Rent Spyro: Dawn of the Dragon for PS3
view large frontback

Spyro: Dawn of the Dragon

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii, PS2, DS
GF Rating
6.1

1097 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

By far the best Spyro game to date!!!!!

posted by PhantomXXX (IVINS, UT) Dec 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

12 out of 12 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have played all the Spyro games now and this one takes the cake for sure! I still love the old games and the direction they went with this Spyro is definitely way outside of the typical Spyro game norm, but in a very good way! Lets take Enter the Dragonfly for instance. When this game came out it was like "Oh my god wow I can shoot Ice, Bubbles, AND Electricity!" We hand't had a huge leap like that with any of the other Spyro games with the exception of adding the ability to swim in and under the water in Spyro 3 for the PS1. Even Eternal Night still held true to the basic Spyro rules of flight. You did get extra cool abilities to use with the different elements though which was cool. I have to hand it to the game designers on this one though because the whole game got a face lift ie the graphics on the PS3 were out of this world, the fact that you could fly at any given moment in time, change between Spyro and Cynder at a moments notice, bad guys didn't have health bars unless they were a boss, the collection of heath/mana/xp gems that boosted the amount of health/mana/xp you had to upgrade your already fantastic elemental abilities, and the fact that the story line has you begging for more the entire time! Seriously when is the next one coming out cause playing Spyro just got better, and the best part about it was that when I was done with the story mode and went back to chapter mode to try and find everything I missed the first time through (because I can't put a Spyro game down until it is beaten 100%) the game just gets more and more fun as your abilities get stronger and the armor sets give you extra abilities to do even more massively damaging attacks like my favorite sets for both Spyro and Cynder are the ones that unlock Fury Breath! That ability you can only do for about 10 seconds at a time every 200 monsters or so you kill whenever I want as long as I have mana for it... YES PLEASE! Play this game it is fun! I am 28 and I loved it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty good for all the negative reviews around

posted by chocoboRum (GALVESTON, TX) Nov 30, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is my first Spyro game. I wasn't really expecting much out of this game with all the bad reviews. I saw cute purple dragon and platforming and clicked RENT. I also underestimated how epic the game tries to be, even after reading about it. This is the biggest "save the world from utter destruction" vibe I've gotten in a game yet, and I've played many of those. There's an all-star cast with Elijah Wood and Mark Hamil, with LOTR written all over.

The story is unremarkable and heavily borrows from LOTR, but enjoyable nonetheless. I'd take a baby dragon over a Hobbit any day. Some people complain too much about the visuals. Its not to par with the tip top games of this gen in technical terms, but my PC can run Crysis on ultra high and I think it looks butt ugly. This game holds its own artistically and I really like the cel-shaded and drawn look of the characters, as well as the environments. The biggest mood swinger is the epic music, which always has a chorus shrilling it up at all times.

The basic combat is repetitive and boring, but the spells are sometimes fun to use. In the PS3 version at least, monsters start getting so hard that it takes dozens of attacks to even kill a normal enemy that can kill you in a few hits. Fortunately, there really aren't any waves of enemies like GOW, and the bosses are easy.

There is a lot more exploration, puzzle solving, and platforming than combat, which I like more. The flight mechanic is interesting but requires some finesse. The two main characters are also always chained together, which also makes for some interesting puzzle mechanics, like using Spyro as a wrecking ball, or pulling objects with one dragon being a tether. Some find the level design unfocused. I think it allows more exploration, and cooler looking levels.

I don't think this game deserves as low a score as people have given. I enjoyed this game much more than I did the latest Ratchet and Clank game, which was boring. Try it out if you like platformers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SPYRO IS BACK!!!

posted by Gamer251 (BARRINGTON, RI) Dec 29, 2008

Member since Jun 2004

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Finally! Spyro is back the way he was meant to be. I've played every Spyro game since the PS1 and I was really disappointed when Krome Studios developed the games. Do not enjoy constant fighting through the whole game, with not much exploring or "picking up" items at all. Etranges Libellules does a fantastic job of bringing Spyro back to his roots.

This is the best Spyro game yet! I never liked being forced to do the "speedways" in the earlier games and they left that out. Yeh!

Spyro can fly now! It takes a bit of getting used to, but once you get the knack of it, it's wonderful to be able to fly to places you can't get to. Would like the flying ability to be improved in the next game, though. There are plenty of "secrets" to find and areas to explore, plenty of crystals to find (a great improvement from the Krome games) to help level up and replace your health and mana. I was able to level up all the breaths for both dragons. The story is very good also.

My only complaint is not being able to move the camera much to look around, especially when I couldn't turn it to see ahead of where I was going, very frustrating sometimes.

All in all, it is a great game. I enjoyed it very much. If you liked the PS1 games and did not enjoy the Krome games as much, then you'll love this one!

Good for all ages. Has something for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Spyro: Dawn of the Dragon PS3 Review

posted by nightmare6 (GAITHERSBURG, MD) Nov 5, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I can't spend much time on this review.
The game is a solid game, not a bad rental, but not a good game either. I am giving it a 7 out of 10 since overall, the game is well done and fun and the story is quite good.

The story is for all ages, kids or adults can enjoy it. Think Lord of The Rings with dragons. This is the end of a trilogy, so keep in mind that some aspect might get you lost if you don't know the back story.

The game plays like a clone of God of War. YES, a God of War clone, and not badly done I might add. You have two character at once at all times. You can control Spyro or Cynder (evil female dragon from previous games). You have different combos than you can perform, and you each have 4 magic attacks you can use. Fire, Ice, Earth and Lightning for Spyro and Cynder has Shadow, Wind, Scream and Poison (the later is 100% useless). You will need some of this power to complete puzzles, and there are a lot of puzzles, but mostly are good and break the pace quite well.
Some of the levels are quite generic (like a castle, and a green field) but there are some level than although a little frustrating, are worth a rental just for them alone. The Destroyer level is a monster that you must take out, but the monster is the level, and he is HUGE. I had a lot of fun, but it get frustrating since you NEVER know were to go next in this game, and you will get stuck. You can level up your magic attack with orbs the enemies drop and from chest that you find along the game. The problem is that the game is very beat'em up, no real strategy except for elite enemies is ever used. Just hit, combo, retreat, and do again or use magic.

The graphics are ok, nothing special, best looking Spyro game, but worst than 80% of games in today market. It not bad, just generic and nothing special. The sound is good, it not bad, but nothing to see or hear here that's special.
The game has LOCAL-only two player co-op, which makes the game a lot better, but has no online co-op. Fun rental

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Spyro....was good

posted by dural77 (Richmond, VA) Nov 23, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Yea I was a fan of the games back in the ps1 days. They were fun and had great control, the scripts were much better and less forced than this sequel. It really feels like a high end xbox/gamecube game in terms of graphics. The flying isn't amazing and you are artificial limited in your flying ability mainly for the purpose of platforming. Seems like they thought it would be a good idea to fly...at first then pulled the reins back on that idea. This would probably be great for kids 13 and younger.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

One good thing...

posted by lihill (BALTIMORE, MD) Nov 7, 2008

Member since May 2008

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

The only good thing about this game is the voice acting. Other than that, overall, the production is horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Wtf

posted by JonnX20 (PORT HUENEME, CA) Oct 9, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

I would like to give this game a proper review but I can't cause its been on low availability for what seems like years

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Spyro's Adventure

posted by TinyWeeReview (TOMBALL, TX) Feb 20, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

i liek spro i am 10 and i realy love this game becase of the actin and grafics. spyro shoots fire and i realy liek dis game and i hope u will to

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Failure...Just Pure Failure

posted by weimerman61 (DAYTON, OH) Sep 12, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

Let me begin by saying I grew up with the original 3 PlayStation Spyro the Dragon games. I had beaten the second one to 100% completion so many times I began working on a walkthrough, and I was only something like twelve or thirteen. I played the fourth one, but it was immemorial. I was excited to get Dawn of the Dragon, even though it's five years old, because I never had a desire to play it until signing onto Gamefly. To the review- this is a disaster. I am strictly using the older games as a model, of course, but to say this game is playable is giving it too much credit. Exploration is gone. Absolutely none in this game, which made the other games so appealing. Maybe it lost luster with me because I'm an adult now, but Spyro is quite the weakling in this game, even though he's older too. Cynder isn't the best partner, either. The enemies are ridiculously overpowered and YOU WILL DIE OFTEN. Getting 100 percent in the game is actually really tough. Sparx makes another appearance, except he has no real place in the game and at many cutscenes is annoying. The level design is poor and the unexciting landscapes repeat often. You spend much time underground or on burned lands. The platforming sequences are horrendous at best, and even though you can "fly" in this game unlike the older ones, you'll still find yourself climbing and jumping everywhere due to a magic "wind" that keeps you from easily soaring to unreachable places. Sigh. It is a sad rendition. Oddly enough, the final boss battle isn't too bad and the ending is actually a very memorable one. Unfortunately, that doesn't save the many problems this game has...and I didn't even mention the camera that seems to be against you the entire game. In the older games, you were able to control the camera at any time, but it seems this awful sequel decided to cut that out. Shame, really.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Eh..

posted by Anubis833 (OWENSBORO, KY) Aug 26, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

The only Spyro I had ever played was the Skylanders game and that in my opinion wasn't really a spyro game, it just had him in it. So I thought I would give this one a shot. I am just gonna post my pros and cons. This may contain spoilers.

Pros:

--voice acting (not the best but not bad), although I didn't care too much for Cynder's voice.
--the scenery of some of the levels was very nice
--the music

Cons--

--too repetitive
--some mobs have way too much hp in my opinion
--camera angles were really bad
--most of the levels were just annoying due to previous 3 cons
--end boss was easiest part of the game
--could have done so much more with the destroyer level instead of just make it stationary

Overall I am glad I played it, but wouldn't play it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

PS2 Vers was...

posted by BloodyHeck (HOLCOMB, KS) Nov 9, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

I got it on the PS2 i wanted to see if this would be a game i got rid of for PS2 games yet i liked the PS2 vers better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not bad for a PS2

posted by compsci78 (GREENSBORO, NC) Sep 1, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

If this was played during the era when the PS2 came out I would give this game some good reviews but on the PS3 it is rather weak in the graphics department anf overall mechanics. Great game for younger people and people who enjoyed the previous games but really that is all I can say about this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Worst Spyro Out!

posted by simopene (BANGOR, ME) Aug 10, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

This is the worst spyro game i have ever played. The camera angles are absolutely horrible you cant even see what direction you are moving in. You can barely move the whole game. Dont waste your time with this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DO NOT RENT!! IF YOU ARE A FAN OF SPYRO

posted by spyroluver (LITHIA, FL) Jun 24, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

ive been playing the first 4 spyros and had them for YEARS so i thought it be good to get a new one...thankgod this site is renting because it is the WORST game ive ever played.. its not even spyro it SUCKS..truly the makers of spyro messed this game up because i got so mad at the game almost chucked my ps3 across my house.!!!! do not rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Spyro: Dawn of the Dragon

posted by sailorlon (FRESNO, CA) Apr 16, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I was very disappointed with this installment of the Spyro franchise. Whereas the other games in the series have puzzles that go from easy to very difficult, "Dawn of the Dragon" very quickly goes from hard to impossible -- at least, it does if (like me) you only have one controller and no-one else to play the other character.

The two dragons in this version are "chained" together with an energy field that acts like a giant rubber band that requires the two to co-ordinate with each other to move smoothly. If you have a partner, this probably isn't all that difficult. But if your "partner" is the game AI, you're cursed with an ally that constantly wants to move in a direction other than the one you need to go in... and thus prevents you from making the huge jumps you require. A faster, more responsive AI would fix this... a ten-year-old gamester would fix this. Lacking either, I quickly reached the point where the game was unplayable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It just wasn't the same....

posted by nefertiti1 (EVERETT, WA) Dec 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

I know games change with the times, but I am disheartened by the new Spyro. I used to play it on the PS1 and had a blast. Now it's obscure in the way you have to beat the boss's (and the walkthrough's too) and too many CUT SCENES! Just let me play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not really LEGEND Material...

posted by PRFAN1013 (NEW YORK, NY) Dec 22, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

Do play this game... Now do a search for characters from World Of Warcraft. Exactly total rip off. I like the fact that you do start the game with all your powers and you have the other little fellow to switch with... aside from that everything else simply.... sucks. Don't hold your fire breath on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »