Rent Star Trek for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Star Trek

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
5.0

470 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game

posted by Mazedoc (PUYALLUP, WA) Oct 13, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a really good game. I like the voice acting, and the storyline is well done. I wish that there was more chances to explore the ship, but the action is really good. I rented that game, and I am glad that I did, I am not sure if I will buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not As Bad As You Think

posted by Fuzz1984 (NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA) May 7, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've played a lot of movie adaptation games and for the most part, lets agree that they all suck. I was really surprised on how decent this was. It fills in the gap between the last movie, leading to the new one. Graphics are actually pretty good, the main characters resemble the actors really well and the voice acting is great also. The story is decent as well as the gameplay, definitely a good rent to say the least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

For Fans

posted by kobayashiking (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Apr 25, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

13 out of 17 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

If Mass Effect and Army of Two had a baby in 1998.Glitches galore (spock is apparently an introverted jogger; loves to run in place in elevators facing the wall), awkward controls (cover system or awkward flip; 50/50 chance), dated graphics (party like it's 1999), and strange design choices (constant auto select phaser; switch back to better weapon button use to trigger button use- one million to 2 ). Fun in spite of it all for the Abrams trekkie generation. Decent voice work and serviceable story. Hilarious non-use of walking backwards when being carried.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent, but not great

posted by Carnage_Kassidy (FISHERS, IN) Apr 25, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I like the story, the voice acting, and the ability to level up the weapons and tricorders...
That's all the good I can say about the game.
The graphics are sub-par, the controls are clunky, and the action collision detection is terrible.
When you shoot an enemy, it doesn't even seem to phase them until they are dead.

It's worth a Rent, not a Buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Star Trek

posted by Coldspike2 (ROANOKE, VA) Apr 30, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have played or owned every star trek title including sto i have to say not a bad game reminds me a little of voyager elite force. The ending was a little bland and i would have liked a little more space battle, but all in all not bad for a console title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

wow, not good

posted by LIQUIDFX00 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Apr 24, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2012

10 out of 16 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game is just not fun to me. The story is hard to follow, there are gorns everywhere, and the graphics are dated, which isn't a big deal, but the game just sucks. It was fun for about 30 minutes and then it started to get frustrating but not from difficulty. It was from the controls. Sometimes my character would just start turning right or not stop walking and walk right off a ledge and die. Oh man, also the part where Spock was carrying me was just impossible. you can't back up and I don't know. I am done with this game. Next.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not bad

posted by papd15 (BRIDGEWATER, NJ) Apr 24, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I've been playing this game on my PC since gamefly refused to send me a copy when it was released this week. it's a fun and addicting game, some people have compared it to mass effect, but it really is nothing like it, there are many diffent aspects to the game, some levels you control the ship and fire at enemy ships, others you land on different planets. fun game and worth a rent if gamefly ever ships them out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent for what it is...a movie game....

posted by HTownBalla (AUSTIN, TX) Apr 29, 2013

Member since May 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Video games based on movies never seem to come out right or be that great on the whole most of the time. This is the same thing here, but expecting that going in kept me from being disappointed. I'm about halfway through it and enjoying it for what it is but graphics are not great, weird physics and some funny glitches. I gave it the ranking I did just because I honestly have enjoyed what I have played so far but again, I knew in advance this wasn't going to be a groundbreaking game with best ever console graphics like Rage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Like being in the Movie

posted by LeoJason (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 25, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Im not sure what the other low reviews are about.
I actually purchased this game and have no regrets.
This is one of the funnest games I have played in a long time.
It actually feels like I am part of a Star Trek movie because the story flow is so real. I dont usually follow along to the storyline in games, I just like to run and gun mostly. But this is actually a thrilling adventure and the characters have that Star Trek sense of humar makeing it more enjoyable. Kirk's movements remind me of the original Kirk's body movements in the tv series. Very realistic.
Playing this in 3D mode on my big screen is absolutely stunning and addicting.
This game has impressed me so much more than I expected.
Hope others have as much fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

could have been a great game

posted by usmcspartan (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Aug 12, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

this game had potential to be in the 8 rating range at the least, however it is full of bugs. played threw as Spock, the computer controlled Kirk kept freezing up or would just disappear. In the final act of the game the Phaser pistol would only fire "blanks" and not affect the enemy in any way. The bugs in the game made it frusterating to play, and hard to enjoy the story

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

BAD...

posted by jaguar7676 (TITUSVILLE, FL) Apr 17, 2014

Member since Nov 2004

Star Trek's saving grace is the characters, who not only bear the likenesses of the film stars who play them, but have their voices too. Of particular note is Simon Pegg's Scotty, whose thick Scottish accent and penchant for panicking never fail to amuse. There's also some neat back-and-forth between the cold, logical Spock and the charming Kirk as they exchange quips between shots. Kirk even manages a cheeky chat-up line or two along the way.

Still, these are but small wins for a game that never does the license justice; it's a by-the-numbers shooter that just so happens to have the Star Trek name attached to it. Its numerous bugs and linear missions make it frustrating to play, and the story never grabs you like a good sci-fi adventure should. Even the most devoted of Star Trek fans will be hard pressed to find something to like in Star Trek The Video Game: there are simply too many glaring problems.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Star Trek Game Fail!

posted by brutalkhayn (MEADVILLE, PA) Nov 24, 2013

Member since Jul 2011

I would not recommend this game to anyone. The graphic Are great yes, but as far as game play ability it sucks, I don't want to give any spoilers so if you have played any of the other Star Trek Games An liked them by all means try this one you may or may not like this one but I did not an will not give it my approval.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Another Star Trek Game Flop

posted by Dopey5656 (REDDING, CA) Nov 10, 2013

Member since Sep 2004

With most games based on movies not really living up to the movie it's self, this one is no exeption. Although it has decent gameplay and lots of missions it missed its mark. With only two playable charecters(Kirk and Spock) and very limted weapons and enemys.when you finish the game. Your wondering what happend to the Star Trek experince that i've grown to know.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

another time waster

posted by Savage1 (NORTH HAMPTON, OH) Aug 19, 2013

Member since Apr 2008

whole lot of cut scenes 5 minutes of game 2 minutes of cut scenes and when i died i didn't know how or why. very confusing at times . this game was junk .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Could have been greater

posted by WVUMattmang85 (LEXINGTON, SC) Jul 11, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

I was really pumped for this game, liked the new movies (fan of the old ones more so) and enjoyed the idea of running around putting the vulcan pinch on everyone. Was disappointed with how glitchy the game was, how poor the controls were and even the overall story. Usually I am all about game play versus game story (use the skip option in a lot of games) but I tried to stick around for this story. I feel like this game could have been a lot more, and understood that it was a hard legacy to live up to. Just feels like this was a project that got started a day before the deadline (not saying the developers did not work hard on this or anything). I hope that this new Star Trek gets another chance and builds upon where the title fell short. Again, this is my opinion and I can easily be in the minority, but felt like this rental was a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

star trek

posted by CCLL26 (GLOUCESTER, VA) Jul 9, 2013

Member since Jul 2006

weak bad control we do rent buy price
this is gamemaker should be better
lot better control
crew

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

An Insult To Trekkies

posted by IAmMe123 (BROOKLYN, NY) Jun 21, 2013

Member since Jun 2007

I'm a Trekkie but even I have to say this:STAY AWAY FROM THIS GAME AT ALL COSTS. I couldn't even pass the 2nd mission which is a space battle. How sad.

The camera is lousy and the controls are non responsive. They spent almost 3 years developing this game but what do they have to show for it?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Epic Fail

posted by jlopez7261 (MIAMI, FL) Jun 18, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

How could you do so bad when you have the same format of previous great games. Mass Effect is the most perfect example. Beam down with a crew, fight it out; solve puzzles, run missions. How can you mess this up?
Graphics are horrible (pre X-Box), at times the speech and the character did not match, in a freakin cut-scene; and the game play was...
Seriously, wasted enough time writing this...you're better off playing Knight of the Old Republic on X-Box; or one of the old PC Star Trek games; they are better than this mess.
Giving it a 2 because of the Star Trek name.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A typical licensed budget game

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) May 27, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

Star Trek is exactly what you'd expect to see from a licensed movie-tie in game. It compliments the new Star Trek movie franchise a little bit and is meant to be played co-op for the best experience. The budget third person shooter is nothing but average.

You can choose to play as either Spock or Kirk, and each of them brings something different to the table to alter gameplay mechanics. It's designed around 2 player co-op, and if playing solo the computer will take control over either Kirk or Spock. Playing solo wasn't that fun since my ally never really added much to the gameplay accept to command them to maneuver points and such.

Star Trek also seemed outdated or possibly used last-gen engines, but it's nothing like the amazing special effects in the 2 movies. Graphics were bad and smeary and sound quality wasn't great either, even though a lot of the actual actors did the voices, which was good to see. It's definitely a bit laggy at times, and shooting mechanics can be unresponsive. There is using cover and crouching, but I found it extremely sketchy and difficult to use because of inconsistency.

However Star Trek does allow you to use a huge variety of over 10 weapons, all with 2ndary firing modes too. Most can be upgraded in the menu with XP. You also have a nifty Tricorder that scans the areas for guns, xp, and other good secrets or interactions. It reminded me of Batman's sonar ability. The Tricorder is used to solve puzzles and find hidden objects, but I think that stuff has been done before too many times. That can also be upgraded to boost its power.

If you're a Trekky and a gamer, or a fan of the new movies, it's still worth playing for a weekend. It's best played with a friend since the only other mode is the 2P co-op. Don't expect anything radical in terms of gameplay or cutting edge anything.

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Should be called Star Drag

posted by Rayology (SUWANEE, GA) May 27, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

Don't waist your time or money. Stupid puzzles, horrible programing just a all around bad game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Overhyped for a reason

posted by Falcone (VENICE, CA) May 15, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

This game was so boring it made me angry

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Warp Speed Away From This One

posted by sgt077 (BRANDON, FL) May 14, 2013

Member since Nov 2005

Please run at warp speed away from this movie tie-in stinker. Graphics are about 10 years behind, movement is jerky and seriously hokey.

You can tell that this game is just a way to make some bucks at the time the movie is released. Nothing more and a whole lot less. Scotty beam me up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible game

posted by memtndude (MEMPHIS, TN) May 1, 2013

Member since Aug 2008

This game is absolutely worthless. As soon as I put it in and saw the Namco logo I knew it would be awful. The controls are horrible, the graphics are outdated, the screen violently shakes when you attempt to aim, and the "cutscenes" look like something from SNES. Don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Eh.

posted by infamouselguapo (LAFAYETTE, CA) Apr 30, 2013

Member since Mar 2011

Just what I said. I thought it appropriate, as that's the only sound that will consistently come out of your mouth, other than a particular curse word.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Worse than Captain Kirk's pickup lines

posted by amman14 (GAINESVILLE, FL) Apr 30, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Just finished this unpolished, glitchy game. Was entertaining for the first hour or so and then it becomes repetitive. I played through it, hoping it to become better. Never did. Has the atmospheric feel of Star Trek and a decent story, the controls are horrendous. Jump on the Enterprise and beam far away from this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse