Rent Star Wars: Battlefront II for PSP Games
view large frontback

Star Wars: Battlefront II

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Xbox

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.1

1517 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Incredible and immersive Star Wars action

posted by Forgen (ORLANDO, FL) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

20 out of 21 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

I must say, at first I was somewhat leary of this game ported to the PSP - large environments and first person shooting on this handheld? The draw of Star Wars was too much to resist however, so I plugged it in.

And I must say it was awesome - both the campaign mode and the challenge mode are worth spending many hours on, and the learning curve is perfect. In campaign mode, you are able to choose which side of the galactic war you are on, and which era you are fighting in - Empire vs. Rebellion or Republic vs. Confederacy. You then start with 1 capital ship and a single planet in a galaxy of around 10 planets, depending on the era, with the goal of (what else) galactic domination. You earn credits for victories over the enemy, both in ground assault and in space combat (which is spectacular), and bonus cash for the number of planets you control. You spend the credits on unlocking each of the ~8 class which are unique to each group or spend them on special bonuses such as making the 'hero' characters available for a single battle, or reinforcing your command posts with automated turrets, etc. This gives great depth and replayability in single player for a game one would expect only multiplayer goodness. The challenge mode is pleasent, giving you 3 different mini campaigns playing special games with (usually) hero characters, and you are scored on your performance (but unfortantately, you have no way to see the 'high scores' board!).

Now for the ugly - multiplayer implementation! Why must so many PSP developers completely fall on their face when they are faced with internet multiplayer gaming? Like several other PSP games with infastructure play available, the developers did not take the time to allow players to join games already in progress (more or less standard for FPS on PC and other consoles). So end result, you can never find open games online - making this game drop from "excellent" to "very good" for me. Play, enjoy, and return.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Star Wars Battlefront 2

posted by 5131999 (MURPHY, TX) Jan 3, 2011

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Best game ever! If you are a parent and your kids are not aloud to play shooter games. Let them play this game! I think it is ment for kids. I am 11 and I am edicted to this game! If you have this game for the ps2 or xbox get this because it is the same thing except on a smaller system and less planets. Parents if you have kids and they are star wars fans lat them play it. you probably think i am crazy because it mild language but it really does not because I have beaten this hole game and I have not heard one single cuss word. I have had the volume on and one single bad word.

SO PARENTS, IF YOU HAVE KIDS AND THEY ARE STAR WARS FANS RENT THEM THIS GAME WAIT NO!!!!! BUY THEM THIS GAME!! THEY WILL THINK YOU ARE THE BEST PARENTS EVER!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Grow to like it

posted by Josh342 (WESTBURY, NY) Aug 22, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I'm a HUge Star Wars fan and battle front fan
thats prolly why i bought it on the first day it came out

That night i went home played it and said
"i immediatly regret this desicion" cause theres no right joy stick for the dum PSP stupid SONY PEOPLE.

But then like a week later i found out theres a auto aim button and it made the game so awesome.

IF you like battle front get it. if not dont bother

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

YES!!!

posted by Gamer364 (Great Barrington, MA) Jul 22, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome! You may not like it at first, but it will grow on you! So get this game I love it and so will you(results may vary)!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

More good than bad...

posted by Neroon (FREMONT, CA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

From first play, I would rate the game a 9. But, sorry to say, as I played more, the game became disappointing.

It is a blast and very fun to play in the star wars world. The use of the heroes for only a limited time is a good feature, as the hero is very effective in combat. Most of the specialized units are fun to play, but only on the appropriate map.

I did not have any problem with the controls, I used the advanced settings, but did take a but to get used to, especially when the lock on moves your viewing angle for you in close combat! Keep trying, you'll get the hang of it.

I would have to say my favorite map is either the Hoth map or Kashyyyk. Either map had the best variety of game play: all unit types are effective on these maps; ground vehicles, many stationary gun turrets, and on Hoth, snow speeders and AT-ATs! Very fun to play, by far the best of the game.

What I desired the most to play was the space combat and strategic portions of the game. It started out fun, but, this is where fell down. Likely, a casualty of porting to PSP.

First off, the conquest battles in space are not fun. If you are to win, you must be in the bomber (Y-wing, or Tie Bomber) to effectively destroy the enemy sub-systems and gain points. Your AI is not effective enough to do it. Strangely, the enemy's AI damages your ships effectively and quickly! That's why you can't afford playing around in the attack ships, destroy those sub-systems and you'll win easily. Another disappointment is that the equivalent space units all play the same. And, the space marines are a total waste.

The strategic portion, starts fun, but gets tiresome. A big bug to me seemed that the AI never ran out of points to build new fleets, no matter how many it lost or how few planets it controlled. None of the mode variations made much difference.

Finally, your character profile is detailed, but too bad you can only seem to view the statistics after a battle!

Play the fun parts, skip the rest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not that great

posted by Slappy (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 8, 2006

Member since May 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game will fulfill your need for Battlefront on the go but it's missing a few controls that would make it more fun, but it's not the games fault it's the PSP that is at fault. Overall it's a decent game but because the controls are awkward it reduces its rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A MUST BUY !!!

posted by abcefghijk (PIONEER, CA) Sep 12, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is super awsome. o.k. the games graphics are awsome. Space battles are SO COOL. I love the space ships that you get to fly. Land battles are cool to. YOU must try this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Lost Kitten!

posted by slipshod (PEACHTREE CITY, GA) Feb 21, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This game was NOT 1 of my favorites,but better than the first.Battlefront games were never one of my closest favorite games.At the beggining of you recieving this and playing ,Battlefront 2 seems awsome and realistic ,but this game does NOT grow on you.soon You'll notice other star wars games are better ,like Lego star wars or star wars Bounty Hunter.Anyway ,don't rent it right away(unless you'r a nerd).Put it at the bottom of your Q.This is a game you should NOT buy and This should be a last thought.

Ps:The controls STINK!!!:(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Unplayable

posted by Weeble (TACOMA, WA) Apr 12, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 18 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

No No No No NO! this did not port well at all. The controls are just too absurd to get used to, and rendered the game too frustrating to control and keep playing. This game just didn't happen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

On it's way to horrible if not already

posted by shane32 (AURORA, CO) Jul 1, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 10 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

This game had great graphic but the game play is horrible and the loading time is tiring. I give this a

D-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great game

posted by StarsHockey (FRISCO, TX) Aug 7, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

so so story mode.But great freeplay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

stink

posted by MinecraftKid (CHAMPAIGN, IL) Jul 18, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

i cant even play the game!
the clear umd looks innocent and cool but its to thin and it wont even read the disk!
when i buy a game they give me the regular white umd so i can actually PLAY the game
PS game is cool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Star Wars Battlefront 2 review

posted by Raziel111 (LINDSAY, CA) Oct 21, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2010

This game was definetely a disapointment to me. I thought it was goint to be a lot better. It had average gameplay and absolutely no story mode.

Ground combat can be fun with an automatic weapon and turning into a famous character from the movies after playing for a short while, especially considering that they're incredibly durable. Another durable weapon are the vehicles on a ground mission.

On the other hand, Sniper Rifles and Explosive Launchers can't lock onto an enemy. The Ground Combat Vehicles are incredibly difficult to aim with. Space battles are not fun. They are not made for ship to ship combat and they drag out as you take out key parts of a ship with high health bars with weak weapons. No story mode is a big disapointment.

Overall, I wouldn't recommend this video game to anyone who is not an extreme Star Wars fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Great

posted by cromostone (UNIONTOWN, OH) Jan 30, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This game is really good, but it has its bads. First, its multiplayer is really fun, but no campaign which stinks but really fun game rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Hard to control

posted by GatoSeco (WATKINSVILLE, GA) Feb 21, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Having played the first Battlefront on PC, I never could get the hang of the controls. It is a great reproduction though so if you can drive just fine on your PSP, this is a fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty good

posted by Taqueli (LIVE OAK, CA) Nov 2, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

This game was very well made. I played it on the playstation 2, and it pretty much was the same. The only problem was that it didnt have "Rise of the Empire", which i liked. Anyways, it is still a good game, and it has decent graphics for a psp. I kind've enjoyed the challenges, but it wasnt the best. It has galactic conquest, which was still cool on the psp. overall, this is a good game, rent it, maybe buy. It's your choice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ok-Like PS2 version.

posted by EGMGAMES (NORTHPORT, NY) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

This game is Fun- but difficult controls---

graphics: Good (7)
gameplay: Very Good (8)
controls: Weak: (4)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

STARWARS BATTLEFRONT 2

posted by GAMCritic2 (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Sep 7, 2008

Member since May 2008

I had played the game STARWARS BATTLEFRONT 2. POSITIVE: the graphics are good for the PSP. You can pick a level and choose modes such as conquer & capture the flag and then you can pick a character such as a REBEL TROOPER, IMPERIAL TROOPER, BATTLE DROIDS, CLONE TROOPER & once a while during game play there will be an option to choose various characters in which includes JEDI. NEGATIVE: the game is not challenging at all including STARWARS BATTLEFRONT RENEGADE SQUADRON. This game is ok.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE BEST STAR WARS GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!

posted by Slyone240 (PHOENIX, AZ) Aug 30, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

I rented this game to see what everyone was talking about and now I get why they loved it! The graphics are like having actors doing what you say! You can also choose between the clone wars or the popular galactic civil war! At first the game is complicated and hard to get used to but after a while it's a blast and really easy! Sadly it doesn't have as many planets and places than the x box 360 does, but you can take it with you anywhere! If you love war games and star wars... RENT THIS GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by juddie4 (CARSON, CA) Jul 17, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

hey i tell you this game is off the charts awesome.... i love the three new game modes in it and when your an emperial destroying all the other creatures in the game its so cool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost Flawless Game

posted by cody2007 (OCALA, FL) Nov 21, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

THis game is amazing!!! The graphics are good for a PSP, and the controls are intuitive. It's just like the PS2 game. The multiplayer mode is very robust too, it reminds me of halo. THere are many different types of soldiers ranging from assasin to heavy weapons. Great game a steal at only $15

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Star Wars Battle Front II - Eh

posted by pazkal (ENGLEWOOD, NJ) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

This game gets a 6 out of 10, and the only reason it gets a 6 instead of a 5 is that the graphics and storylines are quite good.

I've been playing this for a few days on the PSP (disclaimer: I just got a PSP and this is the first game I've played on it) and it's okay. Maybe it's the format, but it's just not addictive. Most games that I get, I look forward to playing for a while when I have some free time. This game I am playing more to kill time, like on the 6 hour flight I have coming up tonight, or the 3+ hours I will be sitting at the airport.

The controls are awkward (see above), the scenes are disjointed (no free roaming campaigns), and it doesn't seem to all "tie together."

I am big Star Wars fan, I saw the original in 1977 when I was 10. I've played some of the other games, and they are very engrossing. This one isn't. At best, it's more of the same, without the storyline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Somewhat Disapointing

posted by darthl1378 (SAINT HELENS, OR) Sep 29, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

Star Wars Battlefront Is One of the best star wars francise ever but when they made this for psp i was so exicited but when i bought it it was dissapointing. Some of the levels were taken out!!(GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!- ).But It still is very good for a console handme down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Star Wars Battlefront 2 - PSP

posted by rreed73 (CENTENNIAL, CO) Jul 30, 2007

Member since Dec 2003

Like most PSP games the controls can be touch and go. Controlling the spacecraft is far easier than controlling the foot soldiers in this game. Still, it had it's moments and the gameplay and storyline were enough to make me go out and get the PC version, which is amazing. Made more so, by the fact that it's only $20.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

WORST - CAMERA - EVER.

posted by drunkyb (FORT WORTH, TX) Jul 22, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

I expected a lot out of this title, I recieved a little. The gameplay is fairly solid, same as part one/console counterparts - the controls are okay at best, jumping and getting into vehicles/controlling them is a bit tedious - the graphics are good, but wow : the camera ruins the game. It is very difficult to see your surroundings, and in a war game this is absolutely essential and ruins the game if done incorrectly. And that is what the camera does here - it ruins the game. At best this is good for a rental but even the 20 dollar greatest hits pricetag is a ripoff for such a frustrating experience. The sound is great, but still nothing makes up for this camera from "heck".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse