Rent Star Trek: Conquest for Wii
view large frontback

Star Trek: Conquest

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2
GF Rating
4.4

637 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Enjoyable for strategy and boardgame lovers

posted by solarsoar (FAIRFAX, VA) Oct 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I did enjoy this game. I'm a Star Trek fan so the context was fine for me. The graphics are nice. And it's simple to play. The only issue I have is choosing the Breen as one of the major players instead of the Borg. The multiple combat schemes (either you get to control the ships, or the ships run through long simulation, or the outcome is determined instantly) allow you to choose how involved you wish to play. Nice to see a Wii game with these strategy aspects to the gameplay. Rare I think for the Wii.

I can understand for those who are not into simple strategy games that this game might seem lame. Place this game is the context of Risk or Masters of Orion, and you'll have an idea of whether you'll like it or not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Conquest yes, Trek no

posted by soundscape (KENNESAW, GA) Dec 14, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

What we have here is an all out war simulation. The entire STNG galaxy is at war with one another. As a combat simulation, I really did enjoy it. However, that is not what I have come to expect from the "keepers of peace". Gone is the humanity of the series that seeks to find the answers to the deeper questions, instead you simply have a hack n slash in space. If you are looking for challenging play and scenarios that derive from the intelligent interplay of species depicted in the world of Trek, turn back. This is simply a battle simulation in which all worlds are out to control the galaxy (even the federation).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not Logical Captain - Clearly not made by a Vulcan

posted by Shazbot (BROOKLYN, NY) Dec 7, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

15 out of 19 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

Imagine , if you will, a three sceene episode...

Scene 1:

The Captain stands at a purchase screen in a Starbase purchasing new ships, mines (the dig in the ground kind) and defenses. Having exhausted his credits he beams back to the ship for.....

Scene 2:

"Navigator, show me the star charts" he says. Examining the limited map of known space the Captain picks a likely nearest star system with a low ranking - (he has them ranked by a crude 1 star, 2 star etc system which must have been collated by a robot drone probe). "Engage" he says with a characteristic hand movement and the ship smoothly moves into the system. Cut to...

Scene 3:

The Captain is troubled. He is confronted by an alien force and must make two crucial decisions.
Firstly, whether to retreat or fight and secondly if he fights should he do so under manual control or let the mew supercomputer installed by time travel back to the first series (think about it)control the fighting. As he is no wimp he opts for manual control.

The fight starts and something is clearly wrong. "Engineer, why are we spinning around in circles?". "Cap'n, the front of the ship appears to be tied to a black hole in the center of the screen, I cannae get away from it. Even when I engage the full drive of the engines all I do is move slightly toward it" the Engineer replies.

"Well that will make it very hard to fight as the enemy ships seem to be able to manuever at will and come in off the screen in any direction. Oh well fire at will and do your best." the Captain sighs.

Epilogue: Captain either wins or loses and return to repeat the episode from Scene 1 - and repeat and repeat....

-----

Now if that seems a really bad concept for a TV episode then it should - and it made a really bad game too. While I've obviously hammed it up that is a reasonable description of how the game goes if you are watching.

20 years ago there was a game called Elite for PC, ST, Amiga - that should have been this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not as bad as you'd think

posted by IncubusJax (MAPLE VALLEY, WA) Jan 6, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Space, the final frontier, but none of that matters because this is ST: Conquest!

It's like the Game of RISK, but Star Trek Style.

So here's the setup - the universe has gone to poo, and now it's every man for himself. If you choose a conquest game, you get a game board. For example, I played Federation, so I started out with Earth and the Voyager. You get three types of ships - Galaxy, Voyager and Defiant. I won my "conquest" with Galaxies.

You get three "Fleets" of Nine Ships, and each world can have a starbase, turrets and either a research or mining facility. All are important.

You take your fleet, and you move it to a hostile controlled planet and then you go into 3D battle mode (or you can let the computer decide - fighting yourself always turns out better for you).

In 3D mode you can tell your ships to fire at will, but that never works. Pressing the down arrow tells them to go defensive and up tells them to go offensive but stay in formation. Either way, keep them in formation. It's the only way. I found a standard hit and fade tactic worked best and beat the game that way.

The game if fun, because it mixes that "risk" style board type gameplay with 3D battles - which gives you enough of both worlds to play.

It's a renter for sure, but fun enough. You can tell it was very hastily thrown together, and the video will only output at 420i, so if you're running a 420p, you will be downgraded for this game.

But, not a bad rental if you like Star Trek give it a shot, it's a fairly easy game to play and there is some fun to be had here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Simple but fun

posted by Jonny1500 (BROOKLYN, NY) Dec 15, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game really is aot of fun. the only problem is you can master and complete it in under 4 hours. There is almost no replay value, as there are only two maps and no multi player. BUT, it is alot of fun while you are working through it the first time. This game has so much potential, if only the programmers had worked on it a little while longer. Worth the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

boring!

posted by jlalb06 (LONG BEACH, CA) Feb 17, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I got this game mainly for my husband as he's a major Trekkie fan. We both found it boring and didn't get what the point of the game was. You buy ships then you move your game piece on a board (map)then fight whoeever is there. Then you wait your turn to move again. It just wasn't holding our attention. Perhaps you move to various locations on the map where there are certain symbols or something. I got tired of hearing this one's for Earth when fighting over and over again. It got annoying pretty quick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Set Phasers on "WEAK!"

posted by Spiffysean (PITTSBURGH, PA) Dec 5, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

How do you take one of the most successful franchises of all-time and turn it into such a dreadfully one-dimensional affair? Ask the makers of Star Trek: Conquest.

It's almost like they didn't try. The game lacks depth of any type, and once you've learned the basics for combat and building, you simply rinse and repeat over and over again until you've won. There is no real strategy or planning required. The fleet size is too small, there aren't enough areas to control, and there are not enough differences in the races to make a different game experience for repeated play.

It's like "Risk" meets "Civilization" meets a giant bowl of suck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Should be Star Trek The Last Generation

posted by UserName12 (ROSEBURG, OR) Jan 12, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This is my first ever dive in to the STLG Franchise.

I played the game for about 30 or 40 minutes and decided this game is not even worth the time to play it.

I think that gamefly should remove this from their title list, or at least have a special hot line number so disenfranchised players can quickly get their next queued up item sent to them right away so they can cleanse their WII of horrid taste it left in the drive's gaping maw.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst Game there is on the Wii?

posted by CPUGuy7 (LAFAYETTE, CO) Nov 30, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

Even for a Star Trek nerd like myself, playing this game makes me think I am playing it on the NES and not on the Wii. Even if it was an NES game it would be a bad one of those. Extremely dissapointed and wish they wouldn't even waste their time with such a horrible game. I think that my friends that are programmers could write a better game from their mom's basement then this. DO NOT Rent it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Star Trek game yet...

posted by Darkshark (HILLSBORO, OH) Feb 4, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

Game play is horrible. With the great games we have out today I really expected much more. I couldn't wait for the mailman to come and get it. If I would have bought this game I'd still be screaming and banging my head against the wall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

needs alot of work!!!

posted by copejoe (HILLSBORO, IN) Aug 10, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

Rather play star craft atleast then you'd have more options. Leaves you upset that thery sold this game as is. Its bearly good enough to sale

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Game I'd Rather Own Than Rent

posted by lasombrra (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Dec 2, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

This is the first stratedgy game I've gotten for my consoles that I don't hate, but it still is missing some of the graphics and movie clips I'd want from it. All the same it was a good game I just need to be able to play it at my own time and not at the power through gaming that renting it usually allows.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

sour to sweet

posted by theassasin (RUTLAND, VT) Nov 22, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

the game was bad at first but once you got the hang of the game it was fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

More Conquest Less Star Trek-Overall Good Game

posted by GFunkyone (ORLANDO, FL) Aug 27, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

I would have like to have seen the next Trek VG be story driven rather then strategy, but I quickly fell for this addictive, accumulate and defend/attack strategy game. Has a Star Trek shell and not much else Trek. Fun time waster. (B-)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Star Trek Conquest

posted by sp33calvin (ROSEBURG, OR) Jun 18, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

A very challenging and engaging Star Trek game. Basic strategy principles and Star Trek elements make this simple game a gem of replay. If you like Star Trek and strategy pick it up, only $20. If you don't like Star Trek and strategy, skip it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fun for a day or two

posted by DavisTX (KERRVILLE, TX) Apr 13, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

This is a very, very shallow strategy game with the most limited, rudimentary resource management system I've ever seen. The play scale is tiny, with a map of something like thirty spaces to move, and it takes only a few sessions to see everything the game has to offer. However when engaging in combat you're presented with the options of "sim" or "arcade;" "Sim" is the usual turn-based system, and "arcade" plays as an isometric action shooter which demands some strategic thinking (at least relative to the rest of the game) and can be fun for awhile. Without multiplayer to add any replayability I'd advise even Trekkies against purchasing, but its lack of depth does make it an easy pick-up-and-play game for a weekend's amusement.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Star Trek Conquest

posted by ausable1 (SKANEATELES, NY) Mar 30, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

Controls wacked, stilted play. Could have been so much more. Hoping for a game worthy of the Star Trek legend. Listen, don't bother with this game, it's a throw back to post dos games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This is one of the worst games I have ever played!

posted by kodiakbear (OSWEGO, NY) Mar 23, 2009

Member since Sep 2007

All I can say is Bethesda should be ashamed of themselves.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak, but not un-fun.

posted by billyziege (JAMAICA PLAIN, MA) Nov 13, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

Most reviewers have mentioned the failed connection to the Star Trek (ST) universe already, so I am going to focus on game-play.
The game is somewhat similar to the free-ware Linux Konquest game, yet has species specific abilities and an arcade mode. Being a strategy buff, I played the game mostly without arcade mode.
While it is not poorly constructed, the strategy is poorly balanced. Specifically, the Dominion race is not only over-powered, but has all of the best special weapons in the game. This makes it easy to cream your opponents even on hard mode with all other races activated. Also, both the Breen and the Romulan races rather stink. It is hard to beat the game with these races on easy mode with only 3 other races activated.
Furthermore, there is not very much game to the game. There is absolutely no story and no multiplayer. Just like the Konquest game, the progress of the map is basically randomly determined. However, there is only a single map (part of which is activated for each race.)
All of this combines to make a game that is rather weak. However, saying that, if you are a strategy buff, then this game does provide some amusement. I kept it for about 4 days of before I truly tired of it. That's not too bad. Just don't expect something well balanced and extraordinarily deep.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Seek out new civilizations and blow them up

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Sep 3, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

Star Trek is a brand with tons of potential, but it's had a rough time in the video game market. Star Trek Conquest is no exception. This is a bit shocking since it comes from Bethesda, the same people who brought us the Elder Scrolls series. However, Conquest lacks many of the qualities that make those game great: depth, innovation, length, fun, etc.
Basically, Conquest assumes that six races are vying for conquest of the galaxy. The sole way to do that is by eliminating everyone else. They accomplish this by using a grand total of three ship types (scout, cruiser, dreadnought) and three special weapons. Yeah, that's about as deep as the game gets. Campaign mode has a single map that is used for any scenario you work up. Battles take place in static screens, unless you want to try arcade mode. Arcade mode has you control (sort of) a ship while trying to hit other ships. If the controls made any sense or it seemed to improve your results, this might be fun... but it doesn't and it's not. Unfortunate that the entire skirmish mode is based around arcade mode.
This game just seems so lifeless. There's no story, no custom upgrades for ships and bases, no trade routes and no other ways to win besides utter annihilation. It feels like they took a simple shareware app and slapped a bunch of Star Trek stuff on it. Having said that, I've actually played shareware games in the same vein that proved more complex and strategic. Sad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Star Trek: The board game.

posted by Zerodin (MOUNTAIN VIEW, MO) Aug 26, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

I generally love Star Trek games.
Everything from FMV games, to the first person shooters, and everything in between! Ship combat games are my favorite though! That being said, I found Star Trek: Conquest an interesting diversion!

The plot would make a good series premise. Democracy has failed, now it's everyone for themselves! Peace through conquest. Even Starfleet must resort to military solutions, those who don't adapt become space debris!

Graphically the game isn't top shelf. A good part of the game is spent looking at 2D sprites representing a game board of sorts. But the ship combat graphics are pretty! Not as detailed as say Star Trek: Legacy, but good enough! They get the job done!

In the audio department you can tell that they're reusing some of the same assets from Star Trek: Legacy, and Encounters. Same voice actors, and musical scores. Not bad, like the graphics they are adequate!

Gameplay as I mentioned before is reminiscent of a board game. You have starting points, movable pieces, and an objective, total domination. Here's where the strategic elements come into play, you must build Starbases to build bigger and better fleets, each of the six playable factions has three different ship classes, as well as special weapons that can be used during the "board game" phase.

When you go into battle you have two options, let the computer decide the outcome, or you can do it yourself! I like the latter the best, because you get to direct your fleet to destroy your enemies, in an arcade style battle setting! Good fun!
Winning is quite a challenge, even on the easier settings!

All in all this is a good game. Could have been better, but I've seen far worse!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Kinda Lame

posted by csaw111 (DAVISON, MI) Jul 2, 2008

Member since Nov 2002

This game was awful, the battles are not fun and the micromanaging is tedious. Even if you are a big trekkies this game just is not very good. Waste of a rental space. I wish this game had never gotten into my Que.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fun for about 3 hours.

posted by DarthMogri (CANOGA PARK, CA) Jun 12, 2008

Member since May 2008

While this game was enjoyable for a short period of time, I am happy that I was able to rent it, because if I had bought it I would be very upset.

This game seems like it would be more at home in the Xbox Live Arcade or WiiWare. This title is pretty much what amounts to a pretty Flash game.

In Campaign mode you are able to choose one of eight factions to control. Each one has its advantages and disadvantages. Once your side is chosen you must effectively conquer the galaxy and wipe out your enemy (or enemies depending on what settings you choose). When battling over a star system, the user is given a choice to simulate the battle (with what I assume are complicated equivalents of dice rolls) or to go into Skirmish mode and deal with the enemy yourself.

Skirmish mode is by far the weakest point of this game. It just isn't fun and plays like a high tech version of Asteroids. I stuck to the simulations myself.

There is also a quick Skirmish option in the main menu if you want to forego galaxy conquering antics and get straight to the fighting. As you can imagine, I used this mode only once.

All in all I played two campaigns. One was an approximation of the Dominion War where I controlled the Federation against the Cardassian Union, the Dominion and the Breen. The second was an old school Alpha Quadrant showdown where I controlled the Klingons against the Romulans and the Federation.

As with most strategy games, the key to this game is resource management. While this is fun, once you learn the tricks, it becomes all too easy.

The two campaigns played out very differently due to the difference in the advantages and weaknesses of the two races I controlled. This is one of this game's strengths.

Another strength is very authentic and cool designs for the management menus. Each race has its own style and they are true to Trek.

Try this out if you are a Trek fan. This turn based strategy game isn't bad. It's just not good enough to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Popcorn fun for about half an hour

posted by hendric (AUSTIN, TX) May 23, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

ST:C is like half a game. The Arcade portion of the game is reasonably good, but the strategic portion of the game is abysmal.

For the arcade portion, the action is reasonable, but could use some jazzing up with more unique things per race (like cloaking!!!). Starbases are pathetically weak, and cheap to build. Ships don't really require any strategy other than weapons on full, and aiming ahead of your target. Rate the arcade portion a 6.

For the strategic portion, the play is terrible. You are limited to three fleets, and they cannot be in the same location at the same time, and cannot transfer ships. All ships have to be part of a fleet, so the only way to repair damaged ships is to purchase replacements or wait for them to heal. With only three fleets, it's nearly impossible to defend your planets. Once your three fleets are full of ships, there is no place else to spend your credits. Give the strategic portion a 2.

Mining colonies cost so much and return so little in income (taking 5+ turns to make back what you invest), they are practically useless. The best investment is research colonies, which give back real results. Even so, there are really only two races, those with Genesis devices, and those without. The GD is a twinkie weapon, and once you get enough research colonies to deploy it every turn, the game's essentially over.

For a non-Genesis device race, build nothing but Research facilities, and upgrade your ships as much as possible, and always purchase the largest ships.

There isn't much else to really give out on this game. With no multiplayer, the replayability factor is close to nil.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Star Trek: Conquest -> For Trekkies

posted by Pops1979 (MARION, IL) May 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2004

If you love star trek and turn based games, you will enjoy this title. It is a lot like Star Trek: Birth of the Federation (released on PC). Only this game is much more simple. There is not a lot of action, but more strategy involved.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse