Rent Spyro: Dawn of the Dragon for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Spyro: Dawn of the Dragon

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, PS3, DS, Wii
GF Rating
6.0

1337 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Spyro: Dawn of the Dragon Review

posted by nightmare6 (GAITHERSBURG, MD) Nov 7, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I can't spend much time on this review.
The game is a solid game, not a bad rental, but not a good game either. I am giving it a 7 out of 10 since overall, the game is well done and fun and the story is quite good.

The story is for all ages, kids or adults can enjoy it. Think Lord of The Rings with dragons. This is the end of a trilogy, so keep in mind that some aspect might get you lost if you don't know the back story.

The game plays like a clone of God of War. YES, a God of War clone, and not badly done I might add. You have two character at once at all times. You can control Spyro or Cynder (evil female dragon from previous games). You have different combos than you can perform, and you each have 4 magic attacks you can use. Fire, Ice, Earth and Lightning for Spyro and Cynder has Shadow, Wind, Scream and Poison (the later is 100% useless). You will need some of this power to complete puzzles, and there are a lot of puzzles, but mostly are good and break the pace quite well.
Some of the levels are quite generic (like a castle, and a green field) but there are some level than although a little frustrating, are worth a rental just for them alone. The Destroyer level is a monster that you must take out, but the monster is the level, and he is HUGE. I had a lot of fun, but it get frustrating since you NEVER know were to go next in this game, and you will get stuck. You can level up your magic attack with orbs the enemies drop and from chest that you find along the game. The problem is that the game is very beat'em up, no real strategy except for elite enemies is ever used. Just hit, combo, retreat, and do again or use magic.

The graphics are ok, nothing special, best looking Spyro game, but worst than 80% of games in today market. It not bad, just generic and nothing special. The sound is good, it not bad, but nothing to see or hear here that's special.
The game has LOCAL-only two player co-op, which makes the game a lot better, but has no online co-op. Fun rental

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

rent if you want to beat a game in 12 hrs

posted by MichaelCO (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 14, 2008

Member since Apr 2004

15 out of 19 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

Okay well first I have to tell you that I did play all the other Spyro games before this so if you are just starting with this one put the game down and play something else. The game starts off with the ending of the last one, with no backstory at all.
Pros:
1. Cant think of many. Well you can fly, but slowly.
2. It does have to players but not 2 players on live.
3. Well cant think of anything, just another Spyro game.

Cons: This game has a lot of them
1. the camera in the game is horrible. There will be some spots where you cant see anything because the camera wont go there. They could have really used an RS button to get the camera right behind Spryo...but no.
2. The action in the game is really confusing. Bad guys spawn up and basically you just button mash or use some magic in the circle of fighting. Now I have my tv with HD but I can not figure out where I am in the fighting. There is sparks and enemies everywhere around you so the best thing you can do is button mash and run around in a cirlcle till they are gone.
3. The story is boring and, like earlier, you need a backstory to understand why you are doing this mission in the first place.
4. Flying is stupid. If the say you can fly where ever you want that is a lie. At times spyro has to land or go 1 foot off the ground because you have to climb or jump instead of climb.
5. you have to switch between dragons while playing to get points for each character...the computer sucks as a partner.

Well to sum it up it only took me about 12 hours to beat the game but it has no replay value at all. Rent it if you played previous spyros and you want to finish the story. Good luck with the flying in the game as well as fighting. 7/10 just cause i feel bad for the purple dragon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun at first, but loses flavor fast...

posted by poke4597 (ATLANTA, GA) Jun 13, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

OK, this is going to be the format for all of my future reviews. I have always been into fantasy, and have owned the Spyro Gameboy game for years. I decided to give this game a try.

Graphics:6/10-The graphics are rather sub-par for a 360 game, but they are not bad. Tne fire attacks in particular look rather impressive, as do some of the environments.

Gameplay:4/10-The game is confusing, frustrating, and after a while, boring. Being stuck to your partner sounds fine, it sounds like extra help in your next battle. But your parter hardly helps at all, and is much more of a hindrance. The game often gives you nothing to deal with and lets you fly around for about forty-five minutes looking for one thing that leads you to find something else so you can go back to the first, which may have moved by that time...well...you get my drift.

Story:5/10-From what I have read, the story of the trilogy is quite good (Dawn of the Dragon is the final game in the trilogy). The problem is, I had to read about the story online, because the game gives you almost no information on the previous two games.

Multiplayer:5/10-I liked playing this game with a friend, it made the game seem more fun and less tedious, and certainly helped out more in fights. But, you were still chained together, and Player 1 HAD to be Spyro and Player 2 HAD to be Cynder.

Length/Replay Value/Difficulty:4/10-This game was pretty hard, but not hard in a good way. It wasn't really a challenge, but it was hard to fight the same enemies over and over and to find pointless objectives with no information on them. There is very little replay value, and if the game was played in full, it would be rather short.

Final Score:5/10-Average-This is an average game, that has some fun but loses it too quickly. I think Spyro fans would like it, and people who played the rest of the trilogy would want to finish it, but it wasn't right for me. Rent it if you like Spyro, but I wouldn't buy it full price.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

UGH!!!!

posted by jaguar7676 (TITUSVILLE, FL) Oct 6, 2009

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Since when did Spyro become a fighting game? The camera angles are terrible and being chained to another dragon will cause you to keep dropping. I had high hopes for this, but was very disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Legend of Sypro

posted by Danie1T (NEWNAN, GA) May 18, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is completely beautiful on the storyline. Also this might be the only game in history to bring a tear to my eye. When Cynder at the end after defeating Malefor says, "I Love you!" in the whisper tone. It put chills down my body. Other than the great storyline. The elements are great when upgraded fully. Sypro is the best in his own way and same for Cynder.

Things To watch For.
1. Camera usage.
2. Flying ablilty.
3. Lag holes
4. Heavy supplies
These will help you threw the game

Thing to help Out.
1. Sypro's Earth Element is great fully upgraded.
2. Cynder's Poison Element is great fully upgraded.
3. Grabbing (B)
4. Air Grapping (A, B)

P.s
Please make a Second Sypro based game for the future. Completing Sypro was a great time and sucess.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Spyro Problems

posted by RobertSo (SUNRISE, FL) Nov 4, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Quick review...the cameras in this game are horrible and impossible to control which is extremely frustrating. Also the control of the characters are also a pain as well. I ended up sending the game back the same day I got it. Wasn't fun at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good game

posted by jorge0189 (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Oct 18, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i beat the game in two days most difficult part was finding the eggs graded by the alien looking thing but over all very nice game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Spyro delivers fun for entire family

posted by dboizes1 (NEW KENSINGTON, PA) Oct 14, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It is very difficult to find games that appeal to the whole family (namely me and my 6 year old son). Syro delivers fun for all ages. The coop mode made play increasingly fun. The controls were simple enough for a young gamer to master yet keep interest and challenge. The bosses and boss fights are tame enough not to raise concerns but "scary" enough to provide some exciting moments. We are buying this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lackluster Game

posted by sphilis (SCOTT AIR FORCE BASE, IL) Feb 9, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The first Spyro I played was extremely fun, this one is the opposite. The gameplay is terrible. What can fly only 4 feet above the ground but not 5. There are dumb invisible walls everywhere, and invisible ceiling. Mostly puzzle stuff that is difficult to figure out. Combat isn't that fun either, mostly just button pounding. Graphics are nice though and very pretty scenery at times. Don't waste your time with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Major disappointment

posted by Xodus513 (MONSON, MA) Nov 9, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

I don't usually write these so I'll make it quick.

-Camera is awful.
-Flying physics are worse.
-Story is incomprehensible if you haven't played previous games, and maybe even if you have.
-Game only explains how to do things after you've already done them.
-Next to no directions on where you're supposed to go and what you're supposed to do once you get there.
-Graphics are mediocre at best, and compensated for by overuse of obnoxiously bright colors.
-Impossible to see anything during battles due to the game vomiting previously mentioned color everywhere anytime an enemy is hit.
-Only got a 2 because of the fun in mocking it with my friend for the 30 minutes we managed to play it.

And there you have it, a terrible game if I've ever seen one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not good

posted by jimlyn (THREE RIVERS, CA) Oct 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 56 gamers (2%) found this review helpful

the game is for babys

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

one of my favorite games

posted by dragonfan1410 (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Nov 2, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I have been a spyro fan since i was 5. This story was amazing! It was like an interactive movie. You wouldn't under stand the story line unless you played the previous game "Spyro a new beginning." How Cynder and Spyro feel in love was just amazing and the ending where Cynder whispered her feelings for Spyro left me breathless i only have 4 complaints.

1. the camera angles were terrible
2. there was no mini games in it... i miss those
3. they did not make another game of this trillogy!
4.sparx didn't have any thing to do with the story line.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Like God of war, with dragons...

posted by ponchothegreat0 (LACEYVILLE, PA) Apr 15, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Fun game, it's the first I played in the series though, since the PS1 originals. Some parts are VERY difficult, I know I threw the controller in frustration a few times.
The cut scenes are a complete waste of time, the acting is so dead it's laughable in many parts. The final boss made me laugh harder than anything, I have literally, no idea what a single word he said was. They tried to give him scary, deep, growling voice, but it ends up completely incomprehensible.
My main thought throughout the whole game was, "Holy cow, they've made the God of war into a tiny purple dragon." Seriously, every single aspect of this game is God of war, except now you can breathe fire.
The multiplayer is fun, and definitely adds to the storyline.
Overall this is an okay game, it is difficult and repetitive in some sections and the story line is ludacris, but it kept me involved for a few days and brought back some decent nostalgia. I'd probably play it again or play it with a friend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I wouldnt recomend

posted by xISARG3Ix (PINE CITY, MN) Feb 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

for a newer game the graphics were horrible. the story line, the moves, and bosses were good. Having the panning camera view made it hard to see and not being able to move the camera where you wanted it made it hard to look around for things. i did like the fact that it was a 2 player game and that you could fly around everywhere but it was a little hard to do everything with 2 people because if the other person got stuck somewhere (which happened a lot) the other had to stop what they were doing to figure out what the other was stuck on. overall it was an ok game but i wouldnt recomend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

perfect two player game? not so much

posted by pathar (OXFORD, OH) Dec 16, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I got this so my girlfriend and I could play it together. Two big problems:

1. Player 2 doesn't get achievements. So right away that's pretty disappointing. But we kept playing.

2. Because of the cute little "your characters can only go so far apart" mechanic, which is well-handled by the plot and kind of the point, some boards are basically impossible. We tried to do that nonsense with the golem's tail outside the dragon city for HOURS and got nowhere. We could have switched to one player and switched back after we got through, but by that point, why bother? It's just frustrating. So I sent it back. I can't recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun game but annoying camera

posted by fredthebeagle (LANSING, MI) Sep 18, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This was a rather fun game overall, but I'm glad I didn't purchase it. The gameplay offers a variety of ways to fight, which is rather fun. But the camera screws you over all the time. At some points you can control the camera but at other times you can't, and it turns in such a way that you can't see what the heck is going on, and you aren't allowed to move the camera at those times. Flying sometimes could prove to be a little bit challenging as well. And since I'm lazy, it seems like you have to replenish your health and mana too frequently (cheats DO work for this game by the way.) Some of the puzzles are fun but some are overly complicated and just drive you insane.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

okay but in co op cameras bad and youre chained

posted by coachron50 (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Apr 14, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

this game is fun but on co op player 1 has to be spyro no matter what even if you change to cynder and a second person joins player 1 will automatically change to spyro and the camera in co op spyro has to control it and if you wanted to be cynder and control the camera it wouldnt let you the creators of the game should have made a switch charachter on co op other then that the games awesome and kindav hard if its youre first time because you dont know where the heck you half to go and sparx rarly guides you also sometimes in co op the com slows you down and pulls you back if you go to far otherwise this is a great game and you should by it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Co-op Review!

posted by blanni (DENVER, CO) Feb 4, 2011

Member since Dec 2006

Spyro is a good game worth renting for its great 2-player co-op, with one major problem - the camera!

You play as two dragons with different fighting abilities, tethered together by a leash (yes, lol). The fighting is fun and your abilities compliment each other. The levels are interesting and often challenging to figure out. Flying is especially fun! We skipped the story for the most part - if you're a serious Spyro fan you'll probably be interested, but the cutscenes just became too numerous and long for us to handle.

The graphics are pleasant and colorful and the music and sound are well done. Elijah Wood and Wayne Brady lend their voices.

The camera is your ultimate enemy in this game. You will constantly be fighting with it to be able to see where you need to go, and at times it almost seems like it chooses the ONE camera angle that you wouldn't possibly want for any situation. You get used it to, and it's almost funny sometimes how bad it is.

If you have a friend at home to play with, Spyro is definitely worth renting for its co-op. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game just hurts!

posted by kitlynne (OTTERVILLE, MO) Sep 20, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

I grew up with Spyro, I was 8 when the first one came out, and have played every game. If you have any love at all for Spyro, skip this trilogy completely.

Pros:

+ Spyro can fly

+ While normally 2 player single screen games suck, I appreciated the story line (the dragons being forced together by a chain) keeping my attention from hating my partner for not letting me move.

Cons:

+ Sypro can fly --- it's very hard to control, very limited, and it's hit and miss whether it even works half the time.

+ The camera is WRETCHED.

+ They tried to introduce "Combos" into the game, which is okay I suppose, but they're confusing, and you normally end up just button mashing.

+ The button mashing thing above leads you to a boring game, because as the enemies get tougher, you don't. You upgrade some skills, but not near enough to make the game fun.

+ Battle sequences are long, boring, and they never change. Also, you can't follow them. You can barely see where you are, and who you're fighting... Again, just mashing buttons.

+ This is NOT Spyro, this is not who Spyro is, and this is not what we fell in love with Spyro for. There are no mini games, no 'funny scenes', no comedy at all, sparx is just annoying, versus a helpful teamate, etc etc. I appreciate them trying to make Spyro 'grow up', but they comletely destroyed him in the process. The Spyro games were about puzzles, worlds, mini games, and just fun. This game is a linear game of nothing but hordes of 'bad guys' and button mashing. You don't even have to think!

+ Oh and one more, Spyro and Sparx used to be a team. (remember sending sparx underground to shoot the badguys anyone?) Now half of the game he's not even with you! And when he is he's just flying with you. Not one time is he a part of the game, except for talking.

All in all I vote 8 because I hold a special place in my heart for Spyro, and the concept is okay. The animation is great I guess.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WTH!!!

posted by GoreWave95 (ELDORA, IA) Jul 7, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

The copy i recieved kept freezing when i tried to pause or when i died so i only got to the second chapter but i give it 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dumb

posted by wills03 (HARRINGTON, DE) Jun 18, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This game's controls are very bad and you cannot get very far into the game because of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Another bad spyro game

posted by octopon (SAN MARCOS, CA) May 13, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

I really wanted to like this game. However, it fails on so many levels. The sound design, for starters, is horrible.

The gameplay is aweful. You can "fly", but the ability to fly anywhere somehow goes away when you have a complex platforming section to accomplish. Not really creative on the part of the developers.

Kludgy controls, funky graphics, and overall poor design make this game not worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

poor spyro

posted by deathwasp (MCCOMB, MS) Jan 7, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Wow, what can i say about theis game except that i was diapointed. It has none of the game play as the older spyro games it is more like trying to play a game like god of war or devil may cry. in short this is a poor excuse for a spyro game .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Oh boy

posted by krayzwytie (PRYOR, OK) May 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Ok, so this supposed kids game is realy bad. The story is too bad for adults, but there is no way a kid young enough to be interested can actually play this game. The controls are just too difficult to keep up. All in all, terrible game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »