetly put it on my Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Lucas Arts is dumb

posted by McWise1 (LORAIN, OH) Jun 22, 2008

Member since Nov 2006

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If the really wanted to make money they'd have a remake of this game with more add ons and better graphics for the 360.. they haven't learned that customizing your own character and weapons is the next generation of gaming.. Once they learned that a good star wars game should come out again. But then again its Lucas arts so this is what we might have to hold on a treasure!

FEARTURK

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by Cruelti (FORT MONTGOMERY, NY) Mar 4, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Had this game when it came out in 03, just rented it from GF, i love this game so much its amazing, seamless lightsaber combat makes me wish for a better 360 star wars game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ITS TIGHT

posted by dfghefghht (WELCH, WV) Oct 20, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Iv played most star wars games but this is the best. Make your own lightsaber dualblade dual, lightsabers or, single blade. I say its like the force unleashed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

major confused

posted by Papasuckle55 (PHILLIPSBURG, NJ) Sep 23, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If it's "Not Rentable" and "Not for Sale"... why even tease me by having this game on your site, Gamefly?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by GTbravo803 (WILMINGTON, DE) Jun 12, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is simple fun it can take some thinking its not just hack and slash you can pull different moves you just got to learn them on your own online is fun great with friends some glitches and could be a little better with saber control i recomend a rent but if your really into it buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game was alright.

posted by theking (REDDICK, FL) May 14, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game was cool I liked the part were you
can create your own jedi and lightsaber. They
had a lot of weapons and awsome levels and you
can choose light or dark side.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game but a little nerdy

posted by congo1500 (MADISON, IN) May 3, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This is an amazingly fun game. The controls are a little clunky and I didn't know jedi waved their swords wildly through the air. I did like that the combat was twitch based I appreciate knowing that when I cut down a dark jedi I did it not my leveling up ability. If you have problems like I do with fps you should stay away I get motion sick playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Star Wack

posted by psgdsypher (SUTHERLAND, VA) Jul 11, 2006

Member since May 2006

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

I'm a huge Star Wars fan, and everyone must play this game just to play it. I didn't like it though, The graphics looked ancient, the ending wasn't great, and I wouldn't recommend this game to everyone, matter of factly anyone. I only liked the way you could choose to be dark or light. All in all this was not a hot game. I give it 2 David stars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I miss This game

posted by Tbonne (GULFPORT, MS) Sep 11, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

I own the game but I can't play because if you know Xbox they suck so bad with how long you can use it. they always die within 2 years sometimes 1. i wish this game was released on ps2 or atleast remake it for ps3. ps3 and ps2 can last for years. this was my favorite star wars game ever. it is THE best star wars game ever. Why you may ask? you can create your own lightsaber and character. in the multiplayer is my favorite. i rarley play story. in multiplayer you can pick characters like luke skywalker and more. you can create how your force powers work and all that. im thinking about buying a new xbox so i can play this again.. :( If you have the chance get this game you wont regret it. i loved it more then force unleahsed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

epic!!!

posted by mookis17 (MINNEOLA, FL) Oct 10, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

This game is incredible! personally one of my favorite games of all time. This game is great for any star wars or sci-fi lover. the customization of characters, atributes, and sabers. The only con i can see for this game is the graphics quiality but thats not enough to dissregard the game. I just wish gamefly would allow it to be rented or bought.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good for fans bad for everyone else.

posted by CaptMagnifico (THORNTON, CO) Aug 23, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Star Wars Jedi Knight Jedi Academy is a seaqual to the Jedi Outcast game but in this one they took everything that was terrible in that and made it better. The basic plot is that Tavion from Outcast is out for revenge against the Jedi and she is stealing the force to bring back a acient Sith Lord.

So the graphics are not the best I cut the game slack for how old it is but even for an orginal xbox they aren't the best. I do like the fact that a lightsaber will cut off limbs of enimes but otherwise the characters are stiff and blocky.

The sound they have true Star Wars music in there which is cool and every Star Wars game should have but the voice acting well lets say this is before people cared about the voice acting.

Gameplay boy this is where it gets fun now yes the Force Unleashed has better lightsaber mecanics but this one really pioneered it, it is way better then outcast. The problem they give you guns that is so pointless when you can dominate them with the force and a lightsaber who would use a blaster. It isn't long at all you can blow through it in 1 or 2 days depending on how into it you are. Online is off now but when you could play it people were ruthless I hardly killed anyone but yet still fun to fight everyone with a lightsaber.

Story well you play a custom character named Jaden and you follow him throughout his journey of becoming a Jedi. They have cameos from Luke and Kyle Katarn and Boba Fett which makes no sense because this take place after the original trilogy. The empire is still there but there is hardly any of them left. You can choose a good or evil path which is good. So the story isn't bad better then some of the stuff Star Wars has put out.

Overall if you're a fan of Star Wars you will like the game I say buy it but if you think Star Wars is ok or you don't like it then pass because this game won't do anything for you but make you think why did I buy this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »