Rent SpongeBob SquarePants featuring Nicktoons: Globs of Doom for Wii
view large frontback

SpongeBob SquarePants featuring Nicktoons: Globs of Doom

Not Rentable
Also on:DS, PS2
GF Rating
6.2

431 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Plenty of fun and challenge

posted by coachack (COLUMBIA, PA) Jan 28, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game for my 4 year old, who is a huge spongebob fan and it turned out to be a fun tandem game for he and I both to play at the same time. It allows 2 people to play as a team, but it has a "catch up" feature that allows the less skilled player to automatically "catch up" to the progress of the more skilled teammate so no one is left behind. Needless to say, my son and I had a ball playing it and actually finished the game in a week! When we got to tricky spots, I took over and my son cheered me on, and for the rest of the action, my son was completely involved in our progress and success! HIGHLY recommend it! Easy controls - my 4 year old was playing like a pro in no time!
The game also includes a bunch of other Nickelodeon characters (Jimmy Neutron and others I didn't know, but my son did). And after each stage, you automatically switch characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Spongebob Squarepants:Globs of Doom

posted by cats37931 (LANCING, TN) Apr 15, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved this game. There are a lot of character choices and they each have unique devices that are fun to use. Every level is really different from the last making it more exciting.
There were a few downfalls. There were a couple of jumps that were next to impossible for even an experienced player. The last level is repetitive. Also, this game would not autosave! It was so frustrating, I wanted to explode! Luckily, I had time one day to play it through from start to finish!
Overall, a great game! It had variety, color and was mostly easy to use by adult or child!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun

posted by Catdaddyxx (DUMAS, TX) Mar 31, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a fun little game. Some of the platform parts were a little confusing. The ablility to swing the perspective around would be very very nice.
Game was also a little glitchy. There were several times that players would fall through the world and tilt the game. Requiring the game to be reset and started fromt he last save point.

But, overall was an enjoyable game with a little humor sprinkled in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Game

posted by Creaks (RIALTO, CA) Mar 2, 2009

Member since May 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was disappointed the other new Nick cartoon characters where part of the game. If I had read the description I would have seen that. Nice game play. I enjoyed the game. A bit like the LEGO Star Wars idea, in that dying didn't start the level over, you lost coins. The characters tending to say the same thing over and over again so the 'noise' from the game was very repetitive.

If the newer Nick characters were not on the game I would have kept it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Real Fun

posted by 2oboy76 (Bethany, OK) May 5, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game was very entertaining. My 7yr old son loved to play this game as well as his 33yr old father. This game is not violent and is full of interesting characters from "Nick".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good storyline, but the camera was bad!

posted by tonyking (CINCINNATI, OH) Dec 30, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty decent, the storyline and graghics were good, but they screwed up on the camera and the levers. All the levers are hard to activate and you cannot use the camera to switch directions.
Not the best Wii game I ever played, but it is good!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Wii Game I've Played

posted by ryanjsmith (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Dec 15, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Probably the worst Wii game I've played. Terrible camera control (especially in two player mode), buggy, and repetitive game play.

The save game data corrupted twice requiring us to start over. The game locked up once. Once I fell off the edge of the playing area requiring me to start the level over. Once, during a boss battle, an enemy fell off the playing area which prevented me from completing the boss battle (start over again!).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Couldn't save games!

posted by bookbag20 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jun 15, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Although we enjoyed the game play, we were very disappointed that we were unable to save our games. We had to begin a new game each time we played. Tried multiple game slots with no luck. Maybe it was just the particular game we were issued? It was a bummer to not be able to beat this game before we shipped it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by chalex (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Jul 10, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

This game truely lives up to it's predecessors. The game has a drop in/out feature which is a good ingredient for coop. Simple controls funny cutscenew and oh yeah a DUKE NUKEM reference after you beat the Pupununu level.:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Started well, but ....

posted by THHDC (CHEVY CHASE, MD) Mar 6, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

This was our second try at this game, and it 'played well for the most part. It's a bit annoying that sometimes the screen doesn't track well with character movement. Your character can move off screen and it may take a few minutes for the camera view to follow. Sometimes it doesn't .

Worst of all, there's a technical flaw in the game that causes the game file to become corrupted depending on how you quit the game. I've heard different remedies like if you quit in a level, or don't quit or exit the game in the hub, it will save. But I haven't had any success with that. So, this game goes back shortly after it arrived, and it won't get a third try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

4 year old likes it

posted by 4andahalf (CANDLER, NC) Jun 1, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

My son is 4 and he could play this game without too much help. It kept him occupied for as long as his attention would last. I admit he is a genius and when I tried to play I was challenged. I thought it would be too hard for him because he can't read, but there was enough trial and error for him to understand what to do.

Rated 10 by my kid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Solid Kids Game

posted by frowlyy (PHENIX CITY, AL) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

Button mashing and bad camera angles. However you get to play as everyones favorite nick toons with all of the original voices behind them. All in all it isn't a bad game, but deffinitely too simple for an adult to play. Great for kids, biggest problem being horrible camera control at times, and when you land in deep piles of goop you are forced to start where you left off at, but if your partner has gone on ahead, the camera doesn't pan out to accomodate and you just keep respawning until the purple smoke lands you near them after losing several thousand coins. KIDS GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

yawn

posted by ppostar (WESTMINSTER, CO) May 13, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

yea i just rented the game today and within 2 hours i got board

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »