Rent Star Fox Adventures for GC
view large frontback

Star Fox Adventures

Not Rentable
GF Rating
7.5

654 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun, but can get extremally challenging at certain

posted by Azzgnome (CASTAIC, CA) Oct 24, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought that this game was a really good game,great graphics, really good gameplay, and the two boss battles were great. This game also makes you think, so its pretty tough at certain pointswhich is good, because every game needs to get harder as you get further. Another part that this game did not have that would make it better would have been multiplayer.

But if you like strategy/adventure/an action games, this game has all three so I highly recomend it. If you liked this game you will also probaly like Starfox assualt as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Cool

posted by frag122 (NORTH ATTLEBORO, MA) Jun 18, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I HIGHLY recommend this game for people who play video games a lot and are good at puzzles. this game has a lot of confusing things in it but you will figure it out. i even got stuck trying to figure out one thing and it took me a whole day to figure it out... i like the ending too, but doesnt really lead into Star Fox Assault. it dosent tell u at the end that Krystal gets into the star fox team. but anyway, its not really a star fox game because star fox is mostly about flying the R-Wing, but you spend your time on foot for most of the game. very great game for- Romance, Adventure, Puzzles, and Comedy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Like Star Fox meets Legend of Zelda

posted by SapphireLibra3 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Nov 5, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was interesting. I like Star Fox as a whole, and while this game felt different from other Star Fox games, I thought it was fun. It put me in the mind of Ocarina of Time at some points, which I thought was really cool. I totally recommend getting this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Star Fox: Adventures

posted by McCloud23 (GLENDALE, AZ) Aug 16, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game will test your brain to the limit in some parts, but it's a fun challenge. The story goes that you have to save a specific planet from destruction. It has split apart into different sections and you have to collect 4 Spellstones and return each one to the Temples in the game to put this planet back together. I heard from the employees at GameStop that Star Fox: Assault was better. It was a great game, but I liked Star Fox: Adventures a lot better. I almost forgot to mention that there is a really hot female fox named Krystal in this game. If you are just getting into the Star Fox series, try the Super Nintendo and the Nintendo 64 games too. Thanks for reading.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun, Challegning, Stressful

posted by The24Fan (CASTLE ROCK, CO) May 28, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Th game is all together fun, but it gets very hard at times. You can posible get a heartattack from playing too much of this game. But that's what makes it better than Star Fox: Assault. Star Fox Adventures has better graphics here and there, but if you really like shoot em' ups, you probably will not like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Exclusive Game for the Cube

posted by captainvys (PAONIA, CO) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Starfox Adventures is a fun adventure game for the gamecube, it may be cheesey at points, but it is a fun and challenging game,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

If i could I Would Give this A 9.5....

posted by sXeJoE (SUN VALLEY, CA) Jan 25, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Wow I think that this is the best Star Fox And the best game On GameCube...

I would hope they make a sequel of this game on the Wii but i highly dout it
Or at least make a Star Fox game on Wii That would be tight.....

If you see this Game any where, dont think about getting it JUST get iT!......

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

star fox just keeps getting better!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by griffin090 (SHAKER HEIGHTS, OH) Jan 19, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

good villain, good puzzles, good charachters, good design! get this game!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

RPG ROCKS!

posted by Underdog (KINGS BEACH, CA) Dec 12, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well i've been playing star fox from the beginning on, and the games before were great, but when i played adventures i was blown away the graphics were amazing the story line great and the fact that they went from stage game to rpg, it's amazing its just a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

great game

posted by kid_muscle1 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Nov 25, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

star fox itself is a fun game although star tfox adventures is a very challenging yet interesting game the controls take some time to get used to for a person who hasnt played it before

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It wasn't bad but....

posted by Quicksilver84 (SPRINGFIELD, IL) Jul 23, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

The Good: Fox takes the role of walking around and kicking butt... it seems like a nice concept...

The Bad: There are not real R-Wing battles or anything else that gives you the classic Star Fox feel. And the instructions from Peppy get not only confusing, but annoying!

The Ugly: Controls are frustrating at times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

theres no ships,its nowhere the same as snes or 64

posted by toad3125 (CHICAGO, IL) Dec 9, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

theres no fox,falco,peppy and slippy shoting in ships.now theres just fox and some !$#%&.i just plane hate it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Best "Star Fox" Game

posted by vdrguy (ACTON, CA) Jul 7, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Many people concider Star Fox 64 to be the best Star Fox game but their wrong. While this game may have very little arwing flight sequences it is still the best game Fox McCloud has ever been in (Not counting Smash Bros.).

This game sees Fox travel to Dinosaur Planet to stop the evil General Scales from destroying it. This game has a very Kiddie feel to it. The entire Cast, except for the Star Fox crew and a new character Krystal, are prehistoric creatures. Fox's Side-kick is a young triceratops named Prince Tricky.

This Game plays very much like a Zelda game with cool dungeons, an expanding arsonal of attacks and moves, and cool boss fights. One thing this game has over Zelda is voice acting. It is Great and everyone has a full voice acting.

The combat is slick and very well done. The only problem is it doesn't expand beyond simply swinging you staff around (Fox isn't allowed a blaster).

The controls work well but arn't the best the gamecube has to offer. Much too much significance is placed on the c-stick, but it does free up the face buttons for simple actions like attack and talk. The only bad part is aiming with your staff. This game uses a stupid aiming mechanic where if you let go of the joystick the crosshair goes back to the center of the screen. Hitting stationary targets is tough and hitting moving ones is near impossible.

The Story is simple and the world is beautiful. There are no loading screens and once you get the lay of the land travell is quick and easy.

While you may not concider this to be a true star fox game it is still an amazing game to play and easily one of the best games on the gamecube.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Oh Retro, give this a redo.....

posted by McMegaBuster (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) May 17, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This is one of the few games I have kept through one trade-in frenzy after another. This game isn't perfect, but it does a lot of things right that most Nintendo games haven't managed even up until now.
Graphics & Presentation: The graphics are very good (for the time, anyway). Even now, they are not unpleasant to look at much the same way games like Mario 64 and Ocarina of Time still remain pleasant graphically, even though graphically primitive. Much like Metroid Prime, while some things may look last-gen, others will surprise you, like Fox's fur for example. The texture of Fox's fur looks authentic, even now
Another key thing is Voice Acting. Sure, Nolan North Fox is not, but the voice actor fits him, and does a good job of making an anthropomorphic space pirate fox (Sounds bad I know) seem like a real person. Also impressive is the facial animations. Don't believe me? Wait until the trial of fear
Gameplay: The place this game falls short (though arguably so), is its similarities to Zelda. While it has almost the exact same controls as Wind Waker, the level design and abilities doesn't quite reach expectations.... then again, who could have matched that? Instead Adventures mixes things up with cinematic Quick-Time events, as well as sequences that have your Fox control in a unique way for a few minutes, like riding a hover bike in a chase, for example. The combat can also be very fun, as well, as long as you don't get to picky with it's depth
Story: The story is not anything remarkable, putting it next to today's story driven games, but still, it does an excellent job of setting time and place for the events in the game. The intro especially is a great example of interactive story-telling. The voice-acting and animation go a long way towards making a good story too.
In the end, Star Fox Adventures is the sort of game you will probably never see our space-faring heroes trying again soon. However, E3 is just around the corner, and who knows what Retro has in store!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Quite Good!

posted by decapad (BRONX, NY) Dec 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

Truly enjoyed this game. A long adventure game with huge worlds, good story, terrific graphics, light combat, tons of exploration, chock full of puzzles, and a light sprinkling of secrets - whew! Some of the puzzles are quite difficult -which I really enjoy. Since it's such a huge environment you really have stay sharp to know where to proceed - there's not a lot of hand holding. But if you should get stuck - no need to go to Gamefaqs as hints are available if you are so inclined to take them. This game is a winner - play it! My best, D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

FUN BUT TO LONG

posted by EDAWGYO (REDWOOD CITY, CA) Jun 14, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

when i got this game i was thinking it would be quite bad but it turned out to be good and fun. the reason this games knocked off three grades was the game made you go ALL OVER THE PLACE. they made it so inconvenient. I did like that if you got stuck that Slippy would help you by giving you a hint. If you are one of those people who look online for cheats, don't expect to find some because they give you some in the game but they don't HELP you at all. right know i am 45% done so i cant tell you what later in the game is like, so buy it if you wana. But just to warn you, this game is a lot like legend of Zelda.(in the puzzle solving manner.) Good luck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game

posted by Link2010 (HOUSTON, TX) Nov 9, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

Great game for the cube the only thing i didn't like about it was having to waste time to look for money to buy things to progress but the puzzles are fun and entertaining though difficult at times the staff is cool with all its different powers graphics are sweet i definitely recommend renting it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not for straight foward gamers

posted by rockon98 (SYKESVILLE, MD) Jan 27, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

If you like straight foward games then this is not the game for you.But if you like games that test you mentally this is the perfect game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Rare does it again

posted by ArcadeGuy (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 27, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

Star Fox Adventures is a modest and forgettable adventure game. You play as Fox McCloud, an adventurer with a stick, and walk around beating things, and solving linear puzzles.

The puzzles are simple and logic-based, as opposed to Zelda's more random solutions. But there isn't a lot of variety in the puzzles, either, and many of them just feel like filler to make the game a couple of minutes longer. I don't mind, honestly, because I hate puzzles with a passion. Besides the countless filler puzzles, it's just a matter of repeatedly finding out where to go next in order to progress, as is usually the case in games like these.

What about the combat? Well the combat is terribly easy in this game. There is no depth to the fighting. Out of the relatively small number of enemies, none of them a challenge, and they can be avoided most of the time. Not only that, the game is saturated with health pick-ups, as well as items that revive you automatically if you have taken lethal damage. Combat is a non-issue in Star Fox Adventures, there is no challenge or entertainment to be gained from it, making the game even more shallow than it already was.

There is an occasional mini-game, or a boss. What's funny is that the number of bosses in this game can be counted on one hand. The also game has about 5 shooting sequences that take place in space, in which Fox McCloud rides inside his spacecraft, the Arwing. So yes, this game does have some short-lived Arwing gameplay sequences that are like the original Star Fox and Star Fox 64 shooter games, which is what the series is known for. But make no mistake, the Arwing sequences in this game are nothing more than mini-games. The quality, length, and depth of these stages are nothing compared to the likes of what's in Star Fox 64.

Star Fox Adventures is just a surprisingly unmemorable adventure game, and most of it feels like an endless gauntlet of filler puzzles and simple tasks. The laughably poor ending was a slap in the face.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Starfox Adventures

posted by wolfie1377 (LAYTON, UT) Aug 16, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2006

i enjoyed this game until the ending when i gave up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

got boring after a while

posted by SHRIMP (CYPRESS, TX) May 29, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

this game isn`t what i thought it would be. i thought it would be violent and fun like SFA, but it`s not. it`s not horrible it`s just it gets boring after hours of game play. i 53% recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »