Rent Spore Hero for Wii
view large frontback

Spore Hero

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.5

880 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

I thought it was better than most people say.

posted by Grox10 (MONTGOMERY, AL) Feb 14, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

13 out of 13 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's a good game. It's differin't from original spore, though. In this one, you interact, do quests (Missions, quests, goals, whatever ya wanna call 'em lol), and other things like that. It's like a mix of creature stage and tribal stage, they're kinda in the creature stage gameplay, but tribal stage-ish story. The battles are in an arena, rather than in daily adventures. People say that is a bad thing, but personally, I think it's more fun that way. In this game, if you fight someone and win, they respect you: They don't hate you. The dancing and singing are hard to explain, kinda hard to do at first. The creature creator is differint, not worse though. Sometimes it can be kind've annoying, don't get me wrong. Some of the game is puzzles, but still good if you don't like puzzles. It is kinda short though. I beat it in about 2 days. Although after you beat it, you can go back to the areas and complete some of the overall goals that you may have missed before. I liked it. Overall, I think it gets 9/10, but only because of the annoying parts caused by the wii controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Even Spore needs a hero

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Dec 9, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

Spore Hero is an action platforming game that both succeeds and fails. That may be as unique a description as the concept.
As the story goes, you begin as a little blob who hatches from an egg that was found in a meteor rock. Now, you have to defend and beat up crazy critters that inhabit your new home on the way to defeat an evil creature that came off another meteor rock. Makes perfect sense so far.
In order to proceed through the game, you need to gain new and better abilities. By completing quests, you receive new parts you can add to your avatar. Some of these parts will give you the power to glide, swim, charge, jump, spit, regenerate and more. These allow you to access new areas or beat more difficult foes. Being able t develop your creature and evolve it to more powerful forms is a unique and enjoyable experience.
Much of the game is pure platforming. You acrobatically navigate the landscape, collect crystals, compete in mini-games and take on some enemies. All of your battles take place in an arena rather than being done while exploring. This seems less intuitive, but it works.
There are some considerable load screens between sections. Also, the mini-games rely heavily on the Wii motion-sensor. Singing and posing (actual activities) rely on holding the Wiimote in certain positions, which doesn't always work as well as you'd like.
The world itself is nicely rendered. It looks alien and yet organic. The character models are as varied as you'd expect from the Spore license, as are the areas you'll explore. Every time you upgrade your creature, you'll find that the finished product is well-rendered. However, the editor can be frustrating when you try to add parts, as there is no zoom.
The game itself is pretty short. You can easily beat it in a day (I did). Unfortunately, after you finish and construct your dream creature, you have basically nothing left. With little replay value and an odd premise, it's good for a day, but not any longer than that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

great game with few downsides...

posted by jjohn2478 (OCEANSIDE, CA) Oct 7, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2008

18 out of 24 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Since everyone is rating this game a ten and not bothering to write a review, I figured I would take care of it. My immediate impression is that this game is great. Within a few minutes you are creating a character almost from scratch. The character creator lets you change almost every aspect of your creature. You can move where the eyes sit, place a mouth or mouths wherever you want, change your creatures leg structure and placement. This unfortunately, looks like the best aspect of the game. The graphics are typical Wii, the battle mode is horrible, and the story seems like a last minute thrown together thing. It is a great rental and as I have only had it a day...the other aspects may get better. I'd check it out...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun Yet Flawed.

posted by ThaSquare (ROSEVILLE, CA) Oct 28, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

If you've ever played the original Spore game, you'll find this title to feel like an extended version of the Creature Stage. You'll be mingling with other worldly oddities, scraping up as many animal parts and abilities as you can.

However, you'll be getting more unnecessary pieces than anything worthwhile. For example, you'll receive 3-starred (out of 5) foot from a mission. The next hour or so of scavenging and completing tasks, the only feet you'll find will be lower than it, filling in the gaps of your catalog, more or less. I wish you had the ability to swap the parts' ratings so one could find use out of an item that has been upstaged by another.

Each sections' missions stick to a pretty rigid scheme; you need to remove the red meteorites, edit a foreign creature, and fight a few foes. There are a few area specific missions, but nothing too special.

Unfortunately, I ran into a game ending glitch in the Moonlit Caverns where the main monster I need to converse with (Rikiko) will not speak to me. One of the red rocks I need to break is covered by a barrier only he can help with but he just shrugs at me every time I go to talk to him. I've spent hours trying to get past it but no deal. The game will not progress without doing this task so I'm stuck.

The biggest problem, besides the glitch, is jumping and flying. Mid air jumps and flying will, most often than not, get misinterpreted. As they're all allocated to the A button, it's not hard to see why. Getting up a step never seemed harder than in this game; getting past a minuscule gap is even harder. Half the time I played was spent getting back to where I fell from.

A fun jaunt into the Spore realm, this game delivers on most expectations. The creature creator is robust, sporting more arms and eyes than one can ever find need for. The missions, though fairly simplistic, can be completed with ease, in the most part. The entertainment value held steady while playing.

If not for the glitch, I'd give an 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Fun

posted by Circe22 (GLADSTONE, OR) Jan 11, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This was great fun for my 9 yo. None of the adults tried it but it accounted for hours of good, creative fun had by kids. We will buy this game eventually.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One of the best games ever!

posted by goldmaster (SIOUX CITY, IA) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

Spore Hero is one of the funest games i have ever played it is a little better than the computer version. It has some of the best graphics, and the fighting is awsome! The game looks great in 3D and is a great game for anyone to play. And the singing and dancing are funner than on the computer. I love this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun if you enjoy Spore

posted by Dentzau (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Dec 10, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I rented this game because my girlfriend and I loved Spore on my computer and thought this might be worth buying, but I wanted to try it first.

The game starts out with the same style of graphics as the PC version and you hatch from an egg. You are introduced to the concept of adding on body parts to your creature in a tutorial stage. While there seem to be an abundance of parts, I foresee most of them being unused simply because they aren't as good as other parts you will almost always have.

The game play is a standard adventure/plat former and has plenty of the Spore-like world designs both in the creatures and in the environment. This game introduces a different kind of combat system, one that mimics a fighting game but much more simplistic. This is probably the game's biggest downfall. The combat is almost too simple and often times can be won just by spamming a normal attack. I didn't play many combats but I could foresee them becoming very old and tired after only a few hours of game play.

Overall, its at least good for a rental if you liked Spore, especially if you are into the character creation. If creating your own character (sometimes only for aesthetic reasons) isn't something that appeals to you then there are better plat formers out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

looks exciting but actualy stinks

posted by dominick2 (ORLANDO, FL) Dec 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

i got this game hoping it would be just like the other spore games but it isnt at all.I rated this game a 4 because throughout the whole game its pretty much the same thing every level and eventually gets really boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun and Challenging

posted by steven45 (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Oct 10, 2009

Member since May 2005

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is definitely different, it looks colorful and childish, but the games controls provide a extra amount of challenge. if your looking for something simple, but is still a Challenge, try this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

kinda hard,but awesome game!!!!

posted by slayer3 (REDDING, CA) Jan 21, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I loved this game!It kept me occupied for two weeks!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Spore Hero

posted by Brendan22 (FAIRPLAY, CO) Oct 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Well lets see it was better than the horrible abonation spore game on the ds. Creating cretures was pretty fun and quite customizable. The graphics weren't half bad either for a wii game. The gameplay and controls are where the game falls flat. The only reason i played the story is to get new parts for my monsters. The characters and "dialouge" and missions are just LAME! This one seems more for the kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Spore Hero

posted by debbiearonson (NEWHALL, CA) Jan 30, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

We never got to play this game as it was defective.
We would like to try the game with another copy if you have one.
Thank You
Debbie

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

amazing

posted by henochreyna (NEW BRAUNFELS, TX) Dec 28, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

the game was on point. the monsters were really cute, but i could have been a 10 but i gave it a 9 cause it was just to easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Reminds me of Barbie Fairytopia

posted by Laughing_Birg (PORTLAND, OR) Sep 1, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I like the graphics and characters but the most of land reminds me of Barbie Fairytopia. But it's still pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A bit confusing

posted by Ultraman (MAPLE VALLEY, WA) Oct 26, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

spore hero is a good game,but it's a bit confusing.

story:9

extras:10

bosses:9

parts:7 (parts as in the parts you put on your monster,and at what timing you find them)

side quest(s):9

overall rating:8-9
:3 :D X3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This game is out of this world

posted by Titan11 (KAPLAN, LA) Jun 13, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

This game lets your creative mind spark.
In this game your an alien egg but you bring these weird rocks that can grow or discard body parts and use them to your advantage

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Stick With The PC Spore! ;(

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Jun 3, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

Spore Hero looked pretty cool. I play the PC version myself, so I was looking forward to it in the mail. :)
...But when it arrived, I immediately played it. And I got into the game but it wasn't worth the wait at all! ;(
First of all...UGLY GRAPHICS! The PC Spore had way better graphics and way better gameplay!
THIS is just a cheap rip-off of a great computer game. I wouldn't buy this game even if my life depended on it!
The missions were lame! And you don't have much of a choice to make your monster with!
Please don't waste your time with this cheap and horrible game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

spore hero is pretty good

posted by sfgamer (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) May 22, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

this is a decent spore game. it dosent have the cell,tribal,civilization,and space stages but it does have creature stage. these are some reasons why it is different. #1 it is for wii. #2 its kind of like poptropica because you do missions that sometimes are puzzles. some of the missions you have to fight other creatures. some of the missions you do a dance off!! this is a good game for anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid extension of the franchise

posted by casey37 (HURST, TX) Mar 20, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

What's to say, it's Spore!

This is a great game for the family, it's not too complex and not too simple so if you want to max out everything possible you can but it's not a requirement to complete the game.

I find myself laughing a different friendly interactions as I work through them and combat is fairly responsive with enough choices to be interesting.

If you're looking for a kid-friendly title to add to your collection this one is great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Spore Hero Sucks

posted by Maxcat (BETHESDA, MD) Jan 31, 2010

Member since May 2009

If you already have spore for the computer, don't even think of getting this game. The creation tools are for creature only, which I expected. But the parts are exactly the same on the computer, so it is basically the creature creator with a story. The story is very stupid. You're good and you must fight evil. The main selling point of this game was the fighting gameplay. I hated fighting because it was just wiggling your wiimote and nunchuk. That has been done too many times before. Overall, this game sucks. The only part I enjoyed was exploring as a creature, but that gets old fast. Don't buy, and if you don't believe this review, try it for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I can't look at these graphics...

posted by threaldeal (ORLANDO, FL) Dec 25, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

Isn't about time this console was banned from the market or something. Seriously who can look at garbage like this and why 80% of the games on the market aimed at 5 and under, actually I suppose there aimed at no one, since I didn't want to play trash like this when I was kid. Don't tell me this game is creative just because you can create your own character, if this game was just aimed at someone besides Mr. Rodgers family, I might have been able to play it for at least an hour or somethinhg like that. The market is almost completely empty in reality and far from oversaturated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucks

posted by gamerate (LEBANON, PA) Oct 17, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

ok i stated playing it then the first thing i didnt like was the editor because how are you suposed to be acurat enough to make one and right when i started playing i got bored right away i have spore fro computer but its fun the wii spore not so much and this is gamerate

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »