Rent Spyro: The Eternal Night for Wii
view large frontback

Spyro: The Eternal Night

Not Rentable
Also on:DS, PS2, GBA
GF Rating
5.7

588 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Despite The Direction; Actually Fun! Worth A Rent!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Dec 17, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I need to shed some light on this game!!
I know most will not like hearing this but the new direction they took actually (sort-of) payed off. It is like Crash Of the Titans (9); because of the similar gameplay. Just like you I am a long time fan of the series and (DO PERFER) the collecting and more simple gameplay. However there are some issues like the camera (granted you can adjust it) but it is difficult when you are in a corner fighting 2+ enemies at once. That brings me to the other issure is that sometimes it does take a few times to make it through (straight through would be to simple and not worth playing). Lastly is that the game is short, has bland graphics and too easy puzzles. Sure it has it's shortcomings but the good outweighs the bad. All in all you will have a few hours of enjoyment and is worth your time. You won't be (AS) dissapointed as most of the reviews let you believe.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Long Live Spyro

posted by Quickfeat (POULSBO, WA) Dec 29, 2007

Member since Jan 2005

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My sister actually got this game for christmas and I couldn't keep myself away. I played it for a few minutes and I couldn't put it down. This is one of those games where you can't let it go till it's done. The controles are farelly simple and it is one of your basic level games. It seames simple when you first pick it up, but when you actually get indepth into the game, it WILL make you think "What am I gona do next".

However, there are some parts to this game that will make you want to apear on "wiihaveaproblem". For instance, the fights with many enamies are kinda trickey to navigate and the boss battles are just stupid hard. I actually thought a few of them were impossable untill I remembered some of the new abilities spyro gets. Also, the directions are not entirly clear sometimes. Most of the time, it's kinda "figure it out for yourself" ish, and other times, it's really simple.

Just remember to tie the WIIMote to your wrist good and tight and make sure you have a good, tight grip on the nunchuck and you'll do fine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Glitch filled mess, but fun on occasion

posted by malkav (CASTRO VALLEY, CA) Oct 31, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I've been a Spyro fan for a long time and have played every one of the games. This was a mediocre blip on the radar. Like the last game, it was woefully short. It seems like the only thing they did this time to make it last longer was have ridiculously difficult bosses that take many tries to overcome. Many of the battles were incredibly frustrating because the bosses had one hit kills on you, or if you were hit once, Spyro became so stunned that it was impossible to get out of being hit a second or third time. Glitches pervaded the game, and the Wii controller did nothing to enhance the gameplay at all -- merely contributed to the glitchiness. Any puzzles were ridiculously simple and dull. On the positive side, the voice acting was excellent and the game became much more enjoyable once Spyro obtained the Electricity power, which obliterates enemies easily. Time control was another fun aspect. On the whole, it was a frustrating experience, but a few enjoyable moments were to be had.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

huge disapointment

posted by eddieriver (KNOX, IN) Oct 29, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

When i heard this was coming out for the next gen Wii I was so excited, and couldnt wait for this to come out. Im the biggest spyro fan out there, but I cant believe the makers of this game would take out every element that made all of the past spyro's special. They were fun, and easy to pick up and play. i went through the first level and felt like breaking the cd and sending it back. First off, the magic bar system sucks,, i cant believe you have to recharge to use your fire breath. you cant run at first like in previous games, and they made it way to freakin serious. Like it was supposed to be an epic game or something. I wanted fun when i picked up the wii mote,, but they made the control scheme hard for a gamer of 18 yrs several minutes to get used to. This game is the crappiest spyro ever made,, the graphics dont even look next gen. I think spyro 2 riptos rage set the standard of what these games should be, everything else after that just seemed like they tried to put to much into it.. if you guys like spyro , get the regular spyro game and riptos rage,, they are fun enough for kids to play and cool enough for hardcore gamers like me to appreciate.
-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Wha happened?

posted by underbridg (CHESAPEAKE, VA) Nov 13, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Man I have really enjoyed playing alot of games, especially the old spyro...riptos rage.etc
This stinks..I wanted to run around and find eggs with stuff, diamonds....hidden whatever. If I wanted to fight...well whatever, no sense crying. too much fighting and the levels are walking and fighting and thats it.
Bottom line is they took a fun game that was thoughtless but cool and screwed the pooch. darn shame. Like the other guy said, crash and spyro WERE awesome..not anymore.WHats wrong with you guys...man..
DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY ON THIS ONE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Time Disappears

posted by together (YUMA, AZ) Nov 29, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Its true you don't get the old pick up gems or find dragons eggs or even find dragon flies. But this game consumes you once you really start playing. I lost whole afternoons once I got started. Of course the cut scenes could be shorter but I feel that about alot of games. I enjoyed this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

old spyro was much better

posted by gamer330 (SIMPSONVILLE, SC) Aug 24, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this Spyro was a huge disappointment. im a spyro fan and i have to say this is the worst spyro game i've played. the controls are hard to use, its too serious, bad graphics, and nothing like eggs to collect. i wish the people that made it would make it like the old spyros. im glad i only rented it. i recommend you would rent it if you think you might have a different opinion but DO NOT BUY IT!!!!!!! it would be a waste of money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What happened to the spyro I remember?

posted by pushpops07 (LAFAYETTE, CO) Nov 2, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

They messed up the cool purple dragon I once liked. It was about collecting stuff in a bunch of worlds. now its about combat & seriousness. they did the same with Crash, whom I like better. Please, bring the original Crash & Spyro back, you people who make these games, PLEASE!!! I hate the new spyro. I hate IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

No Game Really

posted by Grandma (SPRING, TX) Oct 24, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was expecting the old Spyro. All I have done so far is go around and fight enemies, nothing fun to collect and then when I have to leave and I come back to it, even after saving it, the game takes me backwards really far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

man...

posted by naimah316 (LEAVENWORTH, KS) Nov 21, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

I am still playing this game but I am quite disappointed that the graphic is no different than ps2 and the controllers i like the way they are on the wii more action but still i expected more out of this donkey kong return is really cool i am not ready to call it quit i wanna explore the whole level til i get 100% well Gotta love gamefly lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ENTRNAL NIGHT

posted by p2glm (HOUSTON, TX) May 14, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

IT IS VERY COOL AND ASWOME NOT REALLY HARD AT ALL AND IT IS ADVENTOURS FOR WII

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Spyro you've done it again

posted by squrtle337 (HAVERTOWN, PA) Mar 29, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

Besides the cunfusing story and frustrating levels the graphics was one of the best I've ever seen on the wii and after you understand the story better it's one of the best games in the WHOLE WORLD definetly worth a buy or rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Pulling out my hair

posted by thraschr (BRANDON, FL) Sep 13, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

I was looking so forward to playing a new spyro especially on wii -- wish I hadn't wasted my time. I spent 2 hours trying to kill one toad wead on the very first level. I never did kill it. Although I'd like to kill something! I got the game 2 and a 1/2 hours ago... I'm happy to send it back.
What a waste.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Frustrating controls on the Wii

posted by octopon (SAN MARCOS, CA) May 19, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

The controls are just not good for the Wii. The bosses are too difficult because of this. It's glitchy. It doesn't look all that good. Overall, it's pretty weak. I found it especially frustrating that I spent the previous game building up my powers, and this game takes them all away, and you have to learn all the powers again. Makes no sense at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The New Twist of Spyro

posted by rondiamond (Northern Cambria, PA) Jun 29, 2009

Member since May 2009

This game was great except like all spryos it was to short. I like the fact of being attached to cynder, it put a great challening twist to spyro. The story line was good. I also like that fact that the voice acting was great. The graphics improve as the Spryro legacy moves on i like that also it was fun growing up with and watching Spyro evolve into what it is today. Can't wait till the next one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not worth your time

posted by kingkool (LARCHMONT, NY) May 26, 2009

Member since May 2008

i love spyro, but this game just spat on the spyro series. its not that the game is totally boring, its just that it has ridiculosly hard bosses. im stuck on one of the levels and canot get past it. dont rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

why Spyro is awesome

posted by JakeDaniel (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

the mid air combat is helpful and fun and the story is well made challenging and you dont have to do annoying friend missions

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This game blows a lot more than fire

posted by drunknspid (COLUMBUS, OH) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

First off I would like to say that this game is definitely not for children, there really is nothing that would offend, its simply hard (actually impossible) to beat and incredibly dark for a "children's" game. This was my girlfriends pick and although she isn't the best gamer around she can finish most of the games she gets... this one required my help. I died 4 times on every boss just trying to find out the weak point they never hint of nor is incredibly obvious. The sound is fairly good, with big name actors Elijah Wood and whoever voices Fry on Futurama. The graphics are decent, the controls on the other hand are horrid. You couldn't double jump to save your life... except for when you don't want to and that too ends your life. This game is much too hard for a child and has way too dark and depressing, not to mention nearly there of a story to keep an adult interested. But being the completionist my girl is we did finish it, after 5 hours of excruciating pain.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

to hard to understand

posted by rusell555 (INMAN, SC) Feb 20, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

this game is to hard for the wii system,the control was to hard to use with the stick and num chucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I was shocked

posted by Yousinea (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Feb 17, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

When I put this game in my GameQ I honestly wasn't expecting much from it, due to the negative reviews here.
It's very true that there is almost NO collecting in this Spyro, you collect 3 different items, 40 of one and 5 each of the other two. (concept art, health, and mana) There's lots and lots of fighting, and some of the platforming puzzles are excessively unforgiving. But, you have infinite lives, and the checkpoints are really close together in my opinion.

My biggest surprise though, was the fact that my Fiancée enjoyed the game, it's the first Wii game I've rented so far where she's actually played from start to finish (actually she made me fight the final stages because the battles were getting 'too hard')
The fighting was actually kindof fun once you got the hang of it (specifically knocking the enemy into the air, doing a few quick hits and then flicking the nunchuck to kick them into a pile of other enemies with a matrix-esque bullet time camera spin)

At any rate, the game is definitely worth a shot, its certainly not the worst thing on the wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Spyro doesn't live up to his name

posted by wii201394 (EVANSVILLE, IN) Jan 9, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This is only the second spyro game I've ever played and it made me never want to play another one again. I played Spyro: Legend of the Dragon Fly and it was great, but this was not. All this game is, is fighting almost impossible to beat characters with the same lame attack movve all the time. Spyro doesn't even get a lot of health to help you out on the journy either. I played through the game about 60% of the way and then could not take it anymore and sent it back. THe story line was pretty good though and I liked that the characters talked instead of subtitles. Overall it's not as good as I expected and a little bit boring. I'd give the game about a 4/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »