Rent Star Wars: Battlefront II for Xbox
view large frontback

Star Wars: Battlefront II

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2, PSP Games

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.3

4761 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game, a must play for any Star Wars fan

posted by Creepr (SONORA, CA) Jun 9, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Building off the success of the original, Star Wars: Battlefront 2 is leaps and bounds ahead of its predessor.

Graphics: While it IS a last gen game, it looks great considering. I was esspiecially impressed by the smooth framrate, and fantasic animations for the hero charcters. There is a bit of slow down on the 2-4 player slitscreen, however.

Story: This is not a story game. It is about blasing everything that moves... is a mildly stagetic manner. That aside, the campaign ( which can be played in 2 player splitscreen co-op by the way :D ) tells a kinda interesting story of the legendary 501st storm trooper legion, and their role in the rise of the empire, starting at the clones wars. Its not a great narritive, but its definatly a welcome feature.

Gameplay: Simply put: Its great fun. Espessically the galactic conquest mode, which allows players to fight for control of the galaxy, one planet at a time. That's where I found the games greatest thrills. All of the weapons, and vehicles feel great. Even the space battles flow well. But the fact can't be overlooked that the vehicles and hero's can sometimes seem insanly overpowered when in control of a human player. The A.I bots arn't always too bright either. They don't repair vehicles, and behind the wheel... not much of a challenge unless your on foot. Ground troops are more useful, distributing health an ammo (albeit sparringly) hacking vehicles, and manning turrets.

Sound: The awesome Star Wars soundtrack and sound effects really immerse you in the expirience. Although, the dialouge for the hero charcters is laughably bad. But in a good way. 5.1 Dolby Digitial FTW!

Leasting Appeal: The stats tracker, and bonuses atributed to those stats, will keep you hooked for months. I litterly did not stop playing for two days after I got it.

Pros:

-Space battles

-Audio

-Galactic conquest

Cons:

-Dated graphic

-Ocassionally dumb A.I

-No next gen sequel ( sad face indeed )

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

More fun than you can shake a lightsaber at

posted by INFECTiON6 (WHITTIER, CA) Feb 26, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great, campaign mode is fun and quite difficult at times. The other modes are tons of fun too. Galaxy conquest mode especially, keeping hold of your planets while simultaneously trying to take over the enemies is pretty difficult. Playing on Live is a lot of fun too, but can be a bit laggy when theres a lot of AI units on the map.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME

posted by domster (LAKE MARY, FL) May 2, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

16 out of 17 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

This game is so great! Some of the levels are the same, but it's still great.There are new characters, vehicles and even space battles.There are the incredible hunting modes and easy but fun capture the flag. if you never played it, i recommend you rent it first and then buy it. The only bad part is that it takes almost 100 shots to kill an enemy. that doesn't change the awsomeness of the game.You have to get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Star Wars BATTLE FRONT 2

posted by GABErIeL (HATTIESBURG, MS) Jul 3, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I liked it because it had really great deatails to it.Itwas really spacific types of characters. It even had great grafics It made it really fun game to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Starwars battlefront 2

posted by bo552 (RADFORD, VA) Jun 24, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it is awesome! love it!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet!

posted by cameron10 (CLIFTON PARK, NY) Apr 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

awesomeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awsome battle title.

posted by NewRevan (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Nov 19, 2006

Member since Aug 2004

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The only problem with this game is that no one else is doing it. The open battlefields aren't small. The battle is going on at ALL times. Instead of being just a main charcter in a story or a overseeing general, you are the whole battle. You can use diffrent types of troops, space battles, Jedi/Sith warriors, and online features are amazing. I bought this game and the day I rented it. I just wish more titles, such as all those WWII titles, would try this. Awsome if you are a Star Wars fan or not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Battlefield 1942 meets Star Wars.

posted by Equaliza (CHARLESTON, WV) Oct 10, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Story: As a member of the 501st, you fight for the Republic, and eventually become a full fledged Stormtrooper for the Empire. Based on the series of Star Wars movies, this game's storyline will be liked by both people who have seen all of the movies, and those who haven't. (5/5)

Gameplay: This game offers many options to make the game interesting and fun. Get into an instant battle quickly, go do the storyline mode, or conquer the galaxy as any of the four armies you can play. Get online and play with other SWBF fans, or play the unique hero battles pitting all of the legends of the Star Wars universe against one another. (5/5)

Controls: A bit of a challenging controller layout, but you can customize it however you want. To fully understand and utilize the options of each playable character, playing the game for a while is required. (4/5)

Sound: Like most Star Wars games, Star Wars specific music is played throughout each level, creating an atmosphere of excitement and thrill. Although some of the spoken sound bytes seem dry when executed, and at times, humorous (such as a Rebel yelling "YEHAAAH!" after completing a map), it doesn't harm the charm of the game. (4/5)

Replay Value: If you like games in which you control a soldier within a massive army, pitted against another army, then you'd love this game. Love Battlefield 1942 You'd love this game... Maybe. Never the less, the awards you can win make you yearn to keep playing, over and over again. Very addictive. (5/5)

Overall: This game is an extreme improvement of the already memorable Star Wars Battlefront game. Take control of the heroes, such as the Jedi or Sith Lords, instead of just watching them hack away at enemies. Set the difficulty up and watch the game become greatly challenging. Become an expert in a specific archetype of soldier even (I'm a big Stormtrooper and sniper myself). Fun at every corner of this game, get three other friends and conquer the entire Star Wars universe! (22/25)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games for xbox

posted by Strongbad1 (ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL) Sep 2, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

You should definitely rent this game (or buy it if you have the money, which is very likely). I really don't know why I like this game so much, but if you get bored you can order 3 new maps and 2 new jedi for about $5. Which is always a good thing. The one thing I stress though, is xbox live on this game, it's terrible. I used the right analog stick to look around once, and for some weird reason, My trooper kept going up-right for some reason.
Another time, whenever I set a time bomb somewhere immediately afterward my trooper acted like he was throwing a grenade. So play split-screen, or single player, but don't expect to get blown away on xbox live.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Star Wars Game

posted by Mystery21 (MIDDLETOWN, RI) Oct 16, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I played this game everyday for months for at least 3 hours a day. The gameplay is awesome and doesn't get old depending on how much you play it. Being a hero or villian is another great aspect to the game. One thing that I thought was pointless was capturing the last flag. For one, it's almost impossible, and it's way more fun cornering your opponent. Multi player was also another great thing for this game. If you liked the Battlefield series, I'd highly consider buying Battlefront 2.

Pros
-Gameplay
-Heros/Villians
-About everything

Cons
-Didn't need flags
-Seemed like when you capture a flag, it takes forever. But when they try to capture one, it only takes a couple seconds

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome game ever

posted by jaaaaaaaaaaaaak (MIDDLETOWN, IN) Mar 19, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it is the awesomest game ever i had played and the coolest game i ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME

posted by zzzzman (FRESNO, CA) Nov 10, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was the best star wars game i ever played. The graphics were awesome for an original xbox game. You can be a jedi, fly in a starfighter, or just be a ground trooper on the planet. The controls are easy to use. I hope they make a 3rd game. That would be awesome

P.S. Can somebody contact lucasarts and tell them to make a 3rd game?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EPIC GAME!

posted by MajorasMS2 (MONROVIA, CA) Jul 31, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I haven't got from gamefly yet but i don't need to write a review on this game i had this on my PC and an old xbox that someone let me borrow and i can only say one word a about this game: Epic!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love it best ever

posted by wiiawesome (OROVILLE, CA) Jul 30, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

rent it now, it's the most awesome star wars game ever! you can fly in space and play as the trooper or the jedi\sith. 5 stars, 10 out of 10, 100 out of 100, BUY IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

An incredible addition to the Star Wars franchise.

posted by DooDooMake (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jun 2, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wow. THis game really blew me away. After playing the first Battlefront, I didnt think it could get any better. Then BAM! Play as Darth Vader (and TONS of other Jedi)! This is some seriously good times by yourself or with 30+ friends/online cronies.

Good shtuff:
-Insane amount of vehicles. All driveable, turretable, useful.
-A great selection of player classes. All with unique, relevant talents. Even a jet-pack trooper!
-Huge battlefields with tons of enemies.

Bad shtuff:
-Really, there is not too much wrong with this game at all.
-The AI is sometimes a little lacking, but come on!

I usually fill up the block when writing a review, but I will keep it short and sweet by saying BUY THIS GAME IF YOU EVER GET THE CHANCE. It is a rarity and is WELL worth $30 still.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome game classic

posted by hazmatt (DUBLIN, PA) May 11, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game i own still till this date if yo have not played it so worth it the down side to playng it on 360 and not The x box is the change of controls you loss some controls. The story is great its one of those game you can play with you buddys till 3am i used to

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

star wars battlefront

posted by 123abc (CORONA, CA) Dec 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it is awesome!i wish i could buy it off of here!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME EVER

posted by dattmanis (CAMAS, WA) Nov 23, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Without a doubt my favorite game in the world

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

edrftg

posted by corncake (NEW CASTLE, PA) Aug 10, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is real easy to no scope on all you do is put the circle on the guy that you want to kill and you have your self the easyest no scope ever.When you play on line poeple all ways no scope to say on the mic to poeple or text poeple if you dont have have a head set poeple can tell when you dont have a head set when next to your xbox live user name.Eny way they brag about the noscope but there realy isint nothing to brag about it is easy.Some poeple say they cant no scope like my friend online but he really did and said can i practice on you and when you get killed by him he keeps doing it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

!!AWSOM GAME!!

posted by glammer4 (HARPSWELL, ME) May 26, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was great! Couldn't stop playing this game it was non-stop action threw out every chaleng and mini games, playing online is only half the fun.
Agen I coldn't stop.
If you want to play a game with the chouse to play 1st person shooter or 3erd person you well love it all the way. Second best game ever exept for the halo trilagy(1,2,and 3). But enyway supperb and satasfying every step you take into the game the more hocked you well get.

P.s. this game is woerth it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It's Star Wars!

posted by sandollor (APO, AE) Jun 15, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

GAMEPLAY: 10
GRAPHICS: 9

The Star Wars game we have been waiting for for over 20 years! Lucasarts has improved this game from the first to make it the best Star Wars game in all time next to Knights of the Old Republic I & II.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Its Great!

posted by red7777 (QUINTON, VA) Feb 16, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Well you can get in tanks and space craft. the battles in this game is are FREAKEN COOL!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My review for Starwars Battlefront 2

posted by Toukon (MARICOPA, AZ) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

One of the most popular star wars games is back and with a bang. In Star wars battlefront 2, you get to play all the exciting battles from episode 3 and episode 4 5 and 6. Also a new feature Space battles and Jedi battle or " Hero VS Villian " is mostly impressive. On story mode you hear little journal entrys from a soilder of the 501st. The option to fully customize your matches is back and better. Along with better levels. People on xbox live are laid back.

On the positive side
+ it's easy to get used to.
+ Great fun.
+ Heroes and Space Battles are an excellent edition to this seaquel.

1 negitive though.
- The fact that this game has such a bad lag when online, you will find hard to kill A.I. Unit on Assault ( Hero VS Villian )

I give this game a 5 out of 5. Worth a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE FORCE IS STRONG WITH THIS GAME!!

posted by theking (REDDICK, FL) May 17, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game was the bomb I thought every thing about this game was excellent it is the best star wars game ever made.LucasArts has done it again a lot and i mean a lot has changed

New weapons
New ships
New levels
New soldiers
And SPACE BATTELS!!!
This game is a game that you would not think twice about renting buy it right away do not rent it buy it.If you rent it you would not want to give it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best star wars game ever, one you must buy!

posted by whobody (FORT MILL, SC) Jul 12, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is an absolute masterpiece! I have had this game for a long time now and is still my all time favorite, even after changeing my XBox for an XBox 360! this is the greatest star wars game ever created. I believe it blows Halo 2 out of the water with its awesome multiplayer battles. This game is a must buy if you you enjoy fighting alongside many different players and AI against the enemy. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse