Rent Star Trek: Legacy for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Star Trek: Legacy

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.3

3635 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Don't let the awful controls sway you!

posted by XPhile (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 20, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

96 out of 101 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

Okay, so first off, let me say, I imagine you'll get the most value out of this game if you're already a fan of the Star Trek series. That being said, I must say, for an RTS (a type of game I don't usually play,) I was pretty impressed. The first, and most immediately noticable problem is the controls. They take a while to get used to, and after a few missions, still aren't exactly second nature. My other major problem, is that they went to all the trouble to get the voices of all the Star Trek captains to do the game, and so far, I haven't even seen a CG rendering of their faces. Everything is the outside of the starship.
That out of the way, everything else is great. For an RTS, it's not the epic scale you're used to. I've got four ships in my fleet, and you control each of them individually. Your ships will attack without you, but you're always in charge of one ship, and when you hit the trigger, the phasers fire. You order repairs on the hull, they happen. It controls almost like a squad-based shooter. (Except it's in space.) Also, if you're a Star Trek fan, it's fun to hear all those Ensigns say "Aye sir!" The graphics aren't exactly up to Oblivion's standards (the game was made by Bethesda, in case you didn't know,) but they're still pretty decent. You can tell that your nacelles are damaged, on fire, or pretty much toasted. The layouts (you can't exactly call them terrain if there's no actual ground,) are pretty well varied. Certain planets are bigger than others, don't fly through corrosive nebulae, and don't fly into the sun.
As far as gameplay goes, except for controls, it's pretty good. It's not an out and out kill the badguy, there are protection and convoy missions, patrol, divide and conquer, etc etc. You can command the ships as one, or split them up into different objectives. Definitely check it out, hitting the "keep it" button is up to you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Star Trek Legacy

posted by BuddhaDS9 (CLEVELAND, OH) Aug 27, 2007

Member since May 2007

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The best review I can think to give you is this. If your a fan of the shows, and I do mean a fan, not just a person who every once in a while gets drunk with the frat bros and catches half a re-run once a year...
If your a fan, it's the bee's knees. The sounds, the ship functions, the giant slow turns of ships almost a mile long. It's a decent ship to ship fighter. Limited story line, and multi-player needs some work, but over all, not a bad Star Trek game.

On the other hand...

If you don't know, watch, or even half-like Star Trek, DON'T EVER PLAY THIS. PERIOD. You will not enjoy yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Despite Quirks Game is Very Cool

posted by DrMindcrim (CENTENNIAL, CO) Dec 18, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

46 out of 51 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Legacy has a few quirks with the multiplayer (mostly dealing with the lobby) but the game is very fun and visually stunning. I read some early reviews that complained about controls, which are complex, but not impossible to learn and even add to the breadth and depth of control you have over your fleet. The ships move and turn slowly which will turn off players looking for a twitch-reflex game.
This game is more for people who are looking for a starship combat game that is more strategic than reflexes. It reminds me of the FASA Star Trek Strategic Combat Simulator board game and even contains some of the ships from those (much) earlier role playing games such as the Romulan Winged Defender.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sometimes the needs of the many...

posted by Suchnast (NEW GLOUCESTER, ME) Jul 2, 2007

Member since May 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I gave this game a rating of 8...even though I didn't play it through before returning it...and i'll tell you why. Also, I don't utilize X-box Live, so I won't speak of the multiplayer.

First off, I thought the graphics were great. Some people complain about the controls. After some getting used to, I didn't think they were all that bad. The only gripe I had is that when you are in close, dog-fighting style combat, it's hard to stay tight. For example, if you are in a tight turn with a ship, you are constantly using your reticule to prompt your ship towards the enemy to keep in the turn (you have to keep pressing the button on him to adjust to his movement). If he flies over a planet, you are likely to accidentally set a course for the planet (or another ship perhaps) instead, so learn to fly using the sticks. You can buy ships up to a fleet of 4 (including yours, but you don't choose your own ship). You move through the game in chronological order from the Enterprise serious right up through. I thought it was neat, and there is plenty of strategy involved. The AI was pretty good too.

The reason I returned it early is because after hours of fun playing, I got to I believe the Next Generation era. Without giving any spoilers, I got to a mission where for really the first time, you are not fighting ships, but doing one of those mundane "run around to save other people" type missions. I had an extremely hard time with it. I looked up a walkthrough online that said it was the most irritating mission in the game. The mission failure always happened at the 20 min mark, so each failure was almost half an hour wasted. After a couple of hours of my life I will never get back, I returned it. Call me a quitter, but it just wasn't worth my time.

That being said, I still enjoyed the game. It's worth the rent, but I'm glad I didn't buy it off the shelf.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Trekkies Unite! Great Game For Fans

posted by darkspaz37 (CONROE, TX) Apr 9, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As a pretty hardcore trekkie myself, I went into this game underrating as much as I could to give this game a fair rating. All I can say is "Wow". If you played the sleeper hit Bridge Commander for PC and were waiting for a similar game to hit consoles, this is it. If not, then you don't know what you're missing. This is one of the best Real Time Strategy (RTS) games I have ever played.

To start off, I realize that this game is slow and has its downfalls. The controls are a bit awkward, and it sucks when you have to warp somewhere to help an ally and you are blocked by a planet, or all but one of your ships warp to a coordinate, which sometimes made me completely shut down my 360 in rage. I realize that this isn't a "trigger happy" game, but that's why they call it an RTS. You plan your strategy as you go.

Pros:
-awesome voiceovers from the real actors
-best graphics yet on a console Star Trek game
-once you get into it, you have a blast
-trekkie heaven! cool unlockables
-many ships from all species and eras
-feeling of complete control over your own personal starfleet armada
-great storyline...how the borg came to be
-pretty good online play, especially with 360 voice chat
-power displacement great idea, not completely original, but still very nice

Cons:
-controls...yes I have heard that they suck
-slow ship movement, even scout class ships are slow, but if they wanted to make a fast Star Trek game, they would have
-perhaps the biggest one of all...no mission checkpoints. I hated the mission where you had to defend the planets from space debris, after I put all turrets in place and destroyed all space rocks...but one, which blew up the planet and started the whole mission all over again
-fairly short, linear story even though it spans all eras

All in all, I have to give Legacy a rating of 8, because of the trekkie in me, and the fact that this game is just plain great. The only thing I would improve on is the mission checkpoints.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Controls seem Strange - at first....

posted by RedShoe (REDWOOD CITY, CA) Dec 20, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

46 out of 53 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

...but as you spend some time with the game - you realize that the control scheme actually is planned out well and makes sense. Gameplay is a bit slow - I suppose that is where the 'strategy-sim' category comes into play. The first mission took me about 30 mins to complete on the 'easy' setting of 'Ensign'. I wouldn't say this game is 'fun' but would instead describe it as - engaging. I think it is awesome that the voice-over work was done by the actual people who played the role in the corresponding tv series. Scott Bakkula as Jonathan Archer, Patrick Stewart as Jean-luc Picard....well that is, I would say they did the voice-over work because it sure does sound like them in the game. Overall - this game a must-play for any fan of Star Trek.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Mixture of Fun and "Strategy"

posted by ReDPiLL (SPOTSYLVANIA, VA) Jul 20, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you like simulation games or strategy games or even like Star Trek you'll like this game! "Full Power to Shields", "Full Power to Engines", "Full Power to Phasers" all equally as strategic to win. The game goes through all eras of Star Trek and has a pretty decent storyline. Multiplayer has 4 player pitted against or together to eachother. I recommend a rent if you cant find anything you want to play or want to play this. You shouldn't be disappointed. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Trek Candy

posted by sfsk8r (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) May 31, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overall, a good time for Trekers and star ship junkies. Kick up the speaker volume and feel the phasers burn. The battles get old quick though, and there is no zoom feature so no close-up cinema shots. Fun ride, but not worth waiting in line for a second time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

For Trek Fans Only

posted by MyManwich (ROSEVILLE, CA) May 9, 2007

Member since Dec 2004

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As a Star Trek fan, I had really high hopes for this game. Upon playing, I found that I wasn't dissapointed, at least not completely. Trek is usually not very well treated in most games so I was glad to see the Bethesda games put forth this much effort, I just think they should tweak a few things prior to any sequals. The game play & control, while intuitive is cumbersome and even irritating at times. The objectives are not always clearly indicated so you might be aimlessly warping to and fro for a while before finding what you are supposed to. Also, there are too few check points for how cheap the game is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NEXT Generation looking good

posted by CaseManX (ABINGTON, MA) May 5, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a Game that not only fans of the series can love.....which I am; but a game that really gives the gamer a feel for what commanding a starship is all about. The Games has a fairly good story line, however does not do well in implementing the presentation of the story in the least other then some comic book esqu storyboards and narrations. The captains of each era of the Star Trek universe are there. Making the mission more fun. The way to truly enjoy this game to its fullest is learning the initially complex controls. At first the controls seem overwhelming, however after a few missions the will become second nature. for instance the hitting the B button will cause you to toggle full to zero speed. But if you simply hold in the button you can adjust your speed to full 1/2 1/4 which is essential for quicker turning. All the controls really do have a purpose and help the dogfights will sometimes seemingly impossible odds. The tactical map takes getting used to as well but if you are like me...you will enjoy the use to actually plan out your assaults during single player scrimmages or on xbox live. I love the variety of ships from the eras, and wish Bethesda had a create starship or at least allowed you to retrofit your existing ships. This game does take getting used to but once you have the controls down you will begin to enjoy it. I also hope Bethesda follows the oblivion strategy and allows more down loadable content which this game could very well implement. I give this a very good rating with hopes they continue to improve...maybe I will see you on xbox live, gamertag KC Grumbles

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Star Trek Legacy

posted by APerez (MIAMI, FL) Mar 8, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Not a bad game. You do have to get use to the controls of the game and the fact the you only hear voices of the different characters but you do and not see the actual faces doing the speaking is what keeps this game from being excellent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome game, with one major flaw

posted by chpnkat (BACLIFF, TX) Mar 5, 2007

Member since May 2004

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying I am not a HUGE Trekie, but I do enjoy watchin the shows and know most of the main characters and storylines. I LOVED this game. The graphics are beautiful, the ships and other items look very close to authentic for a non trekie, if you are a diehard then you couls probably find some flaws in the designs. the explosions are impressive, the command structure is extreemely easy to get a handle on, and the voiceovers by the original cast is just plain cool. The only real problem with this game is the fact that it is way too short! i rented it for 5 day ans played it through, TWICE once on normal and once on difficult. the storyline is good, but it needs more missions. I would love to see a sequel, just one with a lot more missions especially in the different eras. Love the game, just left me wanting more!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent Game

posted by Jipman (KANKAKEE, IL) Feb 26, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For a Star Trek game it has a very different feel to it. The graphics are good, and the voice acting is awesome. I don't care for the physics of the ships during battle. It is a little difficult and irritating. Other than that its fun for a little while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth a rent, then throw it back.

posted by Magnus (AUBURN, IN) Feb 4, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you are not a Star Trek fan I would give it a 6.

Note: I did not play it in multi-player, so this review is of the single player part of the game.

Fun Factor 8
In spite of it's flaws, I had fun playing this game, but it was too short and not enough variety to make it worth repeating. “Captain, I have this feeling that we’ve been here before.”

Controls 6
This game suffers from certain spatial anomalies when it comes to selecting the ships in your fleet and the AI captains have very short memories when given orders. "Was I supposed to go somewhere, Admiral?"

Graphics 9
The graphics would have been a 10 but for some work that could be done with how large objects brake apart and explode. Some of the nice touches were how weapons would leave scars on your ships and engines can actually be blow off, leaving your ship to travel at reduced speed. “The port nacelle is toast, Captain!”

Sound 8
Pretty much what you would expect as far as sound effects and music, but some of the voice work sounded like it was phoned in. "Captain Janeway, deposit $3.00 for the next ten minutes, please.”

Story 6
Started out well but then is seemed like the developers ran out of time and chopped much of it, leaving the game short and some of the eras as only one or two missions. Some day it would be nice to read the whole story as it was written...or better still, finish the game as it should have been done. “The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the developers timetable.”

Live long and prosper.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Star Trek: Legacy

posted by lsywlkr44aby (NAPERVILLE, IL) Jun 3, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Good game in general, however the inability to save a game after spending 30+ minutes on a mission is just a terrible idea, if you die you have to start all over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth a Rent

posted by RJDoute (TACOMA, WA) Dec 22, 2006

Member since May 2005

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Gameplay-
The gameplay in this game is a bit intimidating I'd say. Take one to four big ships, fly them around a fairly small map, and complete objectives. Sounds easy, right? Not quite. The control scheme is a bit much at times, though when you get it down it does give you quite a bit of control. The aiming scheme for phasers and torpedos is shaky at best. The lack of an in-game save will leave wanting to throw your controller at your box on certain occassions. Most of the time you just fly around and blow other ships up, though occassionally you'll have protect and supply missions, they're few and far between. It gets a bit repetitive, but the AI can be challenging.. and if you're anything like me that can be fun. You can purchase new ships inbetween missions with the points you earn during previous missions (but you can't upgrade ships you own).
Graphics-
Graphics look great in my opinion. All the ships are highly detailed, space looks like you'd imagine it, and explosions are pretty nice. (except the big ships which just break apart into big chunks) Unfortunately, no two leggeds at all, you'll never see characters faces.. just ships.
Sound-
All the voices acting is done very well, all by the original captains. (which is funny at times) This is the one part of the game I really have nothing to gripe about.
Multiplayer-
Uh oh.. Lobbies are mostly broken.. they're hard to get in and harder to stay in. Trying to "ready up" is a challenge in itself. Host options are almost nill. Watch someone pick Borg and destroy all the other players..can't do anything about it. Mic support is bad as well, people come in broken up a lot. Then when the match is over, you have to remake the whole session which gets old fast. When a good game -does- geting going though, they're pretty fun.

OVERALL-
This game is and will always be a renter until they fix the MP bugs IMO. Try it out, despite the problems it -CAN- be a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect for the Star Trek fan!

posted by Okamiukeda (LANCASTER, CA) Feb 4, 2007

Member since Nov 2004

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game is great for the visual. Its also great for the Trekkie that resides in all of us. My only issue is the commands, but if you're a gamer - they are easy to remember.

Be prepared gamers! This simulates Star Trek combat just like in the movies. Remember that you're dealing with starships that are larger than life. You're not going to be able to do things like stop on a dime or make the ridiculous sharp turn... HOWEVER... if you know your starships, you also know that your weapons care located on different spots on your ship - getting a target lock can be relatively easy! Plus taking control of a small fleet can make even the most difficult enemy a piece of cake. Personally, I grasped the controls rather quickly, and was able to dispatch my first set of enemies quickly and easy.

Awesome game - a must buy for the "Trekkie"!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Set phasers to fun!

posted by GamingSQRL (MALDEN, MA) Feb 6, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Truly a triumph in next-gen, space combat. This game is a truly immersive, cinematic experience. The ships in this game look gorgeous, with big, fiery explosions punctuating the strategic gameplay. There's also nothing cooler than getting to hear the actual voices of the 5 captains from all the shows and movies. Theres nothing quite like being at the helm of the ship controlled by Kirk, hearing William Shatner narrate the events as they occur!

I strongly recommend this game, both for the trekkies and non-trekkies out there. If you pay attention during the tutorial, the learning curve is no problem. Set phasers to fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

star trek legacy

posted by trekfan09 (ARLINGTON, TX) Jun 8, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best games of 2007 by far. Besides being one of the single best storyline and most accurate accounts of the Star Trek universe to date, it is the best sim game since Age of Empires. Bethesda did a fantastic job designing and making this game it graphics are amazing and it has little to no lag time. And they got all the captains from each show to be the voices in the game how cool is that. William Shatner was awesome. If you are a fan of Star Trek this is a must own. If you are just a space geek this is awesome too, and if you are compelty new to the whole realm of Star Trek then this will be a great way to open your eyes to a whole new and exciting universe.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun for the Star Trek fan, Enjoyable for the rest.

posted by BowserUSC (LOS ANGELES, CA) Dec 21, 2006

Member since May 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

A rather enjoyable Star Trek game, much like Bridge Commander. The controls have been mapped out rather well to the 360 controller. I didn't think that the developers were going to be able to do it, but the controls were quick to master and are very fluid.

The game itself is like Bridge Commander and other similar Star Trek games, you take command of 4 vessels that can be controlled individually or as a group. The missions are what you would expect, destroy enemy ships with certain constraints.

The achievements are well suited for the game, there are achievements that must be unlocked through Live, completion achievements, as well as ones that you unlock for playing style.

If you're a Star Trek fan, then this game would be good to rent. It's quite easy to beat so you may not want to purchase it, Although in order to unlock all the achievements you must play it at least 3 times on different difficulties, as well as on Live. The story is a little odd, and is not necessary to enjoy the game. But you do get to choose from a lot of different ships from all different series which is cool for the fan.

Overall, I'd say that this game is enjoyable, and would be a good idea to rent for a week or two, especially if you are a Star Trek fan, but also if you're not. The game play is unique, there really aren't any games like it for the 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sweet

posted by Klintron (NOVATO, CA) Feb 18, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Im not a Trekie but if you have played Star Trek games of the past you know they suck... this one doesnt, it great fun and beautiful to watch. Lots of ships to choose from only problem its too short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Just plain bad

posted by gopack11 (PROSPECT, KY) Jan 18, 2007

Member since May 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Perhaps I was expecting too much, but this game was slow, poorly configured, and boring. I agree with other posters that the lack of an effective "save" feature made the monotony even worse. If you play this game, pray that you do not complete most of a mission only to have to start the whole thing over again.

With this said, I play games for excitement, action, etc..., not "strategy." There are other ways to test your strategic abilities that are much more difficult and interesting. So, play at your own risk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

"Legacy" strong on action, weak on storyline

posted by Bakerman (SAN DIEGO, CA) Aug 8, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This Star Trek game really capitalizes on the entire franchise history. It's fun to watch as your ships improve and your selection expands. The graphics are excellent, and the control interface makes you feel like you really are piloting one a hulking spaceship. Though the action is rich and can be intense, each stage begins with so little plot setup before throwing you into the action, you never quite feel like you know what's going on.

Though the gameplay is magnificent and I love the map feature, the lack of greater story development keeps it from being an a 8 or 9, and the inability to explore planets or space stations in away teams on foot keeps it from being a full on 10.

The action would be more meaningful if it punctuated an overall storyline, with Third-person, "ground level" puzzle- or action- stages using individual characters interspersed, as in the original PC Star Trek game. Overall, a great showing for the first xbox star trek game that'll get you your Trekkie fix, but not keep you coming back for more. Bethesda, please take this from good to great!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Beam me out

posted by Michael27 (CEDAR RAPIDS, IA) Apr 25, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

The good about this game... the ships are very well done. The bad about this game... everything else. The controls do take awhile to get used to and do make sense but is a pain... the story line is ok... I spent three hours playing the game and felt i wasted those three hours... I am a star trek nut go to conventions, buy the books, have the complete season collection of TNG, and Several from Enterprise, DS9 , and TOS. Even though I am a fan I will not play a below average game just beacause i like the universe it is set in. I would suggest ignoring this title

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Star Trek: Legacy XBOX 360

posted by GameFamily (CHESTERFIELD, VA) Dec 28, 2006

Member since Jul 2003

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

What a disapointment! After weeks and weeks of delays we have been presented with a game that looks fabulous but doesn't have much in the way of challenging gameplay. We couldn't even get an online game started because the lobby was so poorly laid out; not that many people were playing anyway. No single system multiplayer; just alientate gaming families why don't you! Designers still believe that Star Trek fans will buy anything as long as it has the Star Trek title. The controls were unusual but not difficult to get used to but since there was little opportunity to explore the universe on our own who needed to be able to control the ship? Basically it is a cookie cutter game and every consumer should be offended that the designers thought so little of us. To present such a lackluster game after so many poor attempts just tells us that there is little hope for the future of a decent Star Trek title no matter what the system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse