Rent Sports Champions for PS3
view large frontback

Sports Champions

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.6

375 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing For A Launch Title

posted by Adams4190 (CORAOPOLIS, PA) Oct 6, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Playstation Move is here, and if this is the quality of the launch title Wii might soon be out of business. While Sports Champions is not the perfect game in any way, it is exceptional for the first use of the new technology.

Pros
- It just flat out feels realistic. Compared to the Wii the Move just feels much better when you have the controller in your hand. This is most prevalent during the Ping Pong game. I am a huge fan of raquet sports (Tennis, Ping Pong etc..) and being able to comfortable and reliably hit with topspin and slice is really exciting.
- The graphics are excellent. No more incredibly cartoonish characters or awful backgrounds to ruin the motion control experience. The characters all look like real people. and generally all of the graphics are well done when compared to any other game on the market.
- The choice of games is not what you would expect, which actually helps the game stand out. Ping Pong and Beach Volleyball were the only of the games I would have expected to be included, but you also get Bochi Ball, Gladiator Duel, Archery, and my surprise favorite Disc Golf.

Cons
- While there are some collectibles, you never really feel like you're accomplishing anything by going through the game. Sure it is cool to have a lollipop for a ping pong paddle, but maybe the addition of some new equipment that have stat boosts might have made it more fulfilling to get them
- The characters, while somewhat diverse in size and shape, have no personality to them at all. Something could have been done to make them stand out a little better besides one word dialogues and maniacal laughter.
-A couple of the games do not feel quite as fun without 2 controllers, which could turn some buyers off

Basically the game is just a fun collection of mini-games. There no real depth beyond that point, but that is to be expected. However, if you're on the fence about getting the Move, just know you definitely won't feel cheated getting this game in the $100 bundle

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Stretch and Get ready for MOVE!

posted by Toreup (Bettendorf, IA) Dec 18, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This Game is a Must try for MOVE First Timers, Really shows what you Will expect to see and feel With other games all under one roof. Accuracy, Agility, overall integrity MOVE will also burn some calories.
Try each Game Don't worry about Games you don't like because the style of each one is unique Somethign is Sure to please you.

This is a Solid 3-6+ week rental because you CANNOT just play all games 100% in a few days!

Enjoy a Solid 7-8 Game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cool

posted by VampyrM (SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Oct 1, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Nice interactive gameplay, kinda challenging a bit since I have just played it last night. You need 2 move controllers for a smoother gameplay. Not bad for ps3 move's first title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's cool, good for a beginning title.

posted by arumat (DAHLGREN, VA) Sep 27, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Well I have the game and well here are what you should know about it.

PROS:
Trophies
multiple games and multi player
Fun
You can unlock items and possibly customize characters.
CONS:
No online multiplayer, so no global gladitor fighting anyone other than possibly a person next to you.
Not worth the price to be honest, it's a bit too expensive.

PS MOVE CONTROLLER PROBLEM FIX:

btw, if you are having problems with making the controller turn on or syncing with your ps3 (like I did), turn off the playstation, plug the motion controllers into the console via usb...turn the playstation on...the controller is now synced with your playstation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sports Champions

posted by shinku (ANCHORAGE, AK) Jun 6, 2013

Member since Mar 2007

I liked most the games on the title. I enjoyed archery,bowling and skiing,as I am from Alaska. I disliked tennis as it was off kilter and found boxing unrealistic and lacking. You can't even defend yourself properly. Overall I found it a good buy, fun it was on special. There arn't many games you can get for $8, sweet!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Insane!

posted by airbender14 (DUBOIS, WY) Jan 25, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

When we got this game in the ps3 bunde (from Santa) we were a little hesitent that it would be yet another wii like dissappointment but boy was I wrong!This game has everything that anyone can ever ask for awesome graphics,Characters,collective outfits,equipement,and trophies.The best thing of all is the realism of it.the wii is pre set movements with shoty gameplay,but this is a wholenother story.Havok did an amazing job with the graphics(ps3 graphics continue to amaze).The viriaty of characters could have been better(at the begining you can either choose from obonxious, stupid girls or a few buff guys).The events are alot of fun, there are 5 events to choose from:Bocce(wich I have absoulty no idea what the game is all about,but its fun),Glateator Duel,Ping-Pong,Beach Vollyball,and my personel fav,Disc Golf.I would stay away from vollyball and ping pong because there really hard not very much fun.Glateator Duel is alot of fun,but most likley better with 2 motion controllers.Overall this game is very good with everything(ps on disc golf be on the lookout for secert passeges.A little advice on the hole"Rockey Ridge""at least I think it is,look for a big rock on the left side of the beginning of the coarse and launch your disc up there there is a secret half pipe looking thing that cuts through half the coarse!).Its a definate rent and a buy if you can! have fun with this one,airbender14 >:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wii Sports on Steroids!

posted by gamer301 (CLAYTON, NY) Feb 1, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

I got this game with my Move Starter pack, expecting an awesome HD version of Wii Sports. That's what I got, only better. The Move is not only WAY more accurate than the Wii, its main launch title throws the Wii Sports out of the water. You get 6 sports, Gladiator Duel, Archery, Volleyball, Bocce, Disk golf, and Table tennis. Gladiator Duel is awesome, but be prepared to be very sore after lengthy play sessions. But the difficulty is a bit sporadic in it and can end up being frustrating at times. And using only one Move controller is annoying. So buy a 2nd if you get the Move. Archery is my personal favorite, extremely accurate and fun. Volleyball is also very fun, it feels like you're actually playing it. Bocce is fun, but a bit odd at times because when you throw a ball, it sometimes does really fake bounces and screws you up. Disk golf is very easily explained, its disk golf. Nothing else. But the disk can be troublesome when it curves at a dumb angle. And table tennis, my least favorite. The paddle is see-through making it hard to match it to the ball, and its quite glitchy.
There are some good characters, and all are fun, but still cookie cutter sports characters. Different outfits and accessories are fun to unlock. I wish there was a bit more variety though.

Pros: Awesome graphics, gladiator duel, archery and volley-ball are the best. All very lifelike. Nice trophy support, decent character roster. Added accessories are nice. Its always nice to have 2-player support. Add-on content is a nice bonus also.

Cons: Some glitches in some sports, sometimes random difficulty spikes. Nothing new when it comes to characters. Some so-so sports can be annoying. More costumes would've been nice.

So, Sports Champions is a very fun launch title, perhaps not worth the whole 40 bucks, but is perfect in the Starter Bundle. Its not perfect, but worth a defiant rent. Great way to sue the Move while you wait for the major titles coming soon

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game

posted by mtthwae (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jan 5, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

This game is not the best game in the world but it is pretty fun. it gives you a work out (depending on what sport your doing). If you ARE going to get this game, buy it, don't rent it. It's better with 2 motion controllers but you can use 1 and it would still be fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

amazing

posted by Drowzee7 (COLUMBUS, OH) Dec 27, 2010

Member since Aug 2004

ok i dont know why i always read online that the playstation move is so horrible, and that it doesnt work that well... well it works perectly fine for me no problems at all.... this game is so much fun. my family and I played this all togeteher on christmas when i got it this year as a gift. i love this game. 9 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome Start for Move Games

posted by dedguy (KATY, TX) Dec 3, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

This game really exemplifies the Move's potential. The only game that isn't that interesting to me, though well done, is the volleyball. The Gladiator is kind of repetitive, but still fun. The rest of the games are oustanding! I didn't think I would like the bocci ball, but get 3 of your friends, and it's a guaranteed good time, better than curling! Ping-pong is by far my favorite.

That said, is it perfect? No, but it's a GREAT start. All future Move game developers need to take stock of this one, and hopefully everything just gets better from here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

REVIEW

posted by dairywa0 (TOMBALL, TX) Dec 1, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

AMAZING GAME BEATS wii by sooo many levels. first of all the gladiator is the best
and econd love to think of wht they can do with this controller in the future

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »