Rent Star Trek: Tactical Assault for DS
view large frontback

Star Trek: Tactical Assault

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games
GF Rating
5.6

153 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Great in Theory, Poor in Practice

posted by SaintRhys (GREENVILLE, NY) Jul 30, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I am relatively new to Star Trek, although I have fallen in love the Original Series. That being said, this game both impressed and disappointed me.
It stayed very true to the franchise (i.e. Feds benefit by talking first and shooting later) and the battle and navigation systems approached the difficulties of space flight and fight very nicely. I've played other games where traveling through emptiness has been long and cumbersome (LoZ:Wind Waker), but this game made it easy to get to the next goal and impossible to get lost in space.
Unfortunately the game failed to placate my impatient nature. Turning is incredibly slow and frustrating, it took a while for me to figure out how to recharge my shields, and before you can start blasting your opponent to bits you must spend forever shooting their shields. Phasers and photon torpedoes take a long time to charge while your opponent seems to be getting of two or three times as many shots.
All in all, this game is definitely worth a rent. If, after you try it out, you still want more then buy it, but not before.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth Renting

posted by SonicSling (FREMONT, CA) Dec 28, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

The Star Trek geek in me gets exited every time a new Trek game comes out. I picked this one up just as it came out and spent 35 bucks on it.Although it's not a bad game,if you've played a Star Trek ship combat game on the pc a few years ago(i can't remember what the title was)this game is pretty much the same thing.Except this time around it's portable,the bottom screen handles just like the mouse and keyboard,and there are several endings to each mission which you are rated on.Good ratings allow more crew upgrades.
The missions go from extremly easy to pain in my butt.Because of the rather abrupt jump in difficulty. It discouraged me from playing it for over a month.
Overall the game isn't that bad. It's worth a rental for a Trek fan(you can even have the menu's in klingon!).I couldn't recomend it to the gaming majority.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

He's dead Jim

posted by gamebug (SAMMAMISH, WA) Dec 29, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

star trek tactical assault is a very fun game for star trek fans. you can start a campaign as a klingon or the federation. some of the bad things are is that when your fighting another ship you have to shoot it 10 times to get the shields down then go in for the kill. Also when you are in combat your ship moves really slow and its hard to change directions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

"It sucks, Jim."

posted by Damaggott (HIGHLAND, UT) Jan 23, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Imagine a game in which you're piloting a titanium bathtub with flashlights strapped to the back and you've got a pretty good idea of how this game works. You spend most of your time waiting for your phasers to recharge, pausing only occaisionally to shoot at one of the enemy's 5 shield facings. It takes a while to get through just one shield facing, and it's pretty hard to control which facing you hit unless you're willing to sit and wait until that facing naturally presents itself--which means you'll be wasting most of your potential firepower.

Besides shield facings, there's little involved in battle besides just hitting the fire button and waiting for the weapon to recharge. Weapons take a long time to recharge so the combat is quite tedious. The designers tried to make up for this by making it extremely hard. Often you have to survive multiple consecutive battles in which you're outgunned in every single one.

And, of course, there's the terrain--a sad and very game-breaking aspect of combat. There are asteroids, planets and space stations scattered fairly densely around the battlefield. These things will cause catastrophic damage to your ship if you collide with them.

Now, let me preface this by saying that you cannot fire at an enemy you are not locked on to, period. If you have no target lock, your firing buttons simply won't respond.

If you do have a target lock, the camera is always pointed directly at your enemy, with your ship filling most of the foreground. Thus, the area immediately surrounding your ship is just one huge blind spot.

And there is no radar. No, seriously. In half the fights you get into, you die instantly from hitting something you had no way to see.

The combat in this game is just awful, and combat is most of what it's got. Thus, the game as a whole is pretty much just awful. Their use of the ST license is pretty much mediocre cliché claptrap.

I'd have to say stay away from this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

If you like good Trek games then you"ll Love this!

posted by gentch (AUBURN, WA) Nov 12, 2006

Member since Sep 2003

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game play in this is just like in SFC III. The ability to command ships and battle in space is great. This is a must have/play for any Star Trek fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

For $15 its a great game for the DS

posted by ROSSCO (VENTURA, CA) Jan 8, 2008

Member since Apr 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game should be a 7.5-8.0 depending on your love of star trek. Its a good game at full price. You can get it for $15 now. Worth a rental if you like Star Trek or space combat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

It would be a great game. If I was a Trecky.

posted by toasttoast (BLOOMINGTON, IN) Feb 23, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Do you like star trek if not don't even bother getting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game, but difficulty jumped up quickly

posted by topace88 (WOODSIDE, NY) Sep 30, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

I thought it was a great game; however, I found the 8th mission to be too difficult (or frustrating) to beat. Some may enjoy the challenge, but it was way too much for my enjoyment. I would make it to the very end of the battle and then die. I don't want to play the same mission 100 times till I beat it especially when it takes 15-20 minutes.

I recommend the game to anyone even if it is just for the first 8 missions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »