Rent Star Wars: Battlefront for PS2
view large frontback

Star Wars: Battlefront

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox
GF Rating
8.1

1971 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Good Game

posted by robh31 (SAINT JOSEPH, MO) Jul 11, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

12 out of 12 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great game for Star Wars fans. I found it rather easy to beat, but none the less fun. It has almost everything that I wanted to be able to do such as the ability to run around destroying storm troopers with a Wookie and flying an X-Wing in Cloud City. Some things that it lacks though are the ability to be Jedi and the ability to fly in space, both of which are available in Battlefield 2. Overall great game that will be enjoyed by most!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

better then the second

posted by racekiller (ELGIN, IL) Apr 30, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In a few ways i think this game is better then swbfII.The graphics are better and there is no target tracker.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

So good even my wife likes it

posted by dabluesman (ALEXANDRIA, VA) May 6, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Others have reviewed this game and they are right, Battlefront is an excellent game. Nothing is better than the ability to assume the role of an Imperial Stormtrooper or a Rebel and duke it out on the battlefield. This is probably one of the best Star Wars games in the history of LucasArts games, and as a FPS, it ranks way up there among the best shooters that PS2 has to offer. The gameplay occasionally lags, but that is only when there is a massive amount of people and explosions going on all at once, and it doesn't detract from the game at all since it so minimal. The variety of people, weapons, and gameplay (like the Conquest mode) make this game a winner. You don't have to be a Star Wars fan to enjoy this game, but if you are, then the thrill is just that much greater. My wife, normally a non-gamer, loves this game and frequently asks to play it with me. Rent it and you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best star wars game I ever played!

posted by 828282 (GLENDALE, AZ) Jul 5, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I gave this game a ten because it is a really cool and fun game.The grapics are cool and the gameplay is kind of easy and kind of hard.also you play through 30 levels.also you can have up to 1-16 players in multiplayer mode.

also you should play this game because its fun and awsome and takes place in the star wars movies.also I like this game so much I play it all most every day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Michael (LAS CRUCES, NM) Jul 7, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a sweet game people are flying every ware there is tanks and ships it's cool. This is my favorite Star Wars Game! It's like the battles in the movie and there is all kinds of people you can play as. And there is a lot of different levels to battle on. The multi-player is great you can play Co-Op or go head to head seeing who will conquer the galaxy. The controls are solid and game play is great. There isn't much of a campaign mode but the replay value is great on galactic conquest or instant action modes. The jedi and sith make an appearance in this game but you can't use them and it's near impossible 2 kill them. But this is a great game I think it's a game that you should Buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game, rent do not buy

posted by awniles50 (BOSTON, MA) Dec 15, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This was a good game, I loved the concept of it. Who dosn't like Star Wars? The Battlefields are well done and characters are right on. Definately Rent this game, it's fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best star wars games yet

posted by owengamer (EAST FALMOUTH, MA) Mar 2, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is an excellent game it's really hard to find a really good star wars game and they struck gold with this game.They should make a sequel for the first and second star wars battlefront

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The best Star wars game ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by chipyg (SALEM, CT) Sep 8, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I am not a huge fan of Star Wars but this game is awesome. Star Wars Battlefront allows you to play as any era in the star wars universe and lets you relive various parts of the movies.
This game looks awesome. the graphics and voice overs in this game are very authentic and make you feel like you were a CIS robot in Naboo.
I like the fact that the weapons you can use are fun and easy to use.
Some of the bad things I have to say about this game is that is that if there are Jedi in this game then why can't you use them. I feel like you are limited to what you are able to do. However I do like the fact that you that the game uses third party species like wookies and Gungans, but at the same time I was definitely disappointed that you couldn't play as them because as much as I love killing Gungans I would still enjoy having to play them. I really enjoyed all the vehicles that this game had to offer, however if you are going to use an x wing in the game then why not have levels in space like in the movie. I also feel like all of the movies were not incorporated but that is no excuse why the historical conquest is the shortest thing ever. It took me about 2 days to beat it and that's because i was at baseball. I do have to say that the Galactic conquest never gets old no matter how much you play it and even though it may seem that it gets way too repetitive, but to all belief this is not nowhere repetitive at all and not only that I still today try to beat to an all time record high of 120 kills per match.
I think that this a great game that is not only very original but it has many different parts to it and no matter when you play it, it never gets repetitive. this game is a definite rent and a good buy. I can't rate to review the sequel in a matter of days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by 199612 (LAKELAND, FL) Jul 10, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I love this game!!! You'll love it too if you like war games but this is the star wars version and theres no blood.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

yes

posted by fatherscar (CORNING, AR) Nov 14, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2004

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

very good and addictive, I highly recoment this to any star wars fan. you can't believe how hard this game rocks until you've played it. (and getting to shoot gungans makes me happy in bad ways).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great!

posted by cashman712 (TORRINGTON, CT) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

this game is the bomb!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

9.4

posted by gamer109 (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) Mar 31, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i love this game. this is a big hit for star wars. finaly the wait is over for star wars fans. a game that they can enjoy for their rest of their life. this is one of the best star wars games i have played. the only thing is i wish they made it were u can be a jedi, but i give this game a 9.3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointing

posted by molatoo_pices33 (TULSA, OK) Mar 29, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Very disappointing when your waiting for this game for days and it doesn't work at all..!!!!! Not worth the wait.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Game

posted by Izzlibb18 (LAKE ELSINORE, CA) Mar 18, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I ordered Star Wars Battlefront 2 and you guys gave me this one. Very disapointing Gamefly if this happens again i will take my money elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Feels more like a prototype

posted by DeltaMarine88 (BELTSVILLE, MD) Jul 20, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I've had this for a while and it's fun. You actually feel like a soldier. You can fight in starfighter dogfights in the sky, sky not space. I would recommend this to people who can see past it's many flaws. It's not an official Star Wars game, but it is enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Star Wars Battlefront

posted by 2011gamer (ROCK SPRING, GA) Aug 3, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

Another awesome Star Wars game hits the market. In Star Wars Battlefront you will be partcipating in the most climatic battles throughout the saga. You can play as the Empire, Rebels, Republic, and Droids. This yet another great Star Wars Game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Simply a Classic

posted by TheNaraOne (BLOOMFIELD, NY) Feb 24, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

When I first bought and began playing Starwars: Battlefront, I was simply just blown away. Not only did it turn out to be competitive online and the graphics really good for a ps2 game for that time, but in the end it was just overall enjoyable! I mean, come on, the game's AI didn't just stand around there and do nothing, your allies would run out and fight with you while in return, the enemy forces were in your way and actually firing at you, granting the player both the feeling of a challenge and the feeling of satisfication when you blast a droid into pieces with a thermal detonator or clear a hallway of rebels with a Droideka! To top it off, they gave us the worlds that we wanted to play on, man, id play Hoth nonstop! Then, introducing the jedi system, it did kinda suck we couldn't play as a jedi for the first one. Though, I had just as much fun watching a ally Jedi tear through waves of enemies or distracting a enemy jedi by blowing it off its feet and into the air like a dozen times. Overall, the game was not perfect, but it sure as heck came close to being so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

War at its finest.

posted by DeadChaos (CHEWELAH, WA) Jan 23, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

Worth renting 100% i recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BUY NOW.

posted by sk8erpunk (SOUTHGATE, MI) Jan 5, 2010

Member since Oct 2006

If you like star wars, buy this game. If you like sci fi games, buy this game, if you like shooting bad people, good people, or robots, buy it now. I bought it once but I lost it. ITs really really fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Eli

posted by knowts (LONG BEACH, CA) Oct 11, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

Not as good as the second

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best star wars game OF ALL TIME!!!!!

posted by hi14522 (GREENFIELD, NH) Jul 11, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

Greats: Lot's of fire fights, The sniper is the best class for cloud city, some of the deaths are funny like one time i shot a guy and started falling down the stairs so fast.

Bads: not many bad's but the jedi is hard to beat and that's it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

star wars

posted by nick1995 (ALMA, KS) Jul 19, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

I'm not a real big stars wars fan but this game was pretty good. I was disappointed to how short it was though since it only took me 1 day to finish it but still a good way to spend an afternoon therefore I rate this game with an 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

very great game

posted by dbgrnh (Carlisle, PA) Jan 2, 2008

Member since Feb 2007

it a very great to play it by you sef or by playing it on online no matter how tou play it it a great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

2 is better

posted by harrison2 (LAMAR, AR) Jun 29, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

this is a great game. bf2 is better, but i would recomend it. If you just want to try one, Get battlefront 2. you dont have to know about 1 for 2.on this one you dont BATTLE IN SPACE,become a JEDI,or do awesome TWISTS AND TURNS. When you play as a jedi,dont get your hopes up. Its that "three strike move" we all know about and Geonosis is better on bf 1. GOOD LUCK STAR WARS FANS!!!!!!!!!! i give a 6.6 for bf1 and a 8 somethin' for 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game

posted by starwarz (WEST JORDAN, UT) Apr 7, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

I really liked this game it was good it was just to short. I really would have liked to see a longer game with more world to fight on other than that it was spot on this game is worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse