Rent Star Trek for PS3
view large frontback

Star Trek

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
4.8

303 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Decent, good for Trek fans & time killer!

posted by FreakzillaPhill (MCLEANSVILLE, NC) Jul 22, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off, I know this game has gotten horrendous reviews mostly. While playing, I could see maybe why some of them hated the game, the game is a tad glitchy at times (I had to restart checkpoint several times). Also, most were hoping for some space battles (there is only one in the game) so that was also an issue. But I'm not really here to talk about the negatives I want to talk about the positives. I gave this game a 6 based on my overall experience and time with the game. Yes, I am a Star Trek fan as well.

#1: Great voice acting from everyone around to Pine, Quinto, Urban, Pegg the lot of them.

#2- Decent storyline featuring The Gorn's return to Star Trek as the villains. Basically you either take control of Kirk or Spock and battle them throughout the game, while also completing certain objectives.

#3- Fast paced and never a dull moment, the game just continues with havoc from start to finish so it never feels boring or tiresome. Every cut scene is related to another event that is getting ready to happen immediately after that scene. Great build up.

#4- Simple easy gameplay especially if you like TPS (Third person shooters) sometimes can be a little sensitive when moving around corners and stuff but otherwise good gameplay.

#5- Great character models... I see a lot of complaints from people saying that the graphics felt dated. To me, I looked at is they gave the crew great detail everyone from Kirk to Spock to Scotty, Bones & Sulu all had great models. So for me the graphics didn't bother me at all.

So in all honesty if your looking to kill some time and if your a fan of Star Trek then you should play at least one time through. It's not perfect it's not fantastic but it is good. Look through some of the small glitches and lack of space battles and just have a good time like me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Pathetic

posted by honzascud (SOMERVILLE, MA) May 14, 2013

Member since May 2013

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I was really looking forward to this title. With the release date being postponed and production taking longer than usual my expectations were pretty high.

What a disappointment. Bug after a bug, frustration with unresponsive characters, poor graphic (PS2 era). This game was painful experience. We couldn't even finish it. That's how annoying the gameplay in coop mode was.

It makes me sad to see how Star Trek potential gets wasted on this ''Star Trek'' kind of games. Remember Star Trek Voyager Elite Force? You could tell that game was made by people who knew and loved Star Trek. The attention to details, storyline, characters.. I played it over and over.

Don't waste your time on this game.. It is a true DISASTER and should have never been released. I gave it 3 points just because of the soundtrack.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

So close

posted by egmhookem (JAY, OK) Apr 25, 2013

Member since Nov 2010

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I read somewhere that it took over a year to make this game and that it would be better than most games that come from movies. Well they were right it is better than your typical movie to game experience but man ol man is there some major flaws in this game. I guess they should have spent over two years making it.

First off this is an original story so its not exactly based upon a movie other than it has the same actors and voices of the actors. Where this game fails is the controls and the glitches. It is not a smooth game, you will find yourself getting frustrated about how you have to get at certain angles to accomplish goals and find yourself even more frustrated when no matter what you do you cant seem to find the correct button to push to get you thru a door I eventually commanded spock to open the door and it worked. The movement of the character isnt bad but it's nothing compared to the great games out there Uncharted, COD, Tomb Raider.

The good things are that the story is'nt bad and the graphics are pretty good. I also thought it had a good mix of shooter and exploration.

All in all I think the bad out ways the good but if you like Star Trek give it a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Set phasers for for lame

posted by Slade007 (PORTLAND, OR) Apr 24, 2013

Member since Apr 2010

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game could have been great had it just gotten a bit more polish. The music is good enough, and the voice acting (done by the movies cast) is pretty strong. The graphics aren't quite as pretty as I had hoped, and the controls are sluggish at best. Climbing over objects and taking cover are things that games have been pulling off well for several years now, yet Star Trek makes it feel like a new feature that hasn't yet been perfected. It's cool that you can play it online with a buddy, or even go couch co-op (a feature that more games should employ), but it's just not enough to save Star Trek from falling flat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful. No excuse for such a poor game

posted by Bosco12 (WASHINGTON, DC) May 9, 2013

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The graphics are look like they were developed 5 years ago. The controls are not great and it has some bugs. There is really no excuse for a game of such poor quality when you consider how far technology has come in the last few years. Shame on Startrek developers and I am glad I did not buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Full of glitchs

posted by Vannagan (ORLANDO, FL) Apr 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

At every turn in this game I feel I need an unstuck command. Play the game if you want to see spock but have caution. This game was made to promote the movie and nothing else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Rental only

posted by kreyes19 (NEW YORK, NY) Apr 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

Rental only

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome game

posted by toryd32 (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) May 12, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

little confusing in places.but all in all the best star trek console game to date

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Star Trek

posted by onmars (NASHVILLE, TN) May 6, 2013

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

it was a vrey great gameplay ever keep up the good work

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING!!!

posted by mchoef (POST FALLS, ID) Apr 25, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

This is the best Star Trek game ever made, first of all. Secondly, this game is as epic in nature and story as the new movie reboot is. This is perhaps the best co-op experience I have ever had with a game. I can play online with my brother who lives 1500 miles away, and it feels like we are in the same room exploring and adventuring together. This game deserves a 9 or 10, but is getting bad reviews by people who don't appreciate story and gameplay over everything else. Just the mere fact this game has a co-op experience makes it a great game. I have been wanting a game like this for years. There are a few glitches, but nothing a patch or two won't fix. Also, I look forward to DLC in the future. LIVE LONG AND PROSPER!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A Waste

posted by Easton99 (YUCAIPA, CA) Feb 6, 2014

Member since May 2007

Terrible story, terrible gameplay, terrible acting, lots of glitches. They are hoping the big name will make them a little money and put little effort into this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bummer

posted by duk774 (EAGLE POINT, OR) Sep 27, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

I really wanted to enjoy this but couldn't. It great graphics but poor playability. Just too many things to do while playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Good Ride

posted by BatmanYZFr1 (PEMBROKE PINES, FL) Sep 6, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

This game was plenty fun. A lot of action, cool cut scenes, good music score, and the idle banter between Kirk and Spock was entertaining. I am a fan of this movie series, but by no means a trekkie. It's foundation is shooter, but it is nice the way the game mixes in a little platforming, flight (character w/ suits), a cool space battle, puzzles. The story and gameplay flow nicely. Character models are dead on too.
Don't be fooled by ratings suggesting that this game is "unplayable". It has it's glitches with character movement for sure. At the worst, they can be distracting, but they resolve themselves and the action continues.

recommend for any gamer especially ones that find Star Trek even just remotely interesting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Star Trek: The Video Game (2013)

posted by cdckgb (JEFFERSONVILLE, IN) Jul 9, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

Being a Trekie, I was very exited to play this game. There are quite a few glitches, but it is easier to play if you play Single player. It is definitely worth renting, but look into it more before buying. Overall, good voice acting, an "ok" story plot, and plenty of action. Good enough for me.

"Live Long and Prosper"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not a good game

posted by Timrsings1 (HILLIARD, OH) Jun 24, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

I couldn't get past the stupid space fights to see if any of the game was decent enough to play or not. I can say that the space fights were stupid and that's what ruined the game for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

startrek

posted by 1gamer4lifetime (NEOTSU, OR) May 29, 2013

Member since May 2013

burned out after only playing 2 hours

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Blah

posted by Sharakna (WARRENSBURG, MO) May 18, 2013

Member since May 2013

I couldn't get into the game I tried, and then forced myself to play. The story is run of the mill nothing new or exciting. Your AI partner is bad, always waiting for them to come to you or to do anything, had several encounters with the AI just running in place. Controls can be touchy and the graphics are on par with low budget games. I mean if your a fan of the franchise you might get bummed by this game, but it is worth a rental to try it out, just don't get your hopes up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not too bad

posted by kweeks (WILSONVILLE, OR) May 15, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

Most reviewer did not like the controlling systems and the graphics, but the controls were not an issue for me as they were more than effective. The graphics were not the best but not really anything worth complaining about. The story was new and unique and the action varied. All in all I enjoyed this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

WARP SPEED TO FAIL

posted by VINCE47 (Terrell, TX) Apr 25, 2013

Member since Jan 2008

What a shame to allow something so EPIC, as the star trek series to fall into the hands of butchers,,, 3D is so so bad,,,, controls and gameplay are unforgivable,,,i would of given a hundred dollars for a good game and bought all the DLC... dont these game developers get it,,who approves these games? i want to meet the people who said... OH THIS ONES READY TO SHIP...seriously....this is a PS2 game right,,,you sent me the wrong console version by accident .....lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »