Rent Star Fox Assault for GC
view large frontback

Star Fox Assault

Not Rentable
GF Rating
7.4

1740 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but short.

posted by vgjunkie (VANCOUVER, WA) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Mar 2004

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I found this game very fun, but I finished it in less than a day. I found myself playing it a second time, but I don't know if I would buy it. It's a good game to rent, but not enough replay value to buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Short, but fun!

posted by The24Fan (CASTLE ROCK, CO) Oct 21, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Because it was short, I was less stressful than the Star Fox Adventures game.

Story: 6/10
Graphics: 9/10
Gameplay: 8/10
Overall: 7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game Roxs

posted by Youngbull (HUNTINGDONVALLEY, PA) May 6, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is great there's so many things to unlock like ships courses and one secret mini game you can play as i think 6 characters on versus mode and there's a lot of levels this game is addicting and really fun to play don't know why people gave it a 7 or less

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A M A Z I N G

posted by jacob20985 (BEDFORD, NY) Mar 29, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is a one of a kind that takes you into a fantasy planet with memorable moments and beautiful landscapes. this game is one worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mediocre at best...

posted by BloodWolf (SNOWFLAKE, AZ) Jun 4, 2006

Member since May 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

(WARNING) "Game Spoiler"
I wanted to love this game, being a fan of Starfox for 64. The space battles could have been done much more complex, but felt as though sacrifices were made in order to focus on ground battles. In short, I enjoyed the space battles for 64 more than in this game. Everything was so annoyingly simple and repetitive. I had to finish the game however because I'm just stubborn like that. I watched in horror as Wolf (My favorite character) ends up helping Fox and joins the fight against evil. Why can't cool bad guys ever just stay bad? Also the fact that they keep making you think Peppy dies, but bring him back twice in the same game. All in all, I found it a short, simple, unoriginal, repetitive game. This is all just my opinion however.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

tight...killing animals with a machine gun...

posted by SHRIMP (CYPRESS, TX) May 28, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is not your every day shooter, this is awesome! kill animal-bad-guy-type-things with homing missiles, machine guns, sniper riffles, etc.
This is a really fun game and multiplayer rocks!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Really Good game

posted by Bloos1RP (FOOTHILL RANCH, CA) Jun 23, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Star fox Assault is a great game in the Star FOx series ,it's one of the best Star fox Game aside Star Fox 64. The good part about this game that it has great graphics ,great game play and amazing music. The bad part about this game is that story mode is too short, Bad camera angle during on foot missions and It's hard to unlock the bonus stuff. Other than that Star Fox is a great game for Star Fox fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Horrible, lazy game design. Namco does it again!

posted by gonzo3333 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 15, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2003

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First of all, I just wanted to say, why the heck did Namco make this? Okay, in story mode, the first level starts out with you in the Arwing. It's like a traditional level from the old Starfoxs. It was fun, and if only every level was like that, I'd probably give this game a strong 9 or higher. Then, onto level 2... Sloppy piece of rotten donkey dingleberries!! The whole time I was like "what the heck is going on!" I tried gold mode, then silver mode, and then bronze mode. Bronze mode is easy. You can cruise through the whole game with bronze mode. Silver mode is pretty easy, just you can't really beat it with your eyes closed. And while gold mode isn't THAT hard, it's still pretty difficult. Mostly because of the fact that there are so many enemies that shoot you with their annoying little projectile weapons, that you don't even have a chance to shoot them back. The flying levels on gold are a breeze though. About 3 or 4 levels are flying. The rest are land levels.There are only 10 levels. That is actually a relief to me. I didn't want to stay in front of the TV with Starfox Assault on the screen a second longer. Quite a few unlockables. You can unlock a level for multiplayer by beating a level on one player mode. Or you can unlock the classic game "Xevious" by collecting all the silver badges, which isn't much of a hassle. But mostly, you just unlock levels, or weapons for vs. mode by playing a certain amount of matches. Multiplayer mode is fun depending on who you play it with. It's done badly, and looks cheap, but it's still fun at times. The only reason I'm not giving this game such a low score is because of multiplayer mode and the Arwing levels. Also, there are many profiles and records for vs.mode/story mode, so that's a plus.

So you should try this game out by renting it, and might like it, but don't expect a masterpiece.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Sure Beats a Hard Kick in the Face (or does it?)

posted by sean794 (HOUSTON, TX) Jul 9, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

When I got this game back in '05, I was excited by the fact that Fox would throw that asinine staff he used in Star Fox Adventures into a fire and then get the heck back in the Arwing where he belongs. Sadly, my hopes of a full return to form were crushed when he started going on foot by the second mission. Apparently, Nintendo doesn't can't learn from it's mistakes very well, and that's why I want to smack Satoru Iwata until his eyeballs switch places.

The game's story takes place one year after the nonexistent "Star Fox" game that never happened EVER (and it will never have happened in any space time continuum you put it in), and this time around, the team, without Barrel Roll Peppy, who is instead replaced by some "telepath", honestly. Also, there is a new scourge in the galaxy and whatnot and Star Fox has to go stop it.

This game's story is also full of plot holes, but I don't feel like going into it because you'd probably notice them unless you need help dressing yourself in the morning they're that glaringly obvious.

However, the game somewhat makes up for it with better Arwing and Landmaster controls, a decent multiplayer and the other people not being complete idiots like in 64. But, another crippling factor of the game is the fact that you are unable to choose your own path through the game. Also, there only 10 missions in the story mode, making it not worth it except to unlock stuff.

All in all, the game is by no means BAD, it's just keeping it's head above the toxic sewage oil spill that is most of the GameCube's game library. I'd only say get this game if you're a die hard Star Fox fan. Let's just hope that Star Fox Wii is better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

man

posted by idkuwell (STUDIO CITY, CA) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game didn't live up to my expectations of the n64 game the game should of been all flying missions. This game is a rental not a buy unless ur that much of a star fox fan!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Starfox Assault

posted by gamer92 (NAPA, CA) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

First of all this is a very different Starfox game from all the others, because you are on land, in a land-master(tank), or in air. This game is good but not as good as it should.
On land Fox is fast but what slows him down is the lack of turning abilities and the clunky controls. I found myself constantly getting killed by enemies from behind because I couldn't turn around. The guns are good and target and fire well but there needs to be more of a selection of guns.
In the tank is absolutely terrible! But hey they tried to improve on the great Starfox 64 game. O.k. targeting is good but hard. Movement harder than god knows what. It does sufficient damage when needed.
In the air is the best part of the game. Perfect movement perfect firepower and shooting. Still the Nintendo 64 version was the best.
Bosses are not very good and FREAKING easy. Could they have saved General Pepper Either. And what about Peppy he was awesome.
All in all rent if possible. Starfox fans will be pleased. 7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is my favorit out of the rest.

posted by GRAYWOLF501 (NOKESVILLE, VA) Jun 13, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

The title says it all. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

perfect

posted by maximus5 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jan 19, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

it's awesome best game ever!Hope other people like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Average

posted by CutePandii (Pompano Beach, FL) Sep 11, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

The game is good, I like the story line and all, but at times, it is hard to tell where your pointer is at, or what is going on, becasue there is to much happneing on the screen. It's an average game, but the graphics could have been better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

liked Star Fox 64? prepare to be dissapointed...

posted by ganesheik (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Oct 24, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Star Fox Assault is an utter destruction of the classic titles. The in space battles are atrocious. There are so many things wrong with this game it is ridiculous. The first thing I noticed right away was the music. They turned the beautiful soundtrack of the 64 game and technoized it. With the new hardware, that runs on CD technology, why would you resort to techno? It just sounds terrible. Next up: The audio. No more satisfying laser noises or explosions. They've all been replaced by more family friendly messages that say, "Wow, look at you, you managed to blow this guy up!!! What, I'm in the way? Oh, sorry!!" But but by the time he's gone so are the parts of the futile ship you destroyed. When you grab a mushroom in Mario Bros, It is satisfying because of the combination of the 'bloop bloop bloop' noise and the graphical change of Mario getting bigger. Star Fox breaks the fundamental game design rule of player gratification. If player do good, give player treat. Next up: graphics. The character models were decent. Too bad they were only in there for 10 min, and you had to listen to hours of boring dialog to look at them. Everything else in the game is what you'd expect from a sequel. Overall 3/10 for the destruction of a series that could have walked alongside Mario and Zelda.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

How it was, and review.

posted by Naruko (ROSWELL, GA) May 17, 2009

Member since May 2009

It was a intresting game. You would have to play adventures to know. It has a good ending. It ends to the piont that they can't make another. You play as fox all the game, but, in duel mode you can also play as Krystal, Falco, and slippy. Peppy is too old for air fights. You can get medals and flags.You should watch the intro of the game to get a test (it starts the whole game, before the menu screen). It has way better graphics than the past one. It is not like adventures where you get to rome miles of space, no you have 2 miles, it has the ability to use the land master, Arwing, and on foot with when you can get diferent guns. Andross is dead, but his fleet is still intact. It's enemy is something called apariods. Wolf shows up without pigma. Apariods take over genral pepper, peppy, pigma, roob, and even fox's dad. Tricky shows up too. Peppy is the only one exept the star fox team, posibly star wolf to make it out alive. An extra game with it. Fox does not have that staff anymore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

love it but hard at times

posted by bobman (FALLS CHURCH, VA) Nov 22, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

this game is awesome but at times it was very annoying i would ignore the T rating it should be E+10 i would recommend this to anybody and to anyone who has super smash bros i played this game and was awesome with falco and fox rent this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

King Kool

posted by kingkool (LARCHMONT, NY) Jul 10, 2008

Member since May 2008

2 years ago I almost beat this game. I needed to deliver One more shot with my ship. but one more blow to me and I would be dead. Of coarse i died. so i said i would come back to it tomorrow. but, my memory card broke. I was so mad I sent it back to block buster. Now here i am 2 years later playing the game after i thought i would never play again. OK enough about lets get to the game. You can switch off from ground, air, and space. You play as a fox named Fox Mcloud. You are the fierce leader of the star fox armand. Your enemy is a wolf bent on destroying the star fox union. It is up to you to destroy them, and save the star fox union.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Skip this adventure

posted by KBIT55 (ELLICOTT CITY, MD) Jun 26, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

Compared to the other Star Fox games, this one is probably the worst I've seen. The only good thing about the game I can think of is playing the Arwing sections of the game. It gets back to the good old rail-shooting action that Star Fox 64 had. The Landmaster and on-foot missions just flat out stink, since the controls for them are so completely wonky. The dialog in the game is also pretty bad, and the character animations are so jittery, it's just painful to watch.

So, skip this adventure and play Command, instead. Much more fun than this outing. If you really want to know how the story goes, search for videos of the cutscenes on YouTube and save yourself the trouble of playing this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

its ok

posted by rjhoney (KRUM, TX) May 29, 2008

Member since May 2006

it was okay,gameplays pretty cool but dont wast your money to buy this one,rent it first,if you like it then buy it,anyway its a pretty good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Too many land battles

posted by prime01 (SOUTHAVEN, MS) May 3, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

The space battles, although sparse, Were what I'd expect in a star fox game. But, there were too many land battles. The land battles in Star fox 64 were cool, but didn't dominate the game as much. Also, you didn't actually get out of your vehicle. I didn't care for having to control Fox around on foot. I wanted to fly around and blow stuff up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun but Short Who cares it Star FOX!

posted by sXeJoE (SUN VALLEY, CA) Jan 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2007


Awesome game i had lots of fun playing this
The only complaint i have on this game is its short but i played it about 3 times so replay value wise is Great.... I hope they plan a sequel in the future for the Wii
REASONS WHY IT NEEDS A SEQUEL!
1. Graphics would be a little better
2. Possibly Online play
3. Its Star Fox who wouldn't want a sequel!...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

take these BUGS out!

posted by griffin090 (SHAKER HEIGHTS, OH) Jan 15, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

this game was perfect exept that you could beat it in 2 hours! plus the villains are bugs. ( not a wise choice ) good job nintendo!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

sweet

posted by totoro (SEATTLE, WA) Dec 29, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

the game was awesome. great graphic and puzzels

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FINALLY!

posted by Fox101 (GUILFORD, CT) Apr 22, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

This game is so cool! You get blasters, machine guns, sniper rifles, and much more! The on-foot missions are great, but the arwing missions are better then fun! The only downside to this game is that it's really short. But it has great replay value. Trust me, buy this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse