Rent Star Fox: Command for DS
view large frontback

Star Fox: Command

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.1

966 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BEST STAR FOX GAME EVER!

posted by drunkyb (FORT WORTH, TX) Aug 29, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

42 out of 46 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I am very happy to say Fox has returned to his roots of incredible gaming. I'd heard rumors that the game was based entirely upon touch screen control, and I was scared. Trust me, the rumors are true and are not a problem. The touch controls work perfectly for flying Fox's ship, and honestly make the game more fun than any previous version. The action is very fast paced, the story is very involving, and the game is all around great. I believe this is the best Star Fox game ever made, even above the Nintendo 64 version. I only give it a nine because it isn't the absolute best game ever, but trust me it is well worth either your rental or definately worth your purchase time. Graphics A plus, story A plus, is Star Wolf in the game? Yes. It is all good, Fox has finally returned home.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best DS games EVER!

posted by smalowman (ACTON, MA) Sep 1, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Star Fox Command takes all the things that made Star Fox 64 great! The flying is controlled by using the stylus. I first thought that it was gonna be hard but after the first training flight it becomes very simple. Doing flips are easy to do too, just tap on the the screen to either do a loop or a half loop. There is a new attack called the roll where you do allot of rolls to deflect shots or to take down a mother ship, to do a roll you simply move the stylus back and forth. Another great addition is the fact that you will be asked to make choices through out the game to either go to one place or another. At first you can only do certain choices because some are locked, but after you beat the 3 hr story mode you can unlock the other choices witch lead to 9 different endings depending on witch ones you pick! Unlike the other star fox games there is a little turn based strateagy in there too. you use the toch screen to guide your pilots on a map of what looks like an over head view of the planet, to enter battles you guide the pilot to the enemy and then you enter a battle. This gives you a break from the flying. The story in Star Fox Command is great and is always leading to new suprises! The amazing 3-d graphics are the best ive seen on a hand heald ever! The reason i didn`t give this game a 10 is the fact that the battles are too easy and if it wasn`t for the turn based strateagy i would have given it an 8. Also i beat the final boss in the time it took me to tie my shoe. The pilots in the game speek giberish so that stinks too and there is a feature where you say a couple words into the microphone and the characters talk in your tone of voice, that would be cool if they didn`t speak giberish! The wifi play rules! Its alot of fun to dogfight with other people online. Overall Star Fox Command is a solid DS title and if you likeed the others youll like this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just didn't work for me...

posted by SapphireLibra3 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Nov 5, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's rare that I don't like a game, but I just didn't really like this game. It wasn't awful to me, but I'm not going to lie, I was very disappointed with this. The game play wasn't Star Fox to me, and the story was so difficult to follow. Krystal was really OOC (Out Of Character) to me and I didn't understand why people had the Great Fox when they weren't with Fox. Like when you have to play as Star Wolf at a certain point, and for some reason, they have ROB and the Great Fox with them. WHY?! They aren't with Star Fox!

All in all, I just didn't understand the game at all. You can play it if you want, but in truth, I didn't care for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

weaksauce

posted by peppers (APOPKA, FL) Mar 4, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pros:
Characters have the classic starfox look, feel, and vocals.
Gameplay appearance has the old starfox look.
Rolling the ship by moving stylus back and forth was kind of fun.

Cons:
Steering your ship is done by "drawing" on the DS with a stylus . Awkward and unnatural. I'd rather use the regular controls as I would if I was really flying a ship.

Targeting system and camera very weird, which made it time consuming to kill an enemy. The majority of the time was spent circling the enemy to try to target it.

Mapping an invasion plan was not in the tutorial. You draw a line on a map from your ship to the enemy area to determine where you want to travel and fight. Game doesn't tell you to do so, you just have to figure it out. While figuring it out, I used up some "moves" - and to begin with I was only allowed a total of, say, 4 or 5 moves. Also had difficulties figuring out how to get from the map to the gameplay (enemy encounters).

Time limits. (If you don't kill x number of enemies in 30 seconds, you run out of fuel). This was the real deal breaker. Due to the cheesy targeting system and camera, this was very annoying and kept kicking me out of my game saying I failed the mission.

Summary:
I loved the old console version of Starfox. I would not recommend this game to players looking for the old Starfox to reminisce. I would also not recommend this to people new to Starfox because this game is lame and does not capture the essence of what Starfox should be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hail, Furries!

posted by SmartBombs (DECATUR, AL) Sep 11, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

See more reviews at the smart-bombs website!

I allowed the clerk at my local game store to play the copy of Star Fox Command that was lodged in my DS. "Is it good?" he asked, "Like Starfox 64?"
Wow. Was 64 really the last good Starfox game?It's hard to say if Command is as good, because it's such a major departure from the series' norms. Part turn-based strategy, part dogfight, Command is a strange combination that works surprisingly well (chalk one up to "two great tastes taste great together"). You and the computer take turns moving units around the playing field. Flight paths are drawn with the stylus, and the "fog of war" can be removed by scrubbing it away. You have only a few turns to complete your objectives, so you must choose your paths wisely.
When one of your fighters engages an enemy squadron or base, play switches to dogfight mode. The stylus based control is fantastic for maneuvering your fighter, but bogs down other operations, like rolling. But even with great controls, I never felt like my actual piloting skills were being challenged, like in the classic rail levels of yesteryear. All skirmish stages are square and flat, with ugly, polygonal enemies peppered throughout. To win, you must destroy specific enemies. These fights aren't bad, just repetitive and a little slow, sometimes. Dogfights are dragged down by a timer that supposedly represents fuel, although apparently all fighters share the same tank. Timers were originally used in arcade games to extort money from patrons. It's time to get rid of them.
The sheer number of playable characters is amazing: get ready to play as every person who ever flew a ship in the Starfox universe, as well as several new ones. Each different character also has their own unique craft, and they're all pretty well balanced. There are also nine different endings, each interesting and blessed with some slick artwork.
Multiplayer is simple and fun, but it's a shame the strategic element wasn't included.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Plays well, but not the Star Fox I'm looking for

posted by darklighte (Claremont, CA) Oct 2, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Nintendo did a great job of adapting the controls of the Arwing to the Nintendo DS, and I have to say that flying is pleasantly easy in Star Fox: Command. That said, I find the single player mode to be terribly disappointing. I really enjoyed the divergent paths of Star Fox 64, but Command includes too much divergence. I want every run through single player mode to culminate in an all-out assault on Venom. Also, every mission is in the free range mode featured in Star Fox 64. There are no linear levels, which was really disappointing, as I found the linear levels in Star Fox 64 to be the best, as they built dramatic tension well and gave you interesting things to fly circles around. While I haven't tried it, I expect this game is much better off sticking to multiplayer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great

posted by mstrshk (MIAMI, FL) Sep 7, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Anyone who rates this game less than a 9 is sorely mistaken. The first two star fox games were among the best of their respective generations. I still remember shooting out of the base in the opening sequence of the first game, and the many many hours spent in Star Fox 64's multiplayer, somersaulting and u-turning and wishing that the graphics and controls could live up to the potential of an excellent 3-D flying and dog fighting experience.

A decade later, Nintendo has finally delivered that game. At its core, the gameplay of Command is equivalent to that of the originals. The lack of on-rails missions is not the egregious diversion from the series's roots that the detractors claim. To the contrary, the 3-D plains are the logical progression of the formula. I can only guess that these same nay-sayers would be crying about the game's lack of progressiveness had the on-rails segments been retained.

Moreover, the core-collecting element breaths depth, breadth, and variety into the game. Much like New SMB, you can fly through it or savor it.

The strategy part of Command adds to this. You can choose how difficult you'd like the game to be by choosing how many items to pick up, which characters to send on which missions, how often you want to use missiles, etc. It isn't supposed to be a "strategy game" tacked on as an after-thought. It lets the player decide what kind of game Command will be.

And then there are the controls. Now, my first impression was that this is the closest I've been to playing a Wii game. Replace the stylus with the remote, and you're there. Barrel rolling feels like barrel rolling. Doing a sharp turn, well, you get the idea.

Add a decent story, perfectly terrible yet enjoyable dialogue, and the longest lasting appeal of any DS game, and you've got darn close to a 10.

If you still disagree, go pick up a That's So Raven game. You'll probably enjoy the heck out of it, since you clearly live in the bizarro universe.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Had great potential, but a slight disappointment.

posted by mtrusela (PHOENIX, AZ) Sep 17, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have always been a huge fan of the Star Fox games, especially the N64 version, I had to of beaten that game 50 times. When i found out this was coming out I was very excited, but I then became rather disappointed as I played.
The control thing was some what weird for about a couple of minutes, but then became very natural.

I guess the biggest disappointment is that this game doesn't feel like the Star Fox I was used to playing. The entire set up of the game is different. The most annoying part is the way missions are set up. You have a map and you use the styles to guide you, until you crash into an enemy target, and then you do a little mission in an outdoor arena type set up, and all of it is timed. It's just boring, it doesn't feel like the old star fox, in which you actually flew through a level and then venture of to the next planet. This is basic set up like Street Fighter, but only with flying, its lame.

The game play is ok and the wifi is alright, but even that will still lead to disappointment.
I'm not saying this game is bad, i'm just saying that based on what star fox was, don't get your hopes up, but I'd recommend that you at least give it a try, that's why you have Gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just say no to stylus action

posted by KainAzerot (SAN DIEGO, CA) Sep 6, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game has okay graphics and good sound, the ideas behind the game and missions are nice. but it falls completely short of being anything but worthless because of the idiotic stylus based controls system. You have to use the stylus on the stylus screen while watching the flight on the other screen and to do much of the special moves you have to look down and touch certain points on the screen. It's just another stylus min game. Why even put buttons on the DS?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Turn-based strategy + classic Starfox play =SWEET!

posted by Trumpetman (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 10, 2006

Member since May 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The last two Starfox entries were a bit clunky with the on-foot action, which disappointed many fans. Now, the furry captain's handheld debut takes the gameplay back to its old roots with some unique turn-based strategy added. It may sound a bit odd, but believe me;this combination works and it's awesome! The graphics are some of the best on DS, with each character's ship looking different. The new voice recognition feature can give you a lot of laughs, and the music is very varied. Once you get used to the controls, it'll be a piece of cake! This game will definitely keep gamers up all night; it's ONE HARD GAME. It might have gamers have fits, but this game is so fun that you might not even care that much! This is definitely the best Starfox game since Starfox 64.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Do a barrel role Fox!

posted by Alex788 (ASPEN, CO) Sep 8, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

When I first herd that Star Fox was coming out for the DS i was thrilled. My favorite game franchise of all time, is now made compact for on the Go barrel role action! Soon latter though I found out that that you control the ships with the DS touch screen. I was quite worried that this would deter from the game play. Boy was I wrong. It's a blast to use the DS touch screen. Another great feature is the command phase. Before each round, you plot out your course on a battle map. This new feature is much appreciated. With killer graphics and Great sound there is not much to complain about this game. If I could find one problem though, it would probably be the difficulty. The game is a bit too easy. I understand that Nintendo wants this to be a game for "everyone", but still I found it to be too easy. With that having been said, finley we have a Star Fox game for the DS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Pretty lame

posted by ElSancho (EVERETT, WA) Sep 23, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

I personally did not like this game at all, maybe because I was expecting a normal Starfox game. The stylus control is the worst part.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This is a Waste!

posted by TreasonX (BROCKTON, MA) Sep 28, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Nintendo has been killing Star Fox. There hasn't been a good starfox game since n64.

Controlling the ship with a pen is just plain stupid and really kills the fun of this game. If only I could have flown the ship with the normal dpad this game would have rocked.

Nice going nintendo.. Starfox is d d d d dead..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Instant regret

posted by Bobomb (REDMOND, WA) Sep 4, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 16 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

Simple strategy game + star fox should be fun, but it just isn't.

- The controls make the game much harder that it needs to be
- Every mission is strictly timed
- You have to spend too much time staring at the dull lower screen map in order to figure out where to fly & what to do

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

THIS GAME IS THE BEST

posted by jgygfbhujo (TEMPLE CITY, CA) Sep 1, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS THE BEST BECAUSE IT FEELS LIKE YOUR IN THE THE GAME IT IS THE BEST GAME EVER IN THE WORLD.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Length?

posted by Kankkles (VILLA RICA, GA) Jan 12, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

Was not long enough. Beat the game in 2hrs. max.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worse Than Nintendogs

posted by smj1394 (CAMPBELLSBURG, KY) Aug 16, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This game is terrible. You just fly a stupid ship around and shoot and other ships. It just does not get any more exciting than that. And that is very boring. If this is what shooter games are like, I hate shooter games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by pichihime (CANTON, GA) Jul 27, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I was not a big Star Fox fan when I rented this game, and barely knew the franchise existed, but apon reading about the game, I decided to give it a try. I loved the feel to each level, and the ability to choose your path on the game and get different endings, but I only unlocked two, witch were, in my opinion, the worst endings the game had. I did not really know much about the charecters in the seires, but could tell the relationships almost instantly. I loved Falco and I played his story line the most, witch led me to discovering that the rest of the team had beaten the bad guy without Falco, witch led to a bad ending. The reason I only unlocked two endings is because my 8 year old bro and 6 year old sis made me send it back 'cuz they thought it was boring, so because young people have such short attention spans, don't get this unless your siblings are 10 and up

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Star Fox: Command

posted by pickle430 (HOUSTON, TX) Jan 7, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

It's just a sucky version of starfox. It's just not like starfox 64...I don't recommended it to anyone.But, to eaches own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Why would they do this?

posted by GreenHero (BATON ROUGE, LA) Dec 17, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

I have been a huge Star Fox fan my since I played the first one and I am personally tired of companies thinking it's okay to take out all the things that make games good and screw them over. I couldn't play this terrible game. Not the best review here but I am just venting my rage and disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good game, but controls are hard.

posted by Olsuma (SILVER SPRING, MD) Nov 10, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

I like the game and the story. BUT the controls are kinda like the old starfox games. I kept on dying at a certain point because of the controls. and it does not allow you to change the button layout. you need to use the stylus to steer the Arwing (ship).

Overall i like the story but hate the controls.

I like the classic controls that you use with console systems and not portables.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible!

posted by COOLTOAST (UPLAND, CA) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2006

man i like starfox but not this man! dont even rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Star Fox Command Review

posted by meep20 (EAST WINDSOR, NJ) Dec 8, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

Star Fox is a great game but to fight you have to make a plan so it can be boring at sometimes but it is a great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

lol

posted by patrick2 (OXFORD, ME) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

i love starfox but i do not love starfox it is
good but you do the same theng you do in 64 ok do a barel roll
:P

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by jarock2010 (HILLPOINT, WI) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

i never thought that any of the starfox games would be so addicting but thisone had so many mini maps that i could play for three days after i beat the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse