Rent Spore Creatures for DS
view large frontback

Spore Creatures

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.3

927 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Kids Play

posted by LAWMAN60 (SUNNYVALE, CA) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I had high hopes for this game. I really thought it as maybe some sort of game to create your own universae and be worshipped type deal. Well the game to me is mostly search and recreate your spore every now and again. not a bad game, my 9 year old son gets a kick out of it, so with that great game for the kids, hard core gamers may find it a bit boring though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Spore Jr. doesn't stack up

posted by Thatguy232 (CENTENNIAL, CO) Nov 12, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

If you are trying to replicate the truly large world of spore on the DS it is a tall order to say the least.

For kids spore creatures is a fun share and make friends social game but for anyone looking for a portable spore experience you may want to look at the simcity games before looking here.

Controls are simplistic and the game quickly becomes locate a friend, add parts change color and attack.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Warning!Don't waste your time by buying this game!

posted by TheGaming1 (Big Sur, CA) Nov 1, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

You have better games to play than Spore for DS. Both Graphics and freedom in the game are way better on the PC. the only fun I ever got out of it was creating monsters. otherwise, it was a waste of cash!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Didn't like it

posted by SuperCooki (GRAND ISLAND, NY) Sep 21, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I expected this game to be good because of the description, but I really didn't like it because of the graphics, how easy it was (beaten in 10 hours or less), and that final boss was a let down

I really dont recommend this game to people who like long games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

UGH!!!

posted by Pinky621 (SEVERN, MD) Apr 13, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

do not get this game its sooooooooooo stupid i almost fell asleep playing it i didnt even keep it 4 a day usually i keep games 3 days but this one sucked

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Completely and utterly HOR-I-BLE

posted by Mikemonkey (GLENDALE, AZ) Oct 6, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I hated this game so much I almost barfed all over my DS it was -insert swear word of your choice here- horrible. I hope this has helped your not pick this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Wasn't what i expected

posted by gamemagnet (PORT HUENEME, CA) Sep 15, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 10 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

cool paper Mario styled creatures 360 degree world but didn't cut it combat was hard game got boring id rather play Zelda or Mario

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really cool

posted by gtafan234 (FORT POLK, LA) Sep 9, 2008

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 15 gamers (13%) found this review helpful

The graphics could be worked on but besides that this game is total awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

wicked boring and too wierd

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Apr 30, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

this game was boring and almost made me fall asleep, it was wierd cuz all u do is customize creatures and do wierd stuff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Birthday gift gone bad

posted by catcatboomboom (ROUND ROCK, TX) Jul 23, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

i got this game for my birthday cuz i have the spore pc version and i thought it was great. but this is a total waste of money. i only got up to the 3rd level cuz it was HORRIBLE!!! please, save that poor money in ur wallet and buy a different game. if u really like spore games get spore for pc, or if u dont have a pc get spore hero for ds. okay, in other words DONT BUY THIS GAME!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

meh

posted by ffghtuugfd (AUSTIN, TX) Jun 4, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

this game sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

why?

posted by Foxhole (PALMETTO BAY, FL) Mar 1, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

this game is frustrating, time wasting, bad graphics, im not trying to be a hater but this game is just really bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mediocre at best...

posted by BeccaKat (CHATTANOOGA, TN) Jan 16, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

I just couldn't get into this game. To me, putting the right body parts on to make my creature stronger was kind of a trial and error and didn't really follow a logical pattern...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Game Ever!

posted by Seanathome (CINNAMINSON, NJ) Jan 7, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

When I rented this game, I thought that it was going to be very long and boring game but I was wrong. It was so exciting! Every time you turn a corner, something exciting happens. Similar to the PC-based game, there were a lot of fights and friendships. The difficulty of the fights were not too hard, but got much harder as the game progressed. The overall gameplay was easy to understand and pick up.

I finished the whole game in about 7 hours, spaced out over two weeks. If you enjoyed the PC-version of Spore, you will not be disappointed. It be very enjoyable and amazing!

Put it in your queue today. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TRULY THE WORST GAME IVE EVER PLAYED!

posted by SewerRat2 (SPANAWAY, WA) Oct 12, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

this games horrable when i bought it i was so excited i thout itd be the same 1 for the P.C. but it wasent and i dident care but when i played i saw the 2D graphics and i was able to keep playing infact i beat it this game has the worst story line ive seen in a very long time and the graphics suck the game isent challinging what-so-ever and it was a dissapoint ment it has no re-play valu and i relly wouldent take it it if someone tryed to give it to me for free dont rent or buy save ur self the time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

spore creatures

posted by shaun13 (LA QUINTA, CA) Aug 16, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

WOW this gam is sooooooooo stupid it freakin hurts my head who ever made this game is retarted

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Fun, Though Not Like Spore (Computer Version)

posted by eiym1313 (OSCEOLA, WI) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

After reading all the reviews, I was expecting a pretty bad game. I was surprised, however, to find this was a fun, addicting, and cute game.

Graphics: The graphics of your creature are 2D - almost paper-like. Personally, I find this to be much better than the alternative of 3D graphics. The 2D creatures are endearing, unique, and easy to make with the DS controls. A 3D creature on the DS would have been clunky and ugly. 2D definitely is better for the game, and cuter too!

Story/Gameplay: Spore Creatures is started with your buddy, Little Oogie, being abducted. In response, you travel over multiple planets to find and help him. That's basically the story; it's simple, but interesting enough that I wasn't bored with it. The gameplay is similar - simple but amusing. It's also quite addicting, though after a while it wears down a bit.

Problems?: Spore Creatures has a few things that are less than spectacular. The first thing I want to point out is that Spore Creatures is NOTHING like Spore (for the computer). The storyline isn't similar, the parts aren't similar, and there isn't the familiar freedom found in Spore... Which is the second problem - Spore Creatures is lacking in freedom. You can't go anywhere you want or do whatever you want... It feels a little limited sometimes. Also, you're often forced to add parts to your creature to continue on. It can be frustrating at times, because the parts probably aren't what you WANT to add to your creature.

Basically, to sum it up, Spore Creatures is cute, fun, addictive, and fairly unique. It's definitely worth renting, just don't expect this to be ANYTHING like Spore!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

IT IS ALL RIGHT

posted by kevin466 (SUFFOLK, VA) Jun 1, 2009

Member since May 2009

Its all right i mean its not puck bad but its not scream good either. they should not of made it 2d its fun to create and battle but its kind of hard to win some times. i say give it a chance like i said its preetty good its about a 6.666666666666666666666 lol plese tell me if this was helpful by hitting yes or no

K11 your new favorite game review. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

No More Spore!

posted by 3859rl (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Apr 26, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

This game is rather tricky to write about, due to the fact that it is a very bad game. I can understand if some people like it, but walking around as a weird little thing, trying to help this other little thing is not my idea of fun. I dont know about the versions for PC, Iphone, and others though. EA games/Maxis makes some of the best games on the market, but this was a screw up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game Ever Played

posted by mommamia (Hurst, TX) Apr 7, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

I thought that this would be a cute game for me and my children to play. The graphics and story line were horrible. We played it for 15 minutes and returned it! Very disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dull

posted by MiniDriver (SOMERVILLE, MA) Feb 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Didn't capture my attention for more than a half-hour. Colorforms-like graphics didn't help. Had to make unwanted adaptations in order to survive fights necessary to win if you want to advance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

super good

posted by Payton1107 (QUEEN CREEK, AZ) Feb 17, 2009

Member since Sep 2005

I thought this game was good because you can travel and you make you own spore. The one thing I didn't like is that it looked like it was all made out of paper, but that didn't make a difference in my rating. I recommend this game to people how like to make there own creatures.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Character was cute but graphics lacked

posted by Bear09 (GLENDALE, AZ) Feb 10, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I was looking forward to this game, but the graphics were not very good and I found it a little difficult to understand what I was doing. Although, I'm a new GameFly member and realized I could download the whole instruction manual after I already sent the game back.
The character you're playing is very cute though. I know, girly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Overly Simplistic

posted by Troytoy616 (Comstock Park, MI) Jan 17, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

I played the PC demo and found it very interesting and graphically appealing. When I saw it available for the DS I was very eager to try it out. I found out however that the translation was lacking. Graphically it is one of the worst ports I had seen. It appeared they were going for a "construction paper" motif -- everything seemed to be made of rough kindergarten construction paper. The game in itself also seemed aimed more at children then adults. I quickly grew tired of the monotonous game mechanics and sent it back in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

10 for first 3 days, 7 after wards.

posted by FrozenSilv (ANDOVER, MA) Jan 8, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

This game was actually not too bad. The storyline actually makes sence, customizing your creature is fun, and good pace. However, it didn't earn a 10 for it's combat system, to get more attacks, you have to add on parts you might not want. Sometimes, your dream creature won't do the job.
Plus, the baddies get too tough later. Not a good game to play for exsessive periods. Good for the gamer with about thrity minutes on their hands every day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse