Rent SpongeBob SquarePants: Creature from the Krusty Krab for Wii
view large frontback

SpongeBob SquarePants: Creature from the Krusty Krab

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, GBA, GC, DS
GF Rating
5.1

642 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by 1jamaal (BRENTWOOD, TN) Jun 23, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was totally worth renting!!! The story was great, the graphics were good, and gameplay was awesome!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

DONT UNDER ESTIMATE THIS ONE!!! RENT IT!!!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Sep 18, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Just because it is geared toward kids does not make it a boring game for adults!
Out of 4 games that I rented (Marvel, Anubis, Metal Slug, and Spongebob); this is the best one. It has great puzzles like Shrek. The animation is fun and the audio is right (does not get on your nerves). I am 25 and I found this game to be fun. The only complaint was the control for using the "winches" are a bit off and the racing control is difficult. ALL IN ALL I WAS MORE SUPPRISED THAT I LIKED THIS GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Spongebob Awesomepants

posted by jkiddfan (SYRACUSE, NY) Mar 5, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This was an excellent game. The gameplay, graphics, and controls were really good. I would have gave it a ten but the driving was hard and the levels were repeative. Don't get me wrong it's a good game. Don't buy but rent this game because it is a one player game so you can't play it with your friends and it will take about 4-5 days to beat it. This is an awesome game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THE GREATEST KIDS GAME EVER!!!!!

posted by mxvsatv (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Oct 7, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is fantastic for kids and older kids who enjoy watching sponge bob.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad--for an eight year old

posted by Goodtimes (SHILOH, GA) Dec 11, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

This game was just right for my eight-year-old son: it features decent (but repetitive) voice acting; the environments are colorful and varied, and generally offer just one main task for each area; and the game changes genres regularly, which is good for short attention spans.

While the controls are generally pretty good, there is one control that causes absolute frustration on multiple levels: the winch. The idea is to hold the remote vertically and move it around as if you are turning a wheel (mounted horizontally) with a handle on top. The motion is something like a mixing motion would be if you had a very big bowl. However, the controls were, for lack of a better word, "wanky." Yes, wanky and erratic. Sometimes it would work, and sometimes it wouldn't, no matter how hard we tried.

The visuals are pretty much what you'd expect from a Spongebob game--cartoony and bright. I was a little disappointed that Spongebob doesn't seem to be able to register emotion, since his emotionalism is one of the show's key elements.

For the record, my son loved the part with Patrick as Starfish Man vs. the Dreaded Patrick the best of all. In fact, he stated that he wished he could play nothing but that part.

In the end, I would say this is a good game to -rent- if you have an interested child.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent Game

posted by gimpkilla (BEAUMONT, TX) May 5, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Over all the game was decent and it had it's moments of pure fun. The racing was horrible in fact it wasn't a race if you define race by 2 or more competitors racing to the finish line. Sure you had 2 or more competitors racing but you were truly only racing against a drecreasing clock. The Starfish man level was entertaining just because of the thought of everyone in the level was patrick... too much patrick can make a person stupid and laugh uncontrolably. By far the most fun I had playing this game was the giant Plankton level. There is just something to be said about smashing up buildings with wreckless abandon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty good

posted by eggbert (SANTA MONICA, CA) Jan 25, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

spoilers warning
this game was ok for me I mean its a kids game but the main problems were....

1.the winch
very hard to figure out but once you do its easy.

2.driving controls
not much of a problem but it still was any way

3.flying controls
VERY hard to do.

heres my summary of the game:

The intro starts and you go into spongebob's house
hes sleeping and then his bed turns into car!
he drives out of his pineapple making a hole in the roof and utters out meaningless slang.
You are propted to races and have some time to walk around like when you need turbo parts.
then after beating gary [punk version] spongebob drives into a pit.

Patrick is slepping and the tv turns on the fish newscaster says the dreaded patrick is taking over and the other patrick turns into starfishman!!!
You run around saving people [who all are starfish]
and finally have a showdown. D.P. tries to launch a rocket with a starfish on it and S.F.M. tries to save him but D.P. ties HIM to the rocket.and launchs it into space.
ok ok ok ok random adventures galore.Plankton grows to human size but gets chased a lot.s.f.m. flys on a rocket and much more.but in the end plankton spongebob and s.f.m. race and the race is..... totally unfair!!!!!!!! you have to use all the shortcuts and wits to the race but if you choose spongebob in the race it turns out its gary's dream!!!
so in the moring spongebob drives to work a.k.a. uses a plate as a sterring wheel patrick wears a cape like S.F.M.and rides and rides those shaky rides thinges and plankton rampages knocking over ceral boxs on a picnic table but whats weird is that at the end spongebob brings home a krabby burger to eat but i think it talks and then a alskan bullworm goes throu the house and eats spongebob. So overall its a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

wii can't drive

posted by revbymike (FORT WAYNE, IN) Aug 30, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I couldn't stand the driving interface. There was no biofeedback to let you know how far you were turning. The graphics weren't all that great eihter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Repetative , but somehow addictive

posted by im14pinbal (LEXINGTON, KY) Feb 20, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is not a great game, the driving part is really hard to control your car. It just doesnt seem to steer very well. As for the regular game, moving spongebob takes some practice and getting used to, I found myself getting frustrated really fast, but once you get it down, it becomes pretty easy. For the most part the game is not hard, you have as many continues as you want so you dont have to worry about it if you die. The game really isnt all that fun either, I found the levels to be very repetative, but for some reason I found myself playing level after level, wanting to beat the game. It took about 6 hours to beat the game, then I wished I wouldnt have wasted my time. It has some fun minigames, but you cant play them until you unlock them in story mode. (I think that sucks.) I think the controls are very difficult for a kid to master, steering while driving was way harder than it should have been. This is definitely not a BUY, rent it if you want, but dont waste too much time on it. Like I did!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

game sucks!

posted by ps2fanatic (SHEPHERDSVILLE, KY) Mar 24, 2013

Member since Feb 2007

Sucks Rocks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best spongebob games ever

posted by tallmario365 (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 15, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

this is super cool because of the gameplay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Game Sucked!

posted by matthew13 (CHESWICK, PA) Mar 14, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

GAME SUCKS ITS FUN BUT REALLY THE GAME IS FOR KIDS NOT FOR GROWNUPS CAUSE I THINK THIS GAME IS JUST MADE FOR KIDS THAT UNDERSTAND IT AND I DID BUT I DIDN'T LIKE IT THAT MUCH ALRIGHT!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not so Easy

posted by rose76 (CONTINENTAL DIVIDE, NM) Feb 16, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

My 6 year old didn't like this game at all because it was too hard--the driving was difficult and figuring out how to race was also difficult. Controlling the vehicles were hard, it wouldn't turn the right ways. It was a disappointment because she loves SpongeBob. She felt like she never could pass the racing. So, be careful when you try this out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I don't like the controls

posted by Laughing_Birg (PORTLAND, OR) Aug 28, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Well, I'm not used to the controls and moving is pretty hard like balancing. The winches part is pretty hard for the whole entire family since the gates dosen't lift even though we do it right

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Too hard for my 8 year old daughter

posted by jsavin (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Jul 9, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

She tried for about 30 minutes to figure this out, and it was not intuitive enough. We are using Game Fly to see which games she can play, because we've found allthough the covers look great, sometimes the game inside is difficult to play or not as fun as the cover made it look. For her, this one was done after 30 minutes.
Her fav games so far are the Lego ones.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

SpongeBob Creature From the Crusty Crab review

posted by techiemom (CAROL STREAM, IL) Sep 29, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

I rented this for my 6 year old son. He liked playing the character and all but he had alot of difficulty understanding what to do. I had to help him with alot of the game. This is ok but I thought it might be easier hence why I rented it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Why Sponge Bob should stay a cartoon...

posted by kindridkin (ALEDO, TX) Jun 28, 2008

Member since Jan 2005

Games like this are the reason game production companies go out of business. The use of the motion control for the wii is great, but let it game register the action. The camera control is horrible. And the driving portion of the game should have cut out all together. IMO, you shouldn't even put this into your queue. It would be a waist of letter carriers time and energy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I wish they would beta test

posted by Pickel668 (FREEPORT, IL) Apr 9, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

Some of the game play is really fun, BUT I gotta wonder if they ever heard of beta testing. There are places in this game when the control will drive you crazy. If you are not a die hard sponge fan you might wanna pass on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

creature from the awesome krab

posted by yoshigamer (VISALIA, CA) Aug 15, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

i like this game but its not THAT good. i like doing some modes in story mode and the graphics are nice. and even has that sponge band that only the Wii could do. but i hate some stages like that alasken bull worm one. it can get boring. but it still is fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I can't even imagine the target market liking it

posted by Ragnex (SILVER SPRING, MD) Aug 14, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

Ick. Lame.

Pros:
Odd art direction was kinda cool.

Cons:
Repetitive. Repetitive. Repetitive.
For fans of the show, I'm pretty sure they didn't even get the usual voice actors.
Controls are loose and unresponsive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Are Wii For Kids or Are Wii For Adults

posted by deekim (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 28, 2007

Member since May 2007

I hope I can remember because I want to put my 2 cents in.

Pros:
Love the graphics at 480p. It is smooth and seemless with the controls. Clever use of the wiimote control and assignments.

Cons:
My younger brother had a tough time with the driving part, so I helped out. I have to say that I found it to be tough to drive in this game, it was almost impossible. I kept oversteering to the left or to the right and if you gently turn, then prepare to eat the rail. I found the character transformation a bit hideous for kids to the point where it was almost gruesome to look at. There are so many action movements with the wiimote that it is easy to forget some of them.

Final verdict:
I don't know if this game was made for Wii kids or for Wii adults. From the beginning, me and my brother were not very addicted to the game and Wii gave it up very quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible!!!

posted by ImTheDad (RIDGECREST, CA) May 7, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

Lets make a poorly written game and then apply Wii controls to it after the fact. I am sorry I rented this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Complicated

posted by czimmer (BROWNS MILLS, NJ) Apr 10, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

I found this game to be difficult to figure out at first; mainly the winch. Even after we did it didn't seem to work the same way every time. Graphics, not anything spectacular. Entertaining for a child though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

sponge bob creatures from the krusty krab

posted by TheDingo (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Mar 24, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

the controls are HORRIBLE. I cant even get through the first level. I wouldnt waste my time on renting this again. the game needs to be recalled and redone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Lame

posted by Myztery (SAN LEANDRO, CA) Mar 12, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

Controls were very hard to get used to, with hardly any explanation on screen to show a small child what they should be doing (as an adult I was left confused). As for the winches, both my daughter and myself put this game back in the mail after a lil while of frustration.

The graphics also turned SB into a scary guy rather than his usual fun self.

Rent before you buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »