Rent Star Wars Battlefront: Elite Squadron for PSP Games
view large frontback

Star Wars Battlefront: Elite Squadron

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
7.1

536 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

A few steps away from Elite

posted by willy4eyes (DARBY, PA) Jun 11, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed playing Renegade Squadron when I rented it a year or two ago, so I figured I'd give Elite Squadron a spin.

What I liked most about this game:
+ I enjoyed the campaign mode (rather, the few missions that I did play), and the fact that you get to see the events through the eyes of an actual character, rather than an anonymous soldier. This is one thing that Renegade Squadron's campaign could have used.
+ The ability to jump back and forth between ground combat and space flight combat is a nifty idea, and adds an extra dimension to multiplayer battles.
+ As expected of a Star Wars title, the musical score is top-notch.

Things that I didn't like:
- The controls. Moving around and aiming with the analog nub is hard, and sometimes I felt like the camera wasn't able to keep up with my movements.
- Melee combat doesn't compare to the fierce firefights. It's hard sometimes to tell whether or not your attacks are connecting.
- Animation is a bit jerky, and the pauses in the short transitions between ground and space become jarring after a while.

It's a decent Star Wars game, but would probably be a whole lot better if it were easier to move around, and if the graphics were improved. Give it a rental first and see if it's for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Default controls?

posted by Halo1906 (OAKLEY, CA) Jun 7, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off I like to say I am a fan of the star wars franchise and all. Not a big fan of the games besides the battle front ones which were great. But thats enough of that. My first opinion of the game was ," WOW it has a customization!?" This was a great add to the game. Gives that edge to the game were you want to keep playing until you have those cool gear you can equip. I was a little upset of how you can get them because first off I had no idea but you'll find out after playing and blowing up some stuff. The graphics are great for a PSP game. I am not picky about stuff like this when it comes to hand held. Now when I started playing the controls were off my Mister angry charts now. >: (

I hated the controls I mean they were so upserd I was going to sell it back to K mart. I mean at of all things they have you lock-on the enemy in order to actual hit the target! This just rips its manliness of man from the Game! But after tossing the PSP across the room a couple of times you get use to it. Still I think the controls could be better. The story had some holes in it but I really dont mind it. The story didn't make that much sense to me honestly. One great thing I love about it is how you can make your own load outs. which helps out allot in some cases. The new game play added really adds that intense edge to your game play. You are always fighting over the Ion cannon which keeps the battles epic all the time. And I am not sure about that Oribatal cannon. Really haven't tried it but i am guessing it turns the tide of some battles if used right. I have no opinion on the online do to my network is horrible and false at connecting.

All in all its a great game to buy even. Can kill alot of time on the road. I highly recommend for purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A great game!

posted by Aragorn225 (FREDERICK, MD) May 23, 2010

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First of all, let me explain I was totally surprised by the Renegade Squadron on PSP because of how well it looked on PSP but then Elite Squadron came around and I liked it for more then just great looks. But there were some stuff that LucasArts needs to attend to before they make another PSP battlefront game:

Needed to make battlefronts larger. I felt kind of annoyed by how small some of the battle areas were. Just a thought!

The task of capturing the Ion Cannon and destroying the Capital ship was very fun but after a while got old. Maybe you could select space battle or ground battle or mixed battle?

During games where you had to capture the ion cannon, it ws very annoying listening to a guy (clone, rebel, imperial, or droid) tell you that you have to capture the ion cannon or fight harder every 5 seconds. Yes, it got very annoying and I tried to find an off switch for them countless times.

Having to unlock your weaponry was yes, needed but can't tell what I have to do to unlock them! Imagine playing different modes millions of times different ways trying to unlock a chaingun for my clone trooper...

What was up with the Bespin mission in Campaign mode?? There was no way one jedi, a smuggler, and a mute robot could take on that many stormtroopers! Plus those overweight darktroopers!

But here are the goods:

Interesting new storyline! Glad to finally play as a heroic character not some rebel dude off the frying pan.

Awesome melee attack with gun! I have been waiting for something like that where I can finally just run and gun and then when I get to close, I can bash the enemie's head with my blaster rifle! Cool sprint move too!

Better graphics then Renegade Squadron. By a lot.

I was a big fan of Renegade Squadron's captain: Col Serra. It was awesome to see his face during countless battles in Campaign mode (Endor and few others...) !

Definitely rent first and then if you like it buy it. But through and through it's a great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Praise for star wars

posted by teletubies (IRVINE, CA) Nov 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

26 out of 32 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

Now this is one of the best games for the PSP of all times!!!but it still had some problems.
1: the story could've been way better.
2:the audio was a little shaky here and there.
3:the characters could've have been better
4:WHY DID THEY MIX RENEGADE SQUADRON IN THE CAMPAIGN?
however when you play a battlefront game you look for gameplay and there were many many goods. The melee weapons that they added were my favorites and the melee hit with a gun was also great and the graphics for a PSP game were pretty good and the new sprint action was another great addition, and just adding a campaign where your not just a random soldier but an actual person is GREAT!
the game's multiplayer was fun and made up for the bads so I have mixed emotions on a 9 or 10 so I geuss its a 10
:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Starwars Game Of All Time!!!

posted by Konnor (RICHARDSON, TX) Dec 4, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

9 out of 17 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

This game make all of the other Starwars games boring. This game is so fun I play it 24/7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible with a capital H

posted by Giants123 (MIAMI, FL) Sep 11, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

Now normally im the type of pearson who reads the review but still rents it to see for myself well I SHOULD HAVE LISTENED TO MY FRIENDS.this game sucked so badly it let me tell you

Pros
1. the capital ship has cool escape pods

Con
1.Bad graphics

2.The story dint make sense

3. You cant board the enemy ship unless you destroy their shields wich is a pain in the but

4. The whole point is capture the ion cannon and get on board and destroy the reactor

5. It isnt like swb2 wich you can tell the difference between a clone trooper and an engenier they all look the same

6.The controls suck you cant look up or down

7. The maps are wich we were used to in swb2 are all different

Summery: DONT BUY DONT RENT DONT EVEN TOUCH AND IF YOU HAVENT PLAYED STAR WARS BATTLE FRONT 2 PLAY IT CAUSE THERES NOTHING BETTER UP TO NOW!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

star Wars Battlefront Elite Squadron

posted by Dominic761 (CHANTILLY, VA) Nov 15, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

2 out of 39 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

this was the game I have been waiting for sense mid summer and I thought it would be cool but I was I was dead wrong this game is bad the graphics were terrifying and the level they completely ruined the levels the death star I renumber it from swbf2 for ps2 it was so cool now it looks like they didn’t Evan try they didn’t want to Evan think about the game levels they only thought about the orbital strike cannon I want some original levels and some that you can customize you weapons I wouldn’t recommend this to any of my friends or a complete stranger the people look like this game should be on DS no it should be on NES it so bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

what cobe thinks

posted by inuyasha47 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Mar 16, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

just love how you can just blow up the starships and when there are no more ships you can just take a spacepod then touchdown on the planet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

this game is ok

posted by superflykid89 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

i didn't win on ground it was hard and they had a lot places you could go to be it was way to many place in that so i didn't go to all those place but i did win one time in the sky so that good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Good Sequal

posted by MinecraftKid (CHAMPAIGN, IL) Jun 24, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

When i first played the original Renegade Squadron i thought there was no better star wars game, but when i got my hands on this, i felt a magical game was about to be unleashed on me, but i shouldn't have had such high hopes.
the game was good but not Perfect, the story line wasn't that well as expected from a game from the star wars saga.
but the Game play has been tweaked to be better, the new realistic movement was WAY improved from renegade squad, and the new Melee feature was also useful.
overview:
Pros:new features, New weapons, Improved Voice Acting.
Cons:Confusing Storyline,Finish in 4-5 Hours.

You Should Buy This Game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ehhh..

posted by supahflyjoe (MIRAMAR, FL) Jun 15, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I've seen better games than this. Star Wars Battlefront 2 was better and in this game the gun control is to confusing. I've found myself to many times dying because some guy behind me was shooting me. But game play is pretty good,but the controls through it off major.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

way better than renegade squadron

posted by unc432 (AKRON, OH) Dec 18, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

ok i loved this game it was beast the only reason this was an 8 and not a 10 is because u cannot customize like in renegade squadron so if u like star wars try this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the almost coolest starwars game ever

posted by camman12 (BROOKSVILLE, FL) Mar 16, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

to start off with i am a huge star wars fanatic and when i heard of this game on the star wars web site i culdnt wait i kept replaying the behind the scenes trailer over and over when i finally got it i said time well spent waiting it has almost all the maps the maps from the original movies and some more maps only seen for a quick second in epiode three such as cato nemoidia any way when i heard you could commander an ion cannon and take down the enemy capital sips sheild i thought i would burst but then it got better unlike prvious titles you can actually go into the enemy ship sabotage the power core and blow it up the best part about it was the use of escape pods the feeling of rushing into an escape pod just before the ship explodes cool as for weapons there are a few new and some recycled from older games i wont give it away the story line is really interesting how it connects all the movies you move from a proud clone trooper to a hero of the rebel alliance and get to partake in missions direct from the sory line the only thing i give it a minus for is the ships in space when you think star wars you think all sorts of space ship but in the game there are only two types for each faction a single manned vessel that acts like a all purpose plane torpedos lasers stuff like that and a large slow veesel that act like a mobile command post it gets kind of old but over all i think its a great game and definently woth a buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »