Rent Spyro: The Eternal Night for PS2
view large frontback

Spyro: The Eternal Night

Not Rentable
Also on:DS, Wii, GBA
GF Rating
6.2

438 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

good, but very very hard

posted by Josher (WINDERMERE, FL) Dec 31, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the up side:
you get a slow motion power and it helps alot.
i dont see any more upsides to this game....sorry, lol, the first 1 was a whole lot better

the down side:

its very very very very hard, much harder then the last. alot of the game is regaining your powers from the last game.

billy west plays the voice now instead of david spade.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disapointed.

posted by FallnTimbr (WOLFEBORO, NH) Mar 31, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

What happened to Spyro games? I was hoping for a fun, quick game to play. A game that had easy controls, fast moving story and "cute" characters. But these new Spyro games, yuck! It's Spyro meets Mortal Combat. The controls are difficult, the story is dry and long, and sparx is borderline obnoxious. No thank you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

No Spyro don't do it!!!

posted by FeyNissa (SEMORA, NC) Dec 24, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Ahh.... Spyro my favorite purple dragon. Remember when Spyro was simple on the ps1? NOT ANYMORE!!! The new breath techniques are awesome as is the way that they incorporate them into the game. But LOOONG dialog (along with a particularly annoying sparks) made the game difficult to play for more than half an hour, at the tops. Personally i liked sparks better when all you could understand was BZZZZ. The enemies are repetitive and often overwhelm your tiny little dragon with many bad guys all attacking at the same time. Be prepared to die...A LOT!!! Some of the jumps seem to be made for Superman instead of this tiny little dragon. And after you die you will get a little pick-up talk from spyro or a sarcastic remark from Sparks (Unless you are forced to sit thorough the same cut scene AGAIN) After a while the "I need to remember my training" and "Why don't you try shooting fire out of your face" made me want to throw the controller at the television screen. Along with yelling at sparks that i was doing the best i could. Also the camera can sometimes get in your way, especially when it goes behind a bush when you are fighting a particularly large group of enemies. Is the camera afraid of the fighting or what? All in all, i am a fan of the spyro series but the game developers should have left spyro's GOOD memory fade away before they turn spyro into the most hated little purple dragon out there. So 4 out of 10. (And that's on a VERY VERY good day.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

There Once Was A Dragon

posted by AkbarNYC (NEW YORK, NY) Oct 29, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I hate to say it, but only because it is so easy. This latest incarnation of Spyro is a clear indication of what happens to a really fun game when it is run through the grinder.

When Spyro was born, we were introduced to a fun, likable character with a funny sidekick. We were presented with a solid, engaging story line and innovative gameplay that challenged us just enough not to ruin the experience.

That was years, and developers ago.

Spyro has become an empty shell devoid of all enjoyment. Gone are the days of flying through hoop race tracks, running through mazes at top speed. Gone are the good ol' days of collecting eggs and being introduced to other dragons.

We now find spyro in an arena environment more suited to Ratchet and Clank where the object merely seems to be "destroy everything."

Puzzle solving plays second fiddle in this game.

The big problem is, the controls, and Spyros' skills are rarely up to the task. It's a clumsy setup with a clumsy fighting system supposedly "enhanced" with matrix-like slow-mo stupidity in an attempt to make the game look better than it is.

It doesn't work.

Simply put, it is a chore to play this game. It is a waste of time, and it is no fun at all to play.

Every single aspect of this game screams "FRANCHISE!" I hear there is a movie in the works. I hope they find better writers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Whaaat...?

posted by Harlot (Hermansville, MI) Mar 28, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I do not like this game AT ALL. For one, it doesn't follow the storyline nor originality the first games had. The enemies are too hard, the tutorials suck and the characters are slaughtered. It's VERY disappointing and I just... Hate it.

I've been a Spyro fan since the first game and this just... Spits on what the original creators had. I hate this game, period.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

it feel like a repackaged game.. than a new one..

posted by dulun21 (CHANDLER, AZ) Oct 17, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

if you play spyro before then you probably know. This game is the sequel to Spyro: the new beginning. Beside the new story and some new moves.. there is little change in this game compare to the previous one. Also, the name of the title is "eternal night".. so expect to spend some time in dark environment as spyro explore the environment in the game. Graphic looks a little degraded from the previous game, gameplay is pretty similar as well.. as for the story..well spyro search for his lost powers.. and then beat up the evil villian. It didn't take me long to feel bored while playing this game. Don't get me wrong but spyro games seem to aim toward children under 12 or something.. because i have a 12 year old in the house. He likes Spyro: the new beginning, but this one.. only spend about 1 hr before stop play. This is a surprise since he's the kind that will not stop holding the controller when started to play unless being forced to! Anyway, i guess the PS2 is reaching the end of its life :( but all the up coming release titles... only a few worth looking foward too. i guess an upgrade to the current gen. console is in order :/

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Wasn't for me.

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Aug 15, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Spyro the Eternal Night wasn't good and I hated the controls. The music kind of rocked though! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Spyro turned emo

posted by Mikeyjoe (AMBLER, PA) Sep 11, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ok First off this is the worst spyro ever. theres no portals. theres no sun and spyro breathes earth wth is that. i remember the legend of spyro was light and cheery but no it has t be all dark and try to be a bad a$# i mean come on its spyro. and whats up with elijiha woods voice as spyro and sparks can talk im sorry if i could rate this a negative 1 million i would

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game sucks

posted by whatup (WILLISTON, FL) Dec 15, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

this game is so dumb i did not play it for more than 1 second without it being boring and dumb as a bald man

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Choke and Die, Elijah Wood

posted by Contron (Northampton, MA) Oct 13, 2007

Member since Dec 2004

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

Elijah Wood is prominently declared the voice of Spyro as the opening credits roll. Who really cares that he is the voice of Spyro for this one game? The voice credits were not shown until the end for the original series done by Insomniac. The new company that took over since their departure has been nothing short of horrendous. They have butchered the poor purple dragon and violated him in ways I dare not mention.

As for the game itself, Spyro seems slightly "off" as does Sparx, who is now some gigantic big faced muppet lookalike. The controls are a little dodgy, and the whole game has a "dark" feel to it, emphasizing the fighting and violence instead of the thrill of adventure like the previous games.

While the emphasis on different "elements" (fire, ice, etc) for attacks seems interesting, it is still too heavy for a typical Spyro game. There are far too many moves, and combat often has a clunky feel to it.

For any fans of the Spyro series, I recommend playing the first few over again. This game is absolutely the worst I have ever seen in the Action/Adventure genre, and by far the worst Spyro ever to be released.

Dont contaminate your Game Q with this horrid game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is awesome!!!!

posted by cjiscool (GROVE CITY, PA) Jan 8, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

I luv this game! it is so cool!!!!!!!! I know it's the same as A New Begining, but it's cooler.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good, but hard

posted by trainman666 (RENO, NV) Oct 10, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

Taking place an undisclosed amount of time after A New Beginning, Eternal Night felt like a bit of a letdown. That doesn't stop it from being playable at the very least. environments and controls are present from the first game. Environments are bland, but at least they tried to mix it up a little bit. There's a bit more variety in the levels, but they took a really questionable direction with some of they parchment-style cut-scenes.

Billy West as the voice of Sparks did a little better job than David Spade did in the first, but I found him to be a bit more annoying this time around.

The game follows the same formula as the first game: Travel down linear corridors until something triggers, defeat all the enemies and repeat. It does bring some more puzzles to the table this time around, but they were very tedious and boring, not to mention some of the enemies are so cheaply placed that some points are more frustrating than they need to be.

All in all, it's average. Its story is still engaging, but there were a lot of elements that didn't need to be introduced.

It still holds the charm and personality from the first game, but it is a hard recommendation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

what my sister thought of the game

posted by dragonknig (SHARON, PA) May 7, 2013

Member since Oct 2009

"too many cut scenes and wasn't long enough of a game play for her, said it was like playing a whats the word prequill (cant spell lol) for another game. mind you she beat it in like a day or 2 give or take mind you that her time was like half hour every other day. graphics was good char. was good. just that it was like playing a squall to another game which she didn't like

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

what i think

posted by cooldude0789 (NEWPORT, NC) Jun 28, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

this game is pretty good if you like Spyro and taking you're angry out on the bad guy and stuff. but the forest part of the game just freak's me out for some reason.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

This one is alright!!

posted by krazymary (MIDDLEBORO, MA) May 6, 2008

Member since Jul 2004

I enjoyed the game better then the last Spyro that came out, however, I really miss the originals. They had more of a challenge. The flow of the story was ok but I think if they made one similar to the first 2 or 3 that came out they would have a much better following.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Don't listen to the people giving this game a 1

posted by PvtAllen (VINE GROVE, KY) May 3, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

This game is excellent! It may be just like this game's prequal (The Legend of Spyro: A New Beginning) but the storyline is good. The only part I hate about this game is at the end when they do a "To be continued" type of thing. I JUST HATE THAT!!! For those of you who that have been Spyro fans since he first came out, the next legend of spyro game: Darkest Hour, comes out on October 7, 2008. If you want to join the "Spyro club", I suggest you try The Legend of Spyro: A New Beginning.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »