Rent Star Trek: Conquest for PS2
view large frontback

Star Trek: Conquest

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii
GF Rating
4.9

402 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Much better concept than ST: Encounters, but

posted by Hexpane (Daly City, CA) Nov 26, 2007

Member since Jan 2004

17 out of 17 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Star Trek Conquest screams budget from top to bottom. Looking at the credits, there really wasn't a lot of manpower behind this title and it shows.

There is strategy/sim here, and its slightly deeper than say Star Wars Battlefront (conquest mode) but if you are looking for Starcraft or even Advance wars, you will be left wanting.

In fact everyone playing this game will be left wanting. A strat game w/ the option for Trek branded arcade battles sounds great on paper. But when you only have 5 programmers to make it happen, and a handful of artists. You end up w/ a skeleton of a game.

However if one approaches this game with the mindset that it is a $15(new)game, compared to offerings on PSN/XBL it holds up ok.

The 'arcade' combat is actually straight out of encounters only dumbed down to complete 2D now, no bathtub sinking and rising in pseudo 3D anymore. This is flat plane chase and shoot.

There are some nice welcome features tho, the ability to control a 'fleet' in real time, switch between ships, auto sim battles etc... Nice touches.

The problem is in the core balance w/re: to Star Trek lore. The defiant class Federation ships for example are simple 'scout' ships w/ weak weapons, shields etc... Any true Trek fans know this is not the case, the Defiant was a tank built for war that is supposed to have the strongest hull, weapons everything is designed for war.

In fact the entire premise/goal of the game is to "conquer the galaxy" not exactly in line w/ the prime directive. Entering alien space without reason w/ a fleet of Voyager looking ships, wiping them out w/o provocation is not the hallmark of Trek federation morality.

But there it is. Build stations, conquer, and engage everyone else in simplistic 2 stick shooting.

It would have been 100x better as an online, $10, multiplayer XBL/PSN game, but that can be said for a lot of games these days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Is Bethesda even trying anymore?

posted by SpaceMonk (CAMERON, MO) Nov 24, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

10 out of 17 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

Ok, i will start by saying im a big Trek fan. If you do not like Star Trek, or have just a passing interest in it, avoid this game at all costs.

That being said, this game is a train wreck that seems to have been abandoned but not shot and put out of its misery.

It feels like Bethesda needed another game to justify their license, looked around, found some programmers who weren't doing anything and decided to make a weekend of it. Cause I gotta say if this game took longer than a weekend to make, every one at Bethesda needs to stop. Stop right now and give up. Get up walk right out the nearest exit and dont look back, you being in the game industry is just bad for every one. Sorry its just better for every one if we just end things now.

The first red flag was the price. $20 for a new game left me feeling like I was being tricked,
but like a dope addict I was lined up waiting happily for the next pile of garbage this genres guardians would dump on me. In the end I have only myself to blame. Perhaps if I would have gotten that letter writing campaign off the ground to petition that 'Insomniac', or 'Naughty Dog' take the helm of this franchise, then mabe things would be different.

This game almost makes me long for the days when activision was in command. Avoid this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Call this Star Fleet Battles and you have a deal

posted by catfish182 (COLUMBUS, OH) Nov 30, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is mis titled. Call this game star fleet battles which is based on a old roll playing game in the 80's. google it and see. Anyway if you keep this in mind it is packaged correctly for 15 bucks. there isnt a whole lot to it but it is a nice get away for a bit.
The star trek nerd may not like it as it seems information on this game was gathered by people that never really watched many of the shows. Races from different times are added and devices are labeled for something they really are not. (genesis device for one) and the star fleet characters they pulled are lame as (well you get the idea) This game does not shock me though as the star trek empire is currently in suck mode right now anyway. Wait for the new film and the good games will role in.
Take this game as a lite (very lite) risk with star ship combat and its a fun game. Take it for a star trek game and you might regret even renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

P.T.O in space!

posted by blowitup (North Fort Myers, FL) Dec 2, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I was not expecting much from this game as it is also for the wii. I am not exactly sure which one is worse though Encounters or Conquest. hhmmm?

Any who it is basically a downgraded version of PTO in space.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

love it

posted by erichio1 (GREENVILLE, OH) Jul 31, 2014

Member since Feb 2008

much much better than any other star trek game .but sim the fights otherwise u get a reminder of the sucky ones .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

star trek conquest

posted by ganny5309 (LANCASTER, CA) Jan 11, 2012

Member since May 2011

this is the worst game that I have ever attempted to play and i certainly do not ever want to try it again!!I am so surprised,i thought it would be really good!!!could you please send me the game called sly cooper and the thievius racooonus or drakengard or something in place of this one asap!I would appreciate it tremendously and i thank you!!If you could send it now instead of waiting for the other one to get to you I would appreciate it very much!I am returning the star trek one today!!Thank you,Patricia Smith

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Another Meh.

posted by Tarnished (DALLASTOWN, PA) Dec 19, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

It's not a horrible game, but it's not exactly breathtaking either. There's a reason Star Wars outsells Star Trek in the VG market. The controls are simple, and the interface is basic. The conquest is short, unless you play against all five other races. The borg are only playbale in skirmish, which is a fatal flaw here. You best race and you can't use them in Conquest? Another meh. Another Meh is you can choose to play every battle for a planet instantly, instead of simming the battle or arcade. Instant battles and you can take over the whole map in less then an hour, and then there's not much else to do here.
A good time waster, if you have ten minutes to kill. Other than that, I don't see the point really.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not the best game

posted by rpgdude (CHAPARRAL, NM) Oct 21, 2009

Member since Sep 2005

well when I played this game the first thing I noticed was a lack of challenges. Not to mention even thought there are differences between the races they are big enough. As for the battles, they are interesting if you decided to play the arcade version. Now if they could take this game idea and redo it to seem more like star war battle front. then it might actually be worth a second look at it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

STAR TREK

posted by sergeant (TAMPA, FL) Aug 10, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

No tutorial and not very easy to understand primary goal's!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Don't Waste Your Time With This Game

posted by TARDIS10 (LEWISTON, ME) Aug 7, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

Star Trek: Conquest is a poorly executed, highly imbalanced strategy game. The basic plot is everyone's at war with everyone else, and the goal is to take control of all the star systems before your opponent(s) do. One thing that would have helped is a tutorial, showing people new to the turn-based strategy genre how to play. Another complaint I had is all of the characters featured were second- and third-tier characters, most of which had only appeared in only ONE episode. As a Trekker, I know the games are hit-and-miss, mainly miss. Bethesda has only made 2 good Trek games: Tactical Assault for the DS and the PSP and Legacy for the Xbox 360 and PC. Please, stay away. Far away!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not worth your time

posted by Manamal (CLEVELAND, OH) Feb 28, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

Extremely disappointed in game , not much action and really boring! I am a Star Trek Fan which makes the game more disappointing, What a let down!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

kinda like star trek ps2 risk

posted by gameguy102 (SEARCY, AR) Sep 2, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

I liked playing this game its kinda like star trek risk. For anyone who likes risk, star trek, strategy games, or just video games try it!its prety fun once you get the hang of it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Star Trek: Conquest..

posted by Espresso (PORT ORCHARD, WA) Sep 1, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

Nice little short Star Trek battle sim, key word being 'short'. About the time it takes to learn the controls, it's over.

Other then that, it was fun while it lasted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

7 Stages of Grief

posted by MrCritical (SARASOTA, FL) Aug 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2005

Star Trek fans, myself included, had been searching for a title worthy of this name sake. I'm sorry to say, this isn't it. I went through the 7 stages of acceptance on this one. At first I couldn't believe Bethesda could get licensing for a game this low budget and poorly executed. Then I was angry I wasted my time on it and eventually learned to accept it for what it's worth.

Conquest had the potential of a really good Turn Based Strategy Game. Essentially you have a map of the galaxy and must conquer each solar system. This is done by a combination of RISK type movements on the galaxy board along with real-time fleet battles once an attack is initiated.

The problem with conquest is there's not really Star Trek connection as well as small budget and haphazard game play. No main Star Trek characters are highlighted nor are there any voice tracks. Change some ship names and weapon sounds and it could be called by any other name.

You have the ability to research ship upgrades and use special weapons to aid you however, by the time you have the resources to use these upgrades you probably have the game locked up.

The galaxy map is way too small for any large scale strategy session. The real-time battles are extremely repetitive. There is a time saving feature to perform an instant battle but it's useless because you will certainly fair better fighting it out yourself.

In all, this is a disgrace to Star Trek and an insult to the Bethesda name. However, if you are looking for an electronic board game experience which will keep your mind slightly occupied for an hour or so, it's worth the 20 bucks.

I've now moved on to acceptance and am hopeful that someday Star Trek will be done justice. Any one at bioware out there?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's fun but...

posted by Inabnett (DELAND, FL) Aug 18, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

First let me say this game is fun. However, as a strategic game is has little depth. Star Trek:BOTF from ten years ago has more depth than this. The galaxy board is small and the complexity of civilization building and structuring is weak and bland.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Very Two Dimensional

posted by papaclan (Moscow, ID) Aug 10, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

I thought the game was fair. It offered limited 2 dimensional play and not much of a story line. It was not as much fun to play as I antisipated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Strategy Game

posted by MPWARVET (WESTON, WV) Jun 26, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

I found this game to be very enjoyable. I am a fan of Star Trek and a huge fan of strategy games. Star Trek: Conquest is a turn by turn game similar to Risk. There are a "few" extra features that add some twists and turns. Although I was able to defeat the game on my very first try, I had only won using the Federation. There are five other races you can choose from and each has its own pros and cons. A nice feature is you can choose how you want to battle. You can either simulate it or you can choose the arcade version and control your fleet. The battles are NOT turn by turn. They are live action and are a lot of fun. If this game had been available for me to buy it, I would have. Its one of those games that no matter how many times you beat it, it is still fun playing it over and over again. If you are a fan of Star Trek, you will be a fan of Star Trek: Conquest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Could be better

posted by Zimby7979 (AMES, IA) May 14, 2008

Member since May 2008

Overall one of the best Trek games i have ever had the honor to play. There is definit room for improvement, such as the inclusion of more races like the Vulcans or makein the game a bit more even fielded to play, but over a fantastic real time sim game that was enjoyable but suitably difficult to play. I liked it and will most likely be trying to find a copy in my local gamestore to purchase very shortly. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I just don't like strategy games much

posted by elverdador (WICHITA FALLS, TX) Apr 24, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

First, I don't understand why Star Trek games are almost always strategy games, I mean they could make a Star Trek RPG or platform game, right? Anyway, there are some issues with Star Trek: Conquest in particular. To me, it seemed as though no matter who you chose to be, you couldn't choose your enemy. Also, the enemy I faced was always 50 times stronger than my people. That seems to always be the case with strategy games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

star trek conquest

posted by hostile17 (COVINA, CA) Apr 15, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I played Star trek Conquest for about a week and a half, on and off. It’s a neat little game for Star Trek fans as you can assume any race and defend the galaxy in a turn based system similar to online Risk. The game does have its flaws, while you can play on different modes, “Arcade” lets you battle other races in combat orbitting around a system or planet or “Sim” which simulates the battle. I found the Arcade mode clunky and hard to maneuver the ships, so I stuck to sim mode which stimulated further play as you win more and more systems.

While the graphics are decent, it’s nothing Earth shattering, and I could not figure out why the developers didn’t put more time into fleshing out the game, especially the sound system. If you play the federation, you hear similar sounds being repeated, at some point your cadet will shout out “For Earth!” while you blast away enemy ships, which another player correctly points out makes little sense considering Earth is but one planet in the Federation. This is outside of the logistical plot problem that the Federation would not be conquering other races as this contradicts their manadate of exploration and peaceful co-existence, but hey, it’s a game…

The only problem is that even if you utilize all the resources available to you like the 3 super weapons and/or credits used to build up your fleet, a few tactical miscalculations and your opponents (especially the Klingons) will wipe you off the face of the galaxy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not worth the rent

posted by ThorinHG (UKIAH, CA) Feb 13, 2008

Member since Oct 2004

Weak. I've been a Trek fan for years and even if I had never heard of the show(s) I wouldn't enjoy this one. The graphics are outdated, the voice-overs are flat and the fact that it's just an all-out mindless fight-and-hold fight-and-hold gets real old in about 20 mins. The only thing I liked was watching the little photon torpedoes move toward their targets. Sorry Trek fans, no living out your Star Fleet fantasies here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This is Star Trek? Yikes!

posted by washnative (TUALATIN, OR) Jan 8, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

Sorry, but being a Trekkie, I expected more. This game stinks! Gene Roddenberry is probably rolling over in his grave! Nice graphics but that is about it. The game itself was so lame because you didn't really DO anything other than go from point A to point B, fire some weapons (which was hard to figure out!) and that was it. That is is you played the arcade version. Just to get to the simple part, play the Sim part of the game. This is a real snoozer!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This game is weak

posted by JasonC (PHOENIX, AZ) Dec 26, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

This game sucks. There is not point to it. You just fly around in circles to shoot a ships.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No, no, no, no, no. no, no, no, no, no, noooooo!!!

posted by highlander (TULARE, CA) Nov 27, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

How is it physically possible to make a game this horrible? If this had been the first game that I ever played, I would hate video games for the rest of my life!!! Why would Bethesda do such a horrible thing? This game doesn't even deserve a 1 or a 0. It should be more of a -9. Please Bethesda, don't make any more games. I would be ashamed to even know that I created such a monstrosity. I would tell something about this game, but this is what it is. A big steaming piece of nothing. Please, anyone who thinks about renting or buying this game, don't. And please, if you do get the game refrain from killing the people at Bethesda, or at least let me join you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »