Rent Star Fox 64 3D for 3DS
view large frontback

Star Fox 64 3D

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.5

1118 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game...to rent.

posted by Netman (MEDIAPOLIS, IA) Sep 19, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game, Star Fox 64 3D, is a great game, for what you get. It is also a classic tale of "Glad I rented and didn't buy." Here's why. I'm a huge Star Fox 64 fan, I love the original, unfortunately I havent been able to play the original in I don't know how long, so when I heard about this game coming to the 3DS I.Was.Psyched. When it finally got here I played it, and played it, and played it. I absolutely loved it. Unfortunately, after beating it as badly as this game can be beaten, which took about....10hrs of gameplay....not very much. Once I was done with this, even I, a huge fan of this game, lost interest. This took all of about five days. If I would have bought this game, I would have been very angry. Luckily I rented, and was able to send it back to GameFly.

An overview:
Graphics: 10/10 Looks great and has the best 3D on the 3DS system.
Story: 7/10 Its a good story, but it's nothing huge or special.
Gameplay: 9/10 Plays great, I expierenced little to no problem in 99% of the scenarios this game placed me in.
Content: 5/10 It's just to short of a game. Espically if you have played it before.
Final Score: 8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wonderful

posted by LuckyBuck (BATTLE CREEK, MI) Sep 18, 2011

Member since Mar 2009

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great game and an amazing 3D game. The experience was amazing but was really short. Not worth buying but worth getting it on Gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good but short

posted by Denolisher234 (ROCHESTER, NY) Dec 15, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Star fox is a great game but i beat it in an hour and im mailing it back now lol! It's really fun but just too short! overall a 5/10 for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

N64 version does NOT = 3DS

posted by NINTeNO2chemist (Rensselaer, NY) Oct 9, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First main point: Graphics are underrated. You have to see it for yourself on the 3DS to appreciate the visuals. Screenshots and online videos do not capture how stunning it is to see it on your 3DS.

I'm a fan of the N64 version, but when it was announced to be remade for the 3DS, my initial reaction was "Why?". Seeing it and playing it for myself quickly changed my stance on the game. It has been completely improved visually, and provides a very respectable improvement for a game considered by many to be a classic on the N64.

Gameplay is still very fun, although it isn't as comfortable as the N64 controller was in your hand. I prefer having the rear Z button on the 64, and it felt more stable than the slimmer 3DS. A small complaint for all the fun to be found.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good gameplay

posted by Blaine65 (JUNCTION CITY, OR) Sep 13, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Short initial story mode but really fun, good controls and after you beat it you can go the alternate route and have a completely new story mode which is nice and extends the life of the game tremendously

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nostalgia can only carry this title so far

posted by kyisonfire (OLATHE, KS) Sep 12, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you played this on N64, you will most likely enjoy playing this, downside is for most of us it will be much easier then it was fourteen years ago. I got it in the mail, played it for an hour and the game was over. There isn't much added to the game, unlike Ocarina of Time 3D. It was interesting to play again but I don't think it's worth buying. This is definitely just a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is really fun!

posted by Blublur (CONIFER, CO) Sep 11, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game in very fun. You'll play it for hours even though a level can take about 10 minutes to beat. I found myself playing the first level several times. The controls are responsive and the 3d effect is awesome. Also multiplayer is fun because you only need one game card. I would have given it a ten but somthing feels missing i don't know what. But all together a great rent or buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont get, waste of what little time there is

posted by Dasaro (UPLAND, CA) Sep 17, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

star fox 64 in 3d no way that game was awesome when i was a kid.... get is at 7:05 pm on a saturday... 7:35 pm on same saturday... beat the game every part of the game, 0 fun not at all worth the play time, the weight for the game, or anything, no multiplayer except for local, i dont even know another person with a 3ds and i have like 20 friends with reguar ds's, DO NOT GET unless you are new to gamming, i mean literally new like if this is your first game by all means its really casual , all non 5 year olds stay away

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Looks Kinda Like Star Wars

posted by Teenkitsune (ABERDEEN, MD) Oct 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

It's basically the same thing as the original but with a second screen and better graphics, which actually make some of the futuristic stuff appear more like something out of Star Wars than Star Fox. If you don;t have a Nintendo 64, or at least not Star Fox 64, I do recommend getting this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Star Fox 64 made boring.

posted by wolfhunter64 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jun 10, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

I love Star Fox. I've been a fan for a long time. My favorite one was the N64 version, and I couldn't wait to see it in better graphics. However, when I got it, it didn't have the same effect on me as it did when I first played it. The new graphics just made everything seem less exciting, and I hated the new controls. If this game interests you, I'd say you should rent it. It's not worth the money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

well, it IS Starfox 64, but...

posted by ch4rms (RICHMOND, VA) Jan 14, 2013

Member since Jul 2010

I would give this a higher score if more was done to upgrade this game from its predecessor. No online besides local is not really fair to the franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

one word

posted by lkey27 (UPPER MARLBORO, MD) Jan 7, 2013

Member since May 2012

sucked

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Short, fairly easy, but decent.

posted by dragonmagicl (APOPKA, FL) Dec 11, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

My son (9) enjoyed playing this. He said it took only a few minutes to get a handle on the controls. He seemed to play for about 6+ hours (even played multi-play against me once). He said he finished it on the "easy" course and had finished one level on the medium course (I guess there are three "routes" you can take - easy, medium, and hard). He had a lot of fun with it but felt it was too short. Nice weekend rental, but I don't think it would be worth keeping longer than that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A sweet, albeit short, nostalgic romp!

posted by JRosenau (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Oct 16, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Star Fox 64 3D is a trip down memory lane. I, like many of you (presumably), spent many weekends huddled in front of my 19 inch tv playing four player split screen multiplayer and flying my way through the ten or so levels the game had to offer on the Nintendo 64. As a younger kid playing this in 1998, it was difficult. Perhaps that difficulty made the game seem longer back then, because I am sad t report that I was able to beat this game on a single play through in under 2 hours (and yes - that includes finding all hidden paths and "distant worlds" as the game puts it).

Sadly, in addition to the game being short, Nintendo made the inexplicable decision to not include wifi multiplayer for this game. Local co-op, which requires two copies of the game and two systems, is the only option for multiplayer in what would have been a fantastic wifi experience. With that said, there is the option to play through the levels and battle against AI controlled bots.

But here is what really matters: it is very fun. The controls are responsive and flying Fox through the levels never felt better. The graphics have received an upgrade, although a modest one with some backgrounds and textures looking flat. The voice acting is still goofy and the score is well done. The 3D effect is quite good in this game. There are several cut scenes where the 3D is arguably at its best on the system.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this game to anyone who played the original or to anyone who is looking for a lighthearted (i.e., campy) trip down nostalgia lane.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

very good

posted by mackado (HARTSELLE, AL) Oct 12, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

Well when i got this game i had never played a shooter. I expected a game like the legend of zelda or mario styile game. at first i thought the game play sucked.but the more i played the maore i engoyed it and was my favorite up until i playd OoT 3D.the game is short,but if you get the hard route you get the good ending.collecting medals is fun. i truly recomend this game, rent or buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Star Fox 64 3D

posted by David615 (KINGSTON SPRINGS, TN) Aug 7, 2012

Member since May 2012

Star Fox 64 3D is the ultimate 3D experience! It's really fun! The controls are nice. I really didn't use the gyro controls much though. The bad thing is that it's short, but other than that RENT IT!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

StarFox64 3ds

posted by Captain_Crunch1 (QUINCY, MA) Jul 25, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Exactly As Its Counter Part..This indeed Is Starfox From The Nintendo 64 Version..But The Visuals On 3ds Make It Very Clean,3d Is Cool on it..Starfox was always meant for 3D..The Graphics are All Nice,Cleaned Up..Looks better then the 64 to me..its still a game where u pay attention,get into it,let me tell u its cool,worth the rent,but not for a buy..this game is heck of short,i beat it probably an hour,a half..or little less..and of course u got bosses,that epic boss at its end andross...theres multi but not online,its basically like connecting or sharing with buddies,4 player survival,battles..which isnt so awesome,but if u want give it a rent..just dont waste money to buy it,wont last long at all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

i hate repeating

posted by yatcha (PORT EWEN, NY) Jun 24, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

this game is... O.K.. keep n mind , i never played it on the nintendo 64, in its glory days. The game is fairly good, and does keep me entertained, ( well it did) but only for about an hour and a half. there re no online rankings or anything making getting a high score seem slightly asinine. the levels are fun, but i don't know, their just waaayyy too linear. their short and done in no more than 10 minutes. unlocking the extra planets was pretty easy too, which was nice for additional levels. Starfox was fun it just wasn't the wow i expected. i wish there were things you could buy for your Arwing with your points, or a way you could amp up the difficulty. but really my main problem is the length of the game and how linear it is.
QUICK SUMMARY:
good:
- graphics- beautiful. great 3d, great design, very real looking space. impressive.
-gameplay- the gyro-control makes it really feel like your flying the Arwing, and really avoiding things and shooting, especially when playing in 3d. everything works right.
-story- i usually play RPG'S but this story was perfect for this game. simple, and had enough behind it to actually know why you were going to a knew planet, not just a random one.
-characters- at first annoying, but they really are interesting

BAD:
i know i hit it hard in the paragraph but there wasn't too much wrong.

- length- i beat everything possible in an hour and a half, as a first timer
-difficulty- just way too easy
- no upgrades- i wish they had made this game not so much like a port. i wish you could customize your ship or something. and i wish the levels were more open, more like project sylphede,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

trash

posted by matthewfa (MIAMI, FL) Jun 14, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

i hate this game so much that it made cry.
it is a piece of trash gamefly is the best but i can not believe that they have a piece of trash like but i still like gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nice, but....

posted by Jesse515 (ROCHESTER, NY) May 26, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

Nice, but.... It is so short I hyperbole beat this in a snap. (2 days) I probably only played an hour a day but it was easy. Short Main Idea: it was fun easy and short. P.S I loved download play!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

True to the original

posted by PKMN37 (TERRE HAUTE, IN) Apr 12, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

It's a fun game. What can I say? I can see why this is considered one of the best N64 games in its library. There's the new gyro feature but, thankfully, it also includes the classic N64 controls. It's controls are fluent and the graphical update and 3D look really nice. This was my first time playing it so I wasn't sure if I'd like it as much as people who are more savvy with space-shooters. I'd give it a ten, except there's one problem: The game's really short. Then again, it is a re-port so that doesn't surprise me much. However, I have seen N64 games that are much longer. Aw well, regardless, I recommend this game to anybody who interested in checking it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

good

posted by pickle430 (HOUSTON, TX) Apr 4, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

The graphics look amazing but, idk I'm not in the mood for 64 anymore :-/

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Look before you leap :]

posted by Biscutbob (GRAND FORKS AFB, ND) Feb 6, 2012

Member since Apr 2006

I was very exited to get this game. My friends said it was a great game and so I purchased the game at full price, big mistake. The game is definitely worth a rent it is fun for about 30 minutes at a time. The flying area is very very small and the game play is very repetitive. All the power ups are pretty much in the first level and from then on are pretty rare. My favorite mission was the submarine and least favorite was the tank mission. I will be trading this game and would only consider buying it for $10 or less. Next time I will be reading these reviews before I make a purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

alright

posted by Qonscience (HAYMARKET, VA) Jan 29, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

If you are a 3DS owner and you are looking for some good exclusive titles then this one should be added to your library. Although its still a bit pricy I recommend it. Especially if you are a Star Fox fan which I am sure most Star Fox fans have already went out and bought this one. I don't normally play with inverted controls but with Star Fox it just feels right. I cant really marvel at this remake too much because I dont even remember what the N64 version looks like. But the 3D looks great and battles are fun, especially the open area battles. Its not a game that I will be picking up constantly to play but if you are bored of your other games then this one will keep you entertained. But one thing that I did notice was that the story is extremely short. Out of accumulation, this game only took me about 1.5-2 hours to beat. There are two different story modes you can go into though, the N64 Mode and 3DS mode. I finished N64 mode so im not really sure what the other is like yet. Another thing that is kind of upsetting to me is that there is no online multiplayer, only local. And I live in a pretty remote area so to me that is useless unless I go out and just happen to meet some other friendly teenagers who want to battle, which those chances are about 1 in 1 thousand. But those things dont keep this game from getting at least a 7. Its entertaining enough. So if you are a fan of Star Fox then you should go out and buy this game! If you are new to the game, i say its worth a shot. One other thing, just felt like throwing this out there. The script is pretty cheesy. So try not to laugh at it too much. Star Fox is like Captain Kirk but in fox form.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun remake

posted by BANDIT345 (CANYON COUNTRY, CA) Jan 12, 2012

Member since May 2011

the game is way too short i beat it in about a hour if that.... the levels are fun though and i love the battle mode if you like star fox you should like this game. Also the 3d is really nice nintendo came through on that. My only complaint with the game is how short the story mode is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse