Rent Spyro: Dawn of the Dragon for Wii
view large frontback

Spyro: Dawn of the Dragon

Not Rentable
Also on:PS3, DS, PS2, Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.5

534 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Spyro: Dawn of the Dragon

posted by Pyrospazz (BROOKFIELD, MA) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I personally found this game to be one of the best wii games so far. True, the Spyro series has strayed a lot from it's original PS1 version but the changes have improved the game if anything. The graphics are impressive and the game has a compelling story line. There all also great cut scenes that make the game all the more interesting. The enemies have proved to be more of an annoyance than they were back in the PS1 era and they can sometimes be aggravating when you're trying to do something and they keep attacking you, but that is one of the few issues I had with this game. I'd recommend this game for just about anyone. The controls are easy to remember and you don't have to be a pro gamer to be able to beat the game. Being able to play as both Spyro and Cynder is great. The two player action is actually quite decent. The screen remains full size and doesn't do the annoying split screen that most games do. The final boss can be difficult but once you have figured out how to beat it it's no problem. This game was truly amazing and I hope others will play this game and enjoy it as much as I had.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just Keeps Getting Better

posted by Tapmasterj (WESTLAND, MI) Dec 12, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is the best Spyro yet. You got 4 new abilities to choose from: Poison, Fear, Wind, and SHADOW!!! This sequal also includes armour with special abilities! You just HAVE to try it!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Spyro: Dawn of the Dragon

posted by kenves (NEWARK, NJ) Aug 12, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is awesome i loved it is totally worth playing u will brake ur head sometimes in some missions especially if don't read wat they say i just didn't like the end of the video game i thank it's very sad but than when u watch the rest of the game the drangons speaking it's not so sad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Air is Fine

posted by Doggie (GARLAND, TX) Oct 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

(first review!) The storyline is were it will really impress you. The air will amaze you and the fire will burn the other Spyro games to a crisp.

The boss battles have grown to enormous size and combat isn't just button mashing anymore. And, there is air combat... giving the game a real new perspective. It wraps things up with a great ending too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Spyro: Dawn of the Dragon

posted by RELLIK503 (PORTLAND, OR) Oct 30, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I will be honest at first I did like Spyro, but I played the last one and I was hooked. In the last game I thought it would cool if spyro could fly< and low and behold Dawn of the Dragon. If you are a dragon freak like I am the you will positivly love this game..

-RELLIK

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great addition to the Series

posted by Wilmbren (CENTERTON, AR) Dec 19, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Given that I believe this game has more pros than cons, I gave it a 9. It had an excellent storyline though at times a little anticlimactic. I liked the gameplay, and it gave me a moderate amount of difficulty, enough to frustrate in several parts. I didn't much care for the combo system, I could hardly tell who I was hitting much less what combos were being executed. The camera angles were at times annoying. The game was fun and had me sucked in til the very end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

"Dawn of the Dragon" falters with bad controls

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 18, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This is the first time in the Spyro series that boasts true flight. Problem is, Spyro: Dawn of the Dragon does not have true flight controls in it. It has glide controls instead.
And they are awful. The game designers put a fixed height where Spyro/Cinder glides along. I can't go much higher or lower than this height, which makes reaching platforms aggravating.
To get to those platforms, I would have to run along walls and/or climb up vines. Controls for these feats are clunky and imprecise.
Besides, to say again: If I can fly, why can't I just fly up to that platform? It makes the game very tedious and frustrating.
Another problem is the combat which is nothing more than mashing the B button and giving the Wiimote a shake downward. It's simple fun, but it gets far too repetitious.
Besides, I was looking for aerial combat where I take on a squadron of baddies or fly around the big bad guy, shooting at him with fire, ice, wind, poison, and other great magical spells. But no, there's no such combat to be found here. It's a wasted opportunity.
Another wasted opportunity is the story. Instead of giving a gripping story on how Cinder tries to break away from her evil past and a possible romance between her and Spyro, we get the standard "Stop the bad guy from taking over the world."
Dawn of the Dragon is reported to be the last game in the Spyro series, and I'm guessing it's for all the wrong reasons. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Big dissapointment

posted by kingkool (LARCHMONT, NY) Jan 8, 2012

Member since May 2008

The third game in the new beggining series should have been a fitting end for the series, but instead choopy controls and a confusing story line ruined it. The first thing that struck me about Dawn of the Dragon was how similar it was to LotR the two towers. It used the same combo counter and armor power-up gimmick as lord of the rings. But, your on four legs and attacking is more confusing and less affective. The controls for flying sucks and you're tethered to Cynder so you can't fly too far away. And that's another thing. This is a Spyro game. I dont want to play as Cynder. I know I wrote a bad review of Eternal night, but that was when i didnt know what a good game was. The format of the first two were so good, and they messed it up really badly. But, the game had great graphics, and offered a two player option.
If you really want to see how the series ends, or just REALLY liked LotR two towers, then rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SPYRO (warning spoiler)

posted by hazelheart (EVERETT, WA) May 27, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

i have been playing spyro ever since it came out on the playstation 1 and this one of the best spyro game EVER!! i like that they kind of made it like a movie ever time you finish a level. the only thing i have to complain about is through out the whole game im trying to keep spyro alive but at the end he sacrifices himself to save the world because its breaking apart literally it was breaking into 4 peices sooo that was really disapointing for me but other than that it was a fun game i personaly would not buy the game even though i liked it because once you beat the game you cant do anything eles except try to unlock the bounus stuff or see the credts over and over again or start the game all over again soo i would just rent it and try to beat it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not as good as ps2's versions

posted by sexymama1 (TIMPSON, TX) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

it's hard to play on wii controllers vs. ps2's controller. If you could just use the game controller instead of having to use the joystick + hand-held controllers, it would be more fun to play. Graphics are great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Change for the better

posted by tweetybrd5 (DUBUQUE, IA) Mar 21, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

I am so glad that spyro can fly now but not so sure about the 2 player mode. It is nice playing with someone else but when you want to play 1 player mode it is hard to pull off some of the tricks you need two players for

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty fun

posted by abababc (YORK, PA) Feb 16, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

pretty fun some levels are hard some fun some ok.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Spyro: Dawn of the best game for the wii!

posted by wiiwb3000 (Springfield, MO) Feb 9, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

I wasn`t expecting much of this game after playing Enter the Dragonfly, a pretty pointless game earlier in this series. But I LOVED this game, i got it and couldn`t put it down until it was beaten. DEFINITELY worth renting! I think it`s the best game out there for the wii!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent game

posted by Ziantman (JAMAICA, NY) Oct 9, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

Yes the only problem is the camera view. I love how they make it just puzzling enough to get to the next stage before you get frustrated and just become disinterested. A lot of games make it impossible to get to the next stage without a manual or a friend.

I played only the first Spyro, So I had no clue who Cynder was but I sure was glad she was on my team.

The game had perfect length and activity.
Do not try to do the combos just swing and press be. For most enemies you can pop them into the air, grab them by pressing A with B and shake the Wii remote to spin them causing a 21 hit combo or more.

If you get lost just fly around for a while and you're guaranteed to make it thru the 11? chapters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game, but it has its flaws

posted by CAV1003 (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 30, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

The game has a lot of good new features that brings something new to the table. The new elements Cynder has are a great addition along with new versions of Spyro's old elements. The new co-op feature was great for me and my brother to play together. I love the flying feature, but it has its limits, which will be said later. The stages have amazing design, and the story is was awsome.

However, the flying feature is limited to a certain height, which makes it hard to reach high ledges without climbing something. The story was somewhat short. Combat was repetitive. All you have to do is press the B button for the entire game to do a melee attack. The fury attack seemed better in previous games where you had a different fury for every element.

Aside from that, Dawn of the Dragon was a great ending to what I thought was a great series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

son loved it!

posted by goosebumps (SAN ANTONIO, TX) May 20, 2009

Member since May 2007

My 10 year old son loved this game. But my 10 year old daughter and my 6 year old daughter wasnt into it at at.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I love the flying

posted by howeler (MILPITAS, CA) Apr 20, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

So as you can tell from my title the flying was awesome!!! It felt like I was really flying… Graphics were nice… the cut seens were pretty too… but I liked how you could bypass most of the cut shots… so you could play story mode and not get kicked out of the action for too long. I had fun playing this one through… I like the option to add a second player as you go… they can drop out at any time… the problem with that is there is a learning curve on how to fly and maneuver… So my daughter (10yrs) tried a few times but quickly got frustrated… As did I… since it seemed like the 2nd player would more often slow you down… even when she got the hang of playing we would drop her out to complete some challenges… It took me 13 hours to complete the game… not sure if that is good… but once through… I really did not want to do it again… great story… but for me it was a once through… I did pop back in to the chapter mode to relive a few scenes and try to get more gems… but that was for less than an hour and back in its sleeve it went. So final review… Yes get this one… to play and return in true gamefly fashion… but most likely it will not be a keeper. Two thumbs up to rent… Two down to buy…

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

The dragon never took flight

posted by youngpoe79 (WESTMINSTER, CO) Feb 17, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2005

Up the this point I had never played any of the other spyro games. Which is a shame because if they are anything like this I will never play any of them either.

I had two major problems with this game. One is the camera. JUST HORRIBLE. from changing your view to impossible angles to just cutting your characters off completely. The other issue was the fighting controls. JUST HORRIBLE. Some of the combos would tell you to swing down 4 times and then hit B. WHAT?! Do they know how hard it is to count the number of times you swing (compared to how many the game reads) and then hit B??? It made it really hard to fight tough enemies. They were strong enough but when you can't muster a good attack it just becomes pretty impossible.

I will say this though. I do like that they made it co-op, I liked the free flying, and I liked the puzzle aspects. Otherwise my best comparison would be Lord of the Rings, with a bad fighting combo system and bad camera. If you have a friend you could play this with maybe give the co-op mode a shot to see what you think otherwise I wouldn't even bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad

posted by Addey1 (Columbia, PA) Jan 29, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

i got the game and it was scrached i cudint play it at ole because it was to scrached

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

preety good

posted by akatsuki17 (NAPLES, FL) Dec 16, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

I got bored after a while but I didn't find it very interesting because I didn't play the other games first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good story, difficult controls

posted by amj2000 (PORTLAND, OR) Dec 5, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

The adventure was great and engaging, especially for my 10 yr old son. However, the controls and fighting style was lacking and unresponsive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

can be a game that grows on you

posted by hobieone (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Dec 4, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2008

this game has good graphics for the wii and is alot of fun. its a fun new twist for a plat form game with rpg elements and puzzles. this is a defnite rent prob buy it eventually.

the only this that kept me from giving it a higher rating was the camera angles . which was very annoying and always at an angle you didn't want it specially when flying and you have to battle made seeing what your doing tricky. they should have made so you can lock it or put in a z lock like in legend of zelda

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly Good!

posted by decapad (BRONX, NY) Nov 28, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

Surprisingly good adventure. Nice open exploration & some nifty puzzles. If you enjoyed games like Mario Sunshine, Ico & Tombraider you should like this one! Happy Holidays! Deca

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »