Rent Spongebob: The Battle for Bikini Bottom for PS2
view large frontback

Spongebob: The Battle for Bikini Bottom

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox, GC, GBA
GF Rating
7.8

561 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Likely the best Spongebob game ever!

posted by Gamer321 (SILVERTON, OR) Mar 2, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

With it's relation to the series, realistc and detailed enviroments, and classic humor that you would expect from any Spongebob episode, this is by far the best Spongebob Squarepants game out there! The enemies are entertaining, as well as the gameplay, needing to perform certain tasks to defeat the boss's in the game(my favorite personally being the Sponge-Bot). Along with that, I also enjoyed the uniqueness that they added to the game, still keeping to the show, but adding parts to the enviroment that were not seen, but could have likely been part of it, such as the giant sand castle and caverns at Goo Lagoon, as well as the Art Museum at Rock Bottom, many others being among them.

I can honestly say that there is no better Spongebob game for now. Not even the Spongebob Squarepants Movie Video Game can compare to this. It is similar, but lacks the originality and zany humor that Battle for Bikini Bottom has. Spongebob Squarepants: Lights, Camera, Pants! was a good game, but only if you prefer the party game style of gameplay, which I do not particularily like. And from what I hear, the newest Spongebob game is by far the worst, making Spongebob Squarepants: Battle for Bikini Bottom, the best Spongebob game for now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Greatest SpongeBob Squarepants Game!

posted by ToyBoy20 (FIRESTONE, CO) Mar 15, 2007

Member since Mar 2005

16 out of 17 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

This game rocks! I highly recommend this game for anybody who likes SpongeBob! This game is challenging and yet fun. Play this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

lets salute those who served in the battle

posted by camman12 (BROOKSVILLE, FL) Mar 19, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is likely the best sponge bob game ever first a never before seen addition to sponge bob games a hub and the ability to go back and play bosses is great tons of different enemies and three characters you can play and the best of all sponge bob bubble moves there are only three but they are cool the only thing is i love the boss fights except one the robo patrick i had to spend an entire night to beat him at the last part but the way you see him die is worth it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sponge Bob Square Pants; Battle For Bikini Bottom

posted by fabian8778 (ABILENE, TX) Jan 20, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game so much ,but its very time consuming

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!!!!

posted by jaycast719 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Nov 30, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i rented this for my 8 year old daughter and she loved it we played it for HOURS i was even having a hard time on some of the levels the game is actually one of the best games i ever played who would have thunk it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is so awesome!

posted by mario2100 (GLEN RIDGE, NJ) Jun 26, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Here's a tip: When battling the King Jellyfish, hit him when he does his lightening ring attack.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Well-Rounded Game

posted by caturdaysupreme (FLOYDS KNOBS, IN) Jul 18, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the best SpongeBob games out. This is practically neck and neck with the Spongebob Movie Game. The graphics and gameplay are all nearly flawless. But, i just have some words of advice...Just find ALL the golden undies 'cuz you're gonna need it in the long run.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A fun 3-D platformer for kids of all ages

posted by L33t_Gamuh (MECHANICSVILLE, MD) Jun 9, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has your basic 3-D platforming guide lines; you press a button to jump, press it again in the air to get higher, press another button to preform an attack, and so on. But it is actually so much more. In this game, Plankton has realeased an army of evil robots (that he forgot to set to switch to obey him), and our spongy hero will have to stop them. But he also gets help from his friends Patrick and Sandy, each character with their own special abilities. Players will play mainly as Spongebob, but will change to Patrick or Sandy when needed. Stages range from the familier setting of Jellyfish Fields, to to spooky setting of The Flying Duchman's Graveyard. Players will go through each level completing a varity of tasks in order to obtain Golden Spatulas, which are required to unlock new areas. As the player progresses, they will unlock new bubble-based moves for Spongebob. The viloence in this game is cartoonic and humors, no more than the show. Robots will explode when defeated. When the player dies, Spongebob will do something such as fall into little cubes or simply fall over, much like in the show. The game gets a lot of inspritation from the show. Fans will reconize many events, lines, locations, and actions that are similar to the show. This is a very humors and entertaining game for one that is based off a children's cartoon. It ratains many of the basic elements for a 3-D platformer/puzzle solver. But it does a good job of throwing in a special "Spongebob Twist" to the whole concept. The game for kids of all ages, espially ones who are just getting their start on video games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Second Best Spongebob Game Ever

posted by Killer421 (TECUMSEH, MI) Jul 6, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Great game, Lots of challenges, Days of Gameplay, and lots of stuff to collect and destroy. Second Best game because of Lights, Camera, Pants. Great Game though. Love the Bosses. (Especially the Sandy Bot, and The Spongebob Bot.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This Game is Awesome! I strongly recommend it!

posted by princess77 (ELMONT, NY) Jul 5, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

SpongeBob SquarePants is a wonderful family video game that both the kids and adults in the house will both enjoy! I strongly recommend it for children- especially those who are under 12.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's Classicly OK

posted by EthanTM (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 12, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

It Surely Brings Back The Classic's To Remember, Plus I Think It'll Be A Good Game To See E3(If It -Is- E3) Classic Trailer's!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

My wife rented it

posted by sandollor (APO, AE) Jun 15, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

My wife loves the cartoon and wanted to rent a game, then she saw this piece. She loved it so I put a 7 for her, but this game was boring with sub-par graphics and uninspiring gameplay. I did not like this game, plus I hate Spongebob.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Spongebad

posted by gamehater7 (NEW PLYMOUTH, ID) Nov 7, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

Spongebob Battle for bikini bottom is a bad game. The graphics suck the music sucks and the kind of missions are horrible. Their are 3 types carry some thing to a certain point beat the clock and destroy. All of which suck!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Surprisingly Great and Long

posted by Dwinner9000 (BROOKLYN, NY) Jul 13, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Ok, so I play video games extremely quickly, and usually I skip on these cartoon games because they're usually short, their story is not interesting, it's based off an episode within the series, or the gameplay outright sucks.

This game however suffers from NONE of those problems, to my knowledge this game has it's own original story, it's long (for nickelodeon standards) and I have very few complains about it's gameplay.

You'll get to play three characters, Spongebob, Patrick, and Sandy, however for 63% of the game you will be playing as Spongebob. Each character has their own special abilities, Patrick can pick things up, while Sandy makes any bit of platforming a complete joke, Spongegbob has a lot of bubble based moves and platforming techniques that make him the best character.

The point of game is to collect golden spatulas, they're all over the sea, not just Biniki Bottom, THE SEA! you'll be venturing to places that literally have only appeared for a few seconds in the entire series of Spongebob history. Places like Rock Bottom, which becomes more than a road and a snack stand, or Jellyfish Fields becomes more than one big green field. The intense detail to these basic places in the Spongeland is what makes this game so interesting to me, the story is good too, filled with the comedy unique only to Spongebob.

This game is definitely gonna be difficult for anyone, I've played it as a kid, and even from 10 years back, when I was replaying it now, there were difficult portions that stuck out in my memory that were still difficult today, the bosses are no pushovers, you need to be attentive, and the platforming requires precision, unless you're using Sandy.

My ONLY problem with this game is that you use spongebob way too much, personally I like Sandy better, she was my favorite character in the entire show. And sometimes enemy placement is outright mean and unfair.

In short, the game blew away my expectations, and I hope you'll have fun lik

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly Entertaining

posted by Eveekitten (AVONDALE, AZ) May 13, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I'm not a huge fan of Spongebob Squarepants, but the child inside of me decided that this looked like a really fun game to rent. Turns out I should listen to that side more often because this game was SO much fun. There were tons of challenges ranging anywhere from easy to difficult. The story was kind of fun to play with and the characters were fun to interact with.

The game play seemed very similar to that of Spyro the Dragon from the original PS1 system and maybe it was my love for Spyro that makes me say this game was super fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game you'll miss

posted by SoraSonic1 (IRVINGTON, NJ) Apr 29, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

This game is pretty great. It has a decent story and is comical just as the cartoon series is/was. Three unique characters with different abilities and challenges. One game you'll probably see for five dollars and skip over thinking it's not so good. I recommend a rent at least because after a while it may seem a bit repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best spongebob game!

posted by cmpunkisawsome (CLINTON, IL) Oct 6, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

Alright this game i havent played in ages! I remember having fun playing it. You get great missons that are really entertaning. Plus its really fun just playing it. I personally think you should buy it. I gave it a 10. Take my advice and buy it! Woo! Woo! Woo! You know it bro! Take care spike your hair!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »